如何有效地向国外邮寄送达诉讼文书

作者: 张光磊、蔡晓霞,竞天公诚律师事务所
0
110

《民事诉讼法》及相关司法解释规定了条约送达、外交送达、使领馆送达、邮寄送达、传真电子邮件送达、公告送达等方式向国外送达诉讼文书,并规定除公告送达外,法院可同时采取多种方式送达,以提高送达效率。邮寄送达是境内送达和区际之间送达的常用方式,同样地,在国外送达中也应是诸多送达方式中最为简便快捷的方式。然而,司法实践中,很多法院在国外送达上比较保守,更倾向于直接采用《关于向国外送达民事或商事司法文书和司法外文书公约》(“《海牙送达公约》”)项下的中央机关转递或外交途径进行送达,平均耗时一年以上,严重影响诉讼效率。

张光磊, Zhang Guanglei, Partner, Jingtian & Gongcheng
张光磊
合伙人
竞天公诚律师事务所

为此,我们认为有必要就向国外邮寄送达的规范和实务进行梳理和总结,以为司法实践提供参考。

邮寄送达的适用前提

若受送达人所在国是《海牙送达公约》成员国,且没有对第10a款即邮寄送达方式作出保留,则可以认为该国允许通过邮寄方式送达。例如,在(2016)闽02民初1232号案中,两被告的住所地为泰国,厦门中院查明“泰国是《海牙送达公约》成员国,该国未对《海牙送达公约》第10条a款作出保留”后,向两被告邮寄送达了起诉状、开庭通知等材料,因两被告未出庭,法院最终认定两被告系经合法传唤无正当理由拒不到庭,依法作出了缺席判决。

对于声明反对邮寄送达的所在国的受送达人,向其邮寄送达司法文书不发生法律效力。例如,最高院在(2010)民四他字第81号批复中说明,因中国反对采用《海牙送达公约》第10条a款所规定的方式向中国境内进行送达,故德国奥芬堡州法院通过邮寄方式向中国公司送达的判决书未发生法律效力,申请人申请承认和执行该判决的条件尚不具备,应当予以驳回。

值得注意的是,上述原则在实践中存在例外情形。在(2019)最高法民终395号案中,最高院认为,《海牙送达公约》属于私法性质的公约,如当事人明确同意接受他国法院的邮寄送达,属于其自身对程序性权利的处分,因此,尽管日本对邮寄送达方式作了保留,但被上诉人已书面提供其日本的邮寄地址,明确表示接受邮寄送达,故法院向其邮寄送达相关司法文书符合正当程序。

尽管如此,在外国法院向中国受送达人邮寄送达的问题上,中国仍持保守态度。在美国加州最高法院就洛克菲勒技术投资(亚洲)公司诉常州华文文字技术有限公司案作出判决后(判决认可了双方当事人约定的邮寄送达方式),中国司法部于2020年9月致函美国司法部,明确表明反对立场,指出相关判决将不会得到中国法院的承认与执行。

蔡晓霞, Cai Xiaoxia, Associate, Jingtian & Gongcheng
蔡晓霞
律师
竞天公诚律师事务所

如何判断是否有效邮寄送达

法院邮寄送达时应当附有送达回证,送达回证签收之日为送达日。受送达人未签收送达回证的,可按如下情形判断是否有效送达:

1)受送达人签收邮件回执的,视为送达。实践中,快递回单/快递查询单显示文件已签收的,亦视为已送达。

2)自邮寄之日起满三个月,虽未收到送达与否的证明文件,但根据各种情况足以认定已经送达的(如:受送达人向法院提及了所送达文书的内容或受送达人已按照所送达文书的内容履行等),期满之日视为送达。例如,在(2012)粤高法民三终字第120号案中,一审法院向被告邮寄送达了应诉材料,被告随后委托诉讼代理人并在中国驻洛杉矶总领事馆办理认证,二审法院认为,虽然被告并未在送达回证上签字,但综合前述情况,可以视为相关应诉材料已经送达被告。

3)因受送达人自己提供或确认的地址不准确或拒绝签收,导致诉讼文书被退回的,退回之日视为已送达。例如,在(2019)皖03民终2383号案中,法院向上诉人自己提供的澳大利亚地址邮寄开庭传票及送达回证,但经三次投递未妥投,回单显示退回原因是“Customer unknown”,法院认定开庭传票已经合法送达,因上诉人未到庭参加诉讼,对其按撤回上诉处理。

4)自邮寄之日起满三个月,如果未能收到送达与否的证明文件,且根据各种情况不足以认定已经送达的,则视为不能用邮寄方式送达

当事人如何推进邮寄送达

为提高诉讼效率,当事人在订立协议时,可明确约定双方的送达地址并约定同意邮寄送达司法文书。在诉讼中,当事人可通过海牙国际司法会议官网主动查明对方所在国对邮寄送达是否提出保留,并将相关证据提交法院。

竞天公诚律师事务所合伙人张光磊、律师蔡晓霞

交通

竞天公诚律师事务所

上海市徐汇区淮海中路1010号
嘉华中心45层 邮编: 200031

电话: +86 21 2613 6125

www.jingtian.com

Serving litigation documents abroad effectively

By Zhang Guanglei and Cai Xiaoxia, Jingtian & Gongcheng
0
230

The Civil Procedure Law and relevant judicial interpretations provide that litigation documents can be served to foreign countries through the way specified in treaties, by diplomatic channels, by embassy or consulate, by mail, by fax or e-mail, and by public notice, and that besides service by public notice, the court can take a variety of ways to improve service efficiency.

张光磊, Zhang Guanglei, Partner, Jingtian & Gongcheng
Zhang Guanglei
Partner
Jingtian & Gongcheng

Service by mail is common and it should also be the most convenient and efficient way of service to foreign countries. However, in judicial practice, many courts are conservative on the way of serving documents abroad and prefer to directly use the service methods of central authorities’ transmission or diplomatic channels under the Convention on the Service Abroad of Judicial and Extrajudicial Documents in Civil or Commercial Matters, which takes more than a year on average, seriously affecting the efficiency of litigation.

We believe it necessary to sort out and summarise the norms and practices of service by mail abroad to provide reference for judicial practice.

Applicable premise of service by mail

If the country of the addressee is a member of the convention, and there is no reservation on article 10(a), that is, service by mail, it can be deemed that the country allows service by mail. For example, in Case [2016] Min 02 Min Chu No.1232, the domicile of the two defendants was Thailand. Xiamen Intermediate People’s Court sent the two defendants the complaint, notice of hearing and other materials by mail after finding that “Thailand is a member of the Convention, and Thailand has not made a reservation on article 10(a) of the Convention”. Because the two defendants did not appear in court, the court finally decided that they refused to appear without justifiable reasons after being legally summoned, and made a default judgment according to law.

For the addressee in the country that has declared objection to service by mail, the service of judicial documents by mail has no legal effect. For example, the Supreme People’s Court stated in its [2010] Min Si Ta Zi No.81 reply that the judgment delivered by the state court of Offenburg in Germany to the PRC company by mail had no legal effect, and the conditions for the applicant to apply for recognition and enforcement of the judgment were not met and the application should be rejected as the PRC opposes the service to it in the way specified in article 10(a) of the convention.

There are exceptions to the above principles in practice. In Case [2019]Zui Gao Fa Min Zhong No.395, the Supreme People’s Court held that the convention was private law in nature, and if the parties explicitly agreed to accept the service by mail from foreign courts, it was their own disposal of procedural rights, and therefore, despite Japan’s reservation on service by mail, the appellant provided its mailing address in Japan in writing, and clearly indicated it would accept the service by mail, thus the court’s mailing of relevant judicial documents was in line with due process.

Nevertheless, the PRC still maintains a conservative attitude on service by mail by foreign courts to parties located in the PRC. After the Supreme Court of California made the judgment on the case of Rockefeller Technology Investments (Asia) v Changzhou SinoType Technology, where the service by mail agreed by both parties was approved, the Ministry of Justice of the PRC sent a letter to the Department of Justice of the U.S. in September 2020, clearly stating its opposition and pointing out that the relevant judgment would not be recognised and enforced by PRC courts.

蔡晓霞, Cai Xiaoxia, Associate, Jingtian & Gongcheng
Cai Xiaoxia
Associate
Jingtian & Gongcheng

How to judge whether it is effective service by mail

The court should attach a receipt of delivery when it serves documents by mail, and the date of signing on that receipt will be the date of service. If the addressee fails to sign the receipt, the validity of service may be judged as follows:

(1) If the addressee signs on the postal receipt, service should be deemed completed. In practice, if the receipt/tracking number shows that the document has been signed for receipt, service should be deemed completed.

(2) If, after three months from the date of mailing, no proof of service has been received, but the circumstances justify the assumption that the service has been made (for example, the addressee mentioned the contents of the documents to the court or the addressee has fulfilled the contents of the documents, etc.), the service should be deemed completed upon the expiration of the said period. In Case [2012] Yue Gao Fa Min San Zhong Zi No.120, the court of first instance served the responding materials to the defendant by mail who then entrusted an agent ad litem and went through the certification process at the PRC Consulate General in Los Angeles. The court of second instance held that although the defendant did not sign the receipt it could be considered that the relevant responding materials had been served.

(3) If the litigation document is returned because the address provided or confirmed by the addressee is inaccurate or the addressee refuses to sign receipt of the document, service should be deemed completed on the date of return. In Case [2019]Wan 03 Min Zhong No.2383, the court mailed the summons and receipt of delivery to the Australian address provided by the appellant, but service failed after three deliveries and the receipt showed “customer unknown”. The court thus determined that the summons had been legally served, and since the appellant did not appear in court, its appeal was withdrawn.

(4) If, after three months from the date of mailing, no proof of service has been received, and the circumstances cannot justify the assumption that the service has been made, it will be deemed that the document cannot be served by mail.

How the parties promote service by mail

To improve the efficiency of litigation, when parties conclude an agreement, they may specify the service addresses of both parties and agree that judicial documents can be served by mail. In litigation, the parties can find out whether the other party’s country has reservations about service by mail through the Hague Conference on Private International Law website and submit relevant evidence to the court.

Zhang Guanglei is a partner and Cai Xiaoxia is an associate at Jingtian & Gongcheng. Zhang is also an arbitrator of Hong Kong International Arbitration Centre

collateral

Jingtian & Gongcheng
45/F, K. Wah Centre
1010 Huai Hai M. Road
Shanghai 200031, China

Tel: +86 21 2613 6125

www.jingtian.com