渐入佳境

0
216
LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link

知识产权已成为新时代商业文化的基石。INTA国际商标协会为实践及巩固知产保护的理念正努力不懈。

很高兴能够为读者奉上本期《产权特刊》。本期月刊将在“国际商标协会(INTA)年会”这一备受国际知识产权界瞩目的盛会上派发。而《商法》也有幸成为此次盛会的合作伙伴。

本月,我们首先将对中国在知识产权保护方面的最新发展进行考察。据我们的调查显示,在知识产权权利的执行层面,人们对中国法院系统的信心已大为增强(见《法院 – 知识产权之役的第二战场》)。

我们的第二篇专题文章(见《中国知产在海外正受威胁》)则将关注中国公司初次在海外投资设厂时如何寻求对其知识产权的国际保护,而这一过程可谓任重而道远。

从上述报道,我们不难得出如下结论:知识产权从业者及其中国境内外之客户所拥有的共通之处已愈来愈多。中国改革开放初期采用的行政监督方式及其政策,将毫无悬念地逐步让位于国际通行的法院执行机制 — 由法院发来挥主导作用。

此外,本期的另一焦点关乎中国与国际法律社会的接轨(见《跨国投资者:你是否了解自己(最新)享有的权利?》),该文围绕中国近三十年来所签署的双边投资协定的重大发展加以探讨。最近宣布的仲裁委员会在各自受理的投资争端仲裁案件中的裁定显示,在这些被视为“老套”的协议项下所规定的权利似乎有所扩大。

《商法》旨在尽力缩小中国和海外法律实践中的差异和差距。我们就此所作的微薄之举包括每期月刊中的《商法词汇》(见《Shall 还是 must? 关于’义务’的词语),用于打破语言隔膜,解决法律用语中的棘手问题。本月,我们将探讨“义务”一词(shall 和 must)在英文上的表述及其在中文上的对应表述(必须、应当、需要、得),趣味盎然。我们热盼您的反馈。

LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link

More normal

0
264
LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link

Intellectual property is the cornerstone of value in the modern age. INTA demonstrates and reinforces this reality.

Welcome to our special intellectual property issue, which will be distributed at the annual meeting of the International Trademark Association (INTA). We are proud to be partnering INTA for this pre-eminent event in the global IP calendar.

Our investigations this month first examine the latest developments in IP law and protection in China. Our research has revealed a growing confidence in the court system as a tool for the enforcement of IP rights (see IP battles move to the courts).

Our second feature (see Chinese IP under threat worldwide) looks at the steep learning curve faced by Chinese companies seeking to protect their IP internationally as they venture out and invest overseas for the first time.

The inescapable conclusion to draw from such coverage is that the amount of common ground shared by IP practitioners and their clients inside and outside China continues to grow. Administrative oversight and policies traditionally adopted in the reform-era People’s Republic may, slowly but surely, be giving ground to internationally accepted enforcement mechanisms – with the courts playing a leading role.

And China’s integration into the international legal community is also a theme of this month’s The Four Seas feature (Cross-border investors: do you know your (new) rights?). This article discusses important developments surrounding the suite of bilateral investment treaties China has signed over the last 30 years. Recent pronouncements of arbitration tribunals hearing cases under the treaties seem to offer an extension of the rights and remedies available under what are considered “old-generation” agreements.

China Business Law Journal encourages anything that will narrow the gap between legal practice in China and overseas. Our own small contribution to this endeavour includes our regular Lexicon column (see Shall or must? Words of obligation) – a guide to the knotty issues of language that arise when working across the linguistic divide. This month, we take a fascinating look at words of obligation in English and their equivalents in Chinese – bixu (必须), yingdang (应当), xuyao (需要) and dei (). We look forward to your feedback.

LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link