泽西岛再推两种新合伙制形式

作者: James Gaudin,毅柏律师事务所
0
283

泽西岛皇家法院近期登记,《(泽西岛)独立有限合伙法(2011)》和《(泽西岛)公司制有限合伙法(2011)》已分别于今年4月20日和5月24日生效,其引入的“独立有限合伙”(SLP)和“公司制有限合伙”(ILP)是泽西岛业已完善的监管体制下,新添加的法人架构形式。这两部新法以现行有效的《(泽西岛)有限合伙法(1994)》(《有限合伙法》)为蓝本,且保留了诸多该法的行政要素。SLP和ILP不仅彼此之间存在重大区别,它们与有限合伙亦有不同。

James Gaudin, 毅柏律师事务所
James Gaudin
合伙人
毅柏律师事务所

独立的法律人格。SLP和ILP均为独立于其合伙人的法人,有资格以自身的名义持有资产、起诉和应诉。但是,ILP为法人实体,而SLP不是。

永久存续。ILP与有限合伙的一大区别是,ILP作为法人实体将永久存续,而有限合伙则一般在普通合伙人死亡、解散、破产或退伙时解散(除非有恢复合伙的法定权力)。因此,ILP的解散程序较有限合伙和SLP更为正式。

信义义务。ILP的普通合伙人对该ILP所负的信义义务,与董事对公司所负的相似。只要该ILP能继续清偿到期债务,即使普通合伙人违反了信义义务,其行为也可由全体合伙人在事前或事后批准而生效。反之,SLP的普通合伙人则对该SLP不负任何法定的信义义务(但需负习惯法义务)。

无限行为能力SLP是非公司制合伙,而ILP则如其名所示,是永久存续的公司法人实体。两者均具无限行为能力。

有限合伙人的责任除个别例外情况外(与《有限合伙法》的相关规定类似),ILP和SLP中的有限合伙人仍只需承担有限责任。

普通合伙人的责任ILP和SLP中的普通合伙人对该ILP或SLP的债务承担无限责任。在交易实务中,只需将普通合伙人设计成有限公司或有限合伙,就能限制普通合伙人管理者的责任。此外,ILP的普通合伙人作为该合伙的代理人,仅对无法由该合伙资产清偿的债务承担责任。

泽西岛的税收透明制度在泽西岛,SLP和ILP与根据《有限合伙法》设立的有限合伙享受相同的税收待遇。若其有限合伙人不是泽西岛居民,则他们仅须就来源于泽西岛的收入缴纳泽西岛所得税,这通常意味着常驻境外的有限合伙人无须缴纳此税。

英国税收问题英国律师的初步法律意见认为,在所得税、公司税、土地印花税方面,ILP和SLP均将被英国税法视为税收透明的实体;而在资本利得税方面,预计仅有SLP会被视为税收透明的实体。建议当事人就此问题咨询英国税务专家。

实务操作

一个或多个普通合伙人,和一个或多个有限合伙人联合,就能快速便捷地设立ILP和SLP,具体程序如下:一份由每位拟任该ILP或SLP普通合伙人的法人签署的声明书应首先呈送泽西岛的有限合伙注册处;该声明书一经注册,注册官即会签发设立证书。整个过程通常不超过24小时。所有SLP和ILP都必须在泽西岛内有注册的办公场所,并保存一本非公开的登记簿。

该登记簿应记载每个有限合伙人的详细资料及其在合伙中的相应权益,登记簿还应包含声明书及合伙协议的副本(含对协议所作的所有修订)、每位有限合伙人同意出资的声明、出资返还每位有限合伙人的日期等信息。

广泛的交易应用

预计ILP和SLP将在各种交易中被广泛采用。这是因为,与有限合伙一样,ILP和SLP与公司结构相比有更大的运营灵活度(尤其是当投资本金可能要返还给投资者时),同时又保留了有限责任和独立法人资格所提供的保障和确定性。此外,另有几部泽西岛法规也已经因应ILP和SLP结构的引入做出了相应调整。其中最重要的是《(泽西岛)金融服务法(1998)》及其相关下位法的修订,这些修订使得ILP和SLP可被用作受监管及/或非监管基金服务业的投资工具,也就是说ILP和SLP能执行普通合伙人、管理人或顾问所承担的各种基金职能。

同时,ILP和 SLP 也适应多种交易结构,包括:

  • 各种类型的投资基金,包括为附带权益或业绩佣金而设的投资工具;
  • 资产持有结构;
  • 税收透明的合资安排;
  • 家族持股结构;
  • 结构性融资交易。

在ILP与SLP两者之中,预计对ILP的需求量会更大,特别是从事复杂跨境融资或投资结构的当事方会更愿意选择ILP。这是因为在国际私法框架下,ILP的法人实体身份使其具备更高的稳定性,并获得更多法律上的认可。

James Gaudin是泽西岛毅柏律师事务所合伙人,执业范围为公司及商事领域

Jersey
13-14 Esplanade St Helier

Jersey JE1 1BD

Tel: +44 (0)1534 888 777

Fax: +44 (0)1534 888 778

Email: jgaudin@applebyglobal.com

Hong Kong

2206-19 Jardine House,
1 Connaught Place Central, Hong Kong

Tel: +852 2523 8123

Fax: +852 2524 5548

Email: fwoo@applebyglobal.com

www.applebyglobal.com

Law.asia subscripton ad blue 2022

Jersey allows two new forms of partnership

By James Gaudin, Appleby
0
600

Following their recent registration by the Royal Court of Jersey, the Separate Limited Partnerships (Jersey) Law 2011 and Incorporated Limited Partnerships (Jersey) Law 2011 came into force on the 20 April and 24 May respectively. The introduction of separate limited partnerships (SLPs) and incorporated limited partnerships (ILPs) adds an important structuring option to Jersey’s well established regulatory regime. The two new laws are closely modelled on the Limited Partnerships (Jersey) Law 1994 (the LP Law) and retain many of the administrative elements of that law, which remains in force. However, SLPs and ILPs are characterized by a number of important differences when compared to a limited partnership, and to each other.

James Gaudin,Appleby
James Gaudin
Partner
Appleby

Distinct legal personality: SLPs and ILPs are each a legal person separate from their partners and will be able to hold property, sue and be sued in their own name. However, an ILP is a body corporate whereas an SLP is not.

Perpetual succession: as a body corporate, an ILP has perpetual succession in contrast to a limited partnership which, generally, is immediately dissolved on the death, dissolution, bankruptcy or withdrawal from the partnership of the general partner (subject to a statutory power to reinstate). In light of this, the dissolution procedure for an ILP is more formal than that for a limited partnership and for a SLP.

Fiduciary duties: a general partner of an ILP owes statutory fiduciary duties to the partnership which are analogous to those owed by a director to a company. Breaches of these fiduciary duties can be sanctioned or ratified by all the partners in the partnership, subject to the partnership continuing to be able to discharge its liabilities as they fall due. A general partner of an SLP does not owe any statutory fiduciary duties to the partnership (although the partners of the partnership will have customary law duties).

Unlimited capacity: an SLP will be unincorporated but an ILP, as its name suggests, will be a body corporate and will have perpetual succession. Both SLPs and ILPs will have unlimited capacity.

Limited partner liability: Subject to certain limited exceptions (broadly similar to those set out in the LP Law), limited partners of ILPs and SLPs will retain the benefit of limited liability.

General partner liability: general partners of ILPs and SLPs will have unlimited liability for the debts of the relevant ILP or SLP. From a practical perspective, the liability of those persons managing the general partner can be limited by structuring the general partner as a limited company or limited partnership. In the case of ILPs, a general partner acts as agent of the partnership and is only liable for debts that have not already been satisfied out of the assets of the relevant ILP.

Jersey tax transparency: SLPs and ILPs will be treated for Jersey tax purposes in the same manner as limited partnerships established under the LP Law. Limited partners who are not resident in Jersey are only liable for Jersey income tax on Jersey source income, which will usually mean no Jersey income tax being paid by limited partners established overseas.

United Kingdom tax: initial opinions from UK counsel suggest that both ILPs and SLPs will be treated as tax-transparent for the purposes of UK income tax, corporation tax and stamp duty land tax. In the case of UK capital gains tax it is anticipated that only SLPs will be treated as transparent for tax on chargeable gains. However, specific UK tax advice should be sought on this matter.

Practical considerations

Both ILPs and SLPs can be established quickly and efficiently by one or more general partners, and one or more limited partners in association. To establish the partnership, a declaration signed by each person who is to be a general partner of the ILP or SLP must be lodged with the Registrar of Limited Partnerships in Jersey. Following registration of the declaration, a certificate is issued by the registrar.

This process will usually be completed within 24 hours. All SLPs and ILPs must have a registered office in Jersey and maintain a register, which is not publicly available, holding the details of each limited partner and their respective interest in the partnership, a copy of the declaration and partnership agreement (including any amendments), and a statement of contributions agreed to be made by each limited partner and the date for the return of such contributions.

Transactional uses

We anticipate ILPs and SLPs being utilized across a broad spectrum of transactions. Like limited partnerships before them, ILPs and SLPs offer a greater degree of operational flexibility than corporate structures (particularly where investment capital may be returned to investors), while still retaining the protection and certainty that limited liability and separate legal personality provides. Several other Jersey statutes have been updated to cater for the introduction of ILPs and SLPs. Of particular relevance are the updates to the Financial Services (Jersey) Law 1998 and related subordinate legislation which allows ILPs and SLPs to be used as vehicles for regulated and/or unregulated fund services business. This opens the door for ILPs and SLPs to be used in the full range of fund functionary capacities including general partner, manager or adviser.

ILPs and SLPs lend themselves well to a variety of structures, including:

  • all types of investment funds including vehicles to be used for carried interests or performance fees;
  • asset-holding structures;
  • tax-transparent joint venture arrangements;
  • family holding structures; and
  • structured finance transactions.

Of the two vehicles, it is anticipated that demand for ILPs will be stronger, particularly from parties engaging in complex cross border financings or investment structures. The status of an ILP as a body corporate means it provides a high degree of certainty and recognition under private international law.

James Gaudin is a partner of Appleby in Jersey, with corporate and commercial as his practice area

Jersey
13-14 Esplanade St Helier

Jersey JE1 1BD

Tel: +44 (0)1534 888 777

Fax: +44 (0)1534 888 778

Email: jgaudin@applebyglobal.com

Hong Kong

2206-19 Jardine House,
1 Connaught Place Central, Hong Kong

Tel: +852 2523 8123

Fax: +852 2524 5548

Email: fwoo@applebyglobal.com

www.applebyglobal.com