新能源项目可以突破城镇开发边界吗?

作者: 鲁轲,志霖律师事务所
0
155
LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link

然资源部国土空间规划局副局长杨浚在2023年12月24日召开的媒体座谈会上说,按党中央、国务院关于建立国土空间规划体系、深化“多规合一”改革决策部署,2022年根据“三区三线”划定工作的统一部署,各省区市按照自上而下、自下而上相结合的工作方式,统筹划定了城市、镇以及各类开发区的城镇开发边界。

那么,什么是城镇开发边界?城镇开发边界有何管理要求?新能源项目是否可以突破城镇开发边界进行建设?本文试予以解析。

概念

2019年11月1日,为统筹划定落实生态保护红线、永久基本农田、城镇开发边界三条控制线,《中共中央办公厅、国务院办公厅关于在国土空间规划中统筹划定落实三条控制线的指导意见》(下称《指导意见》)发布实施,该文件首次对城镇开发边界进行了权威定义。根据规定,城镇开发边界是在一定时期内因城镇发展需要,可以集中进行城镇开发建设的,以城镇功能为主的区域边界,包括城市、建制镇以及各类开发区等。

项目建设管理要求

鲁轲,Lu Ke,Zhilin
鲁轲
律师
志霖律师事务所

《中共中央、国务院关于建立国土空间规划体系并监督实施的若干意见》规定,在城镇开发边界内的建设,实行“详细规划+规划许可”的管制方式;在城镇开发边界外的建设,按照主导用途分区,实行“详细规划+规划许可”和“约束指标+分区准入”的管制方式。

《指导意见》规定,城镇开发边界调整需报国土空间规划原审批机关审批。

上述两份文件对城镇开发边界外的建设管理要求比较简单,2023年10月8日发布实施的《自然资源部关于做好城镇开发边界管理的通知(试行)》(下称《管理通知》)首次系统性地对此进行规定,引导城镇建设用地向城镇开发边界内集中,促进城镇集约集聚建设,提高土地节约集约利用水平。城镇开发边界外不得进行城镇集中建设,不得规划建设各类开发区和产业园区,不得规划城镇居住用地……在城镇开发边界外可规划布局有特定选址要求的零星城镇建设用地。

新能源项目规定

根据前文分析,在满足一定前提条件的情况下,城镇开发边界外可规划布局有特定选址要求的零星城镇建设用地。那么,风电、光伏等新能源项目用地是否属于可以突破城镇开发边界的有特定选址要求的零星城镇建设用地呢?对此,《管理通知》并未予以明确。

2023年5月4日发布实施的《自然资源部关于深化规划用地“多审合一、多证合一”改革的通知》规定,实施规划选址综合论证。位于城镇开发边界外并涉及耕地、永久基本农田、生态保护红线的交通、能源、水利等建设项目,地方自然资源主管部门应整合现行的规划选址论证、耕地踏勘论证、永久基本农田占用补划论证、生态保护红线不可避让论证、节地评价等事项为规划选址综合论证,防止重复论证和审查,该论证报告将作为建设项目用地预审与选址意见书的申报材料。该规定列举的位于城镇开发边界外的项目包括能源建设项目。

在新能源行业具体用地政策方面,2023年3月20日发布实施的《自然资源部办公厅 国家林业和草原局办公室国家能源局综合司关于支持光伏发电产业发展规范用地管理有关工作的通知》规定,在符合“三区三线”管控规则的前提下,相关项目经可行性论证后可统筹纳入国土空间规划“一张图”,作为审批光伏项目新增用地用林用草的规划依据。该规定要求光伏项目用地符合“三区三线”管控规则,并未否认项目用地可以突破“三区三线”范围,具体是否可以突破需要结合“三区三线”的相关管控规则进行认定。

结论

根据前文分析,可得出如下几条结论:

  1. 城镇开发边界是在一定时期内因城镇发展需要,可以集中进行城镇开发建设、以城镇功能为主的区域边界,涉及城市、建制镇以及各类开发区等。
  2. 在满足一定前提条件的情况下,城镇开发边界外可规划布局有特定选址要求的零星城镇建设用地。
  3. 在国家和部分省市的政策文件中,能源项目属于可以在城镇开发边界外进行选址的项目类型。结合新能源项目的行业用地政策及项目特点,新能源项目突破城镇开发边界进行建设应不存在法律障碍。正因如此,相较于生态保护红线和基本农田,新能源项目开发过程中较少见到自然资源管理部门以突破城镇开发边界为由对项目用地提出否定性意见。

志霖律师事务所律师鲁轲

Zhilin Law Firm logo 北京市东城区北三环东路36号
环球贸易中心C座20层2001-2007 邮编: 100013
电话: +86 186 1130 1382
传真: +86 10 8400 4936
电子信箱: ke.lu@zhilinlaw.com
www.zhilinlaw.com

LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link

Can new energy projects exceed urban development boundaries?

By Lu Ke, Zhilin Law Firm
0
366
LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link

Yang Jun, deputy director of the Territorial Spatial Planning Bureau of the Ministry of Natural Resources, stated during a media seminar on 24 December 2023 that according to the decision-making and deployment of the CPC Central Committee and the State Council on the establishment of a territorial spatial planning system and the deepening of the “integration and optimisation of multiple plannings” reform, in 2022, provinces, autonomous regions and municipalities have co-ordinated the delineation of urban development boundaries for cities, towns and various types of development zones using both top-down and bottom-up approaches. This was done in accordance with the unified deployment of the “Three Zones and Three Lines” control rules, which delineate land use using three zones marked by three lines.

What is an urban development boundary? What are the management requirements for urban development boundaries? Can new energy projects break the urban development boundaries for construction? This article aims to analyse these questions.

Concept

鲁轲,Lu Ke,Zhilin
Lu Ke
Associate
Zhilin Law Firm

On 1 November 2019, the Communist Party of China Central Committee and the State Council released guidelines on co-ordinating the delimitation and implementation of the three control lines, including the red line for ecological protection, the red line for protection of permanent basic cropland, and the boundary line for urban development. This document marked the first authoritative definition of the urban development boundary. According to regulations, the urban development boundary refers to the concentrated development and construction of urban areas, including cities, designated towns and various development zones, primarily to meet the needs of urban development within a specific period.

Project construction

The Opinions of the CPC Central Committee and the State Council on Establishing a National Territory Spatial Planning System with its Supervision and Implementation provide that construction within the urban development boundaries follows a control method of “detailed planning + planning permit”. Construction outside urban development boundaries follows a control method based on zoning for dominant uses, employing “detailed planning + planning permit” and “obligatory targets + zone access”. The opinions specify that adjustments to urban development boundaries require approval from the original approval authority for territorial spatial planning.

These documents provide relatively simple requirements for the management of construction outside the urban development boundaries. However, the Notice by the Ministry of Natural Resources of Effectively Administering Urban Development Boundaries (for Trial Implementation), released and implemented on 8 October 2023, for the first time systematically provides rules on the issue, guiding the concentration of urban construction land within the urban development boundaries, promoting the intensive and clustered construction of urban development to enhance land efficiency and conservation. Outside urban development boundaries, concentrated urban construction is prohibited, as well as the planning and construction of development zones and industrial parks. Residential land planning within these areas is also prohibited although scattered urban construction land with specific site requirements may be permitted outside urban development boundaries.

New energy projects

It is, however, not clear whether land for new energy projects such as wind power and photovoltaics (PV) falls under this category of scattered urban construction land as it is not explicitly addressed in the notice.

However, the “Notice on Deepening the Reform of ‘Multiple Reviews Combined into One, Multiple Certificates Combined into One’ for Planning and Land Use”, issued and implemented on 4 May 2023, provides for the implementation of comprehensive site selection and the evaluation of projects located outside urban development boundaries. For transportation, energy and water conservancy projects located outside the urban development boundaries that involve arable land, permanent basic cropland and the ecological protection red line, the local natural resources authorities shall integrate various assessments – including planning site selection, arable land survey, permanent basic cropland occupation adjustment, impossibility of avoiding the ecological protection red line, land-saving evaluation, etc. – into comprehensive site selection assessments to prevent duplicate reviews. The assessment report is used as the application material for the preliminary review and siting opinions on construction project land. The projects outside the urban development boundary listed in this provision include energy construction projects.

Regarding specific land use policies for the new energy industry, the Ministry of Natural Resources, National Forestry and Grassland Bureau, and the Comprehensive Department of the National Energy Administration issued the Notice on Supporting the Development of the Photovoltaic Power Generation Industry and Standardising the Work Related to Land Use Management on 20 March 2023, specifying that under the premise of complying with the “Three Zones and Three Lines” control rules, relevant projects that pass feasibility studies can be integrated into the national land use planning map. This serves as the planning basis for additional land use for forests and grasslands, including new PV projects. The supporting notice requires PV project land to conform to these control rules and does not deny that the project land can be outside their scope. Whether the development can continue needs to be determined according to relevant control rules.

Conclusion

Based on the previous analysis, the following conclusions may be drawn:

  1. Urban development boundaries are defined as regional boundaries primarily designated for concentrated urban development and construction, driven by the needs of urban development over a certain period. They encompass cities, designated towns and various development zones.
  2. Under certain conditions, scattered urban construction land with specific site requirements can be planned outside urban development boundaries.
  3. According to national and some provincial policies, energy projects are categorised as types of projects that can be sited outside urban development boundaries. Considering specific land policies and the characteristics of new energy projects, there should be no legal barriers to their construction beyond urban development boundaries. Consequently, compared to ecological protection red lines and basic farmland, it is less likely for natural resources management authorities to object to project land on the grounds of exceeding urban development boundaries during the development process.

Lu Ke is an associate at Zhilin Law Firm

Zhilin Law Firm logoRooms 2001-2007, 20th Floor, Tower C
Global Trade Center, 36 North Third Ring Road East
Dongcheng District, Beijing 100013, China
Tel: +86 186 1130 1382
Fax: +86 10 8400 4936
E-mail: ke.lu@zhilinlaw.com
www.zhilinlaw.com

LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link