逸侪拔萃

0
37

什么造就了优秀律所和企业法务?众所周知,法律界聚集了全国绝顶聪明的头脑,也因此充满其他行业无法匹敌的激烈竞争。本期我们邀请律所和企业法务,揭晓他们成功的秘密、商业策略和计费模式。

CBLJ2103 cover为控制成本,许多企业采用招标的形式来选择它们的法律服务供应商。而为了在竞争中胜出,一些律所全力以越来越低的价格参与竞争,一些律所则选择不参与其中。它们认为低于成本的报价从长远来看是在扼杀市场,对于客户亦是不负责任。

封面故事《精明筹算》是本刊今年的中国法律服务费率调研报告,其中包含了30家律师事务所的小时费率统计表。在报告中,规模各异律所的管理合伙人揭示了他们如何调整他们的计费策略,以在法律服务这一买方市场上站稳脚跟,同时,企业总法律顾问则分享了他们愿意为何种法律服务付费,以及外部律师对他们而言最为重要的特质。

《应对有方》中,我们聚焦到航空业。人们普遍认为该行业是收到疫情冲击最大的行业之一;有趣的是,疫情给商务飞行带来了机会,在各地施行旅行限制的情况下,高净值人士更倾向于购买私人飞机,来满足他们的出行需求。

民生金融租赁公司作为亚洲最大的公务航空租赁公司之一,在充分利用这一机遇的同时,也不得不应对不少动荡。这家航空巨头的高级法律顾问孙月,同我们了分享她为企业保障业务稳定时所应对的挑战。

本期我们也看向了中国东海岸的江苏,它正在为奠定其在华东法律市场的重要地位而努力,包括建立第三巡回法庭和其他专门的法院、法庭。《江苏正风发》检视了这个经济表现最好省份的法律市场,来自当地主要事务所的合伙人介绍了该地区最具潜力的产业,以及他们如何增强竞争力。渴望在该省分得一杯羹的全国性大型律师事务所此外,文章还讨论了本地所与之间的激烈竞争。

谈到另一种性质的竞争,我们征集了近期《商法》杰出法务大奖获得者的意见,一探那些助力他们获奖的策略和习惯。多数法务都强调,近年来,他们的角色从法律建议提供者向商业伙伴转变,而更多地参与到公司业务中。随着角色的转变,要成为一名成功的总法律顾问所需的技能也在发生变化。《如何成为成功的企业法务》汇编了获奖者们提供的最受欢迎的答案和技巧,它们将帮助现代的总法律顾问脱颖而出。

What makes you tick?

0
61

What makes a successful law firm? Or a winning in-house counsel? The legal profession enlists the country’s brightest minds and, by its nature, often engages these minds in intense competition not seen in many other professions. This issue, we talk to law firms and in-house counsel about everything from the secrets to their success, to their business strategies, and how they structure fee models for clients.

CBLJ2103 coverTo control costs, more companies are adopting reverse auctions to pick their legal providers. Some law firms are making every effort to win bids at ever lower prices, while others are choosing to stay out of a low-price competitive spiral, believing that low-cost offers are market killers in the long run and, more importantly, irresponsible to their clients.

Our cover story, Tight times, features our annual report on Chinese legal service fees, with a table of 30 law firms’ billing rates included. In the report, managing partners from law firms of all sizes reveal how they adjust their billing strategies to do business in what is a buyer’s market, while general counsel share what legal services they are willing to pay for, and what qualities they look for in their external legal representatives. The report is a must read for anyone with an interest in China’s legal services market.

In Learning on the fly, we zoom into the aviation industry, which is widely believed to one of hardest hit by the pandemic. Interestingly, there were blessings to be counted in business aviation, as more high net worth individuals (HNWIs) chose to buy private jets to meet their travel needs when traditional flights shut down.

Minsheng Financial Leasing, one of Asia’s largest business aviation leasing companies, while making the best of this opportunity, has also had to handle its fair share of turbulence. Fiona Sun, the senior legal counsel of the aviation giant, offered us a co-pilot’s seat to view the challenges she managed in keeping the business on a steady course.

This issue we also take you to Jiangsu, on China’s eastern central coast, a province that is playing all the right notes to corner eastern China’s legal market, including the establishment of a Third Circuit Court and other specialised courts and tribunals. Jiangsu on song examines the legal market of this top economic performer among the provinces, with partners from major local law firms introducing the most promising industries of the area, and how they are boosting their practices. Also up for discussion is the heavy competition with big national law firms eager for a slice of business in the province.

Turning to competition of a different nature, hear the opinions of the recent winners of China Business Law Journal’s in-house awards on the strategies and practices that helped them along their way to the winner’s circle. Most of them highlighted a transformation in their role from that of legal adviser to business partner in recent years, with a deeper involvement in business operations and company strategy. As the role of an in-house counsel evolves, the skills needed to be a successful general counsel are changing, too. How to be a successful in-house counsel compiles the most popular tips from our winners on what will help a modern GC stand out.