商标侵权案中的诉讼中止程序

作者: Manisha Singh Nair,Lex Orbis
0
239

印度国内,因商标争议产生的判例法不胜枚举,但英国《金融时报》和印度班科公司有关文字标志“FT”的纠纷却是独一无二的。班科公司是印度最大的传媒集团时报集团的旗舰公司,时报集团则是印度发行量最大的日报《印度时报》的发行人。

该案自立案后,原被告双方就始终针锋相对。近日,该案的判决又将业界的注意转向了印度商标法中的一些细枝末节上去。

文字标志有无显著性?

Manisha Singh Nair, Lex Orbis
Manisha Singh Nair
合伙人
Lex Orbis

本案中,班科公司根据1999年印度《商标法》第124条申请中止诉讼。班科公司对英国《金融时报》注册“FT”商标的有效性提出异议。其主张如下:只要对该商标进行表面审查即能证明它不具显著性,而且也没有资料记录表明“FT”文字标志具有任何固有或在使用中获得的显著性。

印度商标法规定,商标侵权案的诉讼程序在出现下列情形时可以中止:(i)被告主张原告的商标无效,或(ii)被告辩称其有权使用根据《商标法》注册的相同或近似的商标,而原告则主张被告正在使用的商标无效。

在作出中止侵权诉讼的裁决前,法院首先需查明印度知识产权上诉委员会是否已启动了关于争议商标的任何注册修正程序,且程序是否仍在进行中。如果存在上述情况,法院将裁决中止诉讼直至修正程序处理完毕。如果不存在上述情况,且法院认为原被告一方关于另一方商标无效的主张在表面上可以成立,则法院将宣布休庭三个月,以便当事人向知识产权上诉委员会申请修正注册。

班科公司认为,根据《商标法》第124条,当一方申请修正注册时,法院必须认定该申请是表面成立的,才可中止诉讼。在本案中,法院首先考虑到班科公司是拖延了很久后才根据上述第124条申请修正程序和中止诉讼的。同时,法院强调,班科公司以文字标志不具有内在显著性为由,主张“FT”文字标志无效,若法院毫无保留地认为该主张在表面上成立的话,则可能会影响知识产权上诉委员会作出的判断,并在日后导致不可预见的结果。

申请被驳回

最终,法院以缺乏依据为由驳回了班科公司的申请,并认定其抗辩理由不能适用于所有情形。尽管《商标法》第124条要求对请求是否成立进行表面审查,但法院无法从已收到的请求及其证明材料中合理地得出该抗辩(即,文字标志不具有显著性)初步成立,并由此裁定诉讼中止。

法院在判决中强调的重点如下:在对商标无效请求是否成立进行表面审查时,应当记住,审理临时禁令申请中提出的无效请求是否成立与审理中止诉讼申请中提出的该等请求之间存在细微的性质差别。

细微差别

尽管本案被告班科公司几度严重拖延,但案件仍清楚表明了印度商标法的一些细微差别。在所有法律程序中,一旦商标根据《商标法》注册,即在形式上推定其有效。因此,若侵权案件的一方主张争议的注册商标无效,法院会允许当事方先提出修正商标注册的程序,且只有待修正程序结束,才会判定相同或近似的商标是否会因与注册商标存在虚假关联而使公众产生混淆。

法院指出,(i)在根据民事诉讼法审理临时禁令申请时,和(ii)在根据《商标法》第124条审理中止诉讼申请时,对商标无效请求进行表面审查所依据的标准应当有所不同。尽管法院没有具体说明不同之处究竟为何,但似乎后者的标准高于前者。这可能是因为提起上述两类申请所依据的法律条文性质不同。申请临时禁令时,表面审查需全面查明与侵权主张和商标无效抗辩相关的事实和情形。

相反,《商标法》第124条规定的中止诉讼程序,仅适用于只对商标的有效性提出异议的案件。因此,审查商标无效请求是否在表面上成立就必须有较高的标准。

在几乎所有商标侵权案的诉讼中,若当事人中任何一方提请修正商标注册,对商标有效性的质疑“是否成立”都会成为该案的重要一环。为了证明其对商标有效性的质疑“成立”,修正商标注册程序的提请人必须澄清以下四件商标注册事宜中的一件:

1. 已注册的商标在没有正当原因的情况下被移除或忽略;或

2. 虽然未申请注册某商标,但该商标却已注册;或

3. 尽管已有移除或修正商标的命令,但商标却错误地仍处于注册状态;或

4. 某项商标已经注册,但因为某些错误或缺陷而与最初获准注册的商标不同。

《商标法》第124条无疑已经表明,法院必须认同对某注册商标有效性的质疑是表面成立的。但另一方面,法院在判断时应该谨慎,毕竟判定该质疑表面成立会对商标修正程序造成影响。

Manisha Singh Nair 是 Lex Orbis 的合伙人。Lex Orbis是一家总部设在新德里的知识产权律师事务所

Lex_Orbis_logo-CMYK

709/710 Tolstoy House, 15-17 Tolstoy Marg

New Delhi – 110 001

India

电话 Tel: +91 11 2371 6565

传真 Fax: +91 11 2371 6556

电子信箱 Email: mail@lexorbis.com

www.lexorbis.com

Stay of proceeding in a trademark infringement suit

By Manisha Singh Nair, Lex Orbis
0
163

Trademark battles on Indian turf have generated an impressive amount of case law, but the fight over the letter mark “FT” between the Financial Times of the UK and Bennett Coleman & Co of India is in a class of its own. Bennett Coleman is the flagship company of The Times Group, the largest media conglomerate in India and publisher of The Times of India, the country’s largest-circulation daily newspaper.

Since the institution of the suit, the parties have continuously been on a warpath. Lately, a judgment in the case has raised some of the finer points of trademark law in India.

Distinctive or not?

Manisha Singh Nair, Lex Orbis
Manisha Singh Nair
Partner
Lex Orbis

An application was filed by Bennett Coleman for stay of proceeding under section 124 of the Trade Marks Act 1999. Bennett Coleman questioned the validity of the registration of the mark “FT”, which was held by the Financial Times. Bennett Coleman contended that a prima facie consideration of the mark would reveal it to be of a non-distinctive nature, and also that there was little material on record to show that the letter mark FT has any inherent or acquired distinctiveness.

Indian trademark law provides for stay of proceeding in a suit for infringement of a trademark in cases where (i) the defendant pleads invalidity of the plaintiff’s mark or (ii) the plaintiff pleads invalidity of the defendant’s mark against the defendant’s defence of its right to use an identical or nearly resembling trademark given by registration under the Act.

In order to stay the proceedings in the infringement suit, the court is required to ascertain whether any proceedings for rectification of the register in relation to the plaintiff’s or defendant’s trademark are pending before the Intellectual Property Appellate Board (IPAB). If a rectification proceeding is pending, the suit will be stayed until the final disposal of such proceedings. When there is no rectification proceeding pending and the court is satisfied that the plea of invalidity of the plaintiff or defendant’s mark is prima facie tenable, the suit will be adjourned for a period of three months in order to apply for the rectification of the register.

Bennett Coleman contended that under section 124, when an application for rectification is made before the IPAB, the court has to be satisfied that the said request is prima facie tenable. If it is satisfied, it may proceed to stay the suit. In this case, the court factored in a considerable delay by Bennett Coleman in filing rectification proceedings and applying for stay of the suit under section 124 of the Act. Furthermore the court also emphasized that it was conscious that a blanket acceptance of Bennett Coleman’s plea of prima facie tenability of the argument that letter marks are inherently incapable of distinctiveness may colour the IPAB’s view and hence lead to unforeseen results.

Application dismissed

Finally the Court dismissed Bennett Coleman’s application as unmerited and held that the reasoning it sought to employ could not be invoked under all circumstances because although section 124 does mandate prima facie examination of tenability, the pleas heard in the suit and the materials supporting the case did not justify a prima facie view that the defence (non-distinctiveness of the letter mark) was tenable and should lead to a stay of the suit.

The Court made a significant observation that while carrying out a prima facie examination of tenability of the plea of invalidity of a mark, a fine distinction has to be kept in mind between the nature of “tenability” of such a plea, while considering a temporary injunction motion, and one for the stay of suit.

Nuances

The case, although fraught with delays of an extraordinary nature on the part of the defendant, highlights the nuances of trademark law in a very succinct manner. In all legal proceedings, the registration of the mark under the Act serves as prima facie evidence of a presumption of validity. Thus a plea of invalidity of a registered trademark in an infringement suit allows for rectification proceeding to be instituted and disposed before deciding on the issue of whether identical or deceptive similar trademarks are likely to cause confusion on the part of public, due to a false association with the registered mark.

The court case observed that the plea of invalidity should be tested on different threshold levels depending on whether it is

(i) being examined during the hearing of an application for interim injunction under civil procedure code or

(ii) the stay of proceeding under section 124 of the Act. Although the court stopped short of elucidating on the fine distinction between the two threshold levels, it seems that that the threshold for prima facie examination of tenability of the plea of invalidity of a mark in an application under section 124 of the Act is at a higher level than the threshold for the same in a motion for interim injunction.

This is presumably due to the inherent nature of the provisions under which the applications are made. In an application for interim injunction, the determination of the prima facie case involves a comprehensive appreciation of the facts and circumstances with respect to the plea of infringement and invalidity of the mark.

In contrast, the stay of proceeding under section 124 of the Act is specific to the case where only validity of the mark is questioned. Thus a high threshold becomes imperative to examine the prima facie tenability of the plea of invalidity.

The “tenability” of a validity challenge is a significant part of almost all trademark litigations in which issues relating to rectification of the register are pleaded by either of the parties. In order to make a challenge “tenable”, an applicant must show, with respect to registration of a trademark, one of four things:

1. an entry duly registered has been removed or omitted from the register for no valid reason; or

2. an entry has been entered in the register although the mark has not been registered; or

3. an entry wrongly remains on the register despite an order for its removal or rectification; or

4. a particular entry has been registered, but with some error or defect which renders it different from the entry which was granted registration.

While the text of section 124 undoubtedly indicates that the court has to be satisfied that the non-registrability of a mark is prima facie tenable, at the same time, the court’s approach should be circumspect since any determination of prima facie tenability may impinge on the rectification proceedings themselves.

Manisha Singh Nair is a partner at Lex Orbis, an intellectual property practice law firm headquartered in New Delhi

Lex_Orbis_logo-CMYK

709/710 Tolstoy House, 15-17 Tolstoy Marg

New Delhi – 110 001

India

Tel: +91 11 2371 6565

Fax: +91 11 2371 6556

Email: mail@lexorbis.com

www.lexorbis.com