2015年,谷歌旗下DeepMind公司开发的人工智能围棋软件AlphaGo首次在无需让子的情况下,在19路棋盘上击败职业棋手。自此,国内外对人工智能技术发展所可能诱发的伦理道德问题日益重视。“AI四小龙之一云从科技的法务总监陶福武撰文解读国内人工智能伦理的监管要求和合规措施

务院在2017年发布的《新一代人工智能发展规划》中明确指出人工智能发展的不确定性带来新挑战。人工智能是影响面广的颠覆性技术,可能带来改变就业结构、冲击法律与社会伦理、侵犯个人隐私、挑战国际关系准则等问题,将对政府管理、经济安全和社会稳定乃至全球治理产生深远影响。在大力发展人工智能的同时,必须高度重视可能带来的安全风险挑战,加强前瞻预防与约束引导,最大限度降低风险,确保人工智能安全、可靠、可控发展。

AI伦理法规现状

国务院办公厅在今年3月20日发布的《关于加强科技伦理治理的指导意见》(下称《指导意见》)是中国国家层面科技伦理治理的第一个指导性文件,就科技伦理的总体要求、原则、治理体制、制度保障以及审查和监管、深入开展科技伦理和宣传等均进行了全面的指导性规定。

人工智能伦理治理 陶福武
陶福武
法务总监
云从科技

虽然该份文件近期才颁布,但是国内关于科技伦理的规定其实早已见于诸法之中,如《科技进步法》提出了应当完善科技伦理制度,科研活动不得违背科技伦理;《数据安全法》提出开展数据处理活动、研究开发数据新技术应当有利于促进经济社会发展,增进人民福祉,符合社会公德和伦理。

具体到人工智能伦理治理层面,国家科技部在充分考虑社会各界有关隐私、偏见、歧视、公平等伦理的关切后,在2021年9月25日发布了《新一代人工智能伦理规范》,作为人工智能伦理治理的顶级设计指导。

该规范包括总则、特定活动伦理规范和组织实施等内容,并提出了增进人类福祉、促进公平公正、保护隐私安全、确保可控可信、强化责任担当、提升伦理素养等六项基本伦理要求。同时,规范对人工智能管理、研发、供应、使用等特定活动提出了18项具体伦理要求。

此外,全国信息安全标准化技术委员会在2021年1月发布了《网络安全标准实践指南——人工智能伦理安全风险防范指引》(下称《防范指引》),对研究开发、设计制造、部署应用、用户使用等环节的伦理风险防范提供指引。

因近年来大数据和算法技术的突破以及广泛运用,导致社会上不断涌现未成年人网络沉迷、适老化、外卖平台的“最严算法”以及“价格歧视”等各类问题,2021年12月,国家互联网信息办公室等四部门联合颁布《互联网信息服务算法推荐管理规定》,明确规定(1)算法推荐服务提供者不得向未成年人推送可能引发未成年人模仿不安全行为和违反社会公德行为、诱导未成年人不良嗜好等可能影响其身心健康的信息,不得利用算法推荐服务诱导未成年人沉迷网络;(2)应当充分考虑老年人出行、就医、消费、办事等需求,按照国家有关规定提供智能化适老服务;(3)向劳动者提供工作调度服务的,应当建立完善平台订单分配、报酬构成及支付、工作时间、奖惩等相关算法;(4)不得根据消费者的偏好、交易习惯等特征,利用算法在交易价格等交易条件上实施不合理的差别待遇等违法行为。

另外,网信办在2022年3月份发布的《互联网弹窗信息推送服务管理规定》(征求意见稿)中也就不得设置诱导用户沉迷、过度消费等违反法律法规或者违背伦理道德的算法模型进行了规定。

企业伦理审查

根据《指导意见》的精神和要求,国家鼓励科技发展和科技创新,坚持促进创新与防范风险相统一、制度规范与自我约束相结合,要求科技发展必须加强源头治理,注重预防,将科技伦理要求贯穿科学研究、技术开发等科技活动全过程,促进科技活动与科技伦理协调发展、良性互动,实现负责任的创新,明确要求高等学校、科研机构、医疗卫生机构、企业等单位要履行科技伦理管理主体责任,建立常态化工作机制,加强科技伦理日常管理,主动研判、及时化解本单位科技活动中存在的伦理风险。

从事生命科学、医学、人工智能等科技活动的单位,研究内容涉及科技伦理敏感领域的,应设立科技伦理(审查)委员会。

具体到实践层面,笔者发现如云从科技、旷视科技、格林深瞳等近期IPO过会企业都无一例外的设立了相应的伦理审查组织,而且证监会对人工智能企业的伦理审查问题也非常关切,在上市审核问询过程中均会涉及到伦理审查问题,如人工智能技术可控性、客户隐私数据的保护以及企业采取何种伦理保护措施等。

据此,伦理审查已经成为人工智能企业合规需要面对的重点内容,短期来看可能会增加企业的合规成本,但是长期而言,伦理合规给企业带来的价值将远远高于所付出的合规成本。伦理合规将成为产品的卖点、投资人的重点考虑以及企业长期发展的重要保障。

那么,人工智能企业如何做好伦理合规,在内部有效地开展伦理审查?目前国家还没有出台全面具体的人工智能伦理审查规则和指引,《防范指引》也仅就人工智能伦理安全风险进行了列举,并就如何做好风险防范提供了若干指引。

鉴于医学领域已经拥有比较成熟的伦理审查机制,国家卫生和计划生育委员会早在2016年就颁布的《涉及人的生物医学研究伦理审查办法》,和2020年国家卫健委发布的《涉及人的临床研究伦理审查委员会建设指南(2020版)》值得借鉴。参考医学领域的已有经验,笔者认为人工智能企业要做好自身的伦理合规,以下几个方面需要重点关注:

设立专门的伦理审查机构。伦理审查机构建议由多学科专业背景的人员组成,至少应当包括人工智能、伦理学、法学等领域的专家,必要时可聘请特殊领域的专家作为独立顾问。为了保障伦理审查的质量,伦理审查机构的组成人员应具有较强的科研伦理意识和伦理审查能力。另外,为确保伦理审查过程以及结果的独立、客观、公正,伦理审查机构应当独立于技术部门和业务部门。

制定完善的伦理审查制度以及流程,并予以落实。伦理审查制度至少应当包括以下几个方面的内容:伦理审查机构的组成、职责、权限以及工作机制;伦理审查内容和范围以及申请指南;伦理审查的保密措施;独立顾问的选聘制度;伦理审查的原则、要求和标准、培训和继续教育;伦理审查文件的管理及存档。

基于人工智能发展的全球化以及企业出海的考虑,企业伦理审查不仅要遵守国内的法律法规,还需要有国际视野。2021年11月,联合国教科文组织(UNESCO)在第41届大会上通过了首份关于人工智能伦理的全球协议《人工智能伦理问题建议书》,供193个成员国采用。此外,还需要特别关注美欧等西方国家关于伦理的考量,以及其他关于人工智能伦理治理的政府间的和非政府间的多边共识,尤其是生命健康、隐私、人格尊严、歧视、算法黑箱、信息蚕茧、大规模的监控风险等,防患于未然。

定期更新伦理审查标准及要求。基于人工智能的快速发展以及相关立法更新快等特点,为确保伦理审查结果的合法合规性,尽可能降低企业合规成本,提高企业经济效益,伦理审查机构应当及时更新伦理审查的范围以及审查的原则和要求,最好是形成相应的定期更新机制。

建立有效的伦理跟踪审查机制。人工智能企业应当建立产品全生命周期的伦理跟踪审查机制,将伦理审查贯穿于产品研究开发、设计制造、部署应用以及用户使用等各个环节,以便规制产品在制造、部署以及使用中发生的各项伦理风险。由于人工智能企业合规一般需要付出一定成本,在伦理跟踪审核过程中可以积累更多的伦理审查经验,这些宝贵的经验可以更好应用于接下来的产品开发设计中,减少合规对企业商业利益的不必要影响。

Law.asia subscripton ad blue 2022

In 2015, Alphago, a go-playing computer program developed by Google subsidiary DeepMind, became the first of its kind to defeat a professional human player on a full-sized board without handicap, triggering an ongoing discussion about AI development and its possible ethical ramifications. Tao Fuwu, Chief Legal Officer of Coudwalk Group, one of the “four AI dragons in China”, shares his views on current legal and compliance requirements on AI ethics

I

n its development plan on the New Generation of Artificial Intelligence, issued in 2017, the State Council highlighted the uncertainties revolving around the development of artificial intelligence (AI), and new challenges it may bring.

A disruptive technology, AI has a wide range of influence, potentially capable of altering the labour structure, impacting laws and social ethics, violating personal privacy and challenging the norms of international relations. It may even leave far-reaching impressions on government administration, economic security, social stability and global governance. While vigorously advancing AI technologies, we must also remain vigilant to the possible security challenges, strengthen preventive and restraint guidance, minimise risks, and ensure that AI development is safe, reliable – and controllable.

STATUS QUO OF AI ETHICS

The Opinions on Strengthening the Ethics and Governance in Science and Technology, issued by the general office of the State Council on 20 March 2022, is the first national guiding document for the ethical governance of science and technology. The opinions contain general requirements, ethical principles, governance systems, institutional safeguards, review and regulation, as well as education and publicity of technological ethics.

Ethics for AI Tao Fuwu
Tao Fuwu
Chief Legal Officer
Cloudwalk Group

Although the document was only recently promulgated, provisions on technological ethics in China have already appeared in a number of laws. For example, the Law on Scientific and Technological Progress set out that improvements are necessary for scientific and technological ethic systems and standards, and that scientific activities should not violate technological ethics. The Data Security Law provides that data processing activities and development of new data technologies should be conducive to promoting economic and social development and enhancing people’s well-being, while in compliance with social norms and ethics.

After fully considering the increasing ethical concerns about privacy, prejudice, discrimination and fairness, the Ministry of Science and Technology issued the Code of Ethics for a New Generation of Artificial Intelligence on 25 September 2021, which became the top-level design guidance for the ethical governance of AI.

The code contains general provisions and ethical norms for specific AI activities, and puts forward six fundamental ethical principles: Promoting human well-being; promoting fairness and justice; protecting personal privacy and security; ensuring reliability and controllability of AI activities; strengthening accountability; and improving ethical literacy. The code also sets out 18 ethical requirements for specific activities such as AI management, R&D, supply and application.

In addition, the National Information Security Standardisation Technical Committee, under the Standardisation Administration of China, issued the Practice Guide to Cybersecurity Standards – Guidelines on the Prevention of Ethical and Security Risks from Artificial Intelligence, providing guidelines for ethical risk prevention during AI activities such as R&D, design and manufacture, deployment and application, and user use.

Along with breakthroughs and widespread application of big data and algorithm technology in recent years, various social issues have emerged such as internet addiction of minors, ill suitability to elders, “strictest algorithm” of takeout platforms, and price discrimination. The Cyberspace Administration of China and three other departments jointly promulgated the Provisions on the Administration of Algorithm-generated Recommendations for Internet Information Services, which clearly stipulates that: (1) providers of algorithm-based recommendations should neither send to minors any information that may cause them to imitate unsafe acts or those contrary to social ethics, induce them to develop unhealthy habits or otherwise affect their physical and mental health, nor use algorithm-based recommendations to indulge in online addiction; (2) operators should fully consider elderly needs for travel, medical treatment, consumption and errands, and provide intelligent, elderly-friendly services in accordance with relevant national regulations; (3) for providers of workflow scheduling services, algorithms for platform order distribution, composition and payment of remuneration, working hours, rewards and penalties should be established and refined; and (4) algorithms should not be used to commit unreasonable differential treatment and other illegal acts in respect of transaction conditions based on consumer preferences, transaction habits and other characteristics.

In addition, the Provisions on the Administration of Internet Pop-up Information Push Services (Draft for Comment), issued in March 2022 by the Cyberspace Administration, also stipulated that algorithm models should not violate laws, regulations or ethics in relation to inducing users to indulge and consume excessively.

AI ETHICAL REVIEW

According to the above-mentioned State Council’s opinions, the state encourages scientific and technology development and innovation, supports unification of innovation and risk mitigation, and the combination of institutional norms and self-discipline. It requires that governance must be strengthened from the source of scientific and technological development, and ethics should be embedded in the whole process of scientific and technological activities, such as scientific research and development of technologies.

Such activities should advance hand-in-hand with ethics in realising responsible innovation. Colleges and universities, scientific research institutes, medical and health institutes, and enterprises are expressly required to shoulder the main responsibility for managing ethics in science and technology by establishing a normalised mechanism for daily management of technological ethics, and taking the initiative to investigate, identify and promptly resolve any ethical risks in their scientific and technological activities.

Operators of scientific and technological activities in life sciences, medicine and AI should establish a review committee of scientific and technological ethics, if their research involves sensitive areas of ethics.

In terms of practical experience, the author notes that enterprises such as Cloudwalk, MEGVII, DeepGlint and other recent IPO companies have already established ethical review bodies, and the China Securities Regulatory Commission (CSRC) is also highly concerned with ethical reviews of AI enterprises. Matters such as controllability of AI technology, protection of customer privacy data, and the nature of ethical protection measures taken by AI enterprises have emerged in IPO application enquiries.

Therefore, ethical review has become a key compliance component for AI enterprises, which may increase the immediate compliance costs, but the long-term value of ethical compliance will easily triumph such costs. Ethical compliance will become a selling point of products, a key investor consideration and a major cornerstone for the enterprise’s long-term development.

So how should AI enterprises approach ethical compliance and effectively carry out ethical review? There are currently no comprehensive or specific national rules or guidelines for ethical review of AI, while the above-mentioned guidelines only list the ethical security risks of AI and provide some suggestions on risk prevention.

Given the mature ethical review mechanism existent in the medical field, the Measures for the Ethical Review of Biomedical Research Involving Humans, released by the National Health and Family Planning Commission in 2016, and the Guidelines for Establishing Ethical Review Committees for Clinical Research Involving Humans (2020 Edition), released by the National Health Commission in 2020, provide valuable references. Based on such well-established experience in the medical field, the author believes that AI enterprises should focus on the following aspects in improving their own ethical compliance.

Set up a designated ethics review body. The ethical review body should be composed of personnel with multi-disciplinary professional backgrounds, at least including experts in AI, ethics and law, while experts in other specialised fields may be engaged as independent consultants if necessary. In order to ensure the quality of ethical review, members of the ethical review body should have strong awareness of scientific research ethics and ability in ethical review. In addition, to ensure the independence, objectivity and impartiality of the ethical review process and results, the ethical review body should be independent from the technical and business departments.

Formulate and implement a sound ethical review system. The ethical review system should at least include the following aspects: the composition, responsibilities, authorities and working mechanism of the ethical review body; the scope of the ethical review and application guidelines; confidentiality measures of the ethical review; selection of independent consultants; principles, requirements and standards of the ethical review; training and continued education; and the archiving of ethical review documents.

Considering the global development of AI and needs for overseas business, AI ethical review should not only abide by domestic laws and regulations. In November 2021, the UN Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organisation (UNESCO) passed the Recommendation on the Ethics of Artificial Intelligence, the first global standard-setting instrument on AI ethics, proposed to 193 member states. Attention should also be diverted to Western ethical governance regulations, such as those of the US and Europe, as well as other intergovernmental and non-governmental multilateral consensus on ethical governance of AI, especially regulations about life and health, privacy, human dignity, discrimination, algorithm black box, information cocoons, and large-scale monitoring risks.

Update ethical review standards and requirements regularly. Considering the rapid development of AI and legislation in this field, the ethical review body should timely update the scope, principles and requirements of ethical review, preferably forming a periodic update mechanism, so as to ensure the legitimacy and compliance of ethical review results, reduce compliance costs to the greatest possible extent, and improve the economic benefits of the enterprise.

Establish an effective follow-up mechanism of ethical monitoring. AI enterprises should establish an ethics tracking and review mechanism throughout a product’s lifecycle, including research and development, the design and manufacturing, deployment and application, and user use so as to regulate various ethical risks in product manufacturing, deployment and use. Compliance of AI enterprises can be expensive. During the process of implementing the follow-up mechanism, ethical review experience accumulated can be valuable when applied to the process of future product development and design, in order to mitigate any avoidable impact of compliance on the enterprise’s interests.

Law.asia subscripton ad blue 2022