域名抢注者处理起来风险更大,更难惩罚

作者: Manisha Singh 和Akanksha Kar,LexOrbis
0
295
LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link

Adobe Inc v Namase Patel and Ors”案是由原告对屡教不改的被告提起的一起域名抢注案。最近,德里高等法院就该案对被告作出了严厉惩罚。除了将原告所主张的2000万印度卢比(242,000美元)损害赔偿全额判给了原告外,该院还对被告侵犯原告商标的行为发出了永久禁令,下令屏蔽侵权网站、向原告移交域名,并禁止披露机密信息。

原告创立于1982年,现为美国第二大个人软件公司,2021年收入逾50亿美元。它在全球各地广泛授权他人使用其企业标志和其他商标,如Adobe、Adobe Spark和Photoshop等。1986年,它将Adobe作为企业标志,并沿用至今。原告的“Adobe”商标已公认为1999年印度《商标法》第2(zg)条所定义的驰名商标。“Adobe”商标在印度的使用可追溯至1993年,现已在多个类别中注册,包括第9类和第42类。“Photoshop”商标也已在印度注册。原告主张“Spark”和“Adobe Spark”商标中的权利,称自2016年起它们一直为其网络工具套件所使用。原告拥有域名www.adobe.comwww.adobe.netwww.adobe.in

Manisha Singh, LexOrbis
Manisha Singh
合伙人
LexOrbis

德里高等法院认定,被告取得的域名 www.addobe.comwww.adobee.com与原告商标存在混淆性近似。被告运营的多个子域名含有“Photoshop”和“Spark”等其他商标,并使用了photoshop.addobe.com和spark.adobee.com等超链接,用户一旦点击,电脑就可能感染恶意软件。被告使用了域名投资者平台www.above.com提供的全收邮箱服务。无戒备之心的用户如果拼错了词语“Adobe”,可能就会被吸引到该网站。以这种手法,被告让用户以为他是原告的代表,由此获得了访问机密电子邮件的机会。

被告从未出庭或以其他方式配合,不过德里高等法院仍然考虑了宣誓书,其中详细描述了法庭对侵权域名的调查的。该调查表明,将Adobe品牌产品突出展示为子域名的域名以及专门针对Adobe收件人的全收电子邮箱,把用户重新导向了被告。原告援引了世界知识产权组织对多起域名争议的裁决,它们认定被告为惯犯,通过取得具有欺骗性近似名称的域名,从事域名抢注和侵犯著名实体商标权利的活动。

在先前的临时命令中,德里高等法院禁止被告使用侵权域名,并禁止其再用原告商标注册域名。德里高等法院指示警方追查提供虚假孟买地址的被告下落,并下令互联网服务提供商立即屏蔽侵权域名。对于超链接www.above.com,德里最高法院指示互联网服务提供商暂停该网站对被告的服务,并要求它们提供使用账户之人的联系方式。

Akanksha Kar
Akanksha Kar
初级合伙人
LexOrbis

在最后一次听审中,德里最高法院得知被告无从查找,也不可能被发现。Www.above.com未回应德里最高法院的命令。被告电子邮件账户近期的活动表明,被告人在美国。德里最高法院在判决中作出了有利于原告的裁定,对被告发出了永久禁令,并下达了与域名有关的多份命令。在将原告主张的损害赔偿判给原告时,德里最高法院认为被告是累教不改的网络抢注者和域名侵权人,并明确指出损害赔偿是为了威慑他。

尽管就惯犯而言,这是一个积极的判决,但对此类被告执行损害赔偿裁定、强制执行命令仍非易事(如果不是不可能的话)。在现今互联网和人人在线的时代,作奸犯科者往往能用假名和化名来掩饰身份,从而无迹可寻,轻而易举地逃避责任。对于有迹象表明从事了侵权活动的个人和实体,域名注册管理机构和域名注册商可能需要实施更加严格的新用户引导流程。

Manisha Singh(左)为LexOrbis合伙人,Akanksha Kar为LexOrbis初级合伙人。

LexOrbis logo

LexOrbis

709/710 Tolstoy House

15-17 Tolstoy Marg

New Delhi – 110 001

India

Mumbai | Bengaluru

Contact details
Tel: +91 11 2371 6565
Email: mail@lexorbis.com

www.lexorbis.com

LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link

Cybersquatters riskier to handle, harder to punish

By Manisha Singh and Akanksha Kar, LexOrbis
0
34

In the recent case of Adobe Inc v Namase Patel and Ors, the Delhi High Court imposed hefty penalties in a cybersquatting case brought against a repeat offender. In awarding the full damages of INR20 million (USD242,000) claimed by the plaintiff, Adobe Inc, the court also ordered a permanent injunction against infringement of its trademarks, a block on offending websites, transfer of domain names and a prohibition on disclosing confidential information.

Manisha Singh, LexOrbis
Manisha Singh
Partner
LexOrbis

The plaintiff was founded in 1982 and is the second largest US-based personal software company, with revenues for 2021 of more than USD5 billion. Its house mark and other trademarks such as Adobe, Adobe Spark and Photoshop are widely licensed for global use. Its house mark Adobe was adopted in 1986 and has been in use ever since. The plaintiff’s Adobe trademark has been recognised as a well-known trademark within the meaning of section 2(zg) of the Trade Marks Act, 1999. The use of the Adobe trademark dates from 1993 in India and has been registered in several classes including classes 9 and 42. The trademark Photoshop is also registered in India. The plaintiff claims rights in the trademarks Spark and Adobe Spark, which have been used since 2016 for its suite of web tools. The plaintiff owns the domain names www.adobe.com, www.adobe.net and www.adobe.in.

The defendant, Namase Patel, secured the domain names, www.addobe.com and www.adobee.com, which the court held to be confusingly similar to the plaintiff’s marks. The defendant operated several sub-domains to include other trademarks such as Photoshop and Spark and used URLs such as photoshop.addobe.com and spark.adobee.com to infect the computers of users with malware. The defendant used a catch-all site offering e-mail services provided by a domain name investor platform, www.above.com. This site drew in unsuspecting users who may have misspelled the word adobe. In this way, the defendant accessed confidential emails by allowing users to assume he was a representative of the plaintiff. This amounted to passing off of the defendant’s services as those of the plaintiff.

Akanksha Kar
Akanksha Kar
Associate partner
LexOrbis

At no time did the defendant appear or otherwise co-operate, but the court took into account affidavits detailing the forensic investigation into the offending domains. The investigation revealed that those domains featuring Adobe branded products as subdomains and the catch-all emails intended for Adobe recipients, led back to the defendant. The plaintiff cited several World Intellectual Property Organisation domain dispute decisions in which the defendant had been held a habitual offender involved in cybersquatting and infringing trademarks of well-known entities by securing deceptively similar named domains.

In an earlier interim order, the court had restrained the defendant from using the offending domains and further registering any domain names with the plaintiff’s marks. The court had directed the police to trace the defendant, who had provided a false address in Mumbai, and had ordered ISPs to block the infringing domains with immediate effect. Dealing with the URL www.above.com, the court had directed them to suspend its services to the defendant, requiring them to furnish the contact details of the person using the account.

In the final hearing, the court heard that the defendant was untraceable and could not be found. Www.above.com was not responding to court’s order. The recent activities of the defendant’s email account indicated he was in the USA. The court in its judgment ruled in favour of the plaintiff, granting the permanent injunction against the defendant and making the various orders relating to the domain names. In awarding the damages claimed by the plaintiff, the court accepted that the defendant was a habitual cybersquatter and domain name infringer, and made it clear that the damages were intended to be a deterrent.

While this is a positive decision where repeat offenders are concerned, executing awards of damages on those defendants and enforcing orders remains difficult, if not impossible. In this era of the internet and online presence, offenders are usually able to mask their identities, adopt pseudonyms and aliases, are untraceable and can easily evade their liabilities. Domain registries and domain registrars may have to implement stricter onboarding procedures for individuals and entities who have been flagged as being involved in infringing activities.

Manisha Singh is a partner and Akanksha Kar is an associate partner at LexOrbis.

LexOrbis logo

LexOrbis

709/710 Tolstoy House

15-17 Tolstoy Marg

New Delhi – 110 001

India

Mumbai | Bengaluru

Contact details
Tel: +91 11 2371 6565
Email: mail@lexorbis.com

www.lexorbis.com