试析股东资格“名实分离”问题

作者: 喻红,道可特律师事务所
0
253
LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link

中国司法实践中,如因股东出资义务、股东相关权利的行使、股权转让和股东会相关决议等问题发生争议时,认定民事主体的股东资格是裁判者首要考虑的问题。股东资格的认定,对某一民事主体是否能成为股东,行使股东权利和履行股东义务都具有确定性的指引作用。本文拟从平衡各方权利人合法利益的角度,以理论为基础,从实践出发,试析股东资格“名实分离”的问题。

正常情况下,工商登记的股东就是实际出资人或者依法继受股权的人,此时名实相符。但在现实中,名实分离的情况时有发生,这种非正常情况绝大多数都属于隐名股东的情形。当前,中国相关法律法规对于隐名股东的内涵没有进行有效地界定,相关方面对隐名股东的定义也有各自的看法。但是,核心还是指在公司的成立或者经营过程中,虽然采用某一方式注入了一定资本到公司,但在公司相关的章程、股东名册或者工商登记中却没名字的那部分人,属于股权代持的范畴。从以上定义可以看出,对于隐名股东的内涵,应包含如下这几种情况:

    1. 由于某种或者某些原因出现隐名股东,而且这些原因不能违背法律的权威性、强制性和禁止性;
    2. 隐名股东与显名股东之间,存在某种形式的隐名投资协议,这种形式可以是口头的或者书面的;
    3. 隐名股东是出资人;
    4. 在公司相关股东界定明文中,不显示隐名股东的相关信息,包括姓名或者名称。
Yu Hong, DOCVIT Law Firm
喻红
合伙人
道可特律师事务所

实践案例中隐名股东选择隐名的原因非常繁杂,但主要原因还是投资主体的趋利性,是出资人为了规避法律对于投资主体的限制或者基于其他考量而采取的一种投资方式。例如:出于对身份、经济状况、信息安全等各种情况的考虑,出资人往往会采用隐名的方式出资;为了规避为第三人垫资的义务;隐名股东自身的障碍(如金融机构股东资质、外商投资政策限制、竞业禁止限制)。除此之外,不少隐名股东还可能为规避其他法律强制性规定而选择与他人签订代持股协议,如规避有关公司股东人数、关联交易、对某些投资领域的限制等等。社会经济发展对隐名出资的产生也起到了一定的推动作用,同时隐名出资也通过吸收社会的闲置资金,使公司的资本运作更加充实,从而推动了社会经济的发展。

但采取隐名投资的方式会引发一系列的法律风险,常见的主要分为两大类:一是涉及公司外部的法律风险,主要是与第三人的法律纠纷;二是公司内部法律风险,主要是隐名股东与显名股东权利义务的分配。特别是对于隐名股东而言,其中隐患最大的就是公司股东资格的确认问题。对于隐名股东而言,如果显名股东做出不利于实际出资人的公司行为,如股权被恶意转让,即使双方之间签订了隐名投资协议,按照法律规定,内部协议不能对抗善意第三人。因此,对于善意第三人来讲,该行为仍然是有效的。而实际出资人要想获得股东资格,行使股东权利,只能通过法院的确权之诉。如果其与显名股东之间的协议不被法院认可,则只能按照债权债务关系处理。

在法院对隐名股东资格认定案件中,相关法律或者指导性意见因内容的缺失或者不明确,导致其在指导审判实践的过程中,难以发挥预期的效果。且由于各级法院在制定相关隐名股东资格认定的指导意见时,相关内容存在较大差异,以及指导性意见本身存在一定的局限性,导致相关司法审判的法律效力难以得到保证,并且由于各地人民法院认定相关问题存在差异,导致相关的资格认定问题的判决会存在不同结果,甚至是矛盾的结果。因代持股权登记在显名股东名下,当显名股东出现对外负债时,显名股东的债权人有权基于股权登记的商事外观主义原则,向人民法院申请对代持股权司法保全或强制执行。并且从目前的司法判例看来,在隐名股东的财产权与债权人的诉讼权利之间,法院更倾向于保护显名股东债权人的权益。

DOCVIT Law Firm WeChat Platform
“欢迎关注道可特公众号”

综上,采取隐名投资方式,对隐名股东而言存在较大的法律风险,及时合法规范地办理股权登记手续才是防范风险的最佳方法。如因实际需要,确实需要隐名投资的,实际出资人应慎重选择显名股东,做好资信调查,并签订书面的委托代持协议。实际出资人应保留好出资凭证,并尽量参与企业的决策与经营管理,防止不被确认的风险。实际出资人应明确与隐名股东之间每一笔转账的目的和实际用途是否用于购买公司股权。

除了公司内部的规范和完善,政府行政部门应尽快出台相应规定和指引,统一操作程序,打造更好的营商环境。

道可特律师事务所合伙人喻红

李静 道可特律师事务所 不良资产

道可特律师事务所
北京市朝阳区东三环中路5号
财富金融中心56层 邮编: 100020
电话: +86 10 8586 1018
传真: +86 10 8586 3605-8006
电子信箱: yuhong@dtlawyers.com.cn

www.dtlawyers.com.cn

LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link

Analysing the risks of dormant shareholders investing in companies

By Yu Hong, DOCVIT Law Firm
0
754
LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link

Determining a civil party’s qualification as a shareholder is the primary consideration of the courts in China and a definitive factor when disputes arise over capital contributions, the exercise of shareholders’ rights, equity transfers and resolutions of the shareholders’ meetings.

Yu Hong, DOCVIT Law Firm
Yu Hong
Partner
DOCVIT Law Firm

This article intends to analyse the issue concerning the definition of a dormant shareholder and of a shareholder’s qualification by balancing the legitimate interests of all parties based on theory and practice.

Under usual circumstances, shareholders registered with industrial and commercial authorities are the actual capital contributors or those who succeed in purchasing equity in a company, according to the law, with the name of the person registered consistent with the actual shareholder.

However, in reality inconsistency occurs and, in such situations, dormant shareholders are involved. At present, the relevant laws and regulations in China do not effectively define the meaning of dormant shareholders and parties have their own views. However, the core definition of dormant shareholders refers to those who invest a certain amount of capital in a company during its establishment or operation without their names being published in the company’s articles of association, register of shareholders or industrial and commercial registration, falling within the category of a nominee shareholding.

Therefore the connotation of the dormant shareholder should include the following elements:

    1. The dormant shareholder exists due to certain reasons that cannot contradict the authority and prohibitions of the law;
    2. There is an anonymous investment agreement (oral or written) between the dormant shareholder and the nominee shareholder;
    3. The dormant shareholder is the capital contributor;
    4. No information about the dormant shareholder is indicated in the explicit terms defining the shareholders of the company, including the name.

The reasons why dormant shareholders choose to remain anonymous in practice are complicated, but the main one is that the investment subject will benefit. This method allows the capital contributor to avoid legal restrictions on the investment subject or other considerations. Capital contributors want to remain anonymous due to various factors such as protecting their identity, economic status or information security. They tend to remain anonymous to avoid the obligation of a bailout to third parties, or to circumvent the dormant shareholder’s own restrictive factors (such as the financial institution of a shareholder’s qualification, foreign investment policy restrictions, and non-compete limitations).

In addition, dormant shareholders may enter into a nominee shareholding agreement to circumvent mandatory legal provisions, such as restrictions on the number of shareholders in the company, associate transactions and certain investment fields. Socio-economic development has also led to the emergence of anonymous investment. By absorbing idle funds in society, the anonymous investment also enriches the capital operation of the company, thus promoting socio-economic development.

However, the anonymous investment may lead to perils for a company, which are divided into two categories, i.e., external legal risks, mainly involving disputes with third parties, and internal legal risks, regarding the allocation of rights and obligations between the dormant shareholder and the nominee shareholder. For the dormant shareholder, the largest potential risk is determining a shareholder’s qualification. If the nominee shareholder makes an unfavourable corporate decision affecting the actual contributor – such as a malicious transfer of equity, even though the dormant shareholder and the nominee shareholder have signed an anonymous investment agreement – the internal agreement cannot be used against the bona fide third party, according to the law. Therefore, the bona fide third party’s act is still valid. The actual contributor can obtain his or her qualification as a shareholder and exercise the shareholder’s rights only through an action for affirmation. If the court does not recognise the agreement between the dormant shareholder and the nominee shareholder, it can only be treated as a debtor-creditor relationship.

In the case of determining the shareholder qualification of dormant shareholders, the relevant laws or guiding opinions are incomplete and unclear, making it difficult for courts to find common ground in judgments. Since the content of the guiding opinions formulated by the courts at all levels differ greatly, coupled with their limitations, it is difficult to ensure the legal validity of the judicial trials.

Besides, due to the differences in determining the relevant issues by the courts in various places, different or even contradictory results may occur in the judgments. If the nominee shareholder has external liabilities, his or her creditor has the right to apply to the court for judicial conservation or enforcement of the nominee shareholding based on the principle of the Rechtsschein theory of a shareholding registration. Moreover, it can be seen from the current judicial precedents that between the property rights of the nominee shareholders and their creditors’ litigious rights, courts prefer to protect the rights and interests of the creditors.

To sum up, anonymous investment may raise great legal risks for the dormant shareholder, and the best way to prevent these risks is to register the shareholding in a timely, legal and standardised manner. If the anonymous investment is indeed needed, it is suggested that the actual contributor carefully select the nominee shareholder, fully conduct a credit investigation and sign a written nominee shareholding agreement. The actual contributor should keep the capital contribution certificate in a safe place, and participate more in the decision-making and management of the company to prevent the risk of non-recognition of their shareholder identity. What’s more, the actual contributor should also determine whether the purpose and actual use of each bank transfer with the nominee shareholder is for the purchase of the company’s equity.

DOCVIT Law Firm WeChat Platform
“欢迎关注道可特公众号”

In addition to the internal standardisation and improvement of the company, the government should introduce corresponding regulations and guidelines as soon as possible to unify the operating procedures and create a better business environment.

Yu Hong is a partner at DOCVIT Law Firm

Li Jing DOCVIT Law Firm non-performing assets

DOCVIT Law Firm
56/F Fortune Financial Center
No.5 East Third Ring MiddleRoad
Beijing 100020, China
Tel: +86 10 8586 1018
Fax: +86 10 8586 3605-8006
Email: yuhong@dtlawyers.com.cn

www.dtlawyers.com.cn

LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link