开曼群岛新公司法下第一宗私有化交易:同济堂药业退市

0
408
Tongjitang delists in first take-private transaction under revised Cayman law, 开曼群岛新公司法下第一宗私有化交易:同济堂药业退市

Tonsun International(以下简称“Tonsun”)收购同济堂药业及后者的美国存托股份后于4月21日在纽约证券交易所退市,成为开曼群岛2009年修订并购规定后受此调整影响的第一宗私有化交易。

同济堂药业专注于在中国开发、制造和销售现代中药。在与Tonsun 达成合并协议后,同济堂从纽约证券交易所退市。 Tonsun为Hanmax Investment和复星实业全资持有的开曼群岛豁免公司。

根据合并协议条款,同济堂药业截至合并生效日期前已发行的普通股(Tonsun、Hanmax 和复星拥有的普通股和美国存托股份除外)被转换成接受现金对价的权利并被注销,收购价格为每股普通股现金1.125美元和每股美国存托股份现金4.50美元。同济堂股东在2011年3月31日批准了合并协议。

贝克·麦坚时担任Hanmax、复星实业和Tonsun的美国法律顾问,领导贝克· 麦坚时团队的是葛孟律师(Scott Clemens),他系美国证券业务部联席主管兼北京办事处合伙人。“这项交易为开曼群岛注册成立的公司寻求更灵活的美国退市和私有化程序打开了大门。”葛孟律师表示。

霍金路伟则担任中信银行国际的香港和纽约法律顾问,并就中国相关事项提供咨询。霍金路伟团队由其香港银行业务主管韩佳理律师(Gary Hamp)领导。韩律师表示:“其实有不少潜在交易具有类似架构。令人欣喜的是,这宗交易的成功表明类似交易在现今市场是能得到银行资金支持的。”

汇嘉开曼群岛律师事务所则担任中信银行国际的开曼群岛法律顾问,就此次收购提供咨询。

盛智律师事务所由合伙人Louis Lehot带领其团队,代表同济堂的董事会独立委员会,就退市和相关融资事项作咨询。

自2009年调整并购规定以来,开曼群岛近年对其公司法进行了一系列重新修订。根据Ogier律师事务所香港办事处合伙人Timothy Bridges律师介绍,2011年《公司法》修正案是全面审查公司法的第一步,对《公司法》的若干方面进行了更新和改进。

Bridges律师称:“主要修改包括加入允许开曼群岛公司采用双重名称的规定;认可证券交易所关于设置股东名册和进行上市股份过户的规定;允许公司拥有库存股份的规定;并对《公司法》的多个现行规定(包括有关吸收合并和新设合并以及独立投资组合公司的规定)作出了修订。”

允许公司采用双重名称的新规定将对中资公司极具吸引力。过去,开曼群岛要求公司名称必须采用罗马字母。新修订案则允许公司再增加一个其他文字的名称,包括中文、日文、西尔斯字母和阿拉伯文。新加的名称也无需从原有罗马字母名称直译而来。

Tongjitang delists in first take-private transaction under revised Cayman law

0
280
Tongjitang delists in first take-private transaction under revised Cayman law, 开曼群岛新公司法下第一宗私有化交易:同济堂药业退市

The acquisition of Tongjitang Chinese Medicines Company by Tonsun International, and the delisting of its American depositary shares (ADSs) from the New York Stock Exchange on 21 April, was the first take-private transaction to be effected under new Cayman Islands merger provisions introduced in 2009.

Tongjitang specializes in the development, manufacture, marketing and sale of modernized traditional Chinese medicine in China. The company’s delisting followed its agreed acquisition by Tonsun, a Cayman Islands exempted company controlled by Hanmax Investment and Fosun Industrial.

Under the merger agreement, each ordinary share in Tongjitang issued and outstanding immediately prior to the merger (except for ordinary shares and ADSs owned by Tonsun, Hanmax and Fosun) was cancelled in exchange for the right to receive US$1.125 per ordinary share and US$4.50 per ADS. The merger agreement was approved by Tongjitang’s shareholders on 31 March.

Baker & McKenzie acted as US legal adviser to Tonsun, Hanmax and Fosun. “This transaction opens the door for Cayman-incorporated companies that may be seeking a more flexible procedure for US delisting and going private,” said Scott Clemens, co-head of Baker & McKenzie’s US securities practice and a partner in the firm’s Beijing office.

Hogan Lovells acted as Hong Kong and New York law counsel to the lender, CITIC Bank International, and provided input on PRC-related matters. The Hogan Lovells team was led by the head of the firm’s Hong Kong banking practice, Gary Hamp. Hamp commented: “There are a number of potential transactions out there involving structures of this nature, and I am pleased that this deal has shown that such transactions are bankable in the current market.”

Walkers acted as Cayman Islands counsel to CITIC Bank International in connection with the acquisition.

Sheppard Mullin represented the independent committee of Tongjitang’s board of directors on the delisting and related financing, with a deal team led by partner Louis Lehot.

Following on from the 2009 merger regime, the Cayman Islands has recently enacted a new set of amendments to its Companies Law. According to Timothy Bridges, a Hong Kong-based partner at Ogier, the Companies (Amendment) Law, 2011 is the first part of a comprehensive review of the Cayman Companies Law, and updates and enhances the law in a number of respects.

“The main issues addressed include provision for the use of dual names by Cayman companies; the recognition of the requirements of stock exchanges in relation to maintaining share registers and effecting the transfer of title to listed shares; the provision for a company to maintain treasury shares; as well as making modifications to various existing provisions of the Companies Law including the merger and consolidation law and the law dealing with segregated portfolio companies,” said Bridges.

The provision allowing companies to adopt dual names will be of particular interest to Chinese companies. Previously, Cayman law required company names to be in the Roman alphabet. The new amendment allows companies to adopt an additional name in another script, including Chinese, Japanese, Cyrillic and Arabic. The extra name is not required to be a direct translation of the Roman name.

Law.asia subscripton ad blue 2022