内地与香港法院关于仲裁程序相互协助保全的安排

作者: 张丹、朱泓昱,安杰律师事务所
0
179

高人民法院与香港律政司共同签署的《关于内地与香港特别行政区法院就仲裁程序相互协助保全的安排》(下称《安排》)已于2019年10月1日起实施。根据《安排》,香港仲裁程序或内地仲裁程序的当事人可以在仲裁过程中向内地或香港法院申请保全。这是内地与香港商签的第七项司法协助安排,也是内地首次签署向其他法域仲裁程序提供保全协助的文件。

张丹 安杰律师事务所 仲裁程序
张丹
安杰律师事务所
合伙人

问:保全的类型有哪些?

答:向内地法院申请的保全包括财产保全、证据保全、行为保全。向香港法院申请的保全包括各类强制令以及其他临时措施。

问:香港仲裁程序与内地仲裁程序如何界定?

答:“香港仲裁程序”应当满足两个条件:以香港为仲裁地,且由设立在香港的机构或者常设办事处管理;而且,不应包括投资者与东道主国家或者地区之间的投资仲裁。具体适用的仲裁机构名单由香港政府向最高人民法院提供并经双方确认,截至目前包括六家机构:香港国际仲裁中心、中国国际经济贸易仲裁委员会香港仲裁中心、国际商会国际仲裁院亚洲事务办公室、香港海事仲裁协会、华南(香港)国际仲裁院、一邦国际网上仲调中心。

“内地仲裁程序”指要求内地仲裁机构管理的程序。

张丹 安杰律师事务所 仲裁程序
朱泓昱
安杰律师事务所
律师

问:如何确定内地和香港受理保全申请的管辖法院?

答:内地有权受理保全申请的法院包括:被申请人住所地、财产所在地或者证据所在地的内地中级人民法院。如前述地点在不同法院辖区内的,申请人应当向其中一个法院提出申请。

香港有权受理保全申请的法院为香港特别行政区高等法院。

问:申请保全有哪些时限或程序要求?

答:香港仲裁程序的当事人,可以在仲裁程序开始前参照中国《民事诉讼法》《仲裁法》以及相关司法解释的规定,向内地法院申请保全。当事人在仲裁程序开始前向内地法院申请保全的,应当在案件受理后向内地法院出具证明材料。如内地法院采取保全措施后,30日内未收到有关仲裁受理机构出具的证明材料,内地法院应当解除保全。如在仲裁程序开始后申请保全,由仲裁受理机构向内地法院转递保全申请。

内地仲裁程序的当事人在仲裁裁决作出前,可以依据香港《仲裁条例》《高等法院条例》,向香港特别行政区高等法院申请保全。

问:申请保全应当提交什么材料?

答:向内地法院申请保全时,应提交下列材料:(1)保全申请书;(2)仲裁协议;(3)身份证明材料;(4)仲裁申请文件以及相关证据材料、案件受理的证明函件(如果在案件受理后申请保全);(5)内地法院要求的其他材料。对于在内地以外形成的身份证明材料应进行公证、认证,前述文件如没有中文文本,还应当提交中文译本。

向香港法院申请保全时,应当提交申请、支持申请的誓章、附同的证物、论点纲要以及法庭命令的草拟本。

问:保全的审查及救济程序是什么?

答:内地法院应当根据《民事诉讼法》等规定的时限对保全申请作出裁定,并且可以依据内地法律规定要求申请人提供担保。如申请人对裁定不服,可以依据《民事诉讼法》申请复议一次。

香港法院依据香港《高等法院条例》等相关法律处理强制令的颁发及相关救济事宜。香港法院可以依据相关法律规定视情况要求保全申请人作出承诺、就费用提供保证等。

问:《安排》的时间效力如何?

答:无论仲裁程序是否开始于《安排》生效之前,在《安排》生效之日后提出的保全申请,均适用于《安排》。《安排》不减损内地和香港的仲裁机构、仲裁庭、当事人依据对方法律享有的权利。

作者:安杰律师事务所合伙人张丹、律师朱泓昱

张丹 朱泓昱 安杰律师事务所 仲裁程序

安杰律师事务所
北京市朝阳区东方东路19号院5号楼
亮马桥外交办公大楼D1座19层 邮编:100600
电话: +86 10 8567 5988
传真: +86 10 8567 5999
电子信箱:

[email protected]

[email protected]

www.anjielaw.com

Focus on arbitral mutual assistance arrangement for mainland, HK courts

By Zhang Dan and Zhu Hongyu, AnJie Law Firm
0
121

The Arrangement Concerning Mutual Assistance in Court-ordered Interim Measures in Aid of Arbitral Proceedings by the Courts of the Mainland and of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region, signed by the Supreme People’s Court (SPC) and the Hong Kong Department of Justice, has been implemented since 1 October 2019.

Zhang Dan AnJie Law Firm Arbitral Proceedings
Zhang Dan
AnJie Law Firm
Partner

According to the arrangement, parties to Hong Kong arbitral proceedings and mainland arbitral proceedings can apply to the courts of the mainland and Hong Kong for interim measures during arbitral process. This is the seventh judicial assistance arrangement signed between the mainland and Hong Kong, and it is also the first document that the mainland has signed to provide assistance in interim measures in aid of arbitral proceedings to another jurisdiction.

Q: What are the types of interim measures?

A: The interim measures that can be applied in the mainland courts include property preservation, evidence preservation and action preservation. The preservation measures that can be applied in Hong Kong courts include different types of injunctions and other interim measures.

Zhu Hongyu AnJie Law Firm Arbitral Proceedings
Zhu Hongyu
AnJie Law Firm
Associate

Q: How are “arbitral proceedings in Hong Kong” and “arbitral proceedings in the mainland” defined?

A: “Arbitral proceedings in Hong Kong” shall satisfy two conditions. One is that an arbitration case shall be seated in Hong Kong, and be administered by institutions or permanent offices established in Hong Kong. The other is that it shall not include investment arbitrations between investors and the host state, or region. The list of such institutions or permanent offices is to be provided by the Hong Kong government to the SPC, and be subject to confirmation by both sides. There are six institutions on the list until now, including: the Hong Kong International Arbitration Centre; the China International Economic and Trade Arbitration Commission Hong Kong Arbitration Centre; the International Court of Arbitration of the International Chamber of Commerce – Asia Office; the Hong Kong Maritime Arbitration Group; the South China International Arbitration Centre (HK); and the eBRAM International Online Dispute Resolution Centre.

“Arbitral proceedings in the mainland” refers to proceedings administered by the mainland arbitration institutions.

Q: How are the competent courts to accept applications for interim measures in the mainland and Hong Kong determined?

A: Competent mainland courts to accept application for interim measures include the intermediate people’s court at the domicile place of the party against whom the application for interim measures is made, or the place where the property or evidence is situated. If the above-mentioned places fall within the jurisdiction of different courts, the applicant may make an application to any one of those courts.

The competent Hong Kong court to accept application for interim measures is the High Court of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region (HKSAR).

Q:What are the time limits or procedure requirements for the application of interim measures?

A: Before arbitral proceedings start, a party to arbitral proceedings in Hong Kong may, by referring to the provisions of the Civil Procedure Law of the People’s Republic of China, the Arbitration Law and relevant judicial interpretations, make an application for interim measures to the mainland courts. A party applying for interim measures to the mainland court before arbitral proceedings start shall submit certification materials after the case is accepted. If, within 30 days after the interim measure is taken, the mainland court has not received a letter from the said institution certifying its acceptance of the arbitration case, the mainland court shall discharge the interim measures. Where an application for interim measures is made after arbitral proceeding started, the party’s application shall be passed on to the mainland courts by the arbitration institution that accepted the case.

Before the arbitral award is made, a party to arbitral proceedings in the mainland may, pursuant to the Arbitration Ordinance and the High Court Ordinance, apply to the High Court of the HKSAR for interim measures.

Q: What materials shall be submitted for the application of interim measures?

A: An applicant applying to a mainland court for interim measures shall submit the following materials: (1) an application for interim measures; (2) an arbitration agreement; (3) documents of identity;(4)a request for arbitration, together with the relevant evidential materials, as well as a letter certifying the relevant arbitration case is accepted (where a party makes an application for interim measures after the arbitration case is accepted); and(5)any other materials required by the mainland court.

Where a document of identity is issued outside the mainland, such document shall be notarized and certified. Where any of the above-mentioned documents is not in the Chinese language, the applicant shall submit a Chinese translation.

A party applying to a court of Hong Kong for interim measures shall submit an application, an affidavit supporting the application, exhibit(s), a skeleton argument and a draft court order.

Q: What are the examination and relief procedures for interim measures?

A: The mainland courts shall make a decision regarding the application for interim measures pursuant to the time limit stipulated in the Civil Procedure Law, and may require applicants to provide guarantees in accordance with mainland legal requirements. Where an applicant is aggrieved by a decision, the applicant may apply for a reconsideration pursuant to the Civil Procedure Law.

Hong Kong courts handle the issuance of injunction and relevant relief matters pursuant to the High Court Ordinance of Hong Kong. Hong Kong courts may, depending on the case, pursuant to the relevant laws and regulations, require applicants to make a commitment and provide guarantee for the expenses, etc.

Q:What is the retroactivity of the arrangement?

A: Regardless of whether an arbitral proceeding starts before the arrangement has come into effect, the arrangement is applicable to all applications for interim measures submitted after the arrangement came into effect. The arrangement shall not reduce the rights of the arbitration institutions, arbitral tribunals, or parties under the respective applicable laws.

Zhang Dan is a partner and Zhu Hongyu is an associate at AnJie Law Firm

Zhang Dan Zhu Hongyu AnJie Law Firm Arbitral Proceedings

AnJie Law Firm
19/F Tower D1, Liangmaqiao Diplomatic Office Building
19 Dongfang East Road, Chaoyang District
Beijing 100600, China
Tel: +86 10 8567 5988
Fax: +86 10 8567 5999
E-mail:

[email protected]

[email protected]

www.anjielaw.com