外汇流入需要的是开大门而不是开小窗

作者: Sawant Singh、Aditya Bhargava和Sristi Yadav、Phoenix Legal
0
46

2022年7月6日,印度储备银行(RBI)发布新闻稿阐述拟施行的多项措施,以期在“衰退风险”之中“缓解”由严重困扰金融市场的“高风险厌恶”所造成的“剧烈波动,遏制全球溢出效应”。此前,在货币政策紧缩引起利率上扬及通胀走高的压力下,印度储备银行为捍卫本国货币竭尽全力已达数月,但却如西西弗斯般徒劳无功。

Sawant Singh, Phoenix Legal, Forex inflows need open doors not small windows
Sawant Singh
合伙人
Phoenix Legal

新闻稿中提出的措施力图进一步扩大外汇资金来源,实现来源多元化。除其他措施外,对于通过外部商业借款(ECB)向离岸贷款人借款,或通过向外国资产组合投资者(FPI)发行公司债务工具进行债务融资的借款人,新闻稿建议在一定时期内放松监管框架。

目前,按照FPI的“一般路径”,FPI仅可投资于剩余期限至少一年的公司债务工具。此外,FPI投资中剩余期限不足一年的部分不得超过30%。新闻稿建议,对于FPI在2022年10月31日或之前投资的公司债务工具,免除上述限制。在该等投资到期或由FPI出售之前,不将其纳入到30%上限的计算中。新闻稿还建议允许FPI投资初始期限不超过一年的商业票据和不可转换的信用债券。

在计算下限时,也不考虑该等投资。发行初始期限不超过一年的商业票据和不可转换的信用债券亦受RBI的附加监管,如发行人的最低净值和有形资产净值、金融工具的最低评级以及其他一些披露和文件要求。就FPI对初始期限不超过一年的金融工具的投资而言,为全面落实拟议的放松措施,需要进一步修改监管框架,而新闻稿看起来对此未置一词。

Forex inflows need open doors not small windows
Aditya Bhargava
合伙人
Phoenix Legal

新闻稿进一步建议提高ECB框架下的某些限额和上限,但这些提高仍然只是在有限窗口期内有效。根据现行ECB框架,任何一位合格借款人在自动路径下每个财年借入的ECB总额可达7.5亿美元或其他等值货币。对于2022年12月31日或之前筹集的ECB,新闻稿提议将7.5亿美元的上限提高至15亿美元,现行ECB框架对ECB规定一个总成本上限,新闻稿建议将此上限提高100个基点,有效期至2022年12月31日,前提是借款人的评级达到投资级。

不过,新闻稿最终只是说明了拟实行的修改将分几个阶段推出,本身并未阐述修改的详情。该等修改的落实,需要RBI行使监督权颁布具体指令。2022年7月7日,为实施新闻稿所阐述的、面向FPI的放松和豁免措施,RBI发布了一份独立通告,明确指出FPI放松措施的窗口期为2022年7月8日至2022年10月31日,含起止日期。新闻稿提出的其他措施均已通过RBI发布的不同通告予以落实,而让人略感意外的是,放松ECB限制的措施仍未以通告的形式加以实施。

新闻稿提出的修改只能起到暂时缓解的作用,不会带来长期结构性变革。新闻稿规定的窗口期过后,流入印度的外汇预计并不会因此增加。希望RBI提出进一步的措施以实现必需的结构性变革,为印度提供长期稳定的外汇流入来源。

Sawant Singh、Aditya Bhargava均为Phoenix Legal合伙人。资深律师Sristi Yadav对本文亦有贡献。

Phoenix Legal

Phoenix Legal

Second Floor
254 Okhla Industrial
Estate Phase III
New Delhi – 110 020 India

Vaswani Mansion, 3/F

120 Dinshaw Vachha Road, Churchgate

Mumbai – 400 020, India

电话: +91 22 4340 8500
+91 11 4983 0000

电子邮件: mumbai@phoenixlegal.in
delhi@phoenixlegal.in

网站: www.phoenixlegal.in

Forex inflows need open doors not small windows

By Sawant Singh and Aditya Bhargava, Phoenix Legal
0
39

On 6 July 2022, the Reserve Bank of India (RBI) issued a press release setting out measures it proposed to introduce to “mitigate volatility and dampen global spillovers” caused by “high risk aversion” gripping financial markets amid “recession risks”. This press release followed months of the RBI’s Sisyphean efforts to defend the currency in a climate of tightening monetary policy rates and increasing inflation.

Sawant Singh, Phoenix Legal, Forex inflows need open doors not small windows
Sawant Singh
Partner
Phoenix Legal

The measures proposed in the press release aim to further diversify and expand the sources of foreign exchange funding. Among other measures, the press release proposes a number of relaxations in the regulatory framework for a limited time period for borrowers raising debt from offshore lenders through external commercial borrowings (ECB) or through the issue of corporate debt instruments to foreign portfolio investors (FPIs).

Currently, under the “general route” for FPIs, FPIs are only permitted to invest in corporate debt instruments with a residual maturity of at least one year. Further, not more than 30 per cent of an FPI’s investments can have a residual maturity of less than one year. The press release proposes to exempt investments by FPIs in corporate debt instruments made up to 31 October 2022 from these limits. Such investments will not be taken into account for the computation of the 30 per cent limit until the maturity of such investments or their sale by the FPI. The press release also proposes allowing FPIs to invest in commercial paper and non-convertible debentures with an original maturity of up to one year.

Forex inflows need open doors not small windows
Aditya Bhargava
Partner
Phoenix Legal

Such investments will also not be taken into consideration for the computation of the thresholds. The issue of commercial paper and non-convertible debentures with an original maturity of up to one year is also subject to additional regulations of the RBI, such as the minimum net worth and tangible net worth of the issuer, the minimum rating of the instrument, and certain other disclosure and documentation requirements. In order to fully implement the proposed relaxations for FPIs’ investment in instruments with an original maturity of up to one year, further regulatory changes will have to be brought in, none of which appear to have been contemplated in the press release.

The press release further proposes to increase some limits and ceilings under the ECB framework, again for a limited-time window. Under the current ECB framework, all eligible borrowers can raise ECBs to an aggregate of USD750 million or its equivalent in each financial year under the automatic route. The press release proposes to increase this limit of USD750 million to USD1.5 billion for ECBs raised up to 31 December 2022. The current ECB framework prescribes an all-in cost ceiling for ECBs, which the press release proposes to raise by 100 basis points until 31 December 2022, subject to the borrower having an investment grade rating.

However, the press release ultimately merely sets the stage for changes to be introduced and does not make the changes itself. Such changes will need to be implemented through specific directions issued by the RBI in the exercise of its supervisory powers. To implement the relaxations and exemptions for FPIs set out in the press release, the RBI issued a stand-alone circular on 7 July 2022, which clarified that the window for the relaxations for FPIs will commence on 8 July 2022 and expire on 31 October 2022, both dates inclusive. While other measures proposed by the press release have been put into effect by various separate circulars issued by the RBI, it is somewhat strange that the relaxations of limits on ECBs have not yet been implemented through a circular.

The changes proposed by the press release offer temporary respite but do not bring about long-term structural changes and are not expected to increase foreign exchange flows into India beyond the windows prescribed in the press release. It is hoped that the RBI will propose further measures that will make the necessary structural changes to provide stable sources of foreign exchange flows into India over the long term.

Sawant Singh and Aditya Bhargava are partners at Phoenix Legal. Sristi Yadav, is a senior associate.

Phoenix Legal

Phoenix Legal

Second Floor
254 Okhla Industrial
Estate Phase III
New Delhi – 110 020 India

Vaswani Mansion, 3/F

120 Dinshaw Vachha Road, Churchgate

Mumbai – 400 020, India

Tel: +91 22 4340 8500
+91 11 4983 0000

Email: mumbai@phoenixlegal.in
delhi@phoenixlegal.in
Website
www.phoenixlegal.in