《印度破产法》决定破产中购电协议的命运

作者: Abhirup Dasgupta、Bhawana Sharma,HSA Advocates
0
193

电协议(PPA)不仅攸关电力项目的运作方式,而且对其存在也至关重要。然而,对于正进入破产程序的发电企业,其法律地位及其在破产程序中作为持续经营企业的能力,都存在着重大的不确定性。在Gujarat Urja Vikas Nigam Ltd诉Amit Gupta&Or 一案中,印度最高法院解决了以下重要问题:国家公司法法庭(NCLT)和国家公司法上诉法庭(NCLAT)根据2016年《破产法》(IBC)对涉及购电协议的纠纷是否具有管辖权,以及《破产法》是否规范与发电企业签订合同的Gujarat Urja Vikas Nigam Limited 公司(GUVNL)终止其购电协议的权利等。

Abhirup Dasgupta, Partner, HSA Advocates
Abhirup Dasgupta
合伙人
HSA Advocates

购电协议中的条款规定,企业破产时,购电协议终止。国家公司法法庭认为,购电协议中关于破产时的终止条款与《破产法》的规定不符,而且根据《破产法》第238条,该条款不产生效力。在GUVNL公司向国家公司上诉法庭提出的上诉案中,该法庭指出,根据《破产法》的宗旨,企业债务人、发电企业应当作为持续经营企业被保留下来,而终止购电协议将使企业债务人停业。因此,GUVNL公司不能仅以启动涉及企业债务人的公司破产清算程序为由终止购电协议。之后,GUVNL公司又向最高法院提出上诉。

最高法院,审议了《破产法》规定的国家公司法庭和国家公司上诉法庭对购电协议等合同引起的纠纷的管辖权问题,并指出,争议完全是以企业债务人破产为由产生的,因此国家公司法庭确实有权根据《破产法》第60(5)(c)条规定,对这一争议作出判决。

最高法院还认为,在适用购电协议条款方面,国家公司法法庭的管辖权优先于特定国家电力管理委员会的管辖权。因为终止购电协议的唯一理由是,企业债务人已成为《破产法》下破产清算程序的对象,所以国家公司法法庭对该案具有管辖权。最高法院认为,如果终止任何特定合同或协议是出于破产以外的原因,则其他监管机构可优先于《破产法》和国家公司法法庭具有管辖权。

最高法院裁定,根据《破产法》第60(5)(c)条规定,国家公司法法庭具有剩余部分的管辖权。国家公司法法庭拥有广泛的酌处权,可对破产清算程序产生的或与之有关的法律或事实问题作出判定。最高法院还补充说,国家公司法法庭作为一个法定机构,只能做《破产法》明确赋予其权力的事情。

Bhawana Sharma, Associate, HSA Advocates
Bhawana Sharma
律師
HSA Advocates

申请人意图根据协议中允许其如此行事的条款(事实条款),终止购电协议。最高法院审议了这些条款的有效性,特别是它们与《破产法》第14条的关系。最高法院认为,对《破产法》的解读并没有确立关于这种有效性的明确立场。最高法院恪守三权分立原则,避免制定任何一般性法律原则。它解释说,这是一个由立法机构审议的问题。

最高法院认为,当购电协议终止时,企业债务人将不再持续经营。因此,如果破产程序要成功完成,购电协议的延续非常重要。然而,最高法院在得出这一结论的同时,特别指出,在今后的案件中,国家公司法法庭在确保持续经营地位的连续性同时,必须谨慎搁置合同终止的有效性。

这一判决确保了购电协议的连续性,对正进入破产程序的发电企业的贷款人来说,是一种莫大的安慰。它有助于企业债务人在破产清算中实现价值最大化。只要企业债务人能够履行其供电义务,这一判决将确保企业债务人有稳定的收入来源,并在清算过程中继续作为一个持续经营者发挥作用。

HSA Advocates

HSA Advocates
81/1, Adchini
Sri Aurobindo Marg
New Delhi – 110 017
India

Construction House

5/F Walchand Hirachand Marg
Ballard Estate
Mumbai – 400 001
India

Contact details
电话: +91 11 6638 7000 传真: +91 11 6638 7099
电话: +91 22 4340 0400 传真: +91 22 4340 0444
电邮: mail@hsalegal.com
网站: www.hsalegal.com

IBC decides the fate of PPAs in insolvency

By Abhirup Dasgupta and Bhawana Sharma, HSA Advocates
0
46

A power purchase agreement (PPA) is essential not only for the way a power project functions, but also for its very existence. There has, however, been significant uncertainty regarding the status of power generators undergoing insolvency proceedings, and their ability to continue as going concerns during the resolution process. In the case of Gujarat Urja Vikas Nigam Ltd v Amit Gupta & Ors, the Supreme Court addressed the key issues as to whether the National Company Law Tribunal (NCLT) and the National Company Law Appellate Tribunal (NCLAT) had jurisdiction under the Insolvency and Bankruptcy Code, 2016 (IBC) in disputes involving PPAs, and whether the IBC regulated the right of GUVNL, which had contracted with the power generator, to terminate its PPA.

Abhirup Dasgupta, Partner, HSA Advocates
Abhirup Dasgupta
Partner
HSA Advocates

A clause in the PPA provided for the termination of the PPA in the event of insolvency. The NCLT held that the clauses of the PPA dealing with termination on insolvency were inconsistent with the provisions of the IBC and, in accordance with section 238 of the IBC, were of no effect. In the appeal by GUVNL to the NCLAT, the tribunal noted that the corporate debtor, the power generator, was to be maintained as a going concern in accordance with the objects of the IBC, and that termination of the PPA would render the corporate debtor defunct. Thus, GUVNL could not terminate the PPA solely on the ground of the initiation of corporate insolvency resolution proceedings (CIRP) involving the corporate debtor. GUVNL further appealed to the Supreme Court.

The Supreme Court considered the jurisdictions of the NCLT and NCLAT under the IBC in disputes arising from contracts such as the PPA. The court observed that, as the dispute had arisen solely on the ground of the insolvency of the corporate debtor the NCLT did have power to adjudicate this dispute under section 60(5)(c) of the IBC.

The court also held that the jurisdiction of the NCLT overrode the jurisdiction of the particular state electricity regulatory commission as to the application of the clauses of the PPA. The jurisdiction of the NCLT could be invoked because termination of the PPA rested solely on the ground that the corporate debtor had become subject to an insolvency resolution process under the IBC. The Supreme Court held that other regulatory bodies may have precedence over the IBC and the NCLT if the pathway to termination of any particular contract or agreement is for a reason other than insolvency.

The court found that the NCLT had residuary jurisdiction under section 60(5)(c) of the IBC. The NCLT had a wide discretion to adjudicate questions of law or fact arising from or in relation to the insolvency resolution proceedings. The court added a caveat that the NCLT, as a statutory body, can only do what IBC explicitly gives it the power to do.

Bhawana Sharma, Associate, HSA Advocates
Bhawana Sharma
Associate
HSA Advocates

The applicant had purported to terminate the PPA under a clause in the agreement allowing it to do so (a de facto clause). The Supreme Court considered the validity of such clauses, particularly with respect to their relationship with section 14 of the IBC. The court acknowledged that a reading of the IBC established no clear position in relation to such validity. The court bore in mind the principle of separation of powers and refrained from formulating any general principle of law. It said that it was a matter for the legislature to consider.

The court observed that, when a PPA was terminated a corporate debtor would no longer be a going concern. Thus, the continuation of the PPA assumes considerable significance if the CIRP is to be successfully completed. However, while arriving at this conclusion, the Supreme Court specifically indicated that in future cases, the NCLT would have to be wary of setting aside valid contractual terminations while simultaneously ensuring continuity of the going concern status.

This judgment, inasmuch as it ensures the continuity of PPAs, has been of considerable relief to the lenders of power generators that are undergoing insolvency proceedings, It helps to maximize the value of the corporate debtor in its insolvency resolution. Provided that the corporate debtor is able to fulfil its supply obligations, this decision will ensure that the corporate debtor has a steady source of income and will continue to function as a going concern during the resolution process.

Abhirup Dasgupta is a partner and Bhawana Sharma is an associate at HSA Advocates

HSA Advocates

HSA Advocates
81/1, Adchini
Sri Aurobindo Marg
New Delhi – 110 017
India

Construction House

5/F Walchand Hirachand Marg
Ballard Estate
Mumbai – 400 001
India

Contact details
Tel: +91 11 6638 7000 Fax: +91 11 6638 7099
Tel: +91 22 4340 0400 Fax: +91 22 4340 0444
Email: mail@hsalegal.com
Website: www.hsalegal.com