内幕交易

0
59

内幕交易是在大部分金融市场存在的一个问题。许多司法管辖区都有严格的法律和执法措施打击内幕交易。本期专栏探讨笔者和武汉大学法学院张阳博士最近发表的一篇实证分析论文,该论文研究了1999年至2019年20年间中国证券监督管理委员会(下称“证监会”)对内幕交易的行政处罚。

什么是内幕交易?

简单来说,内幕交易是指获取上市公司机密信息或重大非公开信息的人士对该公司证券的交易。可能参与内幕交易的“内幕人士”的范围广泛,包括董事、管理层及其亲属和朋友。涉及的信息范围也很广泛,包括公司的资产收购或资产处置计划,以及公司的总体运营情况。

一个典型的内幕交易例子是内幕人在得知某上市公司被收购的要约后,预计公司股价将因此上涨而买入该公司的股票。

内幕交易是否应被认定为违法交易?这个问题一直是学术文献和其他文章讨论的主题。为何禁止内幕交易?常获得引述的原因有几个,包括:知悉内幕信息的投资者可能获得比其他投资者更高的收益,因此,这种交易不公平。此外,一般投资者因无法平等地获取关于公司的重大信息,他们会要求更高的回报来弥补这种不利因素,因此,内幕交易会提高公司发行股票或债券的成本。这些都会侵蚀公众对金融市场的信心。

与此同时,实证研究结果显示,参与内幕交易的人是否一定获得高收益,并无保证。事实上,在一些案例中,一些内幕人士损失惨重。

You must be a subscribersubscribersubscribersubscriber to read this content, please subscribesubscribesubscribesubscribe today.

For group subscribers, please click here to access.
Interested in group subscription? Please contact us.

你需要登录去解锁本文内容。欢迎注册账号。如果想阅读月刊所有文章,欢迎成为我们的订阅会员成为我们的订阅会员

已有集团订阅,可点击此处继续浏览。
如对集团订阅感兴趣,请联络我们

本期专栏探讨的是张阳和葛安德在英文期刊Company and Securities Law Journal发表的文章Administrative Enforcement of Insider Trading in China: An Empirical Study (2022)(《中国内幕交易的行政执法:一项实证分析研究(2022年)》)。

葛安德


葛安德曾在上海以外国律师的身份执业(1996-2006),而后回到母校澳大利亚墨尔本法学院从事法律教学和研究工作(2006-2021年)。葛安德现在是墨尔本法学院亚洲法律中心的荣誉首席研究员,亦在多家机构担任顾问,其中包括年利达律师事务所、澳大利亚法律改革委员会和世界银行。

Insider trading

0
63

INSIDER TRADING is a problem in most financial markets. Many jurisdictions have strict laws and enforcement measures against insider trading. This column discusses recent empirical research published by the author and Dr Zhang Yang of Wuhan University School of Law on insider trading administrative enforcement by the China Securities Regulatory Commission (CSRC) for the two decades between 1999 and 2019.

WHAT IS INSIDER TRADING?

In simple terms, insider trading is the trading of a listed company’s securities by individuals with access to confidential or material non-public information about the company. The range of “insiders” who might engage in insider trading is broad and includes directors, executives, and their relatives and friends. The range of information involved is also broad, including information about a company’s proposed acquisition or disposal of an asset, and also information about the company’s operations generally.

A typical example of insider trading is where an insider obtains information about the proposed takeover of a listed company and acquires shares in the company in anticipation of an increase in the value of the shares as a result of the takeover bid.

Debate is ongoing in academic and other literature about whether insider trading should be illegal. There are a number of reasons that are commonly identified for prohibiting insider trading, including that it is unfair, as investors with insider information could potentially make larger profits than other investors. In addition, insider trading increases the costs of issuing shares or bonds by companies, as investors will demand a higher return to compensate for disadvantage they suffer as a result of not having equal access to material information about the company. All of this undermines public confidence in financial markets.

At the same time, as shown by findings from the empirical research, there is no guarantee that people who engage in insider trading will generate large profits from their activities. In some cases, they actually suffer significant losses.

You must be a subscribersubscribersubscribersubscriber to read this content, please subscribesubscribesubscribesubscribe today.

你需要登录去解锁本文内容。欢迎注册账号。如果想阅读月刊所有文章,欢迎成为我们的订阅会员成为我们的订阅会员

This column draws on an article by Zhang Yang and Andrew Godwin titled Administrative Enforcement of Insider Trading in China: An Empirical Study (2022), in Company and Securities Law Journal.

Andrew Godwin

Andrew Godwin previously practised as a foreign lawyer in Shanghai (1996-2006) before returning to his alma mater, Melbourne Law School in Australia, to teach and research law (2006-2021). Andrew is currently Principal Fellow (Honorary) at the Asian Law Centre, Melbourne Law School, and a consultant to various organisations, including Linklaters, the Australian Law Reform Commission and the World Bank.