工业设施BOT模式中建设方的法律风险防范要点

作者: 陈卓和王昊,天元律师事务所
0
394
LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link

BOT模式下的工业设施建设项目中,法律纠纷往往金额较大、内容复杂,因此对建设方而言,审慎管理与业主的合同关系与风险至关重要

工业设施建设领域,由于资金投入大、建设和运营周期长、技术要求高等原因,BOT模式(建造–运营–移交业主)得以推广。但基于同样原因,工业设施BOT模式也容易产生法律纠纷,且争议标的金额往往较大,所涉事实和法律问题也较为复杂。因此,笔者基于相关法律实务经验,梳理、总结了以下工业设施BOT模式中建设方的法律风险防范要点。

Company law amendments provide improved protection, Chen Zhuo
陈卓
合伙人
天元律师事务所

与业主明确约定任务分工、保证事项和责任边界,并做好证据保存。工业设施领域的BOT项目,多为业主主要工业设施提供基础原料、能源,或对产出的污染物进行回收、净化等环保处理,一般选址在业主厂区内或厂区周边。项目的部分生产原料及所需的水、电、气等,常由业主提供,流程中的产出物也常由业主收购回用。

因此,建设方应与业主明确约定项目建设、运营、移交过程中二者的任务分工、保证事项和责任边界,包括但不限于:项目启动所需的立项、环评、用地等行政审批,由哪一主体负责落实;项目建设过程中业主应就施工人员、材料、设备的出入、食宿、储运等哪些事项提供必要便利;项目运营过程中由业主提供的生产原料和水、电、气等物质,以及由业主收购回用的项目产出物应符合何等数量、质量、定价和未达标补偿标准;业主和建设方间进行管理、维护的责任边界;项目移交阶段相关设施应符合何等状态或使用标准等。

而在合同履行过程中,建设方对于自己妥善履行的自身义务,以及业主未妥善尽到的承诺,均应做好证据保存工作。例如就项目竣工验收、性能考核等重要节点妥善签署相应证明,就项目建设、运营中重要事宜及时向业主发送业务联络函,做好业主提供的生产原料和水、电、气等物质及产出品的数量、质量等信息的运行记录并和业主及时核对确认等。

对设计方、施工方和设备、技术供应方提出不低于自身对业主承诺的工期、性能参数要求。BOT建设方在开展建设的过程中,可能会聘请专门的设计方、施工方,也可能从其他供应方处采购部分所需设备和技术。

Wang Hao, Tian Yuan Law Firm
王昊
律师
天元律师事务所

故而,建设方应确保,对设计方、施工方和设备、技术供应方提出不低于自身对业主承诺的工期、性能参数要求,避免因前述主体原因,造成建设方对业主产生违约。特别是需要注意业主对未来项目移交节点提出的使用标准是否在设计方、施工方和供应方当前履行层面能够达标。

建设方还可以考虑,将自身对业主可能承担的违约责任、法律后果向前述主体在缔约过程中予以充分披露,以避免因建设方对业主可能承担的违约责任超过了前述主体的合理预见范畴,而无法向前述主体全额追索因其违约造成的建设方对业主承担的违约责任。

与业主明确、周严约定项目提前终止后的处置方式和损失赔偿计算方式、依据。笔者注意到,工业设施BOT模式相关的纠纷案件中,因各种原因导致项目提前终止而引发的建设方向业主主张损失赔偿的案件比重较大。

对此,建设方应注意,对于项目提前终止后的处置方式和非因自身违约导致项目提前终止情形下的损失赔偿计算方式、依据,应予以明确、周严的约定,包括但不限于:明确约定提前终止情形下业主是否有义务收购项目设施及收购对价的计算方式;如建设方拟采用融资租赁、贷款等方式进行部分融资,该融资成本宜向业主披露,并明确约定为建设方的项目成本;对于日常运营收益、运营成本的组成和计算依据,应明确约定和妥善记录,如部分产出物由建设方外销时,相关产出物带来的项目收益也宜向业主披露,并明确约定为建设方的项目收益。

特别需要注意的是,在当前关注节能减排的政策背景下,对于政府产能指标限缩、环保标准上调等原因导致的项目提前终止,建设方和业主应明确约定该等情形是否属于情势变更或不可抗力,并明确约定该等情形下业主对建设方的补偿计算方式或者损失分担方式。

综上,由于工业设施BOT模式发生纠纷时,建设方往往已投入大量资金而尚未收回成本,项目本身如无业主配合亦难以独立运营和产生收益,故已处于十分被动的状态。因此,建设方有必要在项目缔约和履行过程中,充分关注相关法律风险,严谨提前约定相关事宜,妥善保存履约证据,及时采取减损和维权措施,避免遭受法律和经济上的不利结果。

陈卓天元律师事务所合伙人。他的联系方式是电话+86 138 1041 7260以及电邮chenzhuo@tylaw.com.cn

王昊是天元律师事务所律师。他的联系方式是电话+86 136 5118 1449以及电邮wanghao@tylaw.com.cn

LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link

Bot model and legal risks to industrial project constructors

By Chen Zhuo and Wang Hao, Tian Yuan Law Firm
0
48

In industrial infrastructure projects using the bot model, disputes can be lengthy, expensive and complex. It is therefore imperative for constructors to manage their legal risks with extra prudence

The BOT (build, operate, transfer) model has thrived in the construction of industrial infrastructure owing to the large investments, lengthy construction and operational cycles, and high technical thresholds involved. But, for those same reasons, BOT is a hotbed for legal disputes, especially ones associated with massive disputed amounts and complex factual and legal scenarios. The authors, based on practice experience, summarise advice for industrial project constructors under the BOT model to ward off legal hazards.

Company law amendments provide improved protection, Chen Zhuo
Chen Zhuo
Partner
Tian Yuan Law Firm

Specify the division of labour, scope of guarantees and boundaries of responsibility with the owner, while properly preserving evidence. Most BOT industrial infrastructure projects are within, or near, an owner’s factory area, designed to provide basic raw materials and energy to an owner’s main facilities, or conduct recycling, purification or other forms of environmental treatment to industrial output. Many owners are responsible for partially supplying raw materials and utilities such as water, electricity and gas, while also purchasing and repurposing the derived outputs.

Therefore, project constructors are advised to clarify with owners the division of labour, scope of guarantees, and boundaries of responsibility during the BOT process. That includes but is not limited to: which party should be responsible for obtaining administrative approvals for project creation, environmental impact and land use; who facilitates access, accommodation, storage and transport of personnel, materials and equipment; the quantity, quality and pricing standards for the owner’s provision of production raw materials and utilities, and for purchasing derivative outputs, and rules of compensation if standards are not met; the boundaries of owners’ and constructors’ management and maintenance responsibilities; and the required status of facilities on delivery or standard of use.

During contract performance, the project constructor should properly preserve evidence of its own fulfillment of duties, and any of the owner’s unmet commitments. For example, project constructors are advised to: sign certificates at critical junctures such as project delivery and performance assessment; send business liaison letters to the owner for important matters during construction and operation; and log the quantity and quality of raw materials and utilities provided by the owner, with whom such information should be confirmed.

Wang Hao, Tian Yuan Law Firm
Wang Hao
Associate
Tian Yuan Law Firm

For designers, specific constructors and suppliers of equipment and technology, set time limits and performance parameters at standards not lower than those committed to by the owner. BOT project constructors may need to engage professional designers, or specific constructors, or purchase required equipment or technology from suppliers.

Project constructors should ensure time limits and performance parameter requirements they set for designers, specific constructors or suppliers are not less than those committed to by the owner. That is to prevent default to the owner through engaging third parties. In particular, project constructors should, for any upcoming delivery, assess if the owner’s standard of use can be met by third parties alone.

Project constructors have the option to fully disclose their potential default liabilities and legal consequences to third parties. Thus, if a constructor ends up bearing more default liabilities towards the owner than anticipated, it could claim full recourse from third parties for any liabilities incurred.

Clarify with the owner the manner of disposal, and method and basis of calculating compensation in case of early termination. A significant portion of BOT-related disputes involve a project constructor claiming compensation for losses from an owner after a project is prematurely terminated.

Project constructors should specify with the owners the exact manner of disposal in case of early termination, and the method and basis of calculating compensation, providing the termination is not attributed to the constructor’s default. That includes but is not limited to: clarifying whether the owner is obliged to purchase the facilities and, if so, how consideration is calculated; if the project constructor plans to partially finance it through finance lease or loans, the financing costs should be disclosed to the owner and explicitly listed as part of the constructor’s project costs; the components and calculation basis for day-to-day operating earnings and costs should be properly ascertained and logged; and if some of the derived outputs are sold to external parties by the project constructor, earnings should be disclosed to the owner and listed as the constructor’s project earnings.

With policies leaning heavily towards energy preservation and emissions reduction, there is a chance a project may be prematurely terminated due to reduced production capacity accorded by the government, or elevated environmental standards. Project constructors should confer with owners on whether such scenarios trigger a “change of situation” or force majeure, and the manner of the owner’s compensation to the project constructor, or sharing of losses.

When disputes arise in industrial infrastructure projects under the BOT model, often project constructors have invested a significant amount of capital but have yet to recover costs. With projects unable to independently operate or generate profits without the owners’ co-operation, constructors often find themselves at a distinct disadvantage. Project constructors therefore need to closely monitor legal risks when signing and performing project contracts, prepare for all eventualities, preserve evidence of duty fulfillment and, if necessary, take timely steps to cut losses and uphold their rights to prevent any unwanted legal or economic aftermath.

Chen Zhuo is a partner at Tian Yuan Law Firm. He can be contacted at +86 138 1041 7260 or by e-mail at chenzhuo@tylaw.com.cn

Wang Hao is an associate at Tian Yuan Law Firm. He can be contacted at +86 136 5118 1449 or by e-mail at wanghao@tylaw.com.cn