保监会颁布保险资金运用纲领性文件

0
147
circ insurance fund measures
LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link

中国保险监督管理委员会(以下简称保监会)发布的《保险资金运用管理暂行办法》(2009年第9号令,以下简称《办法》)已于8月31日起施行。《办法》对保障保险资金运用安全,维护广大投保人和被保险人权益,防范保险业风险,具有重要意义。

适用范围

根据《办法》的相关规定,其适用于境内设立的保险集团(控股)公司及保险公司所从事的保险资金运用活动;保险资产管理机构管理运用保险资金也应参照《办法》执行。《办法》中规定的“保险资金”是指保险集团(控股)公司及保险公司以本外币计价的资本金、公积金、未分配利润、各项准备金及其他资金。

资金运用范围

《办法》重申了《保险法》第106条的规定,将保险资金运用的范围限于四类投资形式:银行存款,买卖债券、股票、证券投资基金份额等有价证券,投资不动产,以及国务院规定的其他资金运用形式。《办法》中与保险资金运用范围相关的主要规定包括:

  • 投资的债券应当达到保监会认可的评级机构评定的相关信用级别,主要包括政府债券、金融债券、企业(公司)债券、非金融企业债务融资工具等;
  • 投资的股票主要包括公开发行并上市交易的股票和上市公司向特定对象非公开发行的股票。此外,《办法》对保险资金投资创业板和以外币认购及交易的股票留下了政策空间,该等事项将由保监会另行规定;
  • 投资的股权,应当为境内依法设立和注册登记、且未在证券交易所公开上市的股份有限公司和有限责任公司的股权。对其他企业实现控股的股权投资,应当限于保险类企业、非保险类金融企业及与保险业务相关的企业;
  • 各类投资形式应当符合投资余额与资产总额的相关比例要求,如投资于股票和股票型基金的账面余额合计不高于本公司上季末总资产的20%;
  • 保险资金不得被运用于部分领域,如不得存款于非银行金融机构、不得买入被交易所实行“特别处理”及“警示存在终止上市风险的特别处理”的股票、不得投资于不符合国家产业政策的企业股权和不动产、不得直接从事房地产开发建设、不得从事创业风险投资等。

资金运用模式

《办法》规定保险集团(控股)公司、保险公司可以自行投资或者委托保险资产管理机构进行投资,并且应当选择符合条件的商业银行等专业机构实施保险资金运用第三方托管和监督。据此,《办法》确立了委托人、受托人和托管人三方协作制衡的保险资金运用管理模式,并且还对三方的法律关系、基本职责和义务作出了明确规定。

内外监管措施

《办法》对保险公司的组织结构与职责、保险资金的运用流程、风险控制等内部管控以及保监会对保险资金运用的外部监督作了非常详细和严格的规定。

《办法》及配套规定

为落实《办法》的相关规定,保监会于2010年7月31日及9月5日先后发布了《关于调整保险资金投资政策有关问题的通知》(保监发[2010]66号)、《保险资金投资股权暂行办法》(保监发[2010]79号)及《保险资金投资不动产暂行办法》(保监发[2010]80号),对保险资金在相关领域的运用作出了具体明确的指引。《办法》及前述具体规则的颁布实施直接关系到巨量保险资金的可能去向,引起了市场的广泛关注和热议。


《商法摘要》由海问律师事务所协助提供,内容仅供参考之用。读者如欲进行与本栏内容相关之工作,必须寻求专业法律意见。跟海问律师事务所联系:baochen@haiwen-law.com。

LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link

CIRC issues measures on the use of insurance funds

0
155
LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link

The Use of Insurance Funds Interim Measures (Decree No. 9 of 2010) published by the China Insurance Regulatory Commission (CIRC) came into force on 31 August. The Measures are significant in the ways that they ensure the safe use of insurance funds, safeguard the rights and interests of general insurance policy holders and attempt to minimize risks in the insurance industry.

Applicability of the Measures

The Measures apply to the use of insurance funds by insurance group (holding) companies and insurance companies established within China. Insurance asset management institutions should also refer to the Measures for the management and use of their insurance funds. In the Measures, “insurance funds” are defined as capital, reserve funds, undistributed profits, various reserves and other funds of insurance group (holding) companies and insurance companies denominated in domestic and foreign currencies.

Scope of the use of funds

Article 106 of the Insurance Law is restated in the Measures. This article limits the use of insurance funds to four forms of investment: bank deposits; dealing in negotiable securities such as bonds, stocks and securities investment fund units; investment in real property; and other forms of use specified by the State Council. The major provisions in the Measures relating to the scope of the use of insurance funds are as follows.

  • Bonds to be invested in should have been assessed with credit ratings by a credit rating agency approved by CIRC. These bonds primarily include government bonds, financial bonds, enterprise (corporate) bonds and non-financial corporate debt financing instruments.
  • Stocks to be invested in primarily comprise publicly offered and traded shares and shares issued by listed companies to specific targets in non-public offerings. In addition, the Measures have left some policy space for the investment of insurance funds in shares on ChiNext and in shares subscribed for and traded in foreign currencies, which will be regulated by CIRC in separate rules.
  • Equity to be invested in should be that of limited joint stock companies and limited liability companies legally established and registered within China, and not publicly traded on any stock exchange. Controlling equity investments made in other enterprises should be limited to insurance companies, non-insurance financial enterprises and enterprises related to the insurance business.
  • Various forms of investment must meet relevant requirements for the amount of investment as a proportion of total assets. For example, the total book balance of investments in stocks and equity funds must not be higher than 20% of total assets of a company at the end of the previous quarter.
  • Insurance funds should not be used in some areas. For example, no deposits should be placed with non-banking financial institutions; no shares should be purchased which are subject to “special treatment” and “special treatment due to a warning that there is a risk of termination of listing” by a stock exchange; no investment can be made in corporate equity and real property which is inconsistent with national industrial policy; and no insurance funds may be used directly in real property development and construction or venture capital investments.

Model for the use of funds

The Measures stipulate that insurance group (holding) companies and insurance companies may invest on their own or appoint an insurance asset management institution to invest on their behalf, and should select a professional agency such as a qualified commercial bank as a third party to manage and monitor the use of insurance funds. On this basis, the Measures have established a tripartite collaborative check-and-balance model for the management and use of insurance funds, comprising trustors, trustees and custodians. The legal relationship between the three parties as well as the primary duties and obligations of them are clearly defined in the Measures.

Risk control and monitoring

The Measures have imposed detailed and stringent requirements on the organizational structure, responsibilities, process for the use of insurance funds, internal control such as risk control and CIRC’s external monitoring of the use of insurance funds in respect of insurance companies.

Complementary guidelines

On 31 July and 5 September, in order to enforce the relevant provisions of the Measures, CIRC published the Revisions to the Policy on Insurance Fund Investments Notice (Bao Jian Fa [2010] No. 66), the Equity Investments by Insurance Funds Interim Measures (Bao Jian Fa [2010] No. 79) and Investments in Real Property by Insurance Funds Interim Measures (Bao Jian Fa [2010] No. 80), which provide specific and precise guidelines on the use of insurance funds in relevant areas. There have been widespread concern and heated debates in the market as the Measures and these specific rules have been promulgated and enforced to regulate the possible direction of a large amount of insurance funds.


Business Law Digest is compiled with the assistance of Haiwen & Partners. The authors can be emailed at baochen@haiwen-law.com. Readers should not act on this information without seeking professional legal advice.

LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link