安全生产合规——构筑能源基础建设的底线思维

作者: 杜佳虹、星来律师事务所
0
109
LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link

随多年发展,中国目前已经成为世界能源生产的第一大国,在境内外构筑了多元化的能源供应体系,不仅在国内实现横跨东西、纵贯南北的能源格局,在海外也逐渐形成了能源供给的网络。根据不同的分类方法,能源可以有多种分类,但无论是哪种类型的能源,都伴随着复杂的基础设施建设才能生产、转化及投入使用。

Du Jiahong
杜佳虹
创始合伙人
星来律师事务所
电话: +86 150 1070 4360
电子信箱:
dujiahong@xinglailaw.com

根据能源类型不同,通常情况下不同能源的基建设施差异性较大。这种差异性不仅体现在基建设施的功能性和技术性上,还体现在不同类型项目的基建设施的审批、建设、使用等方面。例如对于矿山建设,建设工程需要遵循《土地管理法》《城乡规划法》《建筑法》《建筑工程施工许可管理办法》及《建设工程质量管理条例》等一般性的规定外,还需遵守类似于《煤矿建设项目竣工验收管理办法》的特别规定,以及取得产能置换批复手续才能完成竣工验收。

在能源的基建过程中,除差异性外,当然也具有共同性。例如安全生产合规问题是所有能源基建在建设过程中都不可回避的。尽管不同类型的能源基建对安全标准和要求上略有差别,但是总体上都应当遵守安全生产的基本规范。根据笔者对于能源基建市场的观察,结合政府成绩、社会投资成本回收等要素,通常,工期是能源基建中最关注的问题,特别是新能源基建方面,近年来大量的新能源基建项目建成投产,为了在竞争中赢得时间红利,压缩极限工期成为了能源基建中非常显著的问题。而压缩工期,除了对工程质量有所影响外,也势必会影响工程安全,例如交叉作业会大大提升安全风险。

近年来,基础设施建设的安全生产事故频发,一旦发生严重的安全生产事故,将出现人员伤亡、财产遭受巨大损失的恶劣后果。而据我们观察,很多基础建设的安全生产事故的发生,是因为没有建立关于安全生产的底线思维,忽视安全管理人员的意见,忽略安全生产的监督与检查,令本可以防患于未然的事故爆发。

因此,笔者认为,在能源基建领域,安全生产合规应当作为底线思维去确立和遵守。在建设过程中,应首先关注安全生产的合规性,笔者认为基建安全生产管理至少需要做到以下方面:

建立及完善安全生产制度。合规的前提是有“规”可依,“规”的范围既有外部规范,又有内部规定。通常,合规主要遵循外部规范,但在安全生产层面,不同类型的能源基建项目需要根据自身的特点,充分结合相关外部规定,制定适用于自身的安全生产制度。因此,安全生产合规的首要前提是建立安全生产制度,并保障其体系性和完备性,定期更新完善,以保证全员有规可依。

明确安全生产责任制。安全生产责任制由中国《安全生产法》以及相关安全生产类法律规范所明确确立。根据中国现行法律规定,企业主要负责人、安全管理部门、首席合规官等均对安全管理负有相关职责。企业应当结合外部法律规定及内部需求,明确安全生产责任制的层级安排,确保安全生产责任能够逐级落实。

建立各类运行机制。安全生产合规需要依赖于各类机制良好运行。能源基础设施在建设中应当形成相应的安全运行机制,并确保其有效运行。相关机制的运行要做到有规可依并可持续,不同企业基于不同的管理目标形成的运行机制有所不同,但能源基建企业出于安全合规的目的,至少应当建立:安全检查机制、安全问题预警机制、安全问题整改机制、安全事故调查与处理机制、安全风险分级管控机制、分包管理机制、安全考核机制等。

传导及树立安全文化理念。安全生产管理不规范的深层次原因往往是能源基建类企业对安全的重视程度不足。因此,深度传导及树立安全文化理念才能真正让全员走向安全。在安全文化的传导及普及上,应当首先由领导以身作则,并通过持续传输、增强培训、日益强调等方式令全员重视安全,以安全为底线。

能源基础建设一旦发生安全事故,所造成的经济损失不可估量。面对日益发展壮大的能源基建产业,尤其是新能源基建产业,相关企业不仅应关注能源基建的工期、工程质量及响应能力,更应时刻关注安全生产问题和安全生产的管控能力,筑牢底线思维。


杜佳虹是星来律师事务所的创始合伙人。她的联系方式是电话+86 150 1070 4360以及电邮dujiahong@xinglailaw.com

LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link

Safety compliance in energy infrastructure development

By Du Jiahong, Starrise Law Firm
0
317
LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link

After years of development, China has become the world’s largest producer of energy, with a diverse energy supply system both domestically and internationally. Not only has it achieved a cross-regional energy layout within the country, but it has also gradually established a network for energy supply overseas. Regardless of the various classifications of energy, complex infrastructure is essential for its production, transformation and utilisation.

Different types of energy require vastly different infrastructures. This difference is evident not only in the functional and technical attributes of the infrastructure but also in the approval, construction and usage of different types of projects.

For instance, in the construction of mines, projects must adhere to general regulations such as the Land Administration Law, the Urban and Rural Planning Law, the Building Act, the Measures for the Administration of Construction Permits for Construction Projects, and the Regulations on Quality Management of Construction Projects, along with specific provisions like those outlined in the Management Measures for Completion Acceptance of Coal Mine Construction Projects. Additionally, acquiring approval for capacity replacement procedures is necessary to complete the final acceptance.

Du Jiahong
Du Jiahong
Founding Partner
Starrise Law Firm
Tel: +86 150 1070 4360
E-mail:
dujiahong@xinglailaw.com

In the process of constructing energy infrastructure, aside from the differences across infrastructure types, there are commonalities that cannot be ignored. For instance, safety compliance issues are unavoidable in the construction of all energy infrastructure projects.

Although different types of energy infrastructure may have slight variations in safety standards and requirements, they should generally adhere to basic safety protection norms. When observing the energy infrastructure market and considering factors such as government performance and the cost recovery of social investments, project duration typically emerges as the primary concern in energy infrastructure development. This is especially true in the case of new-energy infrastructure projects.

In recent years, a large number of new-energy infrastructure projects have been completed and put into operation. To gain a competitive edge in the market, compressing project timelines has become a significant issue in energy infrastructure construction. However, this not only affects the quality but also inevitably impacts the safety of a project. For example, concurrent operations significantly increase
safety risks.

In recent years, there have been frequent safety incidents in infrastructure construction. Once serious safety incidents occur, they can lead to severe consequences such as casualties and significant property losses.

Many safety incidents in infrastructure construction occur due to the lack of bottom-line thinking regarding safety protection, disregard for the opinions of safety management personnel, and neglect of supervision and inspection of safety protection, which could have prevented the incidents from happening in the first place.

In the field of energy infrastructure construction, safety compliance should be established and adhered to as bottom-line thinking. During the construction process, priority should be given to ensuring safety compliance. At least the following aspects should be addressed in infrastructure safety protection management.

Establishment and improvement of safe production systems. Compliance requires a framework of rules to follow, encompassing both external regulations and internal provisions. Typically, compliance primarily follows external regulations.

However, in terms of safety protection, different types of energy infrastructure projects need to develop safe production systems that fully integrate relevant external regulations according to their own characteristics. Therefore, the primary prerequisite for safety compliance is the establishment of safe production systems and ensuring their systematic and comprehensive nature. These systems should be regularly updated and improved to ensure that all personnel have clear guidelines to follow.

Clarification of safety protection responsibilities. The system of safety protection responsibilities is explicitly established by China’s Work Safety Law and related safety regulations. According to current Chinese laws and regulations, the main person in charge of an enterprise, safety management departments and chief compliance officers all bear relevant responsibilities for safety management.

Enterprises should combine external legal requirements with internal needs to clearly define the hierarchical arrangement of safety protection responsibility systems, ensuring that safety responsibilities are implemented at each level.

Establishment of various operational mechanisms. Safety compliance relies on the effective operation of various mechanisms. During the construction of energy infrastructure, corresponding safety operational mechanisms should be established and ensured to function effectively. These mechanisms should operate in a manner that is rule-based and sustainable.

While operational mechanisms formed by different enterprises may vary based on different management objectives, energy infrastructure companies should, at a minimum, establish mechanisms such as safety inspections, safety issue early warnings, safety issue rectification, accident investigation and handling, safety risk grading and control, subcontract management, and safety assessment.

Promotion and establishment of safety culture concepts. The underlying reason for non-standard safety protection management by energy infrastructure enterprises is often insufficient emphasis placed on safety. Deeply promoting and establishing safety culture concepts can truly guide all personnel towards safety.

In the dissemination and popularisation of safety culture concepts, leaders should set an example, and all personnel should be made to value safety through ongoing communication, enhanced training and increasing emphasis, making safety the bottom line.

Once accidents occur in energy infrastructure construction, the resulting economic losses are immeasurable. Faced with the rapidly growing energy infrastructure industry, especially the new-energy infrastructure industry, relevant enterprises should not only focus on project timelines, engineering quality and response capabilities, but also constantly pay attention to safety issues and safety management capabilities, establishing bottom-line thinking towards safety.


Du Jiahong is a founding partner at Starrise Law Firm. She can be contacted at +86 150 1070 4360 or by e-mail at dujiahong@xinglailaw.com

LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link