信托财产的所有权

0
103

托这个概念通常被视为衡平法最著名的产物,衡平法是在普通法法域中发展出来的一个独特体系(有关衡平法及其历史渊源的讨论,见《商法》第3辑第5期:《衡平之于法律》)。这一概念也得到许多大陆法系法域,以及法律传统更接近于大陆法系的其它法域所采用。1985年,《关于信托的法律适用及其承认公约》在海牙订立,自此,关于这一概念,便有了一个多边公约作参照。

信托这一概念在私人财产安排和商业交易(如投资基金、抵押贷款和证券化)中应用广泛,非常成功,比较信托法研究也因此迅速兴起。各法域都在使用“信托”这个词,但若要给“信托”一个大体的定义,比起通过实现其结果所使用的方法来描述,恐怕以结果本身来描述更为准确,比如它是指一方为其他几方的利益,或为法律允许的某个对象或目的而持有和管理财产。

普通法域和大陆法域所采用的理论方法不尽相同,其中最大的差异在于信托财产的所有权。在普通法域,信托的概念基于对双重所有权(或称为分割所有权)的认可,即,承认受托人对信托财产享有在普通法上的所有权和受益人在衡平法上的所有权。

双重所有权是普通法域中信托概念的基础,它包括受托人对受益人的忠实义务,以及在受托人破产或资不抵债(对于破产和资不抵债的讨论,见《商法》第4辑第10期:《破产还是资不抵债?》)的情况下,信托财产能够独立于债权人的索赔(通常被称为“破产隔离”)。

大陆法域则不同,大陆法系一直坚持财团的概念,以及所有权的绝对性和不可分割性,因此,双重所有权在大陆法域站不住脚。

中国在构建其相对年轻的法律体系时,参照的是大陆法系,和其它大陆法系国家和地区一样,中国的法律也不承认双重所有权,但这不防碍中国和其它大陆法域引入信托法。

在《英美信托所有权重述及其中国法引入的比较研究》(世界图书出版广东有限公司,2019年)一书中,作者张芮侨就指出,此书是为了“让读者更好地理解信托财产的双重所有权,提出让信托能够融入中国法律的最佳方案,以及对中国法律机制的修改提出建议” 。

特别值得注意的是,此书的写作除了为中国的信托法提出改革意见和弥补漏洞外,也是为了“重新评估普通法系中信托的双重所有权,以期修改这一概念并获得理解,从而更加符合经济全球化和国际金融发展的需求”。

这本书共198页,通俗易懂,篇幅精简,不仅能吸引对中国法律感兴趣的读者,也吸引了对比较信托法感兴趣的读者。全书共分五部分,首先对信托进行概括论述,继而探索了普通法下的信托及双重所有权的概念,审视大陆法系中信托概念的引入,介绍信托在中国内地的兴起,最后分析中国可通过何种方式实现普通法系承认的双重所有权,并提出改革建议(通过立法修改或司法解释进行改革)。最后还附上中国《信托法》文本,以及案例和立法列表。

正如书中第四部分所述,现代中国信托机构和信托业务的兴起(有别于信托法律的建立)可以追溯到1979年中国国际信托投资公司(中信)的成立。

而中国的《信托法》则在21年之后于2001年4月28日方才颁布,其法律文本的起草历时八年。在此期间,信托机构的运营和活动遇到不少挑战,也出现一些违规现象,包括广东国际信托投资公司(广信)的破产,中国人民银行在1998年对公司进行了清算。

当时,有许多外国律师代理了广信的债权人,笔者正是其中之一,我对这一历史事件的重要性仍然记忆深刻。在第二年,大连国际信托投资公司债务重组,我又代理了这家公司,这也是第一桩国投公司的国际债务重组案。

张芮侨认为,中国《信托法》的颁布标志着中国“成为第一批建立国内信托法的社会主义国家和大陆法系国家”。但是,有一个问题《信托法》没有给出答案,这个问题自《信托法》颁布以来,就一直困扰着从业人员和学术专家,那就是“信托财产由谁所有?”这一问题之所以让人困惑,其原因就在于《信托法》第二条的规定:

第二条

本法所称信托,是指委托人基于对受托人的信任,将其财产权委托给受托人,由受托人按委托人的意愿以自己的名义,为受益人的利益或者特定目的,进行管理或者处分的行为。

不同于日本和台湾等其它法域,中国内地的立法机关选用的是“委托”一词,而不是“让与”或“转让”(有关这些术语的使用讨论,详见《商法》月刊第3辑第7期:《转让还是让与?》)。

张芮侨表示,选用“委托”一词,立法者经过了再三斟酌,他们当时主要考虑到对集体投资的管控,因为在集体投资中,投资人通常要将财产转让给受托人,正因此,他们忽略了信托财产的所有权需要清晰的规定,没有注意到这一模凌两可的定义在后来带来的局限性。

这个根本性的问题没有得到解答,也阻碍了信托业务在中国的全面发展,使得中国的信托业务看起来更像是一个合同安排,而不是财产安排。正如张芮侨质疑的,受托人在对财产没有所有权的情况下,很难获得对信托财产的独立控制,也很难高效管理财产。由于委托人保留了对信托财产的所有权,受托人在每一次处置信托财产时都要征得委托人的同意和配合。

张芮侨全面审视了包括德国、美国路易斯安那州、南非、苏格兰和加拿大的魁北克省在内的大陆法法域的经验,从而提出了她的建议。

最后在第五部分,她建议中国保留统一所有权的概念,并采用物权和个人索偿权双元制。换言之,中国法律可以不承认双重所有权,但可以承认信托具有以下主要元素:

. 信托财产由受托人所有,利于受托人方便高效地管理信托财产;

. 受托人对受益人负有忠实义务,这能确保受托人以最有利于受益人的方式管理信托;以及

. 受益人对受托人有特别索取权,这样,他们能够对信托财产主张权利,获得法律救济。

针对上述问题,这本书提出了令人信服的改革建议。

本文来源于一篇书评,亦将于《澳大利亚亚洲法律杂志》发表。

葛安德 Andrew Godwin

葛安德以前是年利达律师事务所上海代表处合伙人,现在墨尔本法学院教授法律,担任该法学院亚洲法研究中心的副主任。葛安德目前被借调到澳大利亚法律改革委员会担任特别顾问,协助其调查该国公司和金融服务方面的法规。葛安德的著作《商法词汇:法律概念的翻译和诠释》重新汇编了其在本刊“商法词汇”专栏撰写的所有文章。该书由Vantage Asia出版。如欲订购,请即登录 www.vantageasia.com

Ownership of trust property

0
150

The concept of a trust is often referred to as the most famous creature of equity – that body of law that has its unique roots in common law jurisdictions (for a discussion about equity and its historical origins, see China Business Law Journal volume 3, issue 5: Law or equity?). The concept of a trust has been adopted by many civil law jurisdictions, and by other jurisdictions whose traditions are closer to the civil law system than the common law system. Since 1985, the concept has been the subject of a multilateral treaty, the Hague Convention on the Law Applicable to Trusts and on their Recognition.

The utility and success of the concept of a trust in private property arrangements and commercial transactions (such as investment funds, secured lending and securitisation) have been so great that comparative trust law has emerged as a fast-growing area of academic study. When the term is used generically across jurisdictions, however, it would be more accurate to describe a trust by reference to the outcomes that it produces, such as the holding and management of property by one party for the benefit of other parties, or for an object or purpose permitted by law, than by reference to the doctrinal methodology by which those outcomes are achieved.

Perhaps the greatest difference between the doctrinal methodology adopted by common law jurisdictions and that adopted by other jurisdictions arises in relation to the question of ownership of trust property. In common law jurisdictions, the concept of a trust is based on the recognition of dual (or split) ownership; namely, the recognition of legal ownership of the trust property by the trustee and equitable ownership by the beneficiaries.

It is dual ownership that underpins the essential features of the trust as it is recognised in common law jurisdictions, including the fiduciary duty owed by the trustee to the beneficiaries and the independence (often referred to as the bankruptcy remoteness) of the trust property from the claims of creditors in the event of the trustee’s bankruptcy or insolvency (for a discussion about the difference between bankruptcy and insolvency, see China Business Law Journal volume 4, issue 10: Bankrupt or insolvent?).

In civil law jurisdictions, by contrast, dual ownership is unable to find a place in the doctrinal methodology for a trust as a result of the traditional adherence to notions of patrimony in civil law jurisdictions, and the absolute and indivisible nature of ownership.

The inability of the law to recognise dual ownership has not, however, been an obstacle to the introduction of trust law in China, or in civil law jurisdictions from which China has borrowed in constructing its relatively young legal system.

In A Better Understanding of Common Law Ownership of Trust Property and its Introduction in China Through Comparative Studies (World Publishing Guangdong 2019), the author, Zhang Ruiqiao, sets out “to provide a better understanding of the dual ownership of trust property, to develop the best way the trust can be incorporated into Chinese law, and propose amendments to Chinese legal regime”.

Of particularly interest is that the purpose of the book is not just to reform and plug gaps in the trust law of China, but also to contribute to “a reassessment of dual ownership of the trust in common law, and to the manner in which it can best be renovated and understood in order to meet the needs of economic globalisation and the development of international finance”.

In this highly readable and concise (198-page) book, the author achieves her objective in a way that should appeal not only to readers who have an interest in Chinese law, but also to readers who have an interest in comparative trust law generally. Consisting of five parts, the book provides a brief overview, explores the common law trust and its concept of dual ownership, surveys the introduction of trusts into civil law, outlines the emergence of the trust in mainland China, and concludes by analysing how the outcomes of dual ownership as recognised in common law jurisdictions might be achieved in China, and recommending reforms for this purpose, either by legislative amendment or judicial interpretation. The annexures to the book contain a copy of the Trust Law of China, a table of cases and a table of legislation.

As outlined in part IV of the book, the emergence of trust institutions and trust business in modern China – as distinct from the law governing the concept of a trust – can be traced back to the establishment of the first China trust and investment company, China International Trust and Investment Corporation (CITIC) in 1979.

It took 21 years, and eight years of drafting, however, for the Trust Law of China to be promulgated in 28 April 2001. In the intervening period, various challenges and irregularities arose in relation to the operation and activities of trust institutions, including the bankruptcy of the Guangdong International Trust and Investment Corporation (GITIC), which was placed into liquidation by the People’s Bank of China in 1998.

As one of the many foreign lawyers who acted for creditors of GITIC at the time, I remember the significance of this historic event well. In the following year, I acted for the Dalian International Trust and Investment Corporation in the first international debt restructuring of an “ITIC”.

The promulgation of the Trust Law of China, Zhang Ruiqiao suggests, made China “one of the first socialist and civil law jurisdictions to have introduced a domestic law of trust”. One question, however, has been left unanswered by the Trust Law – a question that has challenged practitioners and academics ever since its promulgation: Who owns trust property? The root of the ambiguity in relation to this question lies in article 2 of the Trust Law, which provides as follows:

Trust in this Law refers to the act by which the settlor, on the basis of trust in the trustee, entrusts property rights to the trustee, and the trustee manages or disposes of the property rights in its own name in accordance with the intentions of the settlor and for the benefit of the beneficiary, or for specific purposes.

Unlike the trust law in other jurisdictions such as Japan and Taiwan, the term “entrust” was chosen by the legislators in mainland China over the use of the term “assign” or “transfer” (for a discussion about the use of these terms, see China Business Law Journal volume 3, issue 7: Transfer or assign?).

Zhang Ruiqiao suggests that this was not an oversight but instead a conscious decision on the part of the legislators, who at the time were primarily concerned with regulating collective investments, which generally involve the transfer of property to the trustee by investors, and did not see the need to make express provision for the ownership of trust property, or turn their minds to the limitations that were subsequently caused by this ambiguity.

The lack of an answer to this fundamental question, however, has impeded the trust from realising its full potential in China, and has resulted in a trust operating more in the nature of a contractual arrangement than in the nature of a proprietary arrangement. As noted by Zhang Ruiqiao, it is difficult to see how a trustee can obtain any independent control of the trust property and manage efficient trust administration without having the ownership of property. The settlor’s retention of the ownership requires the trustee to seek the settlor’s consent and co-operation in every disposition of the trust property.

In arriving at her recommendation as to how this gap should be plugged, Zhang Ruiqiao undertakes a comprehensive survey of the experience in civil law jurisdictions including Germany, the US state of Louisiana, South Africa, Scotland and Canada’s Quebec province.

Ultimately, part V of the book recommends that China retain the concept of unitary ownership and adopt the binary system of real rights and personal claims. In other words, Chinese law would not recognise dual ownership, but instead recognise the following essential elements of a trust:

. Trust property is owned by the trustee, which would allow for the convenient and efficient management of the trust property by the trustee;

. The trustee has fiduciary duties to the beneficiaries, which would ensure that the administration of the trust by the trustee is in the best interests of the beneficiaries; and

. The beneficiaries have a special claim against the trustee, which would enable them to assert claims and obtain legal remedies in respect of the trust property.

This book makes a persuasive case for the adoption of reforms along these lines.

This article is adapted from a book review to be also published in the Australian Journal of Asian Law.

葛安德 Andrew Godwin

A former partner of Linklaters Shanghai, Andrew Godwin teaches law at Melbourne Law School in Australia, where he is an associate director of its Asian Law Centre. Andrew is currently on secondment to the ALRC as special counsel to assist with its inquiry into corporations and financial services regulation. Andrew’s new book is a compilation of China Business Law Journal’s popular Lexicon series, entitled China Lexicon: Defining and translating legal terms. The book is published by Vantage Asia and available at www.vantageasia.com