品牌效应在中国众所皆知。那么为何品牌推广在法律服务行业依然是新课题?作者:高小云

国世达律师事务所亚太区市场部主管Suanne Colley说:“事务所无法决定自己有什么品牌,唯一能做的是如何管理和打造好的品牌。”

Amy Norman, Strategist, Wolff Olins曾从事律师职业而如今担任伦敦品牌顾问公司沃尔夫·奥林斯(Wolff Olins)策略师的Amy Norman,对上述观点表示赞同。该公司曾于2002年为年利达律师事务所提供品牌推广战略方面的咨询服务,并刚刚完成普华永道会计师事务所的全球品牌重塑项目。Norman说:“不论你是否愿意,别人都会谈论你。你所能做的就是把好的一面呈现出来以供他人谈论。”

据Norman所说,品牌推广常被看作是一个单纯的市场营销问题。但她认为,品牌推广其实涉及到整个办公室文化。她说,品牌所呈现的是“你的事务所的能力、所提供的服务以及企业形象”。她还强调,律师事务所的品牌影响着其内外部关系,并且“需要得到大家的认同”。

客户对于一家事务所品牌的感受,取决于他们与事务所之间的互动。Colley 说:“站在客户的角度来说,企业的特色体现于律师事务所的方方面面(甚至包括接电话的方式)。因此,任何方面都不可掉以轻心。”她指出关键的一点是,购买专业服务“是有风险的,即使只是一种机会风险”。好的品牌会使潜在客户认为风险程度较低,并且能够带来业务。

Robert Sawhney, Managing Director, SRC Associates但是有些人认为,品牌意识尚未渗透到法律行业的核心。香港咨询公司SRC Associates的常务董事Robert Sawhney说:“在专业中介机构中,律师事务所对于市场营销的理解和应用仍然处于最为落后的水平。”他认为律师事务所“对品牌的认识缺乏深度”。他总结说:“品牌不仅仅是一个标识,而更是一种文化。”

由内而外

2002年,经过一系列的合并后,总部位于伦敦的国际律师事务所年利达展开了重新打造品牌形象的新篇章。据年利达合伙人事务秘书处主管Oonagh Harpur介绍,此次品牌打造的过程是“由内而外”的,首先针对该所的核心价值以及这些核心价值如何影响业务经营方式进行了分析,之后在世界各地的办公室展开研讨会,以确保这些核心价值在员工的日常工作中得以贯彻。

八年多以来,年利达这一品牌一直对该所的发展起着至关重要的作用。Harpur说:“在每一次合并或横向招聘中,我们都重视文化的和谐和价值观的统一。”

年利达遍布全球的客户也要求年利达品牌具有一致性。Harpur谈到:“客户期望在年利达香港或者纽约办公室享受到同一标准的服务。”这种一致性不仅表现在事务所形象设计上(当然外在形象最能体现统一性),而且给予客户的意见也必须有一致性。Harpur总结说:“我们必须提供出色的法律意见,而提供法律意见的方式也必须和本所品牌相一致。”

Sawnhey对此表示认同,他说:“假如不同的办事处提供给客户的服务不能实现一体化,那么这种在多个司法管辖区设立办事处的做法就没有意义了。”

认清现实

人们很容易用怀疑的眼光看待品牌化。许多事务所都讨论同样的话题:一体化服务、团队合作、企业社会责任,以及工作与生活的平衡。但是这一切会不会太虚而不实了?把这些浮华辞藻付诸实践并非易事。

关于品牌的意义,光说不练显然不行。Norman 坚信:“授人以鱼,不如授人以渔。”沃尔夫·奥林斯公司的做法是协助客户举办培训课程,例如,探讨品牌如何影响投标文案,怎样制作投标书、怎样分清内容主次等等。

即使是在发达法律市场拥有强势品牌的律师事务所,每次开拓新市场也都要经过一番打拼。如果这种律所进军新市场的目的在于追随和服务于既有的客户,品牌推广或许并非是迫在眉睫的问题。但是从长远来看,事务所需要获得新的业务来源,而品牌正是其竞争优势的关键所在。

那么国际律师事务所的品牌在中国究竟有多大号召力?国内律师事务所又怎样与其抗衡呢?

Sawnhey说,中国的律师事务所“在品牌管理方面水平低下”并且“处于落后状况”。而且,虽然他认为国际律师事务所的品牌管理水平遥遥领先于中国本土律师事务所,但是他“并不认为有哪一家国际律师事务所的品牌管理水平属于良好等级”。

事实果真如此吗?如果是,原因又是什么?

改变一触即发

人们常说,中国律师事务所的架构类似于普通法法域的出庭律师事务所。每个律师都依靠各自人脉建立客户群,所创造的利润归各自所有。Sawnhey 说,其结果是,“负责各自业务领域的合伙人之间不共享信息,也不相互合作。”如此一来,每个律师自身的利益和各自的客户源就凌驾于集体利益和共享的客户源之上,因而几乎没有动力去建立一个共同的品牌。

不过,许多中国律师事务所都在迅速扩张,在中国乃至国外的司法管辖区域纷纷设立办事处。它们之间竞争十分激烈,也逐渐分出不同档次。这意味着人们愈加重视事务所的排行榜、评级和事务所形象设计的统一化,同时也越发看重品牌在客户关系管理和组织发展中的作用。

Colley坦言,很多中国律师事务所处在转型的“临界点”。她说,企业早期合伙规模小,自然而然地形成单打独斗、各自为营的市场营销模式;而现在随着事务所规模扩大,整体作战的集团优势显然好过单打独斗,品牌经营对于一些中国律师事务所而言就变得尤为关键。Colley补充说,在这样的背景下,品牌推广具有更加重要的作用,“因为通过品牌推广可以扩大信任范围”。

金杜律师事务所是中国最为国际化的事务所之一。简单说来,金杜这一名称通用性强,也易于为国际市场所接受。其名称在英文中的意思浅显易懂。刚刚卸任该所市场部公关总监的Mark Schroeder说:“这个名称听起来像是所里有金先生和伍德小姐,而其实并没有这回事。”

更为重要的是,金杜律师事务所通过协调不同业务部门的工作,力求提供在范围和品质上与其国际地位相称的服务。Schroeder指出,与其他中国律师事务所的做法不同,“金杜所不同业务领域的合伙人可以互相引荐项目。”他认为这种作法在中国这样一个仍处在发展阶段的市场并不多见,因为在中国,律师倾向于包揽自己客户的全部法律业务。

初期情况

品牌战略在中国其他律所打响名声的过程中也一直发挥着关键作用。中伦律师事务所高级合伙人赵靖指出:“品牌推广对于中国的律师事务所来说是新课题”,现在他们需要“审视自身的地位和强项”。

Anthony Zhao 赵靖, Senior Partner 高级合伙人, Zhong Lun Law Firm 中伦律师事务所 赵靖还指出,尽管客户经常基于个人推荐而选择某个事务所,但在中国迅速崛起的市场中还是会不断涌现新的客户,而事务所是否有能力吸引“未知的潜在”客户也很重要。

与Colley有关临界点的观点类似,赵靖强调了律师事务所品牌对于打造“统一平台,使所有合伙人能相互合作和分享经验与知识”的重要性。他相信,中伦的合伙人不仅认可“这种统一平台的价值,同时也认可中伦的形象。”

“中伦”这一名称意指遵循道德准则(参见第48页“玫瑰易名,馨香如故”)。根据该所网站,这一名称表示中伦“律师所做的一切应合乎法律,并需符合律师职业的伦理道德”。

赵靖认为,这个名称从本质上彰显出一种既务实又有条不紊的业务拓展方式,也就是他所说的“中庸之道”,同时也显示该所对于管理透明度的重视。赵靖解释说:“透明度能使律师和客户之间以及律师之间建立信任。”

中伦正竭力解决由于全国性扩张带来的问题,即在开设分所的同时贯彻和统一事务所文化。赵靖也提出,品牌对于从法学院招募最优质的毕业生是至关重要的。“事务所在客户心目中的形象好、地位高,并不一定意味着它在校园里就有好的名声或形象。”因此,中伦一直都在致力于通过校园巡讲活动提升其品牌形象。

巩固地位

许多中国律师事务所扩张神速,旗下办事处遍布中国甚至海外。虽然这能使他们获得梦寐以求的广大市场,但要建立和贯彻全所统一的品牌战略则可能需要更长时间。

大成律师事务所是中国最大的律师事务所之一。它的迅速扩张很有借鉴意义,值得作为典型案例进行研究。该事务所在全国拥有30个办事处,同时也在致力于全球扩张。其纽约办事处于去年10月设立。大成高级合伙人邓永泉在谈及品牌对于整合业务网络的重要性时说到:“加盟大成的当地律师事务所深知,成为大成的一分子就意味着成为强势品牌的一部分,而这将有助于他们的发展。”

大成正在举行创立十六周年的纪念活动。邓永泉解释说,大成借此机会举办盛会,使不同办事处的员工齐聚一堂,同时隆重庆祝该所发展史上的重大事件,以提升和巩固大成品牌。

天地人的努力

在中国,不仅仅只有规模最大、最为国际化的律师事务所认可品牌的重要性。总部设在湖南省长沙市的天地人律师事务所的伦敦办事处高级合伙人王清辉也认为,中国律师事务所的传统组织结构造成了合伙人之间互相竞争的局面。但她坚持天地人的做法要有所不同。

Sophie Wang 王清辉, Titan Law Firm 天地人律师事务所, Senior Partner 高级合伙人 王清辉说:“中国是一个注重人际关系的社会。每个律师的时间、资源有限,无法建立广泛的关系网。作为一个企业,必须进行整体的宣传推广。为了达到这一目的,必须要依靠品牌的力量。” 她认为,正因如此,律师和整个事务所在社会中应该发挥更大的影响力。她说,社会责任感和创建更和谐社会的需求,是事务所发展的驱动力和决定其品牌的价值标准。

这可不完全是无私奉献,相反,如能适当运用就能产生巨大回馈的品牌战略。王清辉阐述了天地人如何经营与客户、公众及政府三方面的重要关系。

为了在公众心目中建立信任感和提高天地人的品牌知名度,该所开通了面向公众的免费热线,任何人都可以打电话咨询关于家庭法律、财产和交通事故的意见。该所为商业客户提供无偿咨询服务,内容涉及各种事项,尤其是有关中国法律体系的一些问题。天地人还主动与政府建立联系。王清辉说:“作为法律专业人士,我们需要保持自己的独立性,在必要的时候可对政府的行为提出质疑,但同时也把政府视为合作伙伴,与政府共同努力,提升其管理水平。”天地人的许多前任雇员如今效力于政府部门,而该所也参与了有关完善立法和法律基础架构的讨论。

从最基本的层面来说,天地人以Titan作为英文名是为了契合“天地人”的涵义,因为Titan一词容易发音,与“天地人”发音相近,并且表示实力雄厚之意(参见第48页“玫瑰易名,馨香如故”)。除此之外,王清辉认为,打造一个品牌的另一个关键问题在于甄选和投资培养“拥有相同价值观的人”。该事务所目前正准备在伦敦市场树立其品牌。

敏锐的市场意识

对于国际律师事务所而言,中国办事处规模小于总部,拥有良好人脉的律师很是重要。但在维持现有客户关系、发展新的客户关系和发挥国际办事处之间的合作优势方面,品牌起着至关重要的作用。

作为美国霍金豪森律师事务所和英国路伟律师事务所合并的产物,霍金路伟律师事务所(Hogan Lovells)以全新的面貌屹立于业界。该所亚洲和中东业务发展与公共关系主管David Craigen认为,霍金路伟律师事务所必须“以敏锐的嗅觉向特定市场的客户灌输新品牌,尽可能提高品牌知名度”。

Suanne Colley, Head of Marketing, Asia Pacific, Skadden Arps Slate Meagher & Flom显然,律师事务所的形象设计应切合当地市场的文化背景,并能在当地市场获得广泛反响。但除此之外,从品牌管理的角度来说还需考量的一点是,律师事务所在中国市场是否会面临一些特殊的问题。

Craigen 说:“实际上,我们在中国市场遇到的挑战,和我们在越南或者阿联酋等设有办事处的其他市场遇到的挑战没有差别。律所在不同市场都面临的最重要挑战是采取何种方式才能有效地打响品牌。”

对于总部在香港的的近律师行(Deacons)来说,有效管理品牌会引发一些有趣的跨文化问题。的近律师行是一家香港律师事务所,其名称的粤语发音比普通话更接近于英文的“Deacons”,而且使用香港传统术语“律师行”,而不是“律师事务所”。此外,其中文名称采用繁体字而不是简体字。这一切表明,这是一家根植香港的事务所;但是,在全中国范围内提供专业服务的能力是该所品牌的基石。该所业务发展主管Phillip McDonald介绍说,的近律师行面向说粤语和英语的律师开设普通话课程,鼓励他们掌握第三门
语言。

打造品牌需要一个过程,不论中国、香港和国际事务所都是如此。在这个过程中,关键要靠人才和取得客户信任的能力。但是Colley预测,只要中国市场现在的法律业务还足够大家分享,那么即便品牌推广从长期来说是律师事务所需要研究的领域,“近期也不会有人去认真探讨这一课题”。

玫瑰易名,馨香如故

对于律师事务所而言,打响品牌远不止取一个好名字那么简单。但事务所的取名涉及到历史、文化和语言的各种问题,需要经过一番深思熟虑。

中国律师事务所在与国内其它事务所合并扩张、建立战略同盟及设立海外办事处的过程中,需要评估其名称是否与其地位、实力、文化和所处地域相符。取名的关键在于醒目、易读并体现事务所价值观和发展目标。

律师事务所的英文名称或国际化名称是否要采用拼音形式,或者是否要与中文名称有不同意义,都是值得深入探讨的问题。

大成律师事务所的英文品牌就是直接取自其中文名称。该所刚在纽约开设了一间办事处,毫无疑问,当地人读起大成的名字时肯定会是美式拼音发音。

相比之下,国浩律师集团事务所(Grandall Legal Group)认为,随着中国业务日趋国际化,事务所再取一个英文发音的名字会有好处。该所选取“Grandall”的原因在于,该词结合了“grand(宏大)”和“all(全部)”,体现了其中文名称所传达的范围、规模、统一性和实力。不过,实际情形并没有这么简单明了:该所的中文网址是www.grandall.com.cn,使用了其英文名称,而英文网址是www.grandall-law.com

AllBright是锦天城律师事务所的英文名,这两个名称之间显然没有任何联系。该所也患上了“PwC综合征”,即像普华永道会计师事务所(PwC)一样,名称由一个单词构成,中间夹着一个大写字母。世泽律师事务所的英文名是Broad & Bright,取光明之意,中英文名称之间也毫无联系。这家事务所的标识采用繁体中文形式。

铸成律师事务所的英文名 (Chang Tsi & Partners) 取自两个创始合伙人苍雨春(Spring Chang) 和司义夏 (Simon Tsi) 的名字。Chang和Tsi都不是标准的普通话拼音,Chang的标准拼音是Cang (苍), Tsi的标准拼音是Si (司)。更为怪异的是,该所的网址是www.ctw.com.cn,其中“w”源自第三位合伙人的名字,而据我们了解,他已不在该所工作。该所的中文名—铸成律师事务所也和创始人的姓名没有任何联系。

Concerto Law Firm在去年九月的品牌更新行动中将英文名改为United Zhongwen Law Firm。新的英文名与其中文名—中闻律师事务所相符,其中文名则保持不变。

北京刘元和君知识产权代理有限公司(Jan Liu & Associates)是一家知识产权事务所,其英文名依照国际传统,以创始者名字命名。该所在2009年七月的合并之后改名为LexField Law Offices。和AllBright律师事务所一样,其新名称只有一个单词,中间夹杂一个大写字母。如此命名究竟是别致还是拙劣?只能说萝卜白菜,各有所爱。

Mayer Brown JSM由美国美亚博事务所(Mayer Brown)和香港士打律师行 (Johnson Stokes & Master)2008年合并而成,但两家事务所合并后并没有统一其中文名称。Mayer Brown继续使用其中文名称美亚博。而Mayer Brown JSM在香港保留了Johnson Stokes & Master的原中文名称“士打”。《商法》今年三月份首次作出勘误声明(见《商法》第2辑第3期第9页),就士打的中文名称作出澄清时,发现了这一有趣而又有些令人困惑的问题。

2003年,一部分合伙人离开中伦律师事务所组建中伦文德律师事务所Zhonglun W&D Law Firm)。对于这样貌合神离的名称,如有混淆也不足为奇。

Law.asia subscripton ad blue 2022

The power of brands in consumer industries is well recognized in China. So why is branding still a new phenomenon in the legal services sector? By Alice Gartland

“You don’t have a choice about whether or not you have a brand. You only have a choice about whether or not you manage it,” says Suanne Colley, who leads the Asia Pacific marketing and communications team at US law firm Skadden Arps ­­Slate Meagher & Flom.

Amy Norman, a former lawyer who is now a strategist at brand consultancy Wolff Olins in London, agrees. Wolff Olins advised Linklaters on its branding strategy in 2002, and has just finished advising PwC on a global rebranding. “People talk about you whether you like it or not. What you have to do is put good things out there in the world for them to talk about,” she says.

Amy Norman, Strategist, Wolff OlinsAccording to Norman, branding is often seen as purely a marketing issue, but it’s actually about the whole office culture. The brand shapes “what your capabilities are, what you offer the world and what you look like,” she says, emphasizing that a law firm’s brand “choreographs” its internal and external relationships, and “needs to resonate with a lot of people”.

For clients, the focal point of their experience of a brand is their interaction with the firm. “On the client side, corporate personality is found in the total experience of the firm – even how you answer the telephone. Everything matters,” says Colley. Crucially, she points out that purchasing a professional service is “risky, even if it’s only an opportunity risk”. A good brand can reduce a potential client’s perception of that risk, and can generate business.

Robert Sawhney, Managing Director, SRC AssociatesBut some say that consciousness of branding has yet to permeate to the heart of the legal profession. “Within the professional services sector, law firms are the furthest behind in terms of the understanding and application of marketing,” says Robert Sawhney, managing director of a Hong Kong-based consultancy, SRC Associates. He believes that law firms tend to take a “superficial view” of branding. “A brand is much more than just a logo, it’s about culture,” he says.

From the inside out

In 2002, following a series of mergers, London-based international law firm Linklaters embarked on a rebranding exercise. This brand-building process was driven “from the inside out” says Oonagh Harpur, head of the Linklaters’ partnership secretariat, starting with an analysis of the values that defined the firm and how they should inform the way the business operates. Linklaters then conducted workshops in its offices across the world to ensure that the values identified were relevant to the daily working lives of the firm’s people.

More than eight years on, the Linklaters brand remains central to the life of the firm. “In every one of our mergers or where we laterally hire, we are looking for cultural fit and values,” says Harpur.

Linklaters’ international client base also demands brand consistency. “You want to know that when you meet us in Hong Kong or New York that you are going to have a similar experience,” Harpur says. Not only do the visuals have to be consistent (because “it’s the superficial stuff that communicates your integrity”), but the advice clients get must also be consistent. “The legal advice has to be excellent, but it also has to be delivered in a way that is consistent with our brand,” Harpur concludes.

Sawhney concurs: “If there isn’t seamless integration between the different offices handling the work for a client, then the point of having multi-jurisdictional offices really fails.”

Keeping it real

It is easy to take a cynical view of branding. Many firms talk about the same things: integrated service, teamwork, corporate social responsibility and work-life balance. But is this anything more than spin? Turning the rhetoric into reality can be difficult.

It is not enough just to say what a firm’s brand is. “You have to give people the tools to make it real,” asserts Norman. For Wolff Olins, this means helping clients conduct training sessions on topics such as how their brand influences pitches: how pitches are presented, how content is prioritized, and so on.

Even firms with strong brands in the main jurisdictions in which they operate can struggle when they enter new markets. Where a firm has moved into a new market to follow and support its existing clients, branding may not be an immediate issue. But in the longer term, the firm will need to win new business. Its brand can be a key source of competitive advantage.

So how good are international law firms’ brands in China, and how do domestic firms compare?

PRC law firms are “well down the brand management spectrum” and “lagging behind”, says Sawhney. And although he believes that international firms are often much further along that spectrum, he “wouldn’t rate any of them as good”.

Is this really true, and if so, why?

Tipping point

It is often said that PRC law firms are set up like barristers’ chambers in a common law jurisdiction. Each partner generates his or her own profits, with a client base built on his or her individual relationships. As a result, “a partner from one practice area will not share information or cooperate with another partner,” says Sawhney. That places the individual lawyer and his or her relationships above those of the collective, so there is little incentive to develop a common brand.

However, many PRC firms have expanded rapidly with offices throughout China and in foreign jurisdictions. Competition among them is intense and a hierarchy of firms has emerged. This means there is a focus on league tables, rankings and getting the visual identity of a firm consistent. There is also increasing appreciation of the role that the brand can play in client relationship management and organizational development.

Many PRC firms are at a “tipping point” says Colley. What were previously small partnerships, which she says “automatically lead to individualized and personal marketing”, are now “substantial businesses where the whole is more than the sum of the parts. That’s why brand has become crucially important for some firms in China.” In this context, Colley adds that marketing the brand becomes more important “because it makes trust become more generalized”.

King & Wood is one of the most internationalized PRC firms. At the most basic level, its name is versatile and works well across international markets. It is easy to understand in English: “It sounds like there is a Mr King and a Ms Wood, although there isn’t,” says Mark Schroeder, who until recently was head of marketing at the firm.

More importantly, King & Wood has worked hard to coordinate its different practice areas to provide the scope and quality of service that its international position demands. Schroeder says the firm is not like a barristers’ chambers, and “partners often refer work to other practice areas”. He believes this approach stands out “in a developing jurisdiction like China, where most matters of a given client tend to be handled by one lawyer”.

Early days

Anthony Zhao 赵靖, Senior Partner 高级合伙人, Zhong Lun Law Firm 中伦律师事务所 Brand strategy has assumed a central role in the development of other PRC firms seeking to build themselves a reputation. Anthony Zhao, a senior partner at Zhong Lun Law Firm, says “branding is a new topic for Chinese firms”, which now need to “consider their position and what their strengths are”.

Zhao points out that although clients often approach a firm following a personal recommendation, in China’s rapidly developing market there are always newcomers and a firm’s ability to convey its message to “unknown” clients is also important.

Echoing Colley’s tipping point remark, Zhao emphasizes the importance of the firm’s brand in creating a “centralized platform so that all partners can work together and share experience and knowledge”. He believes that the partners at Zhong Lun recognize not only the “value of that centralized platform, but also its image”.

The name Zhong Lun signifies adherence to ethical principles (see also A rose by any other name on page 51). According to the firm’s website, it signifies a commitment “to comply fully with the letter and spirit of the law, rules and ethical principles that govern us”.

Internally, Zhao claims that this manifests itself in a practical and methodical approach to business development, which he describes as a “middle way”, and a focus on transparency in the governance of the firm. As Zhao explains, “transparency generates trust – both between the lawyers and their clients and between the lawyers”.

Zhong Lun is grappling with the issues thrown up by nationwide expansion, opening new offices while developing a consistent firm-wide culture. Zhao also says the brand is crucially important when recruiting the best students from law schools. “The image and position of the firm with clients does not necessarily translate into a good name or image on campus,” he says, so Zhong Lun has put effort into developing its brand image for its campus tours.

Consolidation

Many PRC law firms have expanded rapidly and now have offices throughout China and overseas.

Although this gives them the market reach that they need, it may take much longer to foster and implement a firm-wide brand strategy.

Dacheng Law Offices is one of the largest law firms in China, and its rapid expansion offers an interesting case study. The firm has 30 branches across the country and is committed to international growth, too. It opened a New York office last October. Executive partner Dennis Deng describes how the brand is important in bringing that network together: “Local firms who come on board see that by becoming part of Dacheng, they are becoming part of a strong brand that will help facilitate their development.”

Dacheng is celebrating its 16th anniversary. Deng explains that the firm is using the anniversary as an opportunity to host an event to bring people from the different offices together. Key events from the firm’s history will be celebrated to help consolidate the Dacheng brand.

Titan efforts

Sophie Wang 王清辉, Titan Law Firm 天地人律师事务所, Senior Partner 高级合伙人 It’s not just the biggest and most international PRC firms that recognize the importance of brand. Sophie Wang is a senior partner in the London office of Titan Law Firm which has its headquarters in Changsha, Hunan province. Wang agrees that the traditional organizational structure of a PRC firm can place partners in competition with one another, but she is determined that Titan should do things differently.

“China is a society based around relationships. Each lawyer only has limited time and resources to build a broad network, and as a business you have to collectively market yourselves. For that, you need a brand,” says Wang. It is for this reason that she says Titan has focused on the wider role that its lawyers, and the firm as a whole, play in its community. She says that social responsibility and the need to create a better society are the driving forces behind the firm, and the values that define its brand.

This is not pure altruism. It is a brand strategy that, if implemented properly, could offer significant returns. Wang describes how the firm is focused on three key relationships: with its clients, the public and the government.

Suanne Colley, Head of Marketing, Asia Pacific, Skadden Arps Slate Meagher & FlomThe firm is attempting to build trust with the public, and build brand awareness, through a free hotline that anyone can call for advice on family law, property and traffic incidents. It offers commercial clients pro bono advice on certain matters, particularly where the issue involves navigating the Chinese legal system. And it takes a proactive approach to its relationship with the government. “As the legal profession we need to maintain our independence, to challenge the government where necessary, but also to view the government as a partner and to work with them to improve their management,” says Wang. Some members of the firm have gone on to work in government roles and the firm has also been involved in discussions on the development of legislation and legal infrastructure.

At the most basic level, the English name Titan was chosen to reflect the firm’s Chinese name, Tiandiren, because it is easy to pronounce, is phonetically similar to the original Chinese, and because it reflects strength (see also A rose by any other name on page 51). Beyond that, building a brand is about selecting and investing in “people who share the same values,” says Wang. The firm is now trying to build its brand in London.

Being astute

For international firms with offices in China, whose operations are small in comparison with their headquarters, having people with good connections is also important. But a firm’s brand plays a significant role in maintaining client relationships, building new ones and creating synergies across international offices.

Hogan Lovells is the product of a recent merger between Hogan & Hartson of the US and Lovells of the UK, and as such is a new name among law firms. According to David Craigen, head of the firm’s business development and public relations in Asia and the Middle East, Hogan Lovells has to be “astute as to how we optimize brand contact with clients in a particular market”.

Clearly, a firm’s visual identity needs to be translated in a way that is culturally sensitive and effective in the local market. But beyond that, it is open to question whether, from a brand management perspective, the China market presents unusual issues for a firm.

“In reality the challenges are no different from, say, Vietnam or the United Arab Emirates, where we also have offices,” says Craigen. “The overarching differential for each of these markets is how the firm channels its brand presence effectively.”

For Deacons, a Hong Kong-based firm, managing its brand effectively throws up some interesting cross-cultural issues. Di Jin Lüshi Hang (or its equivalent Cantonese pronunciation) is clearly the name of a Hong Kong law firm, phonetically closer to “Deacons” in Cantonese than in Putonghua (Mandarin), and using the traditional Hong Kong term for “law firm” rather than lüshi shiwusuo. These things, together with the use of traditional rather than simplified Chinese characters, demonstrate its Hong Kong roots; yet it is the firm’s capacity to provide expertise on the China region as a whole that is fundamental to its brand. Phillip McDonald, the firm’s head of business development, describes how Deacons offers Putonghua classes to its Cantonese- and English speaking lawyers to encourage them to become trilingual.

For PRC, Hong Kong and international firms alike, building a brand is a process. At the heart of that process are people and the capacity to build trust. However, as Colley predicts, as long as there is an abundance of legal work in China, “no one is going to have a proper debate around branding strategy any time soon”. Even if the long-term view tells us law firms should be engaging in just such a debate.

A rose by any other name

Branding a law firm is about more than just its name. But choosing a firm’s name can be fraught with issues of history and culture, as well as language.

As PRC firms expand by merging with other firms across China, form strategic alliances and set up offices overseas, they need to evaluate whether their name remains consistent with their position, strength, culture and geographical scope. A name that is easily recognizable, easy to pronounce and representative of the firm’s values and ambitions is key.

Whether a law firm’s “English” or “international” name should be rendered in pinyin, or has a meaning distinct from the firm’s Chinese name, are questions that are open to earnest debate.

Dacheng Law Offices has an English brand that makes straightforward use of the firm’s Chinese name. The firm recently opened an office in New York, where the name Dacheng will undoubtedly be pronounced with local characteristics.

In contrast, Grandall Legal Group took the view that given the increasingly international nature of work in the PRC, adopting a second, English-sounding name would be helpful. (Its Chinese name is Guo Hao Lüshi Shiwusuo). The firm chose Grandall because it conveys the scope, size, unity and strength of its Chinese name by combining the words “grand” and “all”. But things aren’t quite so straightforward: the firm’s Chinese website is www.grandall.com.cn, using the English name of the firm. The English website is www.grandall-law.com.

AllBright is the English name for Jin Tian Cheng Lüshi Shiwusuo. The two names appear unrelated. AllBright suffers from PwC syndrome – like the professional services firm PricewaterhouseCoopers, the name consists of one word, but with a capital letter in the middle. Just as brightly, Broad & Bright is the English name for Shi Ze Lüshi Shiwusuo – again, no relation. That firm uses traditional Chinese characters in its logo.

The English name of Chang Tsi & Partners derives from the names of its founding partners, Spring Chang and Simon Tsi. Neither Chang nor Tsi are standard pinyin – Spring’s surname is Cang and Simon’s surname is Si. Even more quirkily, the firm’s web address is www.ctw.com.cn: the “w” is left over from a third partner who, we understand, has since left the firm. And the firm’s Chinese name – Zhu Cheng Lüshi Shiwusuo – makes no discernible reference to any founder at all.

Concerto Law Firm changed its English name to United Zhongwen Law Firm in a relaunch last September. The new name matches the firm’s Chinese name, Zhongwen Lüshi Shiwusuo, which remains unchanged.

Jan Liu & Associates, an IP firm whose English name followed the long international tradition of naming a firm after its founding partner, changed its name to LexField Law Offices after a merger in July 2009. Like AllBright, the new name is a single word, with a capital letter in the middle. Distinctive, or clumsy? Brand beauty is in the eye of the beholder.

Mayer Brown JSM is the product of a merger between US firm Mayer Brown and Hong Kong firm Johnson Stokes & Master in 2008. The merger, however, didn’t go as far as unifying the combined firm’s Chinese name. Mayer Brown uses the name Mei Ya Bo Lüshi Shiwusuo. Mayer Brown JSM in Hong Kong retains the old Chinese name for Johnson Stokes & Master, Ma Shi Da Lüshi Hang. As demonstrated in March, when this magazine printed its first correction (see China Business Law Journal volume 2 issue 3, page 9), we were confused.

In 2003 a group of partners left Zhong Lun Law Firm and set up Zhonglun W&D Law Firm. Its Chinese name is Zhong Lun Wen De. Further confusion could be forgiven.