VUCA市场环境下的日企变革

作者: 赵戎,赉擘斯劳动咨询事务所
0
328
LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link

随着市场环境的变化节奏加快,很多奉行“菠菜法则”沟通方式的传统日企陷入困境,冗长的决策流程让他们难以捕捉稍纵即逝的市场机遇,于是踏上提效增速的变革之路

谓VUCA,是易变性(volatility)、不确定性(uncertainty)、复杂性(complexity)、模糊性(ambiguity)的缩写。面对VUCA时代多变的格局和复杂的商业环境,很多步伐沉重的日企被市场看作时代演变的牺牲品。若想顺应战略快速变革的大趋势,日企管理的破局点在哪里?

VUCA与菠菜法则

Zhao Rong, Labour Consulting (LABOURS)
赵戎
合伙人
赉擘斯劳动咨询事务所
电话: +86 139 1197 0263
电子信箱: zhaorong@laibei.com

以本司曾介入的案例为例,M公司是一家百年老牌的日资家电产品制造企业,随着中国市场对其家电产品的需求下降,以及该类型产品在中国的零部件国产化程度提高,M司在华的生产销售优势不复往日。由此,M司管理层产生了关停其生产工厂,撤出中国市场的想法。

然而,M司日本总部迟迟未能给出明确的书面决策。一方面,总部作为决策者要权衡诸多因素,如企业的关停与清算事宜,人员的全部或部分裁减与变动,以及对总部整体经营的影响。另一方面,疫情的反复增加了关闭过程、上下游供应链因素的不确定性。在尚无法明确决策的情况下,M司无法向受影响的工厂及时传达关闭信息。日方管理者不了解中国的法律环境和相关政策,在当地人员调整方面更是缺少可供总部参考的相关经验与案例。

在这种重大时刻,M司难以权衡如何收集、共享信息并快速做出正确战略决策。

说到收集、共享信息,必须要提一下“菠菜法则”,这是日本企业的日常管理习惯和特色。主要体现在六个字上:即报告、联络、商量。由于这三个词的第一个字在日语发音中与“菠菜”(ほうれんそう)的发音相同,所以大家习惯称之为“菠菜法则”。其核心是员工在工作中要随时向上级报告,随时与相关部门联系,随时跟相关人员商量处理方法。“菠菜法则”虽然保证了企业内部的全方位沟通,但是同时也不可避免地造成了沟通环节过多,决策过程冗长的决策缺陷。

这也是在市场快速变化的环境中,为什么以“菠菜法则”为立身之本的日企容易错过稍纵即逝的商业机会,尤其是在面对全球市场收缩且疫情反复的背景下,日企的决策速度和应对策略往往与欧美企业甚至中国企业“慢半拍”的原因。

从战略决策延伸到员工的劳动关系调整时,不同于一些欧美企业直接“裁减人员”,日企更倾向于“努力维持雇佣关系,但减少工作时间”的方式来应对外部经营环境变化。

回到上述M司的案例中,由于M司决策层难以迅速做出同时满足生产战略和稳定员工的双赢决策,必须依赖本司基于“法-理-情”平衡的思路,提出高效可行的解决方案,帮助公司总部一起做出战略调整决定,令业务变革和人员调整得以顺利进行。

提速增效的改革

在VUCA的市场环境下,让有着动辄有上百年经营历史的传统日企突破常规决策方式,快速找到快速转型变革的可行之道,实属不易。可喜的是,随着更多日企已经开始意识到了上面的问题,已经踏上了VUCA时代的“维新”之路。

随着雇佣关系趋势的变化,日企员工的流动性随着“VUCA”的到来而加剧。流动性的增强,意味着经济发展的活力增强,也意味着企业与员工过去达成的“雇佣关系平衡”被打破。“打破”意味着不适应,也意味着劳资争议的不断出现。

随着员工流动性增强,薪酬差距也随之拉开。调查研究发现,以往在日本的日企高管与新入职员工之间的薪酬差距大约是11:1,而在美国企业,这两者间的差距最高可达475:1。尽管较小的薪酬差距可增强高管与员工间的稳定性,但也会造成激励效果不高,高管和员工的积极性都得不到提升。近些年,日企开始大规模并购欧美企业、推动全球多元化进程,这些变革预计将缩小日企与欧美企业的薪酬差距。

如何渡过变革期?

确保内部沟通一致、有效。举例而言,传统日企在推进变革的过程中,各项调整事项均会向全员逐级公布,由此产生信息差。为适应VUCA时代的特性,企业需要找到更直接、高效的沟通方式。

引入外部力量。企业在变革过程中,最大的阻力往往源自内部。在日企的文化中,一个很明显的特点是员工习惯于问“Why”,而非“How”,致使管理层的大量时间精力耗费在向员工解释说明原因上。通过引入外部第三方顾问力量,可获得更多战略决策和变革落地支持,为企业战略变革提出量身定制的解决方案,更可协调相关方的利益诉求和资源,确保VUCA时代企业变革目标的实现。


赵戎是赉擘斯劳动咨询事务所合伙人。他的联系方式是电话+86 139 1197 0263以及电邮zhaorong@laibei.com

Labours LogoLabours
北京市海淀区北太平庄路18号
城建大厦A630 邮编 100088

电话: +86 10 8225 5618
传真: +86 10 6641 5678/6641 3211
邮箱:

marketing@laibei.com
www.laibei.com

LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link

Reforming Japan’s ‘spinach rule’ for today’s VUCA market

By Zhao Rong, Labour Consulting (LABOURS)
0
73

Today’s volatile market is a trial by fire for traditional Japanese companies, plagued by snail-paced internal communication and decision making. It’s no surprise that many are calling for reform

The term “VUCA” is an acronym for “volatility”, “uncertainty”, “complexity” and “ambiguity”, defining today’s fast-changing, complex business landscape. But a growing number of lumbering Japanese companies are falling victim to the changing times of the VUCA era.

What is the strategy for switching gears for managerial breakthrough?

Zhao Rong, Labour Consulting (LABOURS)
Zhao Rong
Partner
Labour Consulting (LABOURS)
Tel: +86 139 1197 0263
E-mail: zhaorong@laibei.com

In a classic example handled by the author’s firm, company M was an old-fashioned Japanese home appliance manufacturer with declining demand for its products in the Chinese market and increasing localisation of components and parts.

Its production and sales advantages were not what they used to be and, as a result, management began to consider shutting down its China production plants and withdrawing from the market.

But its head office in Japan was unable to promptly issue a firm written decision. On the one hand, as decision maker, the head office needed to weigh factors including closure and liquidation of the enterprise, total or partial layoff and transfer of personnel, and the impact on overall operations of the head office.

On the other hand, the persistent pandemic added to uncertainty of the closure process and upstream/downstream supply chain. The management was unacquainted with China’s legal environment and relevant policies, and local precedents relating to personnel changes for reference by the head office were also few and far between.

Accordingly, company M found itself at a critical juncture, unable to balance the collection and sharing of information with the need to quickly come to a sound decision. In the absence of a clear decision, it was unable to timely convey notice of closure to the affected plants.

THE ‘SPINACH RULE’

When it comes to collecting and sharing information, one term that keeps coming up is the “spinach rule”, or Ho-Ren-So, a common day-to-day management practice of Japanese companies. This mainly manifests as hōkoku (report), renraku (inform) and sōdan (consult). As the first characters of those three words when put together sound identical to hōrensō, the Japanese word for “spinach”, it became known as the spinach rule.

The core idea is that employees must at all times report their work to their superiors, inform relevant departments and consult relevant personnel for how best to proceed.

While the spinach rule ensures all-around communication within the company, it also inevitably leads to excessive communicative steps and a prolonged decision-making process.

It also explains why fleeting opportunities in a rapidly shifting market tend to escape Japanese firms abiding by the spinach rule. This slower response compared with Western or even Chinese companies became especially evident during global market contraction amid the pandemic.

When labour adjustments become part of future strategies, Japanese companies tend to respond to external business environment changes by “endeavouring to maintain employment but reducing working hours”, unlike Western counterparts that often cut directly to downsizing.

Consequently, it proved difficult for the decision makers of company M to rapidly come to a win-win decision that satisfied both its production strategy and workforce stabilisation.

Ultimately, it relied on the author’s firm to propose an efficient and practical solution that aimed to balance legality, rationality and sentimentality, while assisting head office in revising its strategy to smoothly proceed with business reform and personnel adjustments.

PICKING UP PACE

In a VUCA market environment it is no easy task for traditional Japanese companies, many with hundreds of years of history, to break out of their comfort zone and find a viable way to quickly transform. It is encouraging, however, that many have become aware of the issue and are looking to pick up their pace to keep up with the market.

Employment relationships in Japanese companies are evolving with increased mobility. Increased mobility not only means more dynamic economic development, but also that balanced, long maintained employer-employee relationships are being shattered. This leads to difficulty in adapting, as well as a period where labour-management disputes are likely to occur.

Increased employee mobility widens pay gap. Studies show that the pay gap between executives and new employees of Japanese companies used to be about 11:1, while in US companies it could be as great as 475:1. While a smaller pay gap enhances stability between executives and employees, it can also reduce the effectiveness of incentives, making it difficult to spur the motivation of either.

One growing trend in recent years saw many Japanese companies merge with or acquire Western companies, promoting globalisation, which is expected to reduce remuneration differences.

SURVIVING THE TRANSITION

Ensure consistent and effective internal communication. When a traditional Japanese company reforms, each item of adjustment is announced to all employees of one level at a time, creating a momentary information gap. To adapt to the VUCA era, it is imperative they find more direct and efficient ways to communicate.

Bring in outside help. When changes are at hand, the greatest resistance usually originates from within. One of the most prominent characteristics in Japanese corporate culture is that employees are used to asking “why” instead of “how”, which means management must devote considerable time and effort to explaining their reasoning.

A third-party consultant, in addition to providing more intellectual support, is able to provide tailor-made solutions for the company’s strategic changes, harmonise interests, demands and resources on all sides, and ensure its goal of VUCA reform can be achieved as planned.


Zhao Rong is a partner at Labour Consulting (LABOURS). He can be contacted at +86 139 1197 0263 and by email at zhaorong@laibei.com

Labours LogoLabours
Room 630, Tower A, Chengjian Plaza
No.18, North Taipingzhuang Road
Beijing 100088, China

Tel: +86 10 8225 5618
Fax: +86 10 6641 5678/6641 3211
E-mail:

marketing@laibei.com
www.laibei.com