税收居民身份证明签发程序获简化

0
1388
Simplified Issuance of Tax Residency Certificates
LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link

国际间加强税务合作和营商环境不断变化的背景下,香港税务局最近修改了对发出居民身份证明书(CoR)的处理方法,并修订了相关申请表格。

在新规下,税务局将仅根据相关的全面性避免双重课税协议/安排中“香港特别行政区居民”的明确定义,决定是否发出CoR,而不再评估申请人在香港是否有经济实质。

细节

为获得相关税收协定下的税收优惠待遇,香港税收居民一般需要申请一个CoR来证明其税收居民身份。

以往,在评估是否发出CoR时,税务局不仅考虑申请人是否是“香港居民”,还会考虑申请人是否“有资格享受税收协定待遇”。

在实务中,税务局只向在香港有足够经济实质的居民发出CoR,虽然这一要求在香港法律和相关的税收协定下均无法定依据。税务局有意设置了这一更为严苛的审查要求,过去也让税务局不时卷入纠纷,甚至与纳税人对簿公堂。

税务局正式修订了其对非个人申请人(即公司、合伙、信托和任何其他团体)发出CoR的处理方法,从2023年6月12日起正式实施。

新规意味着,根据大部分税收协议,在香港注册成立的申请人将能够轻易获取香港CoR,不再需要接受有关其在香港是否有足够的经济实质的评估。

法律要求税务局在收到完整填写的申请文件后21个工作日内,向合资格的申请人发出CoR。不过据笔者观察,在修订生效后,税务局的处理时间已大大缩短。最近更是有不少申请人在大约一周后就收到了CoR。

从市场反馈看,税务局在确定是否发出CoR时,的确已不再评估申请人的经济实质。

观察

修改了CoR处理方法后,税务局废除了此前额外设置的充满争议的障碍,税务确定性因而增加,这将有利于跨境税务规划。

但必须要注意的是,收到CoR证书并不保障申请人一定能够成功获得相关税收协定下的优惠待遇,能否获得优惠待遇最终由协定的伙伴司法管辖区决定。申请人是否符合所有相关标准,以及是否有格资获得税务优惠待遇将由协定伙伴国/地区决定。

例如,某香港税收居民申请中国内地与香港缔结的税务安排下的税务优惠,申请人应当是相关收入的合资格受益所有人,相关安排的主要目的不应是为了获取税收安排下的优惠待遇。

否则,申请将被驳回。从这个角度看,香港申请人仍然有必要在香港拥有足够的经济实质,否则,申请协定优惠待遇的所在司法管辖区的主管部门会以滥用协定为由拒绝给予优惠待遇。

根据内地和香港于2016年3月16日和2016年4月15日交换的通知中约定的行政安排,某一日历年向申请人发出的CoR可作为该申请人在该日历年以及后续两个日历年内的香港居民身份证明。

CoR签发程序简化后,当局会否相应缩短CoR的有效期尚未可知。纳税人也应作好准备,以免到时措手不及。


《商法摘要》由贝克·麦坚时国际律师事务所协助提供,内容仅供参考之用。读者如欲开展与本栏内容相关之工作,须寻求专业法律意见。读者可通过以下电邮与贝克·麦坚时联系:吴昊(上海)howard.wu@bakermckenzie.com

LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link

Issuance of tax residency certificates simplified

0
1684
Simplified Issuance of Tax Residency Certificates
LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link

Hong Kong’s Internal Revenue Department has modified its approach to issuing certificate of resident status (CoR) in the context of strengthened international tax co-operation and changing business environment. Application forms have also been revised.

Under the new regime, the department will decide whether to issue a certificate solely on the plain definition of “resident of the Hong Kong SAR” in relevant tax treaties/arrangements or double tax agreements (DTAs). An applicant’s economic substance in Hong Kong will no longer be relevant.

In detail

For claiming tax benefits under DTAs, Hong Kong tax residents generally need to apply for a CoR to certify their tax residency status.

Historically, in deciding whether to issue a CoR, the department would consider both the applicant’s residency and whether it was “entitled to tax benefits” under the applicable DTA.

In practice, the department only issued CoRs to residents with sufficient economic substance in Hong Kong, even though such requirement was devoid of statutory basis in both domestic laws and DTAs. The department’s intentionally stricter scrutiny had intermittently put it into dispute, and even lawsuits, with taxpayers.

The department revamped its approach to non-individual applicants (companies, partnerships, trusts and any other body of persons) effective from 12 June 2023.

The new approach effectively means that, under most DTAs, applicants that are incorporated/established in Hong Kong should be able to easily obtain a Hong Kong CoR without being assessed on the sufficiency of their economic substance in Hong Kong.

The department is legally required to issue certificates to qualified applicants within 21 working days of a properly completed application. The authors have observed that such processing time has been significantly shortened by the department after the modified approach became effective. It is not uncommon among recent applicants to receive CoRs within a week.

The market feedback is evidence that the department has indeed foregone the assessment of applicants’ economic substance when deciding CoRs.

Observations

The modified practice removes an additional and disputable barrier imposed by the department itself and should improve tax certainty during cross-border tax planning.

Meanwhile, it is important to note that a CoR will not guarantee an applicant’s success in getting the treaty benefits under applicable DTAs. This is ultimately a decision to be made by the treaty partner jurisdiction and so it will be up to the treaty partner to determine whether all relevant criteria are satisfied, and whether applicable treaty benefits should be granted.

For example, in the cases where a Hong Kong tax resident pursues the treaty benefit under the tax arrangement concluded by mainland China with Hong Kong, the applicant should be a qualified beneficial owner of the income in concern and the principal purpose of the relevant arrangement should not be to obtain tax benefits under the tax arrangement.

Any adverse conclusion could result in the denial of tax treaty benefits. In that sense, Hong Kong applicants would generally still need to have sufficient economic substance in Hong Kong to withstand any potential challenges on treaty abuse by tax authorities of the jurisdiction from which a treaty benefit is sought.

According to the administrative arrangement agreed in the notes exchanged between the mainland and Hong Kong on 16 March 2016 and 15 April 2016, a CoR issued to an applicant for a particular calendar year could serve as proof of its Hong Kong residency status for that calendar year and the two following calendar years.

With the simplification of the CoRs process, it remains uncertain whether the authorities will also shorten the valid period of CoRs. Taxpayers should not be surprised if they finally decide to do so.


Business Law Digest is compiled with the assistance of Baker McKenzie. Readers should not act on this information without seeking professional legal advice. You can contact Baker McKenzie by e-mailing Howard Wu (Shanghai) at howard.wu@bakermckenzie.com

LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link