澳大利亚对外国判决的执行

作者: 盛冕、Alexandra Folie,博雷道盛
0
693
LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link

在澳大利亚,外国法院做出的判决并不能自动执行。澳大利亚设有两种不同的外国法院判决执行体制:(1)根据1991年《澳大利亚联邦外国判决法》执行外国判决;以及(2)根据普通法提起诉讼以执行外国判决。采用哪一种体制取决于做出判决的是哪一家外国法院。

外国判决法

盛冕
盛冕
合伙人
博雷道盛

《外国判决法》规定了在澳大利亚登记及执行外国判决的一站式方法。判决债权人向澳大利亚联邦法院或州/领地最高法院提出登记申请,而法院必须登记该判决(例外情况将在下文讨论)。

《外国判决法》仅适用于特定外国法院所做出的判决,包括香港终审法院及香港高等法院(由上诉法院和一审法院组成)所做出的判决。目前,该法尚不适用于中国其他法院的判决。

只有特定类型的判决可根据《外国判决法》进行登记。判决通常必须为“金钱判决”,即有关金钱给付的判决,但有关外国税款或罚款支付的判决不能登记。所登记的判决必须是法院依照民事诉讼程序或刑事诉讼中民事赔偿程序所做出的终局或中间判决。

当事人必须在该外国判决做出之日起六年内,向澳大利亚法院申请登记。某些情况下,澳大利亚法院可延长判决登记时限。

Alexandra Folie
Alexandra Folie
高级律师
博雷道盛

判决债务人可向澳大利亚法院申请驳回判决登记。在某些情形下,法院必须驳回判决登记,包括:

  • 该外国法院对涉案被告无管辖权(例如:被告缺席或未提交该法院管辖)
  • 已登记判决之金额超出该外国判决所载金额
  • 该外国判决已经被免除或已履行
  • 该外国判决系基于欺诈所得
  • 该外国判决在外国经上诉已被改判或被撤销

一经澳大利亚法院登记,该外国判决即与澳大利亚法院判决具有同等效力及执行力。这意味着已登记的判决可按照登记地法律规定的任何相关程序予以执行。例如,可凭已登记判决执行判决债务人在澳大利亚所拥有的资产,或可凭已登记判决进行清算或破产程序。此外,已登记判决之金额所产生的利息,自登记之日起计算。

根据普通法执行外国判决

若外国法院不在《外国判决法》规定范围内,判决债权人只能根据普通法向澳大利亚法院提出申请以执行外国判决。中国法院(不包括上文所列的香港法院)所做的判决只能通过该程序在澳大利亚予以执行。

判决债权人可向澳大利亚法院提起一项新请求,请求给付判决所载金额。判决债权人可以凭借该外国判决要求判决债务人履行给付判决所载金额的义务。经外国法院裁定的事项,无须再行诉讼或复审。

另一种方法是,判决债权人可基于原诉讼理由向澳大利亚法院提起一项新请求,并且凭借外国判决以阻止或防止被告提出任何在此前的外国诉讼程序中已经提出或本可以提出的非欺诈性抗辩。

如果请求成功,澳大利亚法院会做出有利于判决债权人的判决,该判决可在澳大利亚予以执行。通常而言,若判决债权人获胜,法院会要求判决债务人支付执行程序费用。

犹如《外国判决法》规定的判决执行条款,仅特定外国判决可根据普通法予以执行。该外国判决必须有关金钱给付,金额必须确定或可计量。有关外国税款或罚款支付的判决不能执行。该外国判决必须是终局并且是决定性的。

根据普通法程序,在大多数澳大利亚法院中,判决债权人必须证明该澳大利亚法院对执行请求具有管辖权,而《外国判决法》的判决执行程序无须该环节。

针对普通法程序下外国判决的执行而提出的抗辩,近似于《外国判决法》所规定的有关抗辩。在下列情况下,判决债务人可针对该外国判决的执行提出抗辩:

  • 该外国法院对涉案被告无管辖权(例如:被告并非该管辖区域居民,或未在该管辖区域经营,或该外国管辖区域的原诉程序中,被告未经传唤)
  • 该外国判决系基于欺诈所得
  • 在该外国诉讼程序中,被告未享有自然正义(例如,未能有机会在该外国法院进行抗辩)
  • 执行该外国判决将有悖于澳大利亚公共政策

澳大利亚法律及法院规定了根据普通法启动外国判决执行程序的时限。澳大利亚各州各法院的具体时限不尽相同。例如,在维多利亚州,当事人必须在判决做出之日起15年内启动执行程序。但维多利亚州最高法院规定,若判决做出已经6年甚至更久,则执行该判决必须获得该最高法院的许可。

盛冕是博雷道盛上海代表处合伙人, Alexandra Folie 是博雷道盛墨尔本办公室高级律师

博雷道盛上海代表处

上海市南京西路1168号

中信泰富广场3408-10

邮编: 200041

电话: 86 21 5100 1796

传真: 86 21 5292 5161

E-mail:

michael.sheng@blakedawson.com

jeff.lynn@blakedawson.com

www.blakedawson.com

LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link

Enforcement of foreign judgments in Australia

By Michael Sheng and Alexandra Folie, Blake Dawson
0
548
LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link

A judgment made by a foreign court does not automatically operate in Australia. There are two different regimes for enforcing a foreign judgment in Australia: (1) under the Foreign Judgments Act 1991 (Cth), and (2) bringing an action under common law. Which of the two regimes applies depends upon which foreign court made the judgment.

The Foreign Judgments Act

Michael Sheng
Michael Sheng
Partner
Blake Dawson

The Foreign Judgments Act provides a streamlined method for registering and enforcing foreign judgments in Australia. The judgment creditor makes an application to the Federal Court of Australia or a Supreme Court of a state or territory. That court must register the judgment, subject to the exceptions discussed below.

The Foreign Judgments Act applies only to judgments made by specified foreign courts. The act applies to judgments of the Hong Kong Court of Final Appeal and the Hong Kong High Court (consisting of the Court of Appeal and the Court of First Instance). It does not currently apply to judgments from other courts of the People’s Republic of China.

Alexandra Folie
Alexandra Folie
Senior associate
Blake Dawson

Only certain judgments may be registered under the Foreign Judgments Act. The judgment must generally be a “money judgment”, which means a judgment for which money is payable. Judgments for payments of foreign tax or monetary penalties cannot be registered. The judgment must be a final or interlocutory judgment made by a court in either a civil proceeding or for civil compensation in criminal proceedings.

A party must apply to an Australian court to have the judgment registered within six years of the date of the foreign judgment. The Australian court may extend the time for registering judgments in some circumstances.

A judgment debtor can apply to the Australian court to set aside the registration of the judgment. There are a number of grounds upon which the registration must be set aside by the court, including:

  • the foreign court did not have jurisdiction over the defendant (for example, the defendant was not present or did not submit to the jurisdiction);
  • the amount of the registered judgment exceeds the amount of the foreign judgment;
  • the foreign judgment has been discharged or satisfied;
  • the foreign judgment was obtained by fraud; and
  • the foreign judgment has been reversed on appeal or set aside in the foreign country.

Once the judgment is registered with an Australian court, it has the same effect and force as if it were a judgment made by that court. This means that the registered judgment may be enforced by any of the methods available under the law of the place of registration. For example, the judgment may be enforced against assets the judgment debtor holds in Australia, or may be the basis for a winding up or bankruptcy proceedings. Interest will accrue on the amount for which the judgment is registered from the date of registration.

Common law

Where a foreign court is not covered by the Foreign Judgments Act, the judgment creditor can only enforce the foreign judgment in Australia through an application under common law to an Australian court. Judgments from courts of the PRC (aside from the Hong Kong courts mentioned above) can only be enforced in Australia through this process.

The judgment creditor can bring a new claim in an Australian court for recovery of the amount of the judgment debt. The judgment creditor can rely on the foreign judgment as imposing an obligation on the judgment debtor to pay the amount of the judgment. The matters decided in the foreign court do not need to bere-litigated or re-examined.

Alternatively, the judgment creditor can bring a new claim in an Australian court based on the original cause of action, and rely on the foreign judgment as estopping (preventing) the defendant from raising any defence (except fraud) which was raised, or could have been raised, in the foreign proceeding.

If successful, the Australian Court will give judgment in favour of the judgment creditor, which can be enforced in Australia. Where the judgment creditor is successful, the court will usually make an order for their costs of the enforcement proceeding.

As with the enforcement of judgments under the Foreign Judgments Act, only certain foreign judgments are enforceable under common law. The judgment must be for a fixed amount of money, or a readily calculable amount of money. Judgments for payment of foreign tax or monetary penalties cannot be enforced. The judgment must be final and conclusive.
Under the common law process, in most Australian Courts the judgment creditor must show that the Australian court has jurisdiction over the enforcement claim. This step is not required under the Foreign Judgments Act.

The defences to enforcement of a foreign judgment under common law are similar to the defences available under the Foreign Judgments Act. A judgment debtor may have a defence to the enforcement of a foreign judgment in the following circumstances:

  • the foreign court did not have jurisdiction over the defendant (for example, the defendant was not a resident or carrying on business in the jurisdiction, or was not served with originating process in the foreign jurisdiction);
  • the foreign judgment was obtained by fraud;
  • the defendant was denied natural justice in the foreign proceedings (for example, it was not able to present its case to the foreign court); or
  • the enforcement of the foreign judgment would be contrary to Australian public policy.

Legislation and court rules which set time limits for commencing proceedings to enforce foreign judgments under common law vary across Australian states and courts. For example, in Victoria, a party must commence proceedings to enforce a judgment within 15 years of the judgment being made. However, the Rules of the Supreme Court of Victoria require leave of the court to enforce a judgment where six years or more have elapsed since the judgment was made.

Michael Sheng is a partner in the Shanghai office and Alexandra Folie is a senior associate in the Melbourne office of Blake Dawson

Blake Dawson Shanghai office

Suites 3408-10

CITIC Square

1168 Nanjing Road West

Shanghai, 200041

Tel: 86 21 5100 1796

Fax: 86 21 5292 5161

E-mail:

michael.sheng@blakedawson.com

jeff.lynn@blakedawson.com

www.blakedawson.com

LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link