以不良资产处置的方法论系统性化解企业债权追索难题

作者: 陈卓和王昊,天元律师事务所
0
350
LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link

面对层出不穷的债务违约,如何有效进行债务追索是企业的关切所在。实践中,笔者认为借鉴不良资产处置的方法可有助于企业高效追回债务

们注意到,近年来,基于宏观经济形势等多种原因,不少企业逐渐转变经营侧重,开始重视债权的追索问题。但是,在实际开展追索的过程中,债权人可能会面临待追索债权繁杂、缺乏有效担保或缺乏债务人财产线索、债务人财产不易变现等各种难题。基于相关法律实务经验,我们认为,参考、借鉴不良资产处置的方法论,有助于系统性化解企业债权追索难题。

Chen Zhuo, Tian Yuan Law Firm
陈卓
合伙人
天元律师事务所
电话: +86 138 1041 7260
电子信箱: chenzhuo@tylaw.com.cn

按照实现的难易程度、紧急程度、违约后果严重程度等因素,对待追索债权进行分级,优先追索难度较低、紧迫程度和违约后果严重程度较高的债权。当面对层出不穷的债务违约,如债权人希望有的放矢、高效化解,则有必要参考不良资产进行分级分类处置的方法,尽早对有待追索的债权进行全面梳理,按照实现的难易程度、紧急程度、违约后果严重程度等因素,系统地对债权进行分级分类。

一般来说,从实现难度较低的债权入手,不仅有助于完善债权追索的工作机制,搭建模板,鼓舞士气,还能降低原本实现难度较低的债权出现后续情况恶化、难度提升的风险。而对于因急需尽快立案或财产保全等情形而紧迫度高,或因债权金额大等情形而违约后果严重的债权,亦应优先解决,避免因追索工作开展不及时而发生诸如出现集中管辖事由、已无可供保全的财产、超过诉讼时效等阻碍或不便于债权实现的情形。

充分运用法律工具,扩展可追究责任的主体范围,发现债务人可供偿债的财产线索。直接以司法途径追索债权时,可以仿效适用不良债权清收时常用的法律工具。

如债务人偿债意愿或偿债能力低,扩展可追究责任的主体范围,有助于增加债权实现的可能性。例如,当债务人是公司时,可追究股东未妥善履行出资义务的责任,亦可利用刺破公司面纱制度,追究股东责任或关联公司责任,追究一人有限公司与股东财产混同的责任;当债务人是自然人时,可以追究夫妻共同债务。

债务人可供偿债的财产,直接决定债权是否能实质清偿。可以考虑通过梳理与债务人此前往来情况,检索债务人工商信息、新闻报道、上市公司披露信息、司法公开的裁判文书或执行信息,行使股东知情权以审阅财务账簿等方式,尽可能多的掌握债务人银行账户、不动产、股权、债权、知识产权、产能或排放指标等有价值的财产线索,采取财产保全措施,或者在此基础上关注行使债权人代位权或撤销权的可能性,扩展债务人可供偿债的财产。

Wang Hao, Tian Yuan Law Firm
王昊
律师
天元律师事务所
电话: +86 136 5118 1449
电子信箱: wanghao@tylaw.com.cn

适时考虑采取债务重组措施,以一定优惠条件,获得有效担保。对于有可能提供有价值担保的债务人,为提升债权最终实现的可能性,债权人可以考虑借鉴债务重组的措施,与债务人协商,以包括但不限于提供一定宽限期,给予一定附条件的债务豁免,甚至追加一定借款等方式,换取债务人或第三人提供有意义的保证担保或债务加入,抑或有价值的抵押、质押担保,以短期利益的让步换取债权实现可能性的提升。

适时考虑采取以物抵债、债转股等措施,或通过破产制度,转换债权实现方式,获得最终收益。如债权人对于债务人某些资产抱有兴趣,或对于债务人未来营业预期持积极态度,还可以考虑与债务人(或其股东)协商进行以物抵债,尽快实际取得有变现价值的财产,或进行债转股,着眼于债务人股权未来的商业价值,并争取较为优惠的分红权、一票否决权等附加条件。

如债务人资产状况符合破产条件,且债权人的债权在总债权中比重较大,优先度较高,债权人也可以考虑通过破产制度,充分利用既有债权,参与重整投资,将债权转变为股权,进一步取得对债务人或债务人核心资产的控制地位,转换债权实现方式,通过经营活动,获得最终收益。

概言之,在处理纷繁复杂的债权追索工作时,债权人可以结合上述思路,参考、借鉴不良资产处置的方法论,立足整体,对债权整理归类,把控工作节奏,具体问题具体分析,针对性的综合运用法律工具、商业谈判,提升债权追索效率,增加债权实现的可能。


陈卓天元律师事务所合伙人。他的联系方式是电话+86 138 1041 7260以及电邮chenzhuo@tylaw.com.cn
王昊是天元律师事务所律师。他的联系方式是电话+86 136 5118 1449以及电邮wanghao@tylaw.com.cn

Tian Yuan Law Firm Logo天元律师事务所

北京市丰盛胡同28号
太平洋保险大厦B座10层
邮编: 100032

电话: +86 10 5776 3888
传真: +86 10 5776 3777
www.tylaw.com.cn

LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link

Using disposal of non-performing assets method to resolve problems in claims recourse

By Chen Zhuo and Wang Hao, Tian Yuan Law Firm
0
53

As businesses focus on recouping debts, creditors can turn to the approach applied to disposing of non-performing assets to efficiently resolve defaults

In recent years, due to the macroeconomic situation and other reasons, many enterprises have gradually changed their business focus and started seeking recourse over outstanding claims. However, when seeking recourse, the creditor may face difficulties such as complicated claims, a lack of effective security or clues over a debtor’s property, and a failure to realise the debtor’s property. Based on relevant legal practice, in this article, we attempt to use the method of disposing of non-performing assets to systematically solve the problems of enterprises recovering claims.

Chen Zhuo, Tian Yuan Law Firm
Chen Zhuo
Partner
Tian Yuan Law Firm
Tel: +86 138 1041 7260
E-mail: chenzhuo@tylaw.com.cn

Claims are graded based on the degree of difficulty, urgency and seriousness of the consequences of default, with priority given to claims with lower difficulty, higher urgency and higher seriousness. When faced with numerous debt defaults, the creditor needs to refer to the classification method for the disposal of non-performing assets, comprehensively sort out the claims as early as possible and systematically classify them according to the above grading standard to effectively and efficiently resolve defaults.

Generally, starting from claims with lower difficulty not only helps improve the working mechanism of claim recourse, but it also sets a good example and boosts morale, reduces the risk of subsequent deterioration and the increasing difficulty. Priority should also be given to claims with high urgency due to the urgent need to file a case or preserve property, as well as claims with severe consequences of default due to their large amount, to avoid situations that hinder or do not facilitate the claim recourse, such as the emergence of any matter causing centralised jurisdiction, no property for preservation, and the expiration of the statute of limitations for litigation.

Make full use of legal means to expand the scope of subjects that can be held liable and discover clues to the debtor’s property available for repayment. Judicial recourse to claims can emulate the application of legal tools commonly used to settle non-performing asset claims. If the debtor’s willingness or ability to repay debts is low, expanding the scope of subjects that can be held liable will help increase the likelihood of realising claims.

For example, when a debtor is a company, we can hold shareholders liable for failure to fulfil the obligation of capital contribution, applying the doctrine of “piercing the corporate veil” to pursue the liability of shareholders or affiliated companies or pursuing the liability of joining the finances of a one-person company and its shareholder; when a debtor is a natural person, we can apply the doctrine of joint debt of husband and wife.

Wang Hao, Tian Yuan Law Firm
Wang Hao
Associate
Tian Yuan Law Firm
Tel: +86 136 5118 1449
E-mail: wanghao@tylaw.com.cn

The debtor’s property available for debt repayment directly determines whether the claim can be substantially settled. By sorting out the previous transactions with the debtor, retrieving the debtor’s industrial and commercial information, news reports, information of listed companies disclosed, public judicial judgments or execution information, exercising the shareholders’ right to know for reviewing the financial books, etc., we can obtain as many valuable property clues as possible, including the debtor’s bank accounts, real estate, equity, claims, intellectual property rights, production capacity or emission indicators, take measures to preserve property, or consider the possibility of exercising creditors’ subrogation or rescission rights on that basis, to expand the debtor’s property available for debt repayment.

Consider debt restructuring measures when appropriate and obtain effective security on certain favourable terms. Creditors may consider drawing on debt restructuring measures to negotiate with the debtor, including but not limited to providing a grace period, granting conditional debt forgiveness, or even borrowing an amount of additional money, to obtain effective guarantees or debt accessions or valuable mortgages or pledges from the debtor or third parties, exchanging concessions on short-term benefits for an increased likelihood of claim realisation.

Consider measures such as in-kind debt and debt-to-equity conversion when appropriate or to obtain the ultimate benefit through bankruptcy or changing how to realise a claim. If the creditor is interested in certain assets of the debtor or holds a positive attitude towards the debtor’s future business prospects, he or she may also consider negotiating with the debtor (or its shareholders) for in-kind credit to actually acquire property with realisable value as soon as possible or for debt-to-equity conversion, focusing on the future commercial value of the debtor’s equity and seeking more favourable additional conditions such as dividend rights and veto rights.

If the debtor’s asset status qualifies for bankruptcy and the creditor’s claims have a greater proportion and a higher priority in the total claims, the creditor may also consider using the existing claims through the bankruptcy regime, participating in a reorganisation, and converting claims into equity. Thus, the creditor may control the debtor or its core assets, convert the realisation of claims, and obtain ultimate benefits through business activities.

In summary, when dealing with a complicated claim recourse, a creditor can combine the above-mentioned ideas, based on the overall situation, refer to the disposal of non-performing assets, organise and categorise the claims, control the pace of work, tailor the analysis to specific problems, and use legal tools and commercial negotiations purposefully to improve the efficiency of claims recourse and increase the possibility of claims realisation.


Chen Zhuo is a partner at Tian Yuan Law Firm. He can be contacted at +86 138 1041 7260 or by e-mail at chenzhuo@tylaw.com.cn
Wang Hao is an associate at Tian Yuan Law Firm. He can be contacted at +86 136 5118 1449 or by e-mail at wanghao@tylaw.com.cn

Tian Yuan Law Firm LogoTian Yuan Law Firm

10/F, Tower B
China Pacific Insurance Plaza
28 Fengsheng Hutong
Beijing 100032, China

Tel: +86 10 5776 3888
Fax: +86 10 5776 3777
www.tylaw.com.cn