新冠疫情背景下《联合国国际货物销售合同公约》第七十九条的理解与适用

作者: 高壮,北仲
0
1154
Application-of-CISG-article-79-during-the-pandemic,-新冠疫情背景下《联合国国际货物销售合同公约》第七十九条的理解与适用
LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link

根据联合国贸易和发展会议(UNCTAD)的数据统计,受新冠疫情影响,2020年第二季度全球货物贸易总值同比下降接近18%。对于国际货物贸易商来说,新冠疫情带来的停工停产、交通管制等给国际货物贸易合同的履行带来了前所未有的障碍,如何在《联合国国际货物销售合同公约》(下称《销售公约》)的框架下维护自己的合法权益,成为贸易双方共同关注的重点。

法律分析

《销售公约》的基本原则是意思自治,因此当事人在合同文本中针对新冠疫情导致合同履行障碍的特别约定,应当受到尊重。而在没有特别约定的情形下,当事人可以援引第七十九条来寻求免责。《销售公约》第七十九条创造性地采用了“障碍”这一概念,但这也带来了理解和适用上的难题。笔者将在下文中简述对第七十九条的理解与适用。

适用《销售公约》第七十九条的四项条件

合同履行的首要原则是有约必守,如果当事人想要通过第七十九条来免除其未履行合同义务的责任,必须要证明所遇到的履行障碍符合以下四项条件从而构成“障碍”:(1)当事人无法控制;(2)障碍不能预见;(3)障碍不能避免或者克服;(4)在障碍和无法履行合同之间具有因果关系。

要想理解何种障碍“当事人无法控制”,则必须要理解何种障碍当事人可以控制。有学者认为,当事人可以控制的障碍必然与其制造、采购过程的组织相关,比如人员资格、技术设备和资金处置等,而在此之外的障碍可以认定为“当事人无法控制”的障碍。在司法实践中,常见的不可控制的情形包括政府行为、行政规定等,特定情况下政府采取的某些强制性疫情防控措施也可认定为不可控制的障碍。

You must be a subscribersubscribersubscribersubscriber to read this content, please subscribesubscribesubscribesubscribe today.

For group subscribers, please click here to access.
Interested in group subscription? Please contact us.

你需要登录去解锁本文内容。欢迎注册账号。如果想阅读月刊所有文章,欢迎成为我们的订阅会员成为我们的订阅会员

已有集团订阅,可点击此处继续浏览。
如对集团订阅感兴趣,请联络我们

LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link

Application of CISG article 79 during the pandemic

By Gao Zhuang, BAC/BIAC
0
1415
Application-of-CISG-article-79-during-the-pandemic,-新冠疫情背景下《联合国国际货物销售合同公约》第七十九条的理解与适用
LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link

According to the data of the UN Conference on Trade and Development, the value of year-on-year global merchandise trade affected by the covid-19 pandemic is estimated to have declined by 18% in the second quarter of 2020. For international trade merchants, the performance of international trade contracts has encountered unprecedented obstacles caused by the suspension of production and traffic control. How to protect the legitimate rights and interests of sellers and buyers under the framework of the UN Convention on Contracts for the International Sale of Goods (CISG) has become a common concern for both sides.

Legal analysis

The basic principle of the CISG is party autonomy, hence the parties’ special agreement on obstacles to the performance of contracts caused by the covid-19 pandemic shall be respected. In the absence of such a special agreement, the parties may invoke article 79 of the CISG to seek an exemption. Article 79 of the CISG creates the concept of an “impediment”, but it also brings difficulties in understanding and application, which will be explained below.

Four requirements for applying article 79 of the CISG

Pacta sunt servanda (agreements must be kept) shall always be honoured in the performance of contracts. If the parties want to exempt themselves from the liability of non-performance of the contract by invoking article 79 of the CISG, they must prove that the obstacles to performance meet the following four requirements, and thus constitute an “impediment”: (1) beyond control of the party; (2) unable to be foreseen; (3) unable to be avoided or overcome; and (4) there is a causal relationship between the impediment and the party’s non-performance.

To better understand the meaning of the impediment “beyond control of the party”, it is useful to investigate the meaning of the impediment within control of the party. Some scholars believed that the obstacles “within” control of the party shall be connected with an orderly organisation of his/her manufacturing or procurement process, as are the personnel’s qualifications, the technical equipment, and the disposition of the required financial means.

You must be a subscribersubscribersubscribersubscriber to read this content, please subscribesubscribesubscribesubscribe today.

For group subscribers, please click here to access.
Interested in group subscription? Please contact us.

你需要登录去解锁本文内容。欢迎注册账号。如果想阅读月刊所有文章,欢迎成为我们的订阅会员成为我们的订阅会员

已有集团订阅,可点击此处继续浏览。
如对集团订阅感兴趣,请联络我们

LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link