知识产权侵权案件中和解谈判的策略

作者: 刘建强、朱健男,天驰君泰律师事务所
0
129

识产权权利人发现侵权时,提起行政投诉、民事诉讼或采取其他的维权措施的目标往往是让侵权人停止侵权、赔偿经济损失。除了按照正常的法律程序推进案件,权利人往往还有一个选择:与侵权人谈判和解。

刘建强 天驰君泰律师事务所 知识产权
刘建强
天驰君泰律师事务所
高级合伙人

为什么要和解?

很多权利人向来对与侵权人谈判和解兴趣不大,特别是在侵权事实清晰、取证扎实的情况下,因为谈判和解实际上是放弃了拿到一份潜在的胜诉判决书或行政处罚决定书。此外,不少权利人不愿从强势的原告或投诉人地位下降到与对方和解谈判的平等地位。由于法院在审理民事案件中一般都会主持调解,在很多案件中,权利人表现出和解意愿也仅仅是为了应付法院流程,并不期待真正解决争议。然而,就司法实践而言,和解谈判不仅有可能有效解决争议,如果运用得当,甚至可能达到行政投诉或诉讼实现不了的目的。根据笔者的经验,在以下情况下和解谈判值得权利人重点考虑:

  1. 权利人希望尽快解决纠纷。目前,不少法院的知识产权案件积压较多,案件推进缓慢。如果权利人是外国主体,此类涉外诉讼并无法定审限,结案时间更是难以预期。若从商业角度考虑,案件久拖不结对权利人非常不利,为了尽快案结事了,和解谈判是值得考虑的方案。
  2. 权利人希望获得停止侵权、赔偿损失之外的其他利益。以商标侵权及不正当竞争案件为例,很多侵权人可能还有在其他类别抢注商标的情况。若按照常规流程,则需要针对抢注商标另行提起商标异议、无效宣告、撤销等行动以打击抢注。然而,针对抢注商标的行动有时可能很难推进。例如,抢注商标已注册超过五年,无效难度很大。再如,抢注商标与权利人的近似性不明显,成功率不乐观,需要充分的说理和举证。此时,在和解协议中要求侵权人放弃或转让抢注商标,就成为一条值得考虑的能够节省时间及人力、物力的“捷径”。
  3. 权利人希望通过谈判实现更大的商业利益。在实践中,有些侵权人恶意并不明显,而且可能在全国有广泛的销售渠道,从商业角度考虑,与权利人扩大市场的需求刚好吻合。这种情况下也可能通过和解将侵权人变成代理商,直接对权利人的商业经营提供支持。
朱健男 天驰君泰律师事务所 知识产权
朱健男
天驰君泰律师事务所
合伙人

当然,如果权利人只希望获得一个胜诉判决以震慑市场上潜在侵权人,则不适合和解谈判。

如何谈判?

在侵权纠纷中进行谈判,并不意味着彻底放弃法律程序。一般情况下,采取“边打边谈”的策略可能效果更好。法律程序可以帮助权利人保持相对优势的地位——若谈判失败,权利人还可以继续通过法律程序的救济追究侵权人的责任,而这恰恰是侵权人想要避免的。除了诉讼,权利人也可以考虑通过其他方式向侵权人施加压力,以促成和解。例如,若侵权人经营的淘宝店销售侵权商品,可以在阿里巴巴平台上发起投诉。若侵权人运营的手机应用或游戏含有侵权信息,可向相应的应用商店提起投诉,以下架相应的应用或游戏。侵权人承受的压力越大,和解谈判更有可能取得理想效果。

和解协议

双方对主要和解方案达成一致后,就可着手起草和解协议了。权利人务必要争取起草第一轮和解协议的主动权。安排和解协议的起草和签署,有如下事项需要关注:

  1. 约定严厉的违约责任:严厉的违约责任可以给侵权人以足够的压力,促使其履行协议。知识产权纠纷的和解协议与普通的商事和解协议不同,在违约责任具备足够威慑力的情况下,侵权人一般会认真履行和解协议。
  2. 尽可能提前准备所有相关文件:如果和解协议涉及商标转让、商标注销等程序,需尽可能提前准备相关手续文件,并让侵权人在签订协议时一并签署,避免和解协议签署后侵权人反悔。
  3. 如果侵权人是法人,尽可能要求法定代表人个人对和解协议一并签署或进行担保,以和解协议的履行。
  4. 与具体案件的承办机关保持密切沟通,一方面防止和解协议签署前出判决或处罚决定,影响和解协议的签署。同时,必要时也借助承办机关给对方施加压力,以促成谈判。

综上所述,若能根据案件的实际情况和策略设计恰当地推进和解,往往可以取得理想的维权效果,甚至可能获得法律程序难以实现的商业价值。

作者:天驰君泰律师事务所高级合伙人刘建强、合伙人朱健男

刘建强 朱健男 天驰君泰律师事务所 知识产权天驰君泰律师事务所
中国上海市长宁区长宁路1133号
来福士广场T1幢29层 邮编: 200051
电话: +86 21 5237 7006
传真: +86 21 5237 7009
电子信箱:
[email protected]

[email protected]

www.tiantailaw.com

Strategy for settlement negotiation in IP infringement cases

By Frank Liu and Adam Zhu, Tiantai Law Firm
0
145

after discovery of infringement, intellectual property (IP) right holders filing administrative complaint, civil litigation, or taking other right-defending measures usually intend to ask the infringing party to cease infringement and compensate for their losses. Apart from pursuing the case through regular legal proceedings, right holders also have another option: Negotiate with the infringing party for a settlement.

Frank Liu Tiantai Law Firm Intellectual Property
Frank Liu
Tiantai Law Firm
Senior Partner

Why settlement?

Many right holders have never been interested in negotiating with the infringing party for a settlement, especially in cases where the infringement facts and evidence are very sound and clear. This is because to negotiate for a settlement means that the party gives up winning a potential favourable judgment or administrative penalty decision against the other party.

Besides, many right holders are reluctant to descend from the superior and strong position of the plaintiff or complainant to an equally situated position in settlement negotiation. Since courts usually make mediation efforts in civil trial, some right holders only show the willingness to settle in order to muddle through the court procedures in many cases, instead of actually solving the dispute.

Adam Zhu Tiantai Law Firm Intellectual Property
Adam Zhu
Tiantai Law Firm
Partner

However, with respect to the judicial practice, settlement negotiation, if used properly, may not only solve the dispute effectively, but also even achieve the goal that could not be realized through administrative complaint or litigation. Based on the authors’ experience, right holders should give settlement negotiation more consideration under the following circumstances:

(1) Right holders hope to solve the dispute as soon as possible. Many courts have a large backlog of IP cases, and the progress of cases is slow. Where the right holder is a foreign party, the trial time limit for such foreign-related litigation cannot be determined, and the time for closing the case is even more difficult to predict. From a commercial perspective, the prolonged delay of the case can be very detrimental to the right holder. In order to close the case as soon as possible, settlement negotiation is an option worth considering.

(2) Right holders hope to obtain other interests other than cessation of infringement and compensation for losses. Taking trademark infringement and unfair competition cases as an example, many infringing parties may also pre-emptively register trademarks in other classes. Following the regular procedure, in order to fight against such pre-emptive registration acts it is necessary to separately file trademark opposition, cinvalidation, and cancellation, etc., against the pre-emptively registered trademarks. However, such actions against pre-emptive registration of trademarks are sometimes very hard to pursue. For instance, if the pre-emptively registered trademark has been registered for more than five years, it is difficult to invalidate the trademark. Also, if the similarity between the pre-emptively registered trademark and that of the right holder is not obvious, the chances of success are not great. In such a case, requiring the infringing party to give up or transfer the pre-emptively registered trademark in the settlement agreement becomes an attractive “shortcut” that may save time and resources.

(3) Right holders expect to achieve greater commercial interest through negotiation. In practice, some infringing parties’ malice is not obvious and may have extensive sales channels across the country. From a commercial perspective, an infringing party’s sales channels may meet the right holder’s need to expand the market. In such circumstance, settlement negotiation could also turn the infringing party into an agent, directly supporting the business operation of the right holder.

However, if a right holder only hopes to obtain a favourable judgment in order to deter potential infringers in the market, settlement negotiation is not a suggested choice.

How to negotiate

To negotiate over infringement disputes does not mean to abandon legal proceedings entirely. In most cases, the strategy of “suing while negotiating” works better. Legal proceedings can help right holders to maintain a stronger position. If negotiation fails, right holders can also hold the infringing party accountable through the relief of legal proceedings, which is exactly what the infringing party wants to avoid.

Apart from litigation, right holders could also consider clamping down on the infringing party by other means in order to facilitate the settlement. For example, if an infringing party sells infringing products on its Taobao shop, right holders could file complaints on the Alibaba platform. If the APP or game operated by an infringing party contains infringing information, right holders could file complaints on the relevant APP stores to remove the infringing items. The greater the pressure imposed, the more likely the settlement negotiation will achieve a desirable effect.

Settlement agreement

When both parties have agreed on a main settlement scheme, it is time to draft the settlement agreement. Right holders shall strive to get the initiative to draft the first settlement agreement, and the following items should be paid attention to when arranging the drafting and signing of the settlement agreement:

(1) Agree on severe liability for breach of contact. Severe liability for breach of contract could bring enough pressure on the infringing party to make them fulfil the obligation under the agreement. Settlement agreements on intellectual property disputes are different from normal commercial settlement agreements. If the liability for breach of contract has enough deterrence, infringing parties in most cases will perform the settlement agreement seriously.

(2) Prepare all the relevant documents in advance, as early as possible. If the settlement agreement involves procedures such as transfer of trademark, cancellation of trademark, etc., it is necessary to prepare the relevant formalities documents as early as possible, and urge the infringing party to sign such documents when signing the agreement, to avoid the infringing party from pulling back after signing the settlement agreement.

(3) If an infringing party is a legal person, right holders should, to as great an extent as as possible, require the legal representative to sign the settlement agreement or provide guarantee to facilitate performing the settlement agreement.

(4) Keep in close touch with the case-handling authority in case a judgment or penalty decision is made before a settlement agreement is signed by the parties. Otherwise, the signing of the settlement agreement will be hindered. Meanwhile, right holders, with the aid of the case-handling authority, could resort to squeeze play against the opposite party, when necessary, to facilitate the settlement negotiation.

In conclusion, if settlement is properly advanced with a well-designed strategy based on the actual conditions, right holders will achieve a desirable effect in most cases, and even obtain commercial interests that cannot be achieved through legal proceedings.

Frank Liu is a senior partner and Adam Zhu is a partner at Tiantai Law Firm

Frank Liu Adam Zhu Tiantai Law Firm Intellectual PropertyTiantai Law Firm
29/F, T1 Building, Raffles City
No.1133 Changning Road, Changning District
Shanghai 200051, China
Tel: +86 21 5237 7006
Fax: +86 21 5237 7009
E-mail:
[email protected]

[email protected]

www.tiantailaw.com