家族信托立法改革提议

0
100
Proposed legislative reform for family trusts, 家族信托立法改革提议

在过去十年,中国的高净值人群数量大幅增长,家族信托也越来越成为一个重要的财富管理和接班人规划工具。尽管实践中对家族信托的需求在增加,《信托法》也已出台超过20年,但中国仍然没有相关立法规管家族信托。因此,对于这类信托的税务问题,仍然有很多不确定性。

据中国信托登记有限责任公司发布的数据,在2020年,家族信托资产规模年增长80.29%。截至2020年6月,总共有9,049家在岸家族信托,总资产达到1860亿元人民币(约合287亿美元)。

在2018年9月,中国银保监会信托监管部发布信托函〔2018〕37号通知(简称“37号通知”),首次从监管角度定义了“家族信托”。根据37号通知,“家族信托”的定义包括:

(1)家族信托指信托公司接受单一个人或者家庭的委托,提供定制化事务管理和金融服务的信托业务;

(2)家族信托财产金额或价值不低于1000万元;

(3)受益人是家庭成员,也包括委托人,但委托人不得为惟一受益人。自此之后,没有与家族信托相关的规则出台。

除了缺少专门的家族信托立法外,另一个问题是,中国对于信托的税务问题都没有清晰的规则,遑论家族信托的税务问题。举个例子,如果委托人在建立一个信托后将财产过户给受托人,是否须纳税,按照目前规则这个问题还不清楚。

这些不确定性阻碍了家族信托在中国的发展。因此,许多人(包括从业人员、专业人士和学术研究员)都在呼吁完善家族信托立法。

在今年3月召开的全国人大和全国政协会议中,几位人大代表和政协代表(包括银保监会信托监管部主任赖秀福和中国证监会原主席肖钢)都提交了改革家族信托立法的提案。

他们的主要提议包括:

. 首先,应当修订信托法,并出台司法解释指南,完善有关信托财产过户、受托人义务和受益人权利的规则。

. 其次,应当厘清信托财产的所有权,建立信托财产登记制度,后者可作为信托税收机制的基础。

. 第三,因为对家族信托收征税面临诸多困难,应当建立一个全面的信托税收制度,规定信托财产的过户和分配,以及家族信托的设立和终止的税收规则。

但是,上述提案并没有进入全国人大常委会2021年度立法工作计划中。我们也没有看到任何官方新闻表示国家税务总局有任何计划要发布信托税收规则。因此,我们预期,中国的在岸家族信托仍然要在当前充满着立法和税收不确定性的环境中发展。


《商法摘要》由贝克·麦坚时国际律师事务所协助提供,内容仅供参考之用。读者如欲开展与本栏内容相关之工作,须寻求专业法律意见。 读者可通过以下电邮与贝克·麦坚时联系:吴昊(上海)howard.wu@bakermckenzie.com

Proposed legislative reform for family trusts

0
26
Proposed legislative reform for family trusts, 家族信托立法改革提议

China’s high net worth individual (HNWI) population has significantly increased in the past decade, making family trusts an increasingly important tool for wealth management and succession planning. Despite the increasing need for family trusts, in practice, China has not introduced specific legislation to deal with them, even though the Trust Law has been in place for more than 20 years. As a result, there is uncertainty about the taxation of trusts.

Based on data published by the China Trust Registration, in 2020, the volume of assets held under family trusts experienced an annual increase of 80.29%. As of June 2020, there were 9,049 onshore family trusts with total assets amounting to RMB186 billion (USD28.7 billion).

In September 2018, the Trust Supervision and Administrative Department of the China Banking and Insurance Regulatory Commission (CBIRC trust department) issued Xin Tuo Han [2018] No. 37 (circular 37) which, for the first time, defines the meaning of “family trust” from a regulatory perspective. Under circular 37, a “family trust” is defined as a trust business where:

(1) a trust company accepts the entrustment of a single person or family to provide customised affairs management and financial services;

(2) the amount or value of the family trust property is at least RMB10 million; and

(3) the beneficiaries are family members, which could include the settlor, provided that the settlor is not the only beneficiary. No further rules dealing with family trusts have been issued since then.

In addition to the lack of specific legislation dealing with family trusts, another issue is that China does not have clear rules on the taxation of trusts overall, let alone family trusts. For example, it is not even clear whether an asset transfer from the settlor to the trustee upon the establishment of a trust would give rise to taxes.

These uncertainties create impediments to the use of family trusts in China. Many people – including industry practitioners, professionals and academics – have therefore been advocating the improvement of family trust legislation.

In the recent annual session of the National People’s Congress (NPC) and the Chinese People’s Political Consultative Conference (CPPCC), in March 2021, several congress and conference representatives – including the head of the CBIRC trust department, Lai Xiufu, and the former chair of the China Securities Regulatory Commission (CSRC), Xiao Gang – proposed that the family trust legislation be reformed.

Their key proposals are as follows:

. First, the trust law should be amended and practical interpretation guidance should be issued to refine the rules concerning the transfer of trust property, the duties of the trustee, and beneficiaries’ rights.

. Second, the ownership of trust property should be clarified and a trust property registration system should be established, which will also serve as the foundation of the taxation regime for trusts.

. Third, in response to the major difficulty of tax collection for family trusts, a comprehensive taxation regime for trusts should be developed to ascertain the tax treatment for the transfer and distribution of trust property, and for the set-up and termination of a family trust.

That said, the proposed reform to family trust legislation was not included in the NPC Standing Committee’s Legislative Plan for 2021, nor is there any official news indicating that the State Tax Administration has any concrete plans for issuing rules on the taxation of trusts. It is expected that PRC onshore family trusts will need to live with existing legislative and taxation uncertainties, for now.


Business Law Digest is compiled with the assistance of Baker McKenzie. Readers should not act on this information without seeking professional legal advice. You can contact Baker McKenzie by e-mailing Howard Wu (Shanghai) at howard.wu@bakermckenzie.com