在孟加拉国进行外国直接投资的结构与融资

作者: Suhan Khan、Mamun Chowdhury,Accord Chambers律师事务所
0
281

加拉国的经济持续以引人瞩目的规模在发展,国内生产总值增长率达到了8.1%,超过了其邻国并成为了亚洲最引人注目的成功故事之一。推动该等发展的是供给端的制造业和建筑业,以及需求端强劲的汇款和农村收入增长推动的私人消费增加。电力生产的快速发展为经济提供了活力,同时出口增长也在加速,这得益于低成本生产设施、出口效益、诸多的投资刺激计划和各种其他地缘政治因素。

Bangladesh
Suhan Khan
Accord Chambers律师事务所管理合伙人
电子邮件: suhan.khan
@accordchambers.com

虽然新冠肺炎疫情预计将导致孟加拉国的经济增速下降,但由于日本、韩国、美国、英国和欧盟国家考虑将其工厂迁出中国,因此孟加拉国具有吸引该地区外国直接投资的潜力。

根据一带一路倡议和两国经济技术合作协议,中国的投资也在源源不断地涌入孟加拉国。因此,流入孟加拉国的外国直接投资将会持续不断。

监管框架

世界银行的一份报告认为,孟加拉国是南亚地区外国直接投资制度最宽松的国家,没有事先审批要求,也没有对参股的限制或者对利润和收入汇回的限制。旨在促进和保护外国投资的立法规定了对外国投资和本地投资的非歧视性待遇,保护外国投资不被国家征收,以及对出售股份和利润所得收益的汇回保证。

Bangladesh
Mamun Chowdhury
Accord Chambers律师事务所资深合伙人
电子邮件: mamun.chowdhury
@accordchambers.com

除了少数保留行业之外,几乎所有的行业都允许外国投资。投资可以单独进行,也可以与本地私营或公共部门进行合资经营从事投资。资本市场也对证券投资开放。

投资结构

全资子公司。外国投资者可以根据1994年《公司法》设立全资子公司,从而完全进入孟加拉国市场。该等公司可以是私人有限公司或者公共有限公司形式。除了极少数例外情况,几乎所有行业中外国投资者都可以享有100%股权。不过,孟加拉国还没有允许设立“一人公司”。股东或其代表以及董事(包括被提名董事)都可以是外国人。

公司注册程序在股份公司注册处办理,首先需要进行名称登记。随后母公司/投资公司需要将实缴资本转到一个临时银行账户中。除了愿意聘用需要工作许可证的外籍人士的公司必须投资至少5万美元之外,孟加拉国没有最低投资要求。

在收到投资款之后,有关银行会发出兑现证明,公司设立程序就完成了。外国投资者在孟加拉国设立子公司无需事先取得监管机构的批准。在公司设立后,取决于公司设立的业务类型和地点,还需要向孟加拉国投资发展局、孟加拉国经济区管理局等监管机构办理一些告知手续。

新设立的公司应当办理营业执照、所得税和增值税登记。根据业务性质,可能还需要其他的许可、批准或无异议证书和许可证,包括进出口许可证。取得商会或相关行业组织的会员资格通常也是必要的。

合资公司。外国公司可以与本地投资者或者其他外国公司或者其孟加拉国子公司一起设立合资公司。笔者建议投资者在合资公司设立之前先与合作伙伴签署合资协议,就与业务相关的所有复杂细节进行约定。合资公司的公司章程会按照合资协议起草。

股份收购。外国投资者也可以通过收购孟加拉国现有公司的股份进行投资。可以签署股份购买协议处理收购的各个方面。根据股份购买协议,交割时交易完成,股份转让生效。

如果外国投资者没有收购公司所有的股份,它可以向现有股东(也是根据股份购买协议)收购目标公司现有股份的一部分,或者为发行新股支付股份保证金的形式向目标公司注入资金。在这两种情况下,股东都应当签署股东协议,目标公司章程可以根据股东协议进行修改。

特殊目的实体。在许多情况下,外国投资者可能希望与本地投资者或已经拥有现有项目的公司成立合资公司。外国投资者可能只想投资于某一特定项目,而不是成为其他现有或未来项目、其资产或责任的股东。在这种情况下,一个合适的结构方案是成立所谓的特殊目的实体或项目公司,这是为了有关具体项目新成立的一个公司。

分公司或办事处。在取得孟加拉国投资发展局的批准后,外国公司还可以作为外国实体通过分公司或办事处在孟加拉国设立有限存在。不同于子公司,分公司或办事处可以从事的活动相对有限。一般情况下,除非获得孟加拉国投资发展局的特殊豁免,否则不允许通过分公司或办事处从孟加拉国进行任何形式的资金汇出,这也符合中央银行的规定。分公司或办事处被要求汇入至少5万美元作为设立费用。

分公司通常代表母公司并从事货物进出口、提供专业或咨询服务等特定活动。不过,分公司一般不允许从事生产活动。另一方面,办事处主要是作为母公司的联络和沟通渠道。它不能在孟加拉国从事任何创收活动。

在孟加拉国进行融资

债务融资。外国投资者可以通过其在孟加拉国的子公司从本地银行和非银行金融机构获得债务融资。这包括流动资金贷款和各种融资信贷安排,包括现金信贷、抵押透支、各类的定期贷款和活期贷款、以中央银行出口发展基金为抵押的贷款、融资租赁和分期付款。

银团贷款和其他结构性融资在孟加拉国也是可以采用的。在孟加拉国注册的公司还可以采用信用证、承兑付款票据和银行担保等不提供资金的信贷安排。

来自外国的私人借款。私营部门的工业企业可以从普遍认可的贷款人获得贷款/信贷,包括国际银行、国际资本市场,国际金融公司、世界银行、亚洲开发银行、石油输出国组织特别基金等多边金融机构,以及出口信贷机构和设备供应商。

向外国股权持有者借款进行过桥融资也是可以采用的。贷款范围覆盖金融贷款、银行贷款、买方信贷、从机构和个人获得的卖方信贷以及海外资本市场的债券发行等商业贷款。该等贷款可以被用于为了新项目投资进口资本机械,或者工业领域现有生产单位的现代化或扩大,但不能用于营运资金目的或投资资本市场。

外国借款需要取得孟加拉国投资发展局的事先批准,这个过程还需要取得中央银行监察委员会的审批。拟使用的贷款利率与国际市场上有关货币相应期限的现行贷款利率相比必须具有竞争性。通常情况下,有关利率应当在该期限内以有关货币计价的现行政府国债利率的基础上,加上合理适度的国家风险溢价。

股权融资。投资者还可以考虑在孟加拉国资本市场进行股权融资,孟加拉国有两个股票交易所。投资者必须遵守孟加拉国的证券法,并取得孟加拉国证券交易委员会的事先批准。

债券。孟加拉国的公司债券市场仍然处于起步阶段,目前公开发行的债券很少。因此,对该等债务工具需求的缺乏阻碍了公司提发行期权的积极性。

孟加拉国提供各种投资途径和融资方式。值得一提的是,最近的财政预算极大地依赖外国直接投资,这表明孟加拉国政府将继续采取进一步的激励措施吸引外国直接投资。因此,现在是投资孟加拉国的时候了。

BangladeshAccord Chambers
Navana Shefali (Suite- 5/D), House 11,
Road 14, Gulshan 1, Dhaka 1212, Bangladesh
电话: +88 017 1124 4627, +88 017 1692 4202
电子邮件: [email protected]
www.accordchambers.com

Structuring and financing Foreign Direct Investment (FDI) in Bangladesh

0
381

The Bangladesh economy continues to grow at an impressive scale, with a GDP growth rate of 8.1%, surpassing that of its neighbouring countries and making it one of Asia’s most remarkable success stories. The growth is being driven by manufacturing and construction on the supply side, and increasing private consumption backed by strong remittances and rural income growth on the demand side. The rapid growth of electricity generation has energized the economy, while export growth has also accelerated, benefiting from low-cost production facilities, export benefits, numerous investment incentive packages and miscellaneous other geopolitical factors.

Bangladesh
Suhan Khan
Managing Partner
Email: suhan.khan
@accordchambers.com

While the covid-19 pandemic is expected to cause a decline in the country’s growth rate, Bangladesh has the potential to attract foreign direct investment (FDI) in the region as Japan, Korea, the US, UK and EU countries consider relocating their factories from China.

Chinese investment is also continuing to arrive in Bangladesh under the Belt and Road Initiative (BRI) and ensuing agreements on economic and technical cooperation between the two countries. Accordingly, the influx of FDI into Bangladesh will continue.

Regulatory framework

A World Bank report has judged Bangladesh to be the most liberal among South Asian FDI regimes, with no prior approval requirements or limits on equity participation, or on the repatriation of profits and incomes. Legislation aimed at promoting and protecting foreign investment provides for non-discriminatory treatment between foreign and local investment, protection of foreign investment from expropriation by the state, and repatriation guarantees of proceeds from the sale of shares and profit.

Bangladesh
Mamun Chowdhury
Senior Partner
Email: mamun.chowdhury
@accordchambers.com

Foreign investment is allowed in almost all sectors, excluding a few reserved industries. Investment may be undertaken either independently or under joint ventures, either with the local private or public sector. The capital market is also open for portfolio investment.

Investment structures

Wholly owned subsidiaries. Foreign investors can gain full access to the Bangladesh market by establishing wholly owned subsidiaries under the Companies Act, 1994. Such companies may be formed as a private limited or public limited company. Foreign equity ownership may be up to 100% in almost all the sectors, with very few exceptions. However, Bangladesh is yet to allow a “one-person company”. The shareholders or their representatives, as well as directors, including nominee directors, may all be foreign nationals.

The incorporation process is handled by the Registrar of Joint Stock Companies & Firms and begins with obtaining name clearance. The parent/investing company is then required to transfer the paid-up capital to a temporary bank account. There is no minimum investment requirement, except that companies willing to employ expatriates requiring work permits are required to invest a minimum of US$50,000.

On receipt of the investment fund, the concerned bank issues an encashment certificate, following which the company set-up process is completed. No prior approval from regulators is required for foreign investors to incorporate subsidiary companies in Bangladesh. There are some intimation formalities with the regulators, such as the Bangladesh Investment Development Authority (BIDA), Bangladesh Economic Zones Authority, etc., following the company formation, depending on the type and location of the business being set up.

The newly formed company shall obtain a trade licence, and income tax and VAT registrations. Additional permits, approvals or no-objection certificates (NOCs) and licences, including export-import licences, may be required depending on the nature of the business. Membership with a business chamber or relevant trade body is also often necessary.

Joint venture companies (JVCs). Foreign companies can incorporate a JVC with a local investor, or with another foreign company, or its Bangladeshi subsidiary. The authors recommend investors to first enter into a joint venture agreement (JVA) with such partners before the incorporation of the JVC, which will address all other intricate details relevant to the context of the business. The memorandum and articles of association of the JVC are drafted in line with the JVA.

Acquisition of shares. Foreign investors can also invest via the acquisition of shares in existing Bangladeshi companies. A share purchase agreement (SPA) may be executed to address all aspects of the acquisition. The transaction is consummated and share transfer is effected at closing, in light of the SPA.

If a foreign investor is not acquiring all the shares of the company, it may either acquire a portion of existing shares of the target company from existing shareholders (also under an SPA) or inject capital into the target company in the form of a share money deposit for issuance of new shares. In both cases, the shareholders should enter into a shareholders’ agreement (SHA) and the articles of association of the target company may be amended in alignment with the SHA.

Special purpose vehicles (SPVs). In many cases, a foreign investor may want to go for a joint venture with a local investor or company that already owns existing projects. The foreign investor may only want to invest in a particular project, and not be a stakeholder of other existing or prospective projects, their assets or liabilities. A suitable structuring solution in such an event would be to incorporate what is termed an SPV, or a project company, which will be a freshly incorporated company for the specific project in question.

Branch or liaison office. Foreign companies can also set up a limited presence in Bangladesh as a foreign entity through a branch office or liaison office on obtaining approval from the BIDA. Unlike subsidiary companies, the activities that a branch office or liaison office may undertake are relatively limited. Ordinarily, no outward remittances of any kind from Bangladesh through the branch or liaison offices are allowed unless specific exemptions are obtained from the BIDA, and the same is aligned with the central bank’s regulations. These offices are required to bring inward remittance of at least US$50,000 as establishment costs.

Branch offices usually represent the parent company and undertake specific activities such as the export or import of goods, rendering of professional or consultancy services. However, branch offices are generally not permitted to carry out manufacturing activities. Liaison offices, on the other hand, mainly act as the liaison and communication channel for the parent entity. It cannot engage in any income-generating activity in Bangladesh.

Financing in Bangladesh

Debt-based financing. Foreign investors, through their subsidiary companies in Bangladesh, may obtain debt-based financing from local banks and non-banking financial institutions (NBFIs). This includes loans for working capital and various funded credit facilities including cash credit, secured overdraft, various types of term loans and demand loans, loans against the central bank’s Export Development Fund, lease finance and hire purchase.

Syndication loans and other structured finance are also available in Bangladesh. Non-funded credit facilities such as letters of credit, accepted bills for payment and bank guarantees can also be availed of by companies incorporated in Bangladesh.

Private borrowings from foreign sources. Industrial enterprises in the private sector may obtain borrowings/credit from recognized lenders including international banks, international capital markets, multilateral financial institutions such as the International Finance Corporation, the World Bank, the Asian Development Bank, the Organization of the Petroleum Exporting Countries Fund, etc., as well as export credit agencies and suppliers of equipment.

Borrowing from foreign equity holders for bridge financing may also be availed. The range of loans covers commercial loans including financial loans, bank loans, buyer’s credit, supplier’s credit from institutions and individuals, and debt issues in the capital market abroad. Such loans can be utilized for investments to import capital machinery for new projects, or modernization or expansion of existing production units in industrial sectors, but not for working capital purposes or investment in capital markets.

Foreign borrowings will require prior approval from the BIDA, and the process also involves approval from the central bank’s scrutiny committee. The proposed rate of interest must be competitive, with prevailing lending rates in the international markets in the concerned currencies for the relevant tenure. Usually, the interest rate should be based on the prevailing government treasury bond rate in that currency for that tenure, plus a reasonably modest country risk premium.

Equity financing. Investors may also consider equity-based financing from Bangladesh’s capital market, which has two stock exchanges. Investors have to comply with the securities laws of Bangladesh, and are subject to prior approval from the Bangladesh Securities and Exchange Commission.

Bonds. The corporate bond market in Bangladesh is still in its infancy, with very few publicly placed corporate bonds. The lack of demand for such debt instruments has, therefore, discouraged companies from floating the option.

Bangladesh offers various investment routes and financing modalities. It is worth mentioning that the most recent budget has immensely relied upon FDI, which is indicative of the fact that the Bangladesh government will continue to give further incentives to attract FDI. Now is, therefore, the time to invest in Bangladesh.

BangladeshAccord Chambers
Navana Shefali (Suite- 5/D), House 11,
Road 14, Gulshan 1, Dhaka 1212, Bangladesh
Tel: +88 017 1124 4627, +88 017 1692 4202
Email: assistance@accordchambers.com
www.accordchambers.com