类案检索制度影响下的单方待岗的合规注意事项

作者: 喻鑫,竞天公诚律师事务所
0
645
LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link

受新冠疫情冲击的影响,单方待岗作为一种危机过渡时期的员工安置方式,逐渐被很多企业关注和使用。实践中,相关立法对于单方待岗的合规认定标准等,仍然是不够清晰的。企业若未审慎评估即予以直接实施的,则将面临待岗违法,被法院判定要求补发工资甚至支付经济补偿的法律风险。结合到最高人民法院(下称“最高法”)发布的类案检索规定,在立法不明的情况下,司法裁审口径和已生效的相关判决将对单方待岗的合规性认定起到至关重要的作用。

喻鑫, Leo Yu, Partner, Jingtian & Gongcheng
喻鑫
合伙人
竞天公诚律师事务所

企业实施单方待岗应当以停工停产的事实为前提,且须具备客观性、正当性

2020年最高法与人力资源和社会保障部联合发布《劳动人事争议典型案例(第一批)》(下称“劳动典型案例”)第5个案例:张某作为某汽车公司客户俱乐部员工,受疫情影响公司自2月开始全面停工停产,后在3月复工,但客户俱乐部仍须执行疫情防控政策要求,无法复工,该业务部门相关员工继续停工,公司按照生活费标准向张某支付工资。张某以公司恶意降薪为由提起仲裁,经审理认定公司合法。

笔者评析:对于单方待岗,根据原劳动部发布的《工资支付暂行规定》第12条,在“非因劳动者原因造成单位停工、停产”的情况下,企业按照待岗标准支付工资福利待遇。虽然明确了企业实施单方待岗须具备停工、停产的事实,但是并未明确如何认定企业构成停工、停产,包括停工、停产的原因和停工、停产的范围等。

对此,根据上述案例和法规规定,结合各地的司法裁审口径情况,笔者认为企业实施单方待岗必须具备停工、停产的事实,但须注意以下三个方面:

第一,停工、停产应当具有客观性。司法实践的认定主要是以停工、停产的客观事实结果为导向的,实践中并不要求企业全面停工、停产,部分业务、部门、岗位也可以停工、停产。

第二,停工、停产应当具有正当性,不能具有针对性。在同岗位同部门有复工,也有停工,或明显不再具备复工可能而故意长期安排员工单方待岗的,若不能说明合理理由,则有被认定恶意滥用单方待岗侵犯员工合法权益的可能。

第三,停工、停产的原因。停工、停产本身更多地属于企业经营自主权范围,除明确非劳动者一方的原因以外,并不会过多限制具体的原因。停工、停产可以基于企业外部的客观因素,例如自然灾害、传染病疫情等;也可以基于企业内部的经营调整,例如业务外包、部门裁撤等。但不论何种因素,发生争议的,企业均负有充分举证的责任以说明停工、停产的合理性、充分性。

企业应当依法足额支付单方待岗期间的工资福利待遇

最高法劳动典型案例第4个案例:某机械公司因疫情防控自2月3日起停工、停产,丁某一直未返岗复工,直至3月15日,期间未向公司提供劳动。公司的工资支付周期为每月10日至次月9日,公司正常支付了丁某1月10日至2月9日的工资,但自2月9日起仅向丁某支付基本生活费,后引发仲裁。

笔者评析:企业停工、停产后,实施单方待岗的,员工的工资福利待遇如何发放一直未有定论。对很多细节问题,实践中的认定和操作各有不同,包括但不限于“第一个工资支付周期”如何理解、第二个工资支付周期按照什么标准支付工资、待岗期间的法定福利待遇如何处理等。

根据最高法最新发布的类案检索规定和典型案例,单方待岗的前述问题得到了一定程度的明确和统一。首先,笔者认为“第一个工资支付周期”应当是指自企业停工、停产并实施单方待岗之日开始起算30天,而非自然月或企业实际执行的工资支付周期。其次,员工在第二个工资支付周期未提供劳动的,则可按照当地工资支付规定支付基本生活费。再次,按照地方规定,支付基本生活费期间的社会保险和住房公积金,可能均由企业承担。

结语

立法规定的不明导致单方待岗的合规认定更依赖于司法裁审口径。最高法类案检索新规明确最高法指导和典型案例具有裁判参照作用,地方管辖法院的案例具有裁判参考作用且各地裁判口径不一,这对企业实施单方待岗提出了更高的合规要求。单方待岗能否及如何实施,企业应当在平衡自身利益和员工合法权益的基础上审慎评估。

竞天公诚律师事务所合伙人喻鑫

交通

竞天公诚律师事务所

北京市朝阳区建国路77号
华贸中心3号写字楼34层
邮编: 100025

电话: +86 10 5809 1515

传真: +86 10 5809 1100

电子信箱: yu.xin@jingtian.com

www.jingtian.com

LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link

Typical cases guide compliance on unilateral furloughing

By Leo Yu, Jingtian & Gongcheng 
0
248

Under the impact of the pandemic, unilateral furloughs as a means of settling employees during the crisis transition period have been put to use by many enterprises. In practice, the relevant legislation remains unclear on compliance regarding unilateral furloughs. If an enterprise implements one without careful evaluation, it could face the legal risk of breaching the law regarding furloughing, and being ordered by the court to pay back wages, or even severance pay.

喻鑫, Leo Yu, Partner, Jingtian & Gongcheng
Leo Yu
Partner
Jingtian & Gongcheng

The latest similar case search regulations and typical cases issued by the Supreme People’s Court (SPC) play a crucial role in determining the compliance of unilateral furloughs.

The implementation of a unilateral furlough by an enterprise should be premised on the fact of its having suspended work or production, and must be objective and justifiable

Case No. 5 in the Typical Cases of Labour and Personnel Disputes, was jointly issued in 2020 by the SPC and the Ministry of Human Resources and Social Security. An individual surnamed Zhang was an employee of the customer club of a certain automotive company. Being affected by the pandemic, the company completely suspended work and production, starting in February, with the intent to resume work in March.

However, as it was still required to implement the pandemic prevention and control policy requirements, it could not resume work, and the relevant employees of the business department in question remained off work. The company paid Zhang his wages at the cost of living expenses rate. Zhang initiated arbitration on the grounds that the company had maliciously reduced his wages, but following the hearing, the company was deemed to have acted lawfully.

Commentary: Article 12 of the Provisional Provisions for the Payment of Wages, issued by the former Ministry of Labour, provides that, where “a suspension of work or production is caused by a reason not attributable to the workers”, the enterprise is required to pay wages and benefits at the furlough rate. Although the provision expressly states that the implementation of a unilateral furlough is predicated on the enterprise suspending work or production, it is silent on how to determine if a suspension of work or production is constituted, including the reason for, and the scope of, such a suspension.

The author argues that an enterprise must be in a state of having suspended work or production to implement a unilateral furlough, but in doing so, it must keep in mind the following three things.

First, the suspension of work or production must be objective. Determinations in judicial practice are mainly guided by the objective factual results of such a suspension. In practice, an enterprise is not required to have suspended all work or production – a portion of the business, certain departments, or certain jobs may have suspended work or production.

Second, the suspension should be justified, and not targeted. If, in the same job in the same department, some have resumed work but others remain off work, or if there obviously is no possibility of resuming work but employees are deliberately unilaterally furloughed for an extended period of time, there is a possibility that the enterprise will be found to have maliciously abused unilateral furloughing to infringe its employees’ lawful rights and interests, if no reasonable explanation can be given.

Third, the reason for the suspension of work or production. In the majority of cases, such suspension falls within the scope of the enterprise’s operational autonomy, which does not overly restrict the specific reason, except in the clear event where it is attributable to the workers. A suspension can be based on objective external factors, e.g., a natural disaster, infectious disease epidemic, etc., or alternatively, on internal business adjustments of the enterprise, e.g., outsourcing of business, closing down of a department, etc. However, if a dispute arises, the enterprise has the burden of proving the reasonableness and sufficiency of the suspension.

The enterprise is required to pay wages and benefits in full for the period of the unilateral furlough according to law

In Case no. 4 in the SPC’s typical labour cases, a machinery company suspended work and production from 3 February for pandemic prevention and control, and an individual surnamed Ding was off work until 15 March, not providing labour to the company during that period.

The company’s wage payment period runs from the 10th of the month in question to the ninth of the following month. The company paid Ding’s wages as normal for the 10 January to 9 February, but only paid him basic cost of living expenses from 9 February, which triggered the arbitration.

Commentary: How employee wages and benefits are to be paid after an enterprise suspends work or production, and implements a unilateral furlough, has yet to be conclusively resolved, e.g., how to construe, among other things, the “first wage payment period”, at what rate are wages to be paid for the second wage payment period, and how are statutory benefits to be handled for the furlough period, etc.

The latest similar case search regulations and typical cases issued by the SPC addressed these issues. First, the author argues that the “first wage payment period” should be the 30-day period from the date on which the enterprise suspends work or production and implements the unilateral furlough, not a calendar month, or the actual wage payment period implemented by the enterprise.

Second, if an employee does not provide labour during the second wage payment period, he or she can be paid basic cost of living expenses in accordance with the local wage payment regulations. Third, pursuant to local regulations, the enterprise may have to bear all of the social insurance and housing reserve contributions during the basic cost of living expense payment period.

Conclusion

Although there is a lack of clarity in legislative provisions on unilateral furloughing, the SPC’s new similar case regulations clearly show guidance, and typical cases have reference value for judgments and rulings. The cases of local competent courts have reference value for judgments and rulings, but the adjudication approaches vary, which places higher compliance requirements on enterprises that implement unilateral furloughs. Whether and how unilateral furloughs can be implemented require an enterprise to conduct a careful evaluation on the basis of balancing its own interests with the lawful rights and interests of its employees.

Leo Yu is a partner at Jingtian & Gongcheng

collateral

Jingtian & Gongcheng
34/F, Tower 3, China Central Place
77 Jianguo Road, Beijing 100025, China

Tel: +86 10 5809 1515
Fax: +86 10 5809 1100
E-mail: yu.xin@jingtian.com

 

www.jingtian.com