涉外民商事判决在中国的承认与执行(中)

作者: 张阳和刘芳,天驰君泰律师事务所
0
83

若希望涉外判决在中国得到承认,判决当事人或外国法院必须在合法期限内,向有管辖权的中国法院递交申请文件,而中国法院亦有完备的审查原则

本系列上篇所述,《民事诉讼法》规定,外国法院的判决和裁定若要在中国予以承认和执行,需向有管辖权的中国法院申请,法院将根据中国缔结的国际条约或互惠原则作出决定。本篇将详细列述当中的操作流程。

申请方式

Zhang Yang, Tiantai Law Firm
张阳
高级合伙人
天驰君泰律师事务所

各国司法实践中承认与执行外国法院判决的申请方式大致有两种:一是由当事人向外国法院直接提出;二是由判决作出国法院根据签订的国际条约或者通过外交途径,向外国法院提出。

向中国申请承认与执行外国法院判决的,若判决作出国与中国缔结了双边司法协助条约,则申请方式应依照条约规定行事;没有条约关系的,当事人可以直接向中国法院提出申请,或者外国法院可以按照互惠原则提出。

《民诉法解释》第544条规定,当事人向有管辖权的中级人民法院申请承认和执行外国法院作出的发生法律效力的判决、裁定的,如果该法院所在国与中国没有缔结或者共同参加国际条约,也没有互惠关系的,裁定驳回申请,但发生法律效力的离婚判决除外。承认和执行申请被裁定驳回的,当事人可以向人民法院起诉重新审理原案件。

向中国法院提出的申请必须采用书面形式,并且需附有判决书正本及经证明无误的中文译本。若外国与中国有签订双边司法协助条约,则该国当事人应依条约的规定向中国法院提交相关文件。

涉外民商事判决在中国的承认与执行(上)

作者:张阳和刘芳,天驰君泰律师事务所

涉外民商事判决在中国的承认与执行(下)

作者:张阳和刘芳,天驰君泰律师事务所

申请文件

向中国申请承认与执行外国法院判决的,申请人应当提交以下文件:

  • 申请书:申请书应当载明申请人和被申请人的基本情况,请求事项和所依据的事实和理由;
  • 申请人的身份证明或者注册登记证明,法定代表人、负责人身份证明及授权委托书;
  • 法院或仲裁机构作出的生效的裁决书正本或经证明无误的副本;
  • 证据材料。

如提交的材料系外文的,应当同时提供中文译本。中文译文可经如下途径证明无误:

  • 外国公证机构公证、外交部授权机构认证及中国驻外使、领馆认证;
  • 驻外使领馆直接公证;
  • 国内公证机关公证。

管辖

Liu Fang, Tiantai Law Firm
刘芳
高级合伙人
天驰君泰律师事务所

依据中国现行《民事诉讼法》规定,中国受理承认与执行外国法院判决申请的法院为中级人民法院。除此以外,《关于涉外民商事案件诉讼管辖若干问题的规定》明确指出:国务院批准设立的经济技术开发区人民法院,省会、自治区首府、直辖市所在地的中级人民法院,经济特区、计划单列市中级人民法院,最高人民法院指定的其他中级人民法院,以及高级人民法院享有承认和强制执行外国法院民商事判决的管辖权。

期限

根据《民事诉讼法》第246条的规定,当事人申请承认和执行涉外判决的期限为两年。申请执行时效的中止、中断,适用法律有关诉讼时效中止、中断的规定。前款规定的期限,从法律文书规定履行期间的最后一日起计算;法律文书规定分期履行的,从规定的每次履行期间的最后一日起计算;法律文书未规定履行期间的,从法律文书生效之日起计算。

审查与处理

人民法院应当组成合议庭进行审查。经审查:

  • 该外国法院所在国与中国没有缔结或者共同参加国际条约,也没有互惠关系的,裁定驳回申请;
  • 该外国法院所在国与中国缔结或者共同参加国际条约,或者存在互惠关系的,依照缔结或者参加的国际条约,或者按照互惠原则,符合承认和执行条件的,裁定承认其效力,需要执行的,发出执行令;不符合条件的,裁定不予承认和执行。

中国在适用互惠原则时,不仅必须由当事人证明中国法院的判决曾经在判决作出国获得过承认和执行,还要证明,假设正在被申请承认和执行的这份判决是中国法院作出的,那么在同等条件下,该等判决也将获得外国法院的承认和执行。

不予承认外国法院的判决的情形主要有如下几种:

  • 判决尚未发生法律效力;
  • 作出判决的外国法院对案件没有管辖权;
  • 判决是在被告缺席且未得到合法传唤情况下作出的;
  • 该当事人之间的案件,中国法院正在审理或已作出判决,或者第三国法院对该当事人之间作出的案件判决已为中国法院所承认;
  • 判决违反中国法律的基本原则或者危害中国国家主权、安全和社会公共利益。

救济途径

对于承认和执行外国判决,人民法院经审查作出的裁定为终局裁定,一经送达即发生法律效力。承认和执行外国法院判决的申请被人民法院裁定驳回的,当事人就同一事实(争议)向人民法院起诉,人民法院应当受理。

系列下篇将介绍执行的操作流程,以及承认与执行两者的关系。


张阳是天驰君泰律师事务所高级合伙人。他的联系方式是电话+86 189 1081 2187以及邮件zhangyang@tiantailaw.com

刘芳是天驰君泰律师事务所高级合伙人。她的联系方式是+86 135 5263 7055以及邮件liufang@tiantailaw.com

Enforcement of foreign-related civil, commercial judgments: Part II

By Zhang Yang and Liu Fang, Tiantai Law Firm
0
68

To recognise a foreign-related judicial judgment in China, parties to the case, or the foreign court, must submit documents to a Chinese court with jurisdiction, which follows a set of principles to make a decision

As mentioned in part I of this series, the Civil Procedure Law provides that to recognise and enforce a ruling of a foreign court, an application needs to be made to a Chinese court with apt jurisdiction, which will make a decision based on any international treaty concluded or acceded by China, or the principle of reciprocity. Part II of this series focuses on the operational procedures for recognising foreign judgments.

Enforcement of foreign-related civil, commercial judgments: Part I

By: Zhang Yang and Liu Fang, Tiantai Law Firm

APPLICATION METHODS

Zhang Yang, Tiantai Law Firm
Zhang Yang
Senior Partner
Tiantai Law Firm

Judicial practices of countries are generally divided into two approaches to apply for recognition and enforcement of foreign court judgments: direct submission by the parties to a foreign court; or submission by the court rendering the verdict to a foreign court in accordance with any international treaty, or through diplomatic channels.

Where an application is made to China for recognition and enforcement of a foreign court judgment, if the country issuing the judgment has concluded a bilateral judicial assistance treaty with China, the application shall be conducted in accordance with the provisions of the treaty. If there is no treaty, the parties may directly apply to a Chinese court, or a foreign court may apply in accordance with the principle of reciprocity.

Article 544 of the Interpretation of Civil Procedure Law stipulates that if a party applies to an Intermediate People’s Court for recognition and enforcement of a legally effective judgment issued by a foreign court, if the foreign country has not concluded or acceded to an international treaty with China and there is no reciprocal relationship, the application shall be rejected, except for legally effective divorce judgments made by foreign courts. If the application is rejected by a ruling, the party concerned may initiate a new proceeding in a people’s court.

The application to a Chinese court must be in writing and accompanied by the original judgment and a certified Chinese translation. If a foreign country has a bilateral judicial assistance treaty with China, the party shall submit these relevant documents to the Chinese court in accordance with the provisions of the treaty.

To apply for recognition and enforcement of a foreign court judgment in China, the applicant shall submit the following:

  • An application form stating basic information about the applicant and the respondent, a request, and facts and reasons on which it is based;
  • The applicant’s identity or registration certificate, and the identity certificate of the legal representative and responsible person and power of attorney;
  • The original or a certified copy of the effective judgment/award issued by the court or the arbitration body; and
  • Evidence.

If the materials submitted are in a foreign language, a Chinese translation shall also be provided, certified and notarised by:

  • Foreign notary organisations or authenticated by authorised agencies of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs, and Chinese embassies and consulates abroad;
  • Foreign embassies/consulates directly; or
  • Domestic notary authorities.

JURISDICTION

Liu Fang, Tiantai Law Firm
Liu Fang
Senior Partner
Tiantai Law Firm

Intermediate People’s Courts in China accept applications for recognition and enforcement of judgments of foreign courts. The Provisions of the Supreme People’s Court on Some Issues Concerning the Jurisdiction of Civil and Commercial Cases Involving Foreign Elements states that civil and commercial cases involving foreign elements in the first instance shall be subject to the jurisdiction of: (1) the people’s court of an economic and technological development zone established under the approval of the State Council; (2) the Intermediate People’s Court at the locality of a provincial or autonomous regional capital or a municipality directly under the central government; (3) the Intermediate People’s Court of a special economic zone or a city under separate state planning; (4) any other Intermediate People’s Court designated by the Supreme People’s Court; (5) a Higher People’s Court.

STATUTE OF LIMITATION

Under article 246 of the Civil Procedure Law, the time limit for a party to apply for recognition and enforcement of a foreign judgment is two years. The suspension or interruption of the statute of limitation for applying for enforcement shall be governed by legal provisions for this. The period starts from the last day of the performance period specified in a legal instrument, or the day when the period for the last stage of performance expires, or the effective date of a legal instrument if the instrument does not specify a period of performance.

EXAMINATION AND DISPOSITION

The court shall form a collegial panel to conduct an examination. After the review:

  • If the country of the foreign court has not joined an international treaty with China, and there is no reciprocal relationship, the court shall reject the application;
  • If the country of the foreign court has concluded or acceded to an international treaty with China, or there is a reciprocal relationship, it shall recognise the validity of the foreign judgment, and issue writ of execution if enforcement is necessary. If the conditions are not met, the ruling shall not be recognised or enforced.

When applying reciprocity, the parties have to prove the Chinese court’s decision was once recognised and enforced in the foreign country, and prove that the judgment being applied, if issued by China’s court, would also be recognised and enforced by the foreign court under the same conditions.

Generally, foreign court judgments are not recognised in the following situations:

  • The judgment has not taken legal effect;
  • The foreign court issuing the judgment has no jurisdiction over the case;
  • The judgment was rendered under default and without a lawful summons;
  • The case is being tried or has been adjudicated by a Chinese court, or the judgment of a third country on the case has been recognised by a Chinese court;
  • The judgment violates the basic principles of Chinese law or endangers China’s state sovereignty, security and public interests.

APPROACH FOR RELIEF

A ruling made by a people’s court after examination is final and takes legal effect once served. If a people’s court refused to recognise and enforce a foreign judgment, the parties can file another lawsuit with the people’s court on the same facts.

The third and final part of the series will introduce the procedures for enforcement and explain the relationship between recognition and enforcement.


Zhang Yang is a senior partner at Tiantai Law Firm. He can be contacted at +86 189 1081 2187 or by email at zhangyang@tiantailaw.com

Liu Fang is a senior partner at Tiantai Law Firm. She can be contacted at +86 135 5263 7055 or by email at liufang@tiantailaw.com