简析金融机构“风险金”制度

作者: 沈敏泉、陈靓,竞天公诚律师事务所
0
968
LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link

金融机构的薪酬制度具有很强的行业特性。实践中,不少金融机构依据原银监会制定的《商业银行稳健薪酬监管指引》(银监发[2010]14号)(下称“《薪酬指引》”),将员工薪酬分为固定和浮动两部分,并将部分浮动薪酬计提为“风险金”,延期支付,如在此期间员工经办的项目触发风险,将酌情扣减风险金。本文旨在对此类“风险金”制度容易引发的争议进行简要分析,以期对金融机构在制定和应用“风险金”制度时有所启示。

沈敏泉, Shen Minquan, Partner, Jingtian & Gongcheng
沈敏泉
合伙人
竞天公诚律师事务所

首先,根据银监会的《薪酬指引》,金融机构的薪酬由固定薪酬、可变薪酬(绩效薪酬和中长期激励)和福利性收入组成。与一般企业的薪酬制度最大的区别在于,中长期激励有锁定期,期限长短取决于相应风险的持续时间,但至少为三年,且兑现应得到董事会的同意。

其次,除上述《薪酬指引》外,现行法律对“风险金”没有明确规定,在司法实践中,法院往往会通过如下焦点问题对“风险金”制度进行审查:

1 制定程序是否合法?

因“风险金”涉及劳动者的切身利益,为满足《劳动合同法》第四条对规章制度制定程序上的要求,“风险金”制度应当经民主程序制定并对员工公示。

2 金融机构以项目触发风险为由扣减员工风险金是否合法?

而从实体方面看,法院通常会结合金融机构所设定的“风险金”发放条件、涉案项目的风险情况、以及所发生的风险与员工行为之间的关联性等具体情形,来综合评判这一问题,但不同法院在裁量上也存在一定的分歧。

如北京市第二中级人民法院在刘腾与中国金谷国际信托有限责任公司的劳动争议中认为,风险准备金系金谷信托公司为抵御项目风险,在绩效中予以扣发的部分金额,属于附有条件及期限的可得利益,并非必然发放,且涉案项目发生损失的时间亦在风险准备金延付的期限之内,故在项目发生损失时,风险准备金理应抵扣项目损失。

但金华市中级人民法院在浙江稠州商业银行股份有限公司武义支行、徐冲劳动合同纠纷中则持有不同的观点,认为风险资产的出现是银行的正常经营风险,银行将相应的风险转嫁给劳动者,侵害劳动者的合法权益,且在没有充分证据证明逾期欠息等情形系由员工严重过错造成的情况下,将全部责任归咎于员工,并要求其承担风险责任金明显不公。

陈靓, Chen Liang, Associate, Jingtian & Gongcheng
陈靓
律师
竞天公诚律师事务所

3风险金的延期支付是否适用于已经离职的员工?

在司法判例中,往往不以员工是否在职作为“风险金”支付的前提,且劳动关系是否合法解除与“风险金”的支付也没有必然联系。

如上海市第二中级人民法院在厦门国际银行股份有限公司上海分行、罗柏顺劳动合同纠纷中,认可厦门银行有权因员工严重违纪而与之解除劳动的前提下,对厦门银行顺延支付员工在职期间的绩效工资仍持肯定态度,认为虽然根据《工资支付暂行规定》,用人单位与劳动者解除劳动关系时应一次性结清工资,但同时根据《对〈工资支付暂行规定〉有关问题的补充规定》,在特殊情形下可予以调整,不属于减发工资的情况。

杭州市西湖区人民法院在吴征与杭州银行股份有限公司劳动争议中也表达了类似观点,一方面,认定劳动合同因员工严重违纪而合法解除,另一方面,认定绩效薪酬延期支付同样适用于离职人员,在杭州银行未能证明应予追索、扣回员工绩效金的情况下,应支付已届期的绩效薪酬。

小结

综合《薪酬指引》和司法判例,金融机构在制定“风险金”等薪酬制度时应注意:(1)符合民主公示程序;(2) 扣减“风险金”前要充分评估项目触发风险与员工行为之间的关联性;以及 (3) “风险金” 延期支付通常不以员工在职为前提,如满足发放条件应及时支付。

竞天公诚律师事务所合伙人沈敏泉、 律师陈靓

交通

竞天公诚律师事务所

上海市徐汇区淮海中路1010号

嘉华中心45层

邮编: 200031

电话: +86 21 2613 6217

传真: +86 21 5404 9931

电子信箱: shen.minquan@jingtian.com

www.jingtian.com

LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link

Analysis of ‘risk fund’ system of financial institutions

By Shen Minquan and Chen Liang, Jingtian & Gongcheng
0
463

The remuneration system of financial institutions is very particular to the industry. In practice, a certain number of financial institutions divide employees’ remuneration into two parts, fixed and variable, based on the Regulatory Guidelines for Stability of Remuneration in Commercial Banks (Yin Jian Fa [2010] No. 14) formulated by the former China Banking Regulatory Commission, and allocate a portion of the variable remuneration to a “risk fund”, which is then paid on a deferred basis.

沈敏泉, Shen Minquan, Partner, Jingtian & Gongcheng
Shen Minquan
Partner
Jingtian & Gongcheng

If the project being handled by an employee during this period triggers a risk, the financial institution will make a deduction from the risk fund according to the circumstances. This article briefly analyses the disputes that can easily arise from this risk fund system, in the hopes of providing food for thought to financial institutions when they formulate and apply the risk fund system.

First, pursuant to the CBRC guidelines, the remuneration paid by financial institutions consists of fixed remuneration, variable remuneration (performance pay and medium and long-term incentives) and welfare income. The most significant differences with the remuneration system of the average enterprise are that the medium and long-term incentives are subject to a lock-up period, the length of which depends on the duration of the corresponding risk, but is at least three years, and the release of which is subject to the consent of the board of directors.

Second, with the exception of the above-mentioned guidelines, current laws are silent on risk funds. As for judicial practice, the courts will regularly conduct their reviews of the risk fund system by focusing on the following key issues:

Was the formulation procedure lawful?

As a risk fund involves the immediate interests of an employee, it is required to be formulated by way of a democratic procedure, and announced to the employees, in order to satisfy the requirements of article 4 of the Employment Contract Law on the procedures for the formulation of rules and regulations.

Is it legal for a financial institution to make a deduction from an employee’s risk fund on the grounds that a project triggered a risk?

The courts will usually assess this issue by taking into account such specific circumstances as the conditions set by the financial institution for paying the risk fund, the risks associated with the project in question, and the connection between the risk that arose and the employee’s acts. However, in terms of discretion, differences exist between different courts.

For example, in the labour dispute of Liu Teng v China Jingu International Trust, the Second Intermediate People’s Court of Beijing Municipality held that the purpose of the risk reserve was to counter project risks, and the amount deducted in connection with performance was a potential benefit subject to a certain period and conditions, not one that was inevitably paid. Furthermore, the relevant project loss occurred within the lock-up period of the risk fund. Accordingly, when the loss in the project arose, it was natural that the project loss be deducted from the risk fund.

陈靓, Chen Liang, Associate, Jingtian & Gongcheng
Chen Liang
Associate
Jingtian & Gongcheng

However, in the employment contract dispute of Zhejiang Chouzhou Commercial Bank, Wuhan Sub-branch v Xu Chong, the Jinhua Municipal Intermediate People’s Court had a different view, holding that the emergence of risk assets was a business risk commonly faced by banks, the shifting by the bank of such risks onto the employee infringed his lawful rights and interests, and, in the absence of sufficient evidence showing that the overdue interest, etc., was caused by serious mistakes of the employee, it was clearly unfair to dump all of the responsibility on the employee and require him to bear the risk liability.

Is deferred payment of the risk fund applicable to an employee who has left the company?

In judicial precedents, whether an employee is currently employed by the employer or not is usually not a precondition for the payment of the risk fund, and there is no absolute link between payment of the risk fund and whether the employment relationship was lawfully terminated.

For example, in an employment contract dispute of Xiamen International Bank, Shanghai Branch v Luo Boshun, the Second Intermediate People’s Court of Shanghai Municipality recognised that whereas Xiamen Bank had the right to dismiss the employee for a serious breach of discipline, it nonetheless held a positive attitude toward the deferred payment by the bank of the employee’s performance wages for the period when he was in its employ, holding that although, pursuant to the Interim Provisions for the Payment of Wages, an employer is required settle in full the wages of an employee in one lump sum when terminating the employment relationship with him or her, nevertheless, pursuant to the Supplementary Provisions on Relevant Issues in the Interim Provisions for the Payment of Wages, the same may be adjusted under special circumstances, but doing so does not constitute a reduced payment of wages.

In the labour dispute of Wu Zheng v Bank of Hangzhou, the People’s Court of Xihu District, Hangzhou expressed a similar view, finding, on the one hand, that the employment contract was lawfully terminated for serious breach of discipline by the employee, while on the other hand that the deferred payment of performance remuneration likewise applied to a departed employee. Accordingly, as the Bank of Hangzhou failed to show that it ought to recover or claw back the employee’s performance pay, and was required to pay the performance pay that had fallen due.

Conclusion

Taking into consideration the guidelines and judicial precedents, a financial institution should pay attention to the following when formulating a risk fund or other such remuneration system: (1) that it be in keeping with the democratic and announcement procedures; (2) before making a deduction from the risk fund, it needs to fully assess the link between the risk triggered in the project and the acts of the employee; and (3) that deferred payment of the risk fund is usually not contingent on the employee being currently in service with the employer, and if the conditions for the payment are satisfied, it should be paid in a timely manner.

Shen Minquan is a partner and Chen Liang is an associate at Jingtian & Gongcheng

collateral

Jingtian & Gongcheng

45/F, K. Wah Centre

1010 Huai Hai M. Road

Shanghai 200031, China

Tel: +86 21 2613 6217

Fax: +86 21 5404 9931

E-mail: shen.minquan@jingtian.com

www.jingtian.com