普盈新聘中国业务联席主管

0
298
LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link

前普衡律师事务北京和上海代表处联合管理合伙人严嘉携四人律师团队加入普盈律师事务所,担任中国业务联席主管。

合伙人严嘉常驻普盈上海办事处,负责管理一支广泛的公司业务、调查和争议解决团队,业务遍及亚洲、美国和英国。与他一起加入普盈的包括特别顾问马天泽与律师耿德文、刘炎秋、崔迅铭。

Yan Jia
严嘉

严嘉拥有纽约律师资格,擅长为中国、美国和欧洲公司处理并购、债券和票据融资,也能代理香港和美国的IPO、基金设立和私募股权投资。他在国际争议解决和房地产交易方面拥有丰富的经验,能为亚洲和美国的复杂诉讼、仲裁和公司调查提供咨询。

尽管已于2014年通过中国的法律职业资格考试,但严嘉目前未持有执业资格。

严嘉处理过大量的复杂商业交易,包括代理复星集团对德国公司BioNTech进行股权投资、与BioNTech合作开发和商业化新冠疫苗、以及在香港、澳门和台湾地区分销BioNTech的新冠疫苗。

自2012年起,他参与的多个交易获得《商法》的“年度杰出交易”奖,包括新风天域收购和睦家医疗、复星旅游文化集团香港上市、平安保险向澳大利亚电信购买汽车之家部分股权、华纳兄弟公司与中国传媒资本合资设立“旗舰影业”。

普盈主席David Dekker在一份声明稿中说:“他[严嘉]及其团队以相当多元化和高度弹性的实践经营业务,能够在交易、调查和争议解决方面提供无缝咨询服务。”

该所的全球公司业务负责人Jeffrey Delaney补充,考虑到新团队多元化的技能以及严嘉在亚洲、美国与英国的声誉,将有助为客户提供“一站式服务”。

普盈网站显示,该所还有两名中国业务联席主管,分别是在北京/迈阿密的Geoffrey Sant,以及在旧金山的廖钰燕。其北京和上海办事处还分别有管理合伙人盛佳和柯呈佶。

严嘉离开后,王圣豪成为普衡唯一的京沪办事处管理合伙人。上一次普衡的内地主要合伙人出走发生在2019年,当时上海及北京办事处首席代表唐海燕及李竟弘分别加入私募公司CBC集团与天元律师事务所

LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link

Paul Hastings mainland co-chair leaves with team

0
810
LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link

Yan Jia, the former co-chair at Paul Hastings’ Beijing and Shanghai offices, has joined Pillsbury as co-leader of the China practice and brings a team of four lawyers.

Yan Jia
Yan Jia

As a partner based in Pillsbury’s Shanghai office, Yan assumes responsibility for overseeing a wide range of corporate, investigations and dispute matters across Asia, the US, and the UK.

Admitted to practice in New York, Yan specialises in M&A, bond, and note financing for Chinese, US, and European companies and can handle IPOs, fund formations, and private equity investments on Hong Kong and US exchanges. He also has experience in dispute resolution and real estate and provides advice on complex litigation, arbitration, and corporate investigations covering Asia and the US.

Although he passed the PRC bar in 1994, Yan is not currently qualified to practice in the mainland.

Yan has handled many complex commercial transactions throughout his career. He played a pivotal role in representing Fosun Group in its equity investment in the German company BioNTech, a collaboration with BioNTec to develop and commercialise covid-19 vaccine BNT162, and distribution of that in Hong Kong, Macau and Taiwan.

Yan’s skill has been recognised in Deals of the Year by China Business Law Journal since 2012, including NFC acquiring United Family Healthcare, Fosun Tourism Group’s HK listing, Ping An acquiring a stake in Autohome, and a joint venture between Warner Bros and China Media Capital.

Pillsbury’s firmwide chair, David Dekker, said: “He [Yan] and his team operate an uncommonly diverse and highly resilient practice capable of providing seamless advice across transactions, investigations and disputes.”

His jump-ship team includes now special counsel Tianze Ma, and associates Xunming Cui, Yanqiu Liu and Devin Geng.

Jeffrey Delaney, the leader of Pillsbury’s global corporate practice, added the new team’s diverse skill set and Yan’s reputation in Asia, the US and the UK would contribute to offering a comprehensive “one-stop shop” for clients.

Pillsbury other co-heads of its China practice are Geoffrey Sant in Beijing/Miami and San Francisco-based Jenny Liu, according to the firm’s website. Its Beijing and Shanghai offices also have managing partners Jenny Sheng and Ke Jack Ko, respectively.

Yan’s departure has left David Wang as the remaining chair at Paul Hastings’ Beijing and Shanghai offices. The last exodus of key mainland partners from the firm occurred in 2019 when Tang Haiyan and Nan Li, the chief representatives of the Shanghai and Beijing offices joined private equity firms CBC Group and Tian Yuan Law Firm, respectively.

LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link