承租人提前退租的法律后果及应对策略

作者: 朱滔和张卓,广信君达律师事务所
0
348
LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link

疫情及经济下行影响,承租人提前退租情况屡见不鲜。排除不可抗力或情势变更的因素外,发生需提前退租情况,有哪些问题值得关注?本文笔者结合过往实务经验,就相关问题进行分析提示。

及时办理退租交接手续

不管租赁合同因何终止,承租人均负有及时交还租赁房屋的义务。承租人已经撤场搬离的,出租人应及时收回房屋。出租人放任房屋空置损失扩大的,应根据过错程度自行承担部分损失。如承租人未办理交接手续即撤场的,根据具体情形可能产生不同的法律后果:

承租人提前退租的法律后果及应对策略
朱滔
合伙人
广信君达律师事务所
    • 若是承租方原因,承租人应继续支付房屋使用费;
    • 若是出租方原因,出租方无权主张因其放任扩大的房屋使用费损失;
    • 若双方对未办理房屋交接手续均有责任,则按双方过错程度分担合理期间内房屋使用费损失;
    • 根据司法判例,出租人在知道或应当知道承租人撤场后2-3个月内应及时发函督促承租人办理交接,承租人不配合的应及时起诉,防止空置损失扩大。出租人不配合办理交接的,承租人可委托公证机关对搬离房屋时的状态及房内设施、物品等情况进行公证,或在物业、公安等第三方在场的情况下搬出房屋,并全程录像。

违约责任

承租人提前退租的争议焦点主要是损失赔偿问题。以下就可能涉及或主张的各项损失进行概述。

承租人提前退租的法律后果及应对策略
张卓
律师
广信君达律师事务所

1欠付的租金、物业管理费、水电费及逾期支付利息出租人可要求承租人支付截至租赁合同解除之日逾期未付的以上费用。

2房屋占有使用费合同解除后至房屋被实际收回期间,出租人可要求承租人支付房屋占有使用费,如合同对此未有约定的,一般以约定的租金标准计算。

3房屋空置期损失鉴于承租人提前退租导致出租人预期收益减少,并可能导致房屋一段时间内空置。交接完成后,出租人寻找新承租人过程中产生的空置期租金损失可向承租人进行主张。承租人可尽量为出租人寻找新的承租人,促进合同友好解除。

4清场费用如承租人未及时清场,出租人可能产生自行清场的相关费用。一般来说,对于未形成附合的装饰装修物和设施设备,出租人收回房屋时由此产生的拆除费用、搬运费用均属于出租人损失范围。出租人可就其自行或委托第三方复原支出的费用向承租人主张赔偿。

5免租期租金损失在承租人导致合同解除的情况下,如出租人在合同中或实际给予了承租人免租期的,出租人一般会要求承租人赔偿免租期内部分或全部的租金损失。但在双方没有明确约定的情况下,此部分损失的承担具有不确定性。

6没收保证金签订合同时,一般会预先收取保证金并约定如承租人提前退租,则不予返还保证金。此约定在司法实践中是否必然得到支持,需要结合违约责任条款判断。若仅约定承租人违约则没收保证金的,此约定一般会得到支持;若既约定没收保证金,又约定违约金和赔偿损失的,法院通常以实际损失为基准,综合确定赔偿总额。

7违约金违约金数额的确定主要以“有约定从约定,无约定以实际损失计”原则为依据。对于上述几类损失,法院通常以出租人实际损失为基准,考虑损失合理性、出租人或承租人过错程度等因素,对各种违约救济方式的赔偿总额予以综合确定。

提前退租可行性路径

(1)审查合同约定。审查合同是否约定解除合同的条件,以及提前退租的时间、处理方式和法律后果。承租人欲提前退租时,第一步应先确定租赁合同约定的内容。

(2)协商为主。未明确约定提前退租情形时,建议承租人在拟提前退租时就合同解除后的欠付费用缴付、房屋交接手续等事宜先行与出租人进行沟通协商。如承租人决意不再继续履行租赁合同,即使出租人诉请要求继续履行租赁合同,一般也较难获得法院支持。

(3)解除合同需通知。如双方就提前退租问题无法协商一致,合同履行可能陷入僵局。对于提前退租的承租人是否享有单方解除权的问题,在不同解除事由、不同法院认定下可能呈现不同的判决结果。

如因租赁房屋存在严重质量问题等致使合同目的无法实现,或者约定的解除条件成就时,承租人享有法定或约定解除权。值得注意的是解除权需要行使才能发生解除合同的法律效果,可通过邮寄,微信,短信等方式向出租人发送解除通知,注意保存相关证据。

但如承租人的提前解除不属于合同约定且不构成法定解除事由,则在满足以下情形时,存在判决观点认为承租人有单方解除权。

根据《民法典》规定,违约方请求解除合同,守约方要求继续履行的,当违约方继续履约所需的财力、物力超过双方基于合同履行所能获得的利益,则合同已不具备继续履行的条件,为平衡双方利益,允许违约方解除合同,但违约方须承担赔偿责任。《全国法院民商事审判工作会议纪要》第48条亦有相关规定。

从上述判决观点及相关规定可见,特定情形下违约方可以解除合同,但同时也须承担违约责任。

广信君达律师事务所合伙人朱滔、律师张卓

广信君达律师事务所
广州市天河区珠江新城珠江东路6号

广州周大福金融中心29层、10层

邮编: 510623

电话: +86 20 3718 1333

传真: +86 20 3718 1388

电子信箱:

zhutao@etrlawfirm.com
zhangzhuo@etrlawfirm.com

www.etrlawfirm.cn

LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link

Legal risks and strategies for ending a tenancy early

By Zhu Tao and Zhang Zhuo, ETR Law Firm
0
801
LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link

Early termination of a tenancy is now common due to the pandemic and economic downturn. Excluding force majeure or changed circumstances, what issues are of concern in the event of early surrender of a tenancy?

TIMELY SURRENDER

Regardless of the reason for ending the tenancy agreement early, the lessee is liable to return the leased property in time and the lessor should take back the property promptly after surrender, since the lessor bears part of the loss arising from leaving the property vacant.

Legal risks and strategies ending tenancy early
Zhu Tao
Partner
ETR Law Firm

If the lessee moves out without going through the handover procedure, different legal consequences may arise under specific circumstances, including:

    • If the lessee’s at fault, the lessee shall continue to pay for the property;
    • If the lessor’s at fault, the lessor has no right to claim the vacancy loss; and
    • If both are at fault for failing to hand over the property, the loss incurred in a reasonable period will be shared according to their liability.

According to judicial precedents, the lessor should send a letter urging the lessee to hand over the property within two to three months after knowing (or should know) the lessee has moved out, and sue the lessee in case of non-co-operation, to prevent greater vacancy loss.

If the lessor does not co-operate with the handover, the lessee may commission notarisation of the state of the property, and facilities and objects inside, when moving out, or move out in the presence of a third party such as the property manager or public security authority, with a video record.

CONTRACT BREACH

Disputes over early tenancy surrender focus on damages involved or claimed, including:

Legal risks and strategies ending tenancy early
Zhang Zhuo
Associate
ETR Law Firm

(1) Unpaid rent, property management fees, utilities and interest on overdue payments. The lessor may require the lessee to pay such charges overdue to the date of terminating the tenancy agreement.

(2) Occupancy fee. From termination of the agreement to actual repossession of the property, the lessor may require the lessee to pay the occupancy fee. If not agreed before, the agreed rental rate is generally used to calculate.

(3) Loss of vacant tenancy period. The lessee’s early surrender results in a reduction of the lessor’s expected revenue and possibility of the vacant property. After handover, the lessor can claim the vacancy loss from finding a new lessee. To facilitate amicable termination of a tenancy agreement with the lessor, the lessee is recommended to find a new lessee before the surrender.

(4) Clearance cost. If the lessee fails to clear the property, the lessor may bear the clearance cost. Generally speaking, the costs of demolition and removal of unattached decorations, facilities and equipment when repossessing are counted as the lessor’s loss, which the lessor can claim after calculating the specific amount, or third-party estimate.

(5) Rent loss during the rent-free period. Where the lessee causes termination of the agreement, the lessor generally claims compensation for loss during a rent-free period agreed in the agreement or in practice. However, absence of an explicit agreement will bring uncertainty to liability for the loss.

(6) Forfeiture of security deposit. The lessor generally collects the security deposit when entering into the contract and agrees it will be forfeited if the lessee surrenders tenancy early. If only security deposit forfeiture is agreed, the agreement will generally be supported; if both security deposit forfeiture and liquidated damages are agreed, the court usually determines total compensation based on actual loss.

(7) Liquidated damages. The amount of liquidated damages is determined in accordance with the principle that “the agreement shall prevail and, if there is no agreement, the actual loss shall prevail”. Courts usually determine the amount of compensation for each type of remedy based on the actual loss of the lessor, reasonableness, and parties’ liability for the loss.

FEASIBLE PATH

(1) Review the agreement for whether it stipulates termination conditions, as well as the timing, handling and legal consequences of early surrender of tenancy. The first step for a lessee wishing to end the tenancy early should be determining the contents of the tenancy agreement.

(2) Focus on negotiation in the absence of a clear agreement on circumstances of early surrender. Communicate and negotiate with the lessor on matters such as payment of unpaid fees and handover of the property after termination of the agreement. Courts are less likely to uphold a lessor’s claim to continue the tenancy agreement if the lessee decides to surrender.

(3) Serve notice to end tenancy. If the parties cannot agree on early surrender of the tenancy, the agreement’s performance may also cease. Whether a lessee surrendering early is entitled to unilateral release may be decided differently, depending on the grounds for termination and the court’s decision.

If the agreement’s purpose cannot be achieved due to serious quality problems in the leased property, or agreed conditions for termination are met, the lessee has the legal or agreed right to terminate the agreement. It is worth noting that the lessee can exert legal effect of this right by sending a notice of termination to the lessor via post, WeChat or SMS, keeping relevant evidence.

However, if the lessee’s early surrender is not agreed in the agreement and does not constitute a statutory cause of termination, judgments hold that the lessee has a unilateral right to terminate in the following circumstance:

According to the Civil Code, where the breaching party requests to terminate but the observing party requests to continue the agreement, to balance the interests of both parties the court allows termination when the breaching party’s financial and material resources required for continuation exceed benefits brought by performing the agreement to both parties, meaning there is no longer condition for continuation.

Article 48 of the Minutes of the National Conference on Civil and Commercial Judicial Work of the Courts also contains relevant provisions.

As can be seen from this judgment and relevant provisions, the breaching party may terminate the agreement in certain circumstances with liability for breach of contract.

Zhu Tao is a Partner, and Zhang Zhuo is an Associate at ETR Law Firm.

10 & 29/F, Chow Tai Fook Finance Centre
No. 6 Zhujiang Dong Road
Guangzhou 510623, China

Tel: +86 20 3718 1333

Fax: +86 20 3718 1388

Email:

zhutao@etrlawfirm.com
zhangzhuo@etrlawfirm.com

www.etrlawfirm.cn

LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link