在香港解雇雇员及相关款项

作者: 朱静文、陈政康,林朱律师事务所
0
95

在全球新冠疫情蔓延影响之下,不少企业可能面临财务困境,但在终止与雇员的雇佣关系时,雇主应慎重考虑以下问题。

通知期和代通知的方式。《香港雇佣条例》(香港法例第 57 章)规定,在终止雇佣合约时,雇主须给予雇员适当的正式通知期或代通知金,但即时解雇的情况除外。对于无试用期或完成试用期的连续性雇佣合约,通知期应为合约订明的期限(但不少于七天)。雇佣合约未规定通知期限的,通知期限不应少于一个月。

在试用期内的首个月,任何一方都可以无需通知期或代通知金而终止雇佣关系。试用期满后,任何一方均可依照合约订明的通知期(但不少于七天),发出通知终止雇佣合约。

即时终止雇佣合约。如果雇员(1)故意不服从合法合理的命令;(2)行为不当;(3)欺诈、不忠实;或(4)在履职期间惯常疏忽职责,则雇主可即时解雇雇员,而无需预先通知或给予代通知金。即时解雇是严重的纪律处分,只有在雇员犯了非常严重的行为不当或经多次警告仍不改善的情况下才适用。

Rossana Chu, Managing partner, LC Lawyers
朱静文
管理合伙人
林朱律师事务所

终止雇佣合约的款项。

根据连续性合约受雇的雇员在雇佣终止时,有权获得下列款项:

(1)截至终止雇佣日期的雇佣期内任何未发放的工资,

(2)代通知金(如适用),

(3)工资代替任何未发放的年假,

(4)任何未发放的年终酬金,

(5)长期服务金或遣散费(如适用),以及

(6)其他雇佣合约内列明的款项。雇主如未能按时支付应付的终止雇佣合约款项,可被检控,而一经定罪可被罚款20万港元(约26,000美元)及监禁一年。

遣散费。如果雇员连续工作至少两年,但由于下列裁员原因而被解雇,雇员有权获得遣散费:(1)雇主结束或准备结束营业,(2)雇主停止或准备停止经营雇员受雇的工作场所的业务,或(3)对雇员在其受雇地点所担任的工作需求量停止或缩减,或预期将会停止或缩减。

遣散费=2/3 X雇员最后一个月全月的工资(雇员可选择以其最后12个月的平均工资计算)或22,500港元(以较低者为准)X服务年资(未足一年的服务期按比例计算)。每位雇员的遣散费的法定上限为39万港元。此计算方法适用于计算遣散费和长期服务金,但雇员不可在同一时间享有遣散费和长期服务金的补偿。

遣散费可根据雇员的服务年资,减去支付给雇员的酬金总额,或根据当时雇员在强制性公积金计划或职业退休计划下的累算权益价值,减去雇员在同一雇佣期内的供款。如果雇员不合理地拒绝重新聘用提议而被即时解雇或因裁员以外的原因被解雇,皆不予支付遣散费。

陈政康, Jacky Chan, Associate, LC Lawyers
陈政康
律师
林朱律师事务所

长期服务金。该津贴支付给连续工作至少五年后被解雇的雇员、年满65岁后因年老辞职的雇员或经医生证明永久不适合现时工作的雇员。如果雇员有权获得遣散费、在某些情况下不合理地拒绝重新聘用提议或被即时解雇,皆不予支付长期服务金。

受保护的雇员。

《雇佣条例》禁止:

(1)解雇已怀孕的雇员;

(2)解雇在休带薪病假的雇员;

(3)以雇员提供与执行劳工法例、工伤事故或违反工作安全规例有关的证据/资料为由解雇雇员;

(4)因雇员加入职工会或参与职工会活动而解雇雇员;或

(5)在未与因工受伤的雇员达成工伤补偿协议前或在受伤评估证明书仍未发出前解雇雇员。

破产时的雇员权利。香港《公司(清盘及杂项条文)条例》(香港法例第32章)规定,在雇主清盘时,雇员有权优先于其他债权人从雇主的资产中获得工资、代通知金、应计假日薪酬和遣散费。

关键点

雇主应在任何时候遵守其对雇员的法定和合约义务。

林朱律师事务所管理合伙人朱静文、律师陈政康

LC Lawyers LLP logo

林朱律师事务所有限法律责任合伙是一家独立的律师事务所,也是安永
全球网路的香港律师事务所成员,并与其他地区的律师事务所成员合作。

香港鲗鱼涌英皇道979号
太古坊一座31楼3106室

电话: +852 2629 1768
传真: +852 2956 1980
电子信箱: rossana.chu@eylaw.com.hk

www.eylaw.com.hk

Terminating an employee and relevant payments in Hong Kong

By Rossana Chu and Jacky Chan, LC Lawyers 
0
55

Despite the financial difficulties an employer may face amid the covid-19 pandemic, the employer should consider the following issues carefully when terminating any Hong Kong employment relationship with its staff.

Notice periods and ways in lieu of notice – Under the Employment Ordinance of Hong Kong (Cap. 57), a formal advance notice or wages in lieu of notice should be given to the employee for terminating an employment contract, unless the employee is dismissed summarily. For a continuous employment contract with no or after probation period, the notice should be of the contractually agreed period (but not be less than seven days). If the contract does not provide the length of notice, the notice should not be less than one month.

During the first month of probation, either party can terminate the employment without notice or payment in lieu of notice. After the probation period expires, either party can terminate by giving notice of the agreed period (but not less than seven days).

Summary dismissal. An employer may dismiss an employee summarily without advance notice or wages in lieu of notice, where the employee (1) wilfully disobeys a lawful and reasonable order, (2) is guilty of misconduct, (3) is guilty of fraud or dishonesty, or (4) is habitually neglectful in performance of duties. Summary dismissal is a serious disciplinary action and only applies to employees who have committed very serious misconduct or have failed to improve themselves after an employer’s repeated warnings.

Rossana Chu, Managing partner, LC Lawyers
Rossana Chu
Managing partner
LC Lawyers

Payments.

An employee who is employed under a continuous contract may be entitled to these payments on termination of the employment:

(1) outstanding wages owed for the period of employment up to the termination date,

(2) payment in lieu of notice (where applicable),

(3) payment in lieu of any untaken annual leave,

(4) accrued end-of-year payment,

(5) long service payment or severance payment (where applicable), and

(6) other payments under the employment contract. Employers who fail to pay termination payments when due are liable to prosecution and, upon conviction, to a fine of HK$200,000 (US$26,000) and imprisonment for one year.

Severance payment. An employee is entitled to a severance payment if he has been employed continuously for at least two years but is dismissed due to redundancy if (1) the employer closes or intends to close the business, (2) the employer has ceased, or intends to cease, the business in the place where the employee was employed, or (3) the business requirement for the employee to carry out work ceases or diminishes or is expected to cease or diminish.

Severance payment = 2/3 X the employee’s last full month’s salary (the employee may elect to use his average wages in the last 12 months for this calculation) or HK$22,500 (whichever is lower) X number of years of service (a pro-rata amount for any incomplete year). The statutory cap of the severance payment for each employee is HK$390,000. This formula applies to the calculation of both a severance payment and a long service payment. But no employee can receive both the long service payment and the severance payment.

The severance payment can be reduced by the total amount of gratuities paid to the employee based on length of service, or by the then current value of benefits accrued in respect of that employee in a Mandatory Provident Fund scheme or occupational retirement scheme, to the extent that those contributions are attributable to the employer over the same employment period. A severance payment is not payable if the employee unreasonably refuses a re-employment offer, has been dismissed summarily or for a reason other than redundancy.

陈政康, Jacky Chan, Associate, LC Lawyers
Jacky Chan
Associate
LC Lawyers

Long service payment. This is payable to an employee who is dismissed after having been employed continuously for at least five years, resigns on grounds of old age after having reached 65 years of age, or having been certified by a medical practitioner as having become permanently unfit for the role for which the employee was employed. No long service payment is payable if the employee is entitled to a severance payment, unreasonably refuses a re-employment offer in certain cases, or is dismissed summarily.

Protected employees. The Employment Ordinance prohibits:

(1) dismissal of a pregnant employee,

(2) dismissal while the employee is on paid sick leave,

(3) dismissal because an employee has given evidence/information in connection with the enforcement of labour legislation, industrial accidents or breach of work safety regulations,

(4) dismissal for trade union membership/activities; or

(5) dismissal of an injured employee before the parties concerned have entered into an agreement for compensation or before the issue of a certificate of injury assessment.

Employee rights on insolvency. The Companies (Winding Up and Miscellaneous Provisions) Ordinance of Hong Kong (Cap. 32) provides that employees are entitled to payment out of the employer’s assets in preference to other creditors in respect of wages, wages in lieu of notice, accrued holiday remunerations and severance payments.

Takeaway. Employers should comply with their statutory and contractual obligations owed to their employees at all times.

Rossana Chu is the managing partner and Jacky Chan is an associate at LC Lawyers

LC Lawyers LLP logo

LC Lawyers LLP is an independent law firm, and the Hong Kong law firm member of the EY global network, in collaboration with other law firm members.

Suite 3106, 31/F One Taikoo Place
979 King’s Road, Quarry Bay, Hong Kong

Tel: +852 2629 1768
Fax: +852 2956 1980
E-mail: rossana.chu@eylaw.com.hk

www.eylaw.com.hk