内地和香港达成跨境破产合作机制

0
100
Mainland, HK agree framework for cross-border insolvency, 内地和香港达成跨境破产合作机制

最高人民法院和香港特区政府于2021年5月14日,达成一致,就企业破产和债务重组建立司法合作机制,根据此机制:

. 内地破产程序的管理人可以向香港高等法院申请认可内地破产程序,以及申请提供履职协助。

. 香港破产程序的清盘人或者临时清盘人可以向内地试点地区的有关中级人民法院申请认可香港清盘程序和债务重组,以及申请提供履职协助。

试点地区目前包括上海、厦门和深圳。

香港法庭本身已经就认可和协助内地破产程序建立了一套程序, 对于内地破产程序的管理人而言,新合作机制是将香港普通法系下的程序正式确立于法律文本中。

对于香港破产程序中指定的清盘人或者临时清盘人而言,最高院在2021年5月14日根据合作机制发布的意见,提供了一个权威指导,明确了在何种情况下指定的内地法院认可香港的破产程序。该意见还提示了清盘人或临时清盘人在内地履职时,能够获得哪些司法协助。

合作机制带来的另一个突破进展是,现在可以用香港的债务重组程序,来管理内地法律规管的债务。

内地破产管理人在香港履职。指定给某个内地公司的破产管理人,负责处理公司在香港的财产、应对在香港的债权人,可能还要负责调查公司在香港的事务。在2020年判决的两个案件中,夏利士法官就签发了承认和协助分别在上海和深圳指定的破产管理人的法令。

在2021年香港方正资讯有限公司的案件中,公司的清盘人申请向正在北京进行破产程序的集团公司提起诉讼。夏利士法官指出,如果潜在被告的破产管理人希望做辩护,他们需要证明自己确属获得正式授权的代理人。法官建议他们可以在香港申请获得正式的承认和协助,这也是参照2020年判例的做法。

这些案例说明,香港法院对在香港履职的内地破产管理人是持开放态度的,亦与香港破产法中修正的普及主义原则保持一致。

在内地履职的香港清盘人和临时清盘人。相反的情况则是,香港清盘人或临时清盘人要处理公司在内地的财产,应对内地的债权人,可能还要负责调查公司在内地的事务。一个常见的例子是香港公司在内地有一家全资子公司,子公司在内地有一家工厂,对该子公司的持股便是公司在内地的财产。

在过去,在没有合作机制的情况下,由于当时内地法律还没有建立一个全面的承认香港破产管理人的机制,这个清盘人或临时清盘人在内地履职时经常会遇到各种困难。

因此,在上述例子中,内地破产管理机构可能不会马上认可这个清盘人或临时清盘人有权代表股东公司行事,比如,代表股东公司更换内地子公司的董事和个人代表。

合作机制

合作机制对上述两种情况都给予了明确的指导。就内地破产管理人而言,这个合作机制给了他们一个保障,他们可以依照判决先例中采用的程序向香港法庭申请获得他们的认可和协助。

香港律政司在2021年5月14日发布的《实用指南》也明确规定,破产管理人应首先获得内地法院的请求书,然后借附有宗教式誓章或非宗教式誓词的单方面原诉传票,向香港法庭申请标准格式命令。

对于香港清盘人和临时清盘人,这个合作机制可谓是他们期盼已久的突破性进展。最高院在2021年5月14日发布一份意见,规定了更详细的内容,列出了适用本合作机制的前提:

. 相关公司的主要利益中心应当已经在香港连续存在六个月以上。

. 公司在内地的主要财产位于试点地区(上海、厦门或深圳),或者在试点地区存在营业地或者在试点地区设有代表机构。

根据意见,破产管理人有申请的,内地法院可在作出认可和协助的裁定之前实施保全公司财产的措施。此外,在内地法院认可香港的破产程序时:

. 债务人对个别债权人的清偿无效。

. 已经开始而尚未终结的有关公司的民事诉讼或仲裁应当中止,直至香港清盘人或临时清盘人接管公司财产。

. 有关公司财产的保全措施应当解除,执行程序应当中止。

. 清盘人或临时清盘人可在内地履行意见中列出的各种职责,如接管公司财产,调查公司财产状况。

. 可指定一个内地破产管理人。

. 可给予更多司法协助,如裁定对破产财产变价和分配。

合作机制对香港的意义。对于香港的清盘程序,该合作机制适用于香港的强制清盘,债权人自动清盘,以及清盘人或临时清盘人推动的、经由香港法庭批准的债务重组程序。这里有两点值得注意:

. 合作机制纳入了债权人的自动清盘,反映了最新司法裁判的动态(参见2018年Supreme Tycoon Ltd联合清盘人案件),比起只覆盖强制清盘,当前的机制可适用到更多案件。

. 正如夏利士法官在2021年中油港燃能源集团控股有限公司(为重组之目的已指定临时清盘人)案件中所陈述,纳入债务重组程序意味着,“现在香港的债务重组程序可以管理内地法律规管的债务”。在涉及到这类债务的情况下,借助着这个合作机制,香港成为协调债务重组的理想司法管辖区。

有待司法指南厘清的问题

最高院的意见中还有一些问题需要司法指南进一步厘清。例如:

. 意见规定公司的主要利益中心一般是指公司的注册地,但内地法庭应当考虑其它因素,包括公司的主要办事机构所在地、主要营业地、主要财产所在地等。那么根据意见,理论上,一个在离岸法域或甚至是在内地注册成立的公司,也可以在香港拥有其主要利益中心,并在香港进行清盘程序。合作机制是否真的如此灵活?

. 意见并不要求公司在香港的清盘程序必须是在2021年5月14日之后,即合作机制生效之后开始的。合作机制是否适用于在此日期前生效的香港破产程序?

. 目前,只有试点地区的法院可以认可和协助香港清盘人或临时清盘人。根据意见,申请成功的香港破产管理人可在内地履行各种职责。这是否意味着他们可以在内地任何地区履职,并在适当时获得试点地区以外的内地法院的进一步协助?

我们认为,如果上述答案的回答是肯定的,那么合作机制将颇有效力。同时,最高法在适当的时候为合作机制指定更多试点地区值得期待。


《商法摘要》由贝克·麦坚时国际律师事务所协助提供,内容仅供参考之用。读者如欲开展与本栏内容相关之工作,须寻求专业法律意见。 读者可通过以下电邮与贝克·麦坚时联系:吴昊(上海)howard.wu@bakermckenzie.com

Mainland, HK agree framework for cross-border insolvency

0
20
Mainland, HK agree framework for cross-border insolvency, 内地和香港达成跨境破产合作机制

On 14 May 2021, the Supreme People’s Court (SPC) and the Hong Kong government agreed on a framework for judicial co-operation in corporate insolvency and debt restructuring. Under the framework:

. A mainland bankruptcy administrator may apply to the Hong Kong High Court for recognition of and assistance to mainland bankruptcy proceedings.

. A Hong Kong liquidator or provisional liquidator may apply to the Intermediate People’s Court at a designated pilot area for recognition of, and assistance to, Hong Kong insolvency proceedings and debt restructuring (scheme of arrangement).

The pilot areas currently include the Shanghai, Xiamen and Shenzhen municipalities.

For mainland bankruptcy administrators, the framework largely formalises the Hong Kong court’s pre-existing approach of common law for recognising and assisting bankruptcy proceedings on the mainland.

For liquidators and provisional liquidators appointed in Hong Kong insolvency proceedings, the SPC’s opinion, issued on 14 May 2021 (pursuant to the framework), offers authoritative guidance on the circumstances in which designated mainland courts will recognise Hong Kong proceedings. The opinion also gives counsel on what judicial assistance a liquidator or provisional liquidator could obtain in order to discharge their duties on the mainland.

Another ground-breaking development brought by the framework is that a scheme of arrangement in Hong Kong can now be used to compromise debt governed by mainland law.

Mainland bankruptcy administrators carrying out duties in Hong Kong. A bankruptcy administrator appointed to a mainland company is responsible for dealing with its assets and creditors in Hong Kong, and potentially investigating its affairs in Hong Kong, if any. In two cases decided in 2020, Justice Jonathan Harris granted orders recognising and assisting bankruptcy administrators appointed in Shanghai and Shenzhen, respectively.

In Re Founder Information (Hong Kong) Limited, 2021, the company’s liquidators sought leave to bring an action against a group company undergoing bankruptcy administration in Beijing. Justice Harris noted that if the bankruptcy administrators of the intended defendant would like to defend the proceedings, they would need to demonstrate their status as its duly authorised agents. He suggested that one option was for the bankruptcy administrators to seek formal recognition and assistance in Hong Kong, as was done in the precedent cases in 2020.

This indicates the Hong Kong court’s open-mindedness toward mainland bankruptcy administrators discharging their duties in Hong Kong, and is consistent with the principle of modified universalism under Hong Kong insolvency law.

Hong Kong liquidators and provisional liquidators carrying out duties on the mainland. The converse scenario involves a Hong Kong liquidator or provisional liquidator who would like to deal with the company’s assets and creditors on the mainland, and potentially investigate its affairs on the mainland, if any. A common example is when a Hong Kong company has a wholly owned subsidiary on the mainland, which operates a factory there – the shareholding in the subsidiary is the company’s asset on the mainland.

In the past, without the framework, liquidators or provisional liquidators have often encountered practical difficulties in carrying out their duties on the mainland, because mainland law had no established mechanism to recognise their status as the insolvency office-holder of the Hong Kong company in question.

In the above-mentioned example, therefore, the mainland administrative authorities might not readily accept that the liquidator or provisional liquidator had the authority to act on behalf of the shareholder company to, say, replace the directors and personal representative of the mainland subsidiary.

The framework

The framework brings welcome clarity to both above-mentioned scenarios. As far as mainland bankruptcy administrators are concerned, the framework is assurance that they can apply for the Hong Kong court’s recognition and assistance by following the procedure adopted in the precedent cases.

The practical guide issued by the Department of Justice on 14 May 2021 confirms that a bankruptcy administrator should first obtain the mainland court’s letter of request, and then apply to the Hong Kong court (by ex-parte originating summons with affidavit/affirmation evidence) for a standard form order.

For Hong Kong liquidators and provisional liquidators, the framework is a long-awaited breakthrough. The SPC issued an opinion on 14 May 2021 to put flesh on the bones, stipulating the following pre-requisites for the framework apply:

. The subject company must have its centre of main interests (COMI) in Hong Kong continuously for at least six months.

. The company’s principal assets on the mainland must be in a pilot area (Shanghai, Xiamen or Shenzhen), or it must have a place of business or a representative office in a pilot area.

Under the opinion, the mainland court may, if applied for, impose measures for preserving the company’s property before an application for recognition and assistance is decided. In addition, upon the mainland court recognising the Hong Kong insolvency proceedings in a given case:

. Purported repayment of debt to individual creditors shall be invalid.

. Any ongoing civil action or arbitration involving the company shall be suspended until after the liquidator or provisional liquidator takes over its property.

. Any measures for preserving the company’s property shall be lifted and the procedure for execution shall be suspended.

. The liquidator or provisional liquidator may be allowed to perform various duties on the mainland as set out in the opinion, such as taking over the company’s property and ascertaining its financial position.

. A mainland bankruptcy administrator may be designated.

. Further judicial assistance may be granted regarding issues such as the realisation and distribution of bankruptcy property.

Significance of the framework from Hong Kong’s perspective. In terms of Hong Kong insolvency proceedings, the framework applies to compulsory winding-up, creditors’ voluntary winding-up, and schemes of arrangement promoted by a liquidator or provisional liquidator and sanctioned by the Hong Kong court. Two points can be made:

. The inclusion of creditors’ voluntary winding-up reflects the latest jurisprudence (see Re Joint Liquidators of Supreme Tycoon Ltd, 2018) and extends the framework to many more potential cases than if only compulsory winding-up were covered.

. The inclusion of schemes of arrangement means that, as Justice Harris observed in Re China Oil Gangran Energy Group Holdings Limited (Provisional Liquidators Appointed) (For Restructuring Purposes), 2021: “It is now possible for a Hong Kong scheme to compromise debt governed by mainland law.” Where such debt is involved, Hong Kong is, with the benefit of the framework, well placed to be the jurisdiction of choice to co-ordinate a debt restructuring.

Issues for judicial guidance

Judicial guidance would be helpful on a number of issues arising from the SPC opinion. For instance:

. The opinion provides that a company’s COMI generally means its place of incorporation, but the mainland court shall take into account other factors, including the company’s place of principal office, principal place of business, place of principal assets, etc. Conceptually, the framework can apply to a company that was incorporated in, say, an offshore jurisdiction, or even the mainland, but has its COMI and insolvency proceedings in Hong Kong. Is the framework intended to be so flexible?

. The opinion does not require the Hong Kong insolvency proceedings of a company in question to be commenced after the framework took effect on 14 May 2021. Does the framework apply to Hong Kong insolvency proceedings commenced before that date?

. At present, only courts in the pilot areas would grant recognition and assistance to a Hong Kong liquidator or provisional liquidator. Under the opinion, a successful applicant may be allowed to perform various duties on the mainland. Does this mean they can do so throughout the mainland, with mainland courts outside the pilot areas further assisting, as appropriate?

The framework would be the most effective if the answer to each of these questions is “yes”. Meanwhile, the SPC designation, in due course, of more pilot areas for the purposes of the framework is to be anticipated.


Business Law Digest is compiled with the assistance of Baker McKenzie. Readers should not act on this information without seeking professional legal advice. You can contact Baker McKenzie by e-mailing Howard Wu (Shanghai) at howard.wu@bakermckenzie.com