外商投资阿尔及利亚的限制和风险

作者: 王霁虹、陈丁铎,中伦律师事务所
0
1033
LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link

20189月,中阿签署了一带一路倡议的谅解备忘录,重点加强在基础设施和能源领域的合作。中企在阿整体投资规模不大,主要集中在油气、矿业领域。截至2018年末,中国对阿直接投资累计20.63亿美元。2019年,中国对阿全行业直接投资额5917万美元。在贸易领域,中国是阿尔及利亚第一大进口来源国。中国对阿尔及利亚出口商品的主要类别涉及机器、电气设备、车辆等,而中国从阿尔及利亚进口的商品类别主要涉及矿物燃料、沥青等。

王霁虹, Wang Jihong, Partner, Zhong Lun Law Firm
王霁虹
合伙人
中伦律师事务所

阿尔及利亚对外国投资者实行国民待遇,但特定特殊领域对外资仍有限制:

股比受限在阿从事对国民经济具有战略性意义领域的投资时,应关注51/49规则。即:在所有外国投资或合资项目中,阿方须至少占股51%。根据《2020年金融法》及《2020年金融法补充规则》的规定,其具体适用范围如下:(1)开采矿产资源,以及任何由开采地表或地下资源活动中产生的地表或地下资源;(2)能源部门的上游行业及受与油气领域法规管辖的活动;(3)通过光缆进行电力分配及输送;(4)通过管道运送石油、天然气;(5)与军事相关的活动;(6)与铁路、港口及机场相关的活动;以及(7)制药行业。

股权转让受限。在投资对国民经济具有战略性意义的领域时,还应注意政府事先授权规则。即在上述领域中,任何外国投资者向其他外国投资者转让其所持有的、根据阿法律设立的实体的股权时,需得到阿政府的批准。

除上述限制外,在阿投资,还应注意如下风险:

陈丁铎, Chen Dingduo, Associate, Zhong Lun Law Firm
陈丁铎
律师
中伦律师事务所

腐败。阿尔及利亚腐败较为严重。不过,阿政府在近年间已经加大了打击腐败的力度,其中不乏中企受到相关调查的情形。在阿进行投资时,企业应保持头脑清醒,拒绝参与涉及腐败的相关活动,远离贿赂等不合规行为。

外汇管制阿尔及利亚实行外汇管制,中央银行拥有总管辖权。就投资者股息和投资收益汇回而言,只有对商品生产或服务领域公司进行投资而产生的所得(如股息、销售收入、清算收入等),地方银行(经央行批准具有中介资格)才可在不经央行批准的情况下将其汇出境外,但必须满足如下条件:(1)初始投资是以外汇现金进行出资的方式完成的,且满足表格所示最小限额;(2)上述外汇是通过境外汇入的;(3)所投资的阿国公司股本已全部缴清;(3)享受税收优惠的公司,已履行再投资义务。

总投资额

最小限额

总投资额≤1亿第纳尔(约83万美元)

总投资额的30%

1亿第纳尔<总投资额≤10亿第纳尔(约833万美元)

总投资额的15%

总投资额>10亿第纳尔

总投资额的10%

除上述领域外,相关投资所得的汇回,均需在获得央行批准后进行。在实践中,央行对可汇出资金的范围缺乏明确的规定,且审核时间往往较长。在阿进行投资时,应充分考虑央行审核周期较长的问题,作出合理的财务安排,尽早对投资所得的汇回进行申报,以降低相关收入无法或延期汇回的风险。

外籍劳工限制在阿雇佣外籍劳工时,需向主管部门申请外籍用工指标,且相关申请较为困难。为缓解当地就业压力,阿尔及利亚政府限制外籍劳工的进入,且呈现出愈发严格的趋势。以房建领域为例,外籍员工25%的比例已经降至12%-15%左右。

本地分包根据《公共采购法》第85条的规定,除有正当理由,进行单独投标的外国企业,应将至少初始合同金额30%的工程分包给阿企业。欲在阿参与相关投标的外国企业,应对此予以关注。

在阿投资是机遇和风险并存的。宏观层面,阿政府逐年加大对外开放力度,努力为外国投资者营造良好的营商环境,但是其营商环境仍相对较差。在实践层面,阿尔及利亚仍存在政府机构腐败频发,存在严格的外汇管制及本地化要求等情况。凡此种种,不一而足,拟进入阿市场的投资者应予以警惕。

中伦律师事务所合伙人王霁虹、律师陈丁铎

中伦律师事务所
北京市建国门外大街甲6号
SK大厦36-37层 邮编: 100022
电话: +86 10 8800 4223
传真: +86 10 6655 5566
电子信箱:

wangjihong@zhonglun.com

chendingduo@zhonglun.com

www.zhonglun.com

LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link

It’s ‘wise to be wary’ with foreign investment in Algeria

By Wang Jihong and Chen Dingduo, Zhong Lun Law Firm
0
244

In September 2018, China and Algeria signed a memorandum of understanding on the Belt and Road Initiative (BRI), which focuses on strengthening co-operation in the infrastructure and energy sectors. The overall scale of investment in Algeria by Chinese enterprises is relatively small, and is mainly concentrated in the oil and gas, and mining sectors.

王霁虹, Wang Jihong, Partner, Zhong Lun Law Firm
Wang Jihong
Partner
Zhong Lun Law Firm

At the end of 2018, China’s aggregate direct investment in Algeria amounted to US$2.06 billion. In 2019, China’s direct investment in every industry in Algeria totalled US$59.17 million. In the trading sector, China is Algeria’s largest source of imports. The main categories of Chinese exports to Algeria involve machinery, electrical equipment and vehicles, while the categories of Chinese imports from Algeria mainly involve mineral fuels and bitumen.

Algeria accords national treatment to foreign investors, but restrictions on foreign investment remain in certain specific areas.

Restrictions on equity holding percentage. When investing in sectors of strategic significance to Algeria’s national economy, the 51/49 rule should be kept in mind. That is to say, in all foreign-invested or equity joint venture projects, the Algerian party is required to account for least 51% of the equity.

Pursuant to the Finance Act of 2020, and the Supplementary Rules to the Finance Act of 2020, the specific scope of application is as follows: (1) extraction of mineral resources, and any surface or subsurface resources generated by surface or subsurface extraction activities; (2) upstream industries in the energy sector, and activities governed by regulations relating to the oil and gas sector; (3) distribution and transmission of electricity through fibre-optic cables; (4) transport of oil and natural gas by pipeline; (5) military-related activities; (6) activities relating to railways, ports and airports; and (7) the pharmaceutical industry.

陈丁铎, Chen Dingduo, Associate, Zhong Lun Law Firm
Chen Dingduo
Associate
Zhong Lun Law Firm

Restrictions on equity transfers. When investing in sectors of strategic significance to the national economy, the rule of “prior government authorisation” should also be kept in mind. That is to say, any foreign investor in the above-mentioned sectors is required to secure the approval of the Algerian government for the transfer to another foreign investor of the equity it holds in an entity established under Algerian law.

In addition to the above-mentioned restrictions, the following risks should be borne in mind when investing in Algeria.

Corruption. Corruption is relatively serious in Algeria, however the Algerian government has stepped up its efforts to combat corruption in recent years, and a number of Chinese enterprises have been caught up in relevant investigations. When investing in Algeria, an enterprise should keep a clear head, refuse to engage in corruption-related activities, and keep its distance from bribery and other such non-compliant acts.

Exchange controls. Foreign exchange controls are in place in Algeria, with the central bank exercising overall jurisdiction. With respect to the repatriation of investors’ dividends and investment returns, local banks (that have intermediary qualifications as approved by the central bank) can remit abroad without the approval of the central bank on the income (e.g., dividends, sales income, liquidation proceeds, etc.) derived from investments in companies in the goods production and service sectors, provided that the following conditions are satisfied: (1) the initial investment was made in the form of a cash contribution in foreign exchange, and satisfies the relevant minimum amount shown in the table below; (2) the above-mentioned foreign exchange was remitted inward from abroad; (3) the share capital of the investee Algerian company has been fully paid in; and (4) if the company is eligible for tax breaks, the reinvestment obligations have been performed.

Total investment

Minimum amount

Total investment ≤ DZD100 million (US$780,000)

30% of total investment

DZD100 million total investment ≤ DZD1 billion

15% of total investment

Total investment DZD1 billion

10% of total investment

With the exception of the above-mentioned sectors, repatriation of relevant investment income can only be carried out after approval by the central bank. In practice, there is a lack of express provisions on the scope of funds that can be remitted outward, and the reviews by the central bank usually require a significant amount of time.

When investing in Algeria, the relatively long period required for the review by the central bank should be fully taken into account, reasonable financial arrangements made, and the filing for the repatriation of the investment income made as soon as possible, so as to reduce the risk of being unable to repatriate, or of a delay in repatriating the relevant income.

Restrictions on foreign workers. When hiring foreign workers in Algeria, applying to the competent authority for a foreign worker quota is required, and such applications present various difficulties. With a view to alleviating the pressure on the local employment situation, the Algerian government restricts the entry of foreign workers, and the trend is toward greater stringency. In the housing construction sector, for example, foreign workers formerly accounted for 25% of the workforce, but that has now dropped to around 12-15%.

Local subcontracting. Pursuant to article 85 of the Public Procurement Act, a foreign enterprise that submits a standalone bid is required to subcontract work accounting for at least 30% of the initial contract value to Algerian enterprises, unless it has valid reasons not to do so. Foreign enterprises wishing to participate in relevant bids in Algeria should keep this in mind.

Investing in Algeria presents both opportunity and risk. At the macro level, the Algerian government has been gradually opening up to foreign investment and endeavouring to create a good business environment for foreign investors, but the business environment remains far from ideal.

At the practical level, Algeria still suffers from high levels of corruption in government agencies, and there exist strict exchange controls and localisation requirements. The list could go on and on, so investors wishing to enter the Algerian market would be wise to be wary.

Wang Jihong is a partner and Chen Dingduo is an associate at Zhong Lun Law Firm

Zhong Lun Law Firm

36-37/F, SK Tower
6A Jianguomenwai Avenue
Beijing 100022, China
Tel: +86 10 8800 4223
Fax: +86 10 6655 5566
E-mail:

wangjihong@zhonglun.com

chendingduo@zhonglun.com

 

www.zhonglun.com