资管纠纷“穿透式审判思维”的司法运用及边界

作者: 牟菲和阎慧鸣,浩天律师事务所
0
675
LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link

年来,中国资产管理业务迅猛发展。银行、证券公司、保险公司等机构的业务互相渗透、交叉;资产管理行业展现出混业经营的发展态势,多层嵌套、刚性兑付、突破杠杆限制、通道业务、资金池等交易方式的出现,无疑给金融监管带来巨大挑战。与此同时,资管纠纷案件的争议问题亦呈现新颖、复杂和多变的演变趋势。

立法基础

牟菲, Mu Fei, Hylands
牟菲
高级合伙人
浩天律师事务所

为规范金融机构资产管理业务,统一同类资管计划监管标准,中国人民银行、中国银保监会、中国证监会及国家外汇管理局于2018年4月27日联合发布《关于规范金融机构资产管理业务的指导意见》,明确提出要对资产管理业务施行“穿透式监管”。

在司法审判层面,2019年最高人民法院在《全国法院民商事审判工作会议纪要》(下称《九民纪要》)也提出了“穿透式审判思维”。基于此,目前法院在审理资产管理类纠纷时,普遍会重点对于案件涉及的资产管理产品的交易目的、性质进行审查,相关资管合同法律关系的定性、法律效力问题往往成为案件核心问题。

所谓穿透式审判思维,本质是指不拘泥于当事人约定或相关交易文件所展示出的形式上的法律关系,而是按照“实质重于形式”的原则,透过查明当事人之间真实的意思表示,确定法律行为实质。

三条裁审路径

笔者以威科先行法律信息库为检索平台,以“穿透”“思维”为关键词进行检索,共检索出近三年民事判例677例,其中最高人民法院12例、高级人民法院347例、中级人民法院255例、基层法院62例,以及专门法院一例。从年度分布来看,2020年检索到466例,2021年为123例,而2022年为88例。

可见,自《九民纪要》出台后,穿透式审判思维已经运用于各级法院的审理案件过程中。通过对相关判例的梳理,笔者发现,当法院在审理案件过程中发现当事人的交易目的、交易性质,与交易文件表面上约定不一致时,往往会产生三种审判思路及法律效果。

  1. 法院审查案件过程中发现当事人之间的真实意思表示与表面上的交易文件或交易行为不一致,从而援引《民法典》(或原《民法总则》)第146条关于隐藏民事法律行为的法律效力规则,认定以虚假的意思表示实施的民事法律行为无效,并重新界定各方当事人之间的实质法律关系。最典型的即为“名为实为”的认定模式,如“名为买卖、实为借贷”“名为合伙、实为借贷”和“名为债权转让和不良资产合作清收、实为借贷”等。
  2. 法院通过审查发现案件涉及的法律行为或当事人虚假意思隐藏的真实交易违反法律、行政法规的强制性规定,或严重违反监管规定损害社会公共利益,从而援引《民法典》(或原《民法总则》)第153条、《合同法》第五十二条,以案涉民事法律行为违反法律、行政法规的强制性规定,或违反公序良俗,认定法律关系无效。
  3. 法院在审查民商事案件的过程中,发现当事人的相关法律行为涉及刑事犯罪,从而驳回起诉,将案件移送至公安机关。

寻找边界

阎慧鸣, Yan Huiming, Hylands
阎慧鸣
律师
浩天律师事务所

穿透式审判思维一定程度上给予了法官在事实查明及法律适用层面更多的裁量空间,但同时也对于法官的裁判过程及结果提出了更高的要求。有学者提出,穿透式审判思维遵循实质争议理念介入司法自治,并不意味着其司法恣意而不受约束,笔者甚为认同。

但是,在商事交往过程中,商事外观主义作为重要原则,其本质上与商事行为具有的标准性、独立性、要式性等特点相关。若司法对于金融交易过度干预,必然会影响金融市场的创新性发展,也会一定程度上打破金融市场参与者的稳定预期。

因此,笔者认为在事实查明层面,应受限于民事审判举证规则及“谁主张,谁举证”的基本逻辑,尽可能避免对于商事外观事实的推翻,并对法官调查权进行限制;在法律适用层面,在资产管理纠纷审理过程中需要审慎适用“名为实为”“违反公序良俗”对应的法律规定,尊重商事法律关系外观,尽可能减少对于相关交易合同效力的否定。

总体而言,穿透式审判思维确实有利于防范和化解金融风险,但司法审判也不能对于商事交易进行过度干预,损害金融市场的创新性,有碍金融市场的发展。笔者相信,在对“穿透式审判思维”适用边界的认识不断深入后,资产管理纠纷审判能够更好地适应金融创新,助力金融市场的稳定发展。

浩天律师事务所高级合伙人牟菲、律师阎慧鸣

Hylands Logo

浩天律师事务所
北京市朝阳区东三环中路5号

财富金融中心3、11、12层 邮编: 100020
电话: +86 10 6502 8888
传真: +86 10 6502 8866
电子信箱: mufei@hylandslaw.com
yanhuiming@hylandslaw.com
www.hylandslaw.com

LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link

Boundaries for ‘penetrative’ judgments in asset management disputes

By Mu Fei and Yan Huiming, Hylands Law Firm
0
1617
LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link

Asset management has been growing rapidly as an industry across China in recent years. Now, banks, securities companies, insurance companies and other institutions provide overlapping financial services. The sector is a model of mixed operations, giving rise to complex multi-tiered financial instruments, implicit guarantees, leverage limit breaches, “passageway” deals and cash pooling. All of these pose great challenges to financial supervision.

Unsurprisingly, disputes in this sector are demonstrating increasing novelty, complexity and variability.

The legislation

牟菲, Mu Fei, Hylands
Mu Fei
Senior partner
Hylands Law Firm

Significant work has been done to unify regulatory standards for similar asset management plans in order to regulate the asset management business of financial institutions.

The People’s Bank of China, the former China Banking and Insurance Regulatory Commission, the China Securities Regulatory Commission and the State Administration of Foreign Exchange jointly issued the Guidelines for Regulating the Asset Management Business of Financial Institutions on 27 April 2018. The guidelines explicitly require “penetrative supervision” of the asset management business.

From an adjudicative perspective, the Supreme People’s Court introduced a “penetrative approach to adjudication” in the Minutes of the National Courts’ Civil and Commercial Trial Work Conference, issued in 2019. Accordingly, when hearing asset management disputes, courts generally focus their examination on the transactional purpose and nature of the asset management products in question. The legal relationship in the asset management contract and its enforceability are usually the core contention of such cases.

A “penetrative approach to adjudication” centres on the idea of going beyond the pro-forma legal relationship indicated by the parties’ agreement or related transaction document. Instead, by following a “substance over form” principle, the courts can identify the parties’ true expression of intent and determine the substance of a juristic act.

Three routes

Evidently, since the release of the minutes, the penetrative approach to adjudication has seen much action at all levels of the justice system.

By searching the Wolters Kluwer legal database with keywords “penetrative” and “approach”, the authors retrieved 677 civil cases in the past three years, including 12 heard by the Supreme People’s Court, 347 by high courts, 255 by intermediate courts, 62 by primary courts and one by a special court. By year, 466 cases were heard in 2020, 123 in 2021, and 88 in 2022.

A review of cases shows that when a court finds the transaction purpose or nature inconsistent with that stated in the transaction documents, it usually proceeds along one of the following three adjudication routes, each representing varying legal consequences.

Route 1. The court finds the true expression of intent of the parties is inconsistent with that indicated by the transaction documents or behaviour. This invokes article 146 of the Civil Code (the former General Provisions of Civil Law) with respect to the validity of concealed civil juristic acts.

阎慧鸣, Yan Huiming, Hylands
Yan Huiming
Associate
Hylands Law Firm

According to this rule, civil juristic acts based on a false expression of intent are void, and the substantive legal relationship between the parties should be redefined. Most typical of this model are “in disguise of” cases, such as “lending in disguise of trading”, “lending in disguise of partnership”, and “lending in disguise of debt transfer and co-operative collection of non-performing assets”.

Route 2. The court finds the juristic act in question or the real transaction behind the false expression of intent of the parties violates certain mandatory provisions of laws or administrative regulations, or seriously violates certain regulatory rules and harms the public interest. This invokes article 153 of the Civil Code and article 52 of the Contract Law. In other words, a civil juristic act is void if it violates mandatory provisions of laws or administrative regulations, or if it goes against public order or good morals.

Route 3. When examining civil or commercial cases, the court finds that the relevant juristic act of a party involves criminal offence. In this scenario, the court will dismisses the action and transfer the case to a public security authority.

Identifying the boundary

To a certain extent, the penetrative approach to adjudication gives the judge more discretion in fact-finding and law application, while placing higher requirements on the process and outcome of adjudication.

Academics have argued that the penetrative approach involves judicial autonomy in substantive dispute resolution, and does not lead to judicial arbitrariness or lack of restraint. This viewpoint is seconded by the authors.

However, externalism – essentially relating to the standardisation, independence and formality of commercial behaviour – is an important principle in commercial matters.

Excessive judicial intervention in financial transactions will inevitably hinder innovative development of the financial market and threaten to destabilise the expectations of market participants.

Therefore, the authors believe that fact finding should be subject to the doctrine of burden of proof in civil trials and the underlying logic that “the burden of proof is borne by the claimant” to avoid overturning the apparent commercial facts where possible and to restrict the judge’s investigative power.

As for the application of law in asset management disputes, prudence should be exercised in applying legal provisions regarding the “in disguise of” model and “offending public order or good morals”, and respect should be given to the ostensible legal relationships in commercial matters, thus minimising the invalidation of transaction contracts.

In general, the penetrative approach to adjudication is conducive to forestalling and defusing financial risks. However, adjudication should not excessively intervene in commercial transactions to the extent that it hinders financial market innovation and development.

The authors believe that with deeper insights into the penetrative approach to adjudication and how far it should go, judgment of asset management disputes will be able to better accommodate financial innovation and enhance stability of the financial market.

Mu Fei is a senior partner and Yan Huiming is an associate at Hylands Law Firm

Hylands Logo

Hylands Law Firm

3/11/12, Fortune Financial Center

5 Dongsanhuan Zhong Road, Chaoyang District

Beijing 100020, China

Tel: +86 10 6502 8888

Fax: +86 10 5939 9699
E-mail: mufei@hylandslaw.com
yanhuiming@hylandslaw.com

www.hylandslaw.com

LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link