在公司决议纠纷中股东压迫的认定规则

作者: 杨超男、何嘉欣,广信君达律师事务所
0
73

股东压迫通常是指多数股东利用其有利地位通过操纵公司的股利派发、人事任免、薪酬政策等手段排挤、欺压其他股东,使后者不能正常参与经营管理或不能获得相应的投资回报。本文通过综合分析现有理论基础以及裁判思路,分析法院在公司决议纠纷对股东压迫的认定原则。

杨超男, Yang Chaonan, Partner, ETR Law Firm
杨超男
合伙人
广信君达律师事务所

公平原则

公司治理的核心是股东自治,在私法领域,法无禁止即可为,公权力不应随意介入。但私权利离开了公权力的保障也难以正常运作。当私主体间的矛盾难以通过平等协商解决,公权力就有必要介入去调和矛盾,实现社会的公平价值,否则就会损及公共利益以及公共秩序。因此《民法典》也规定:显失公平以及以欺诈、胁迫手段作出的民事法律行为是可撤销的;恶意串通以及违反法律、行政法规的强制性规定、违背公序良俗的民事法律行为是无效的。

但“公平”仍然是一个较为抽象的概念,在司法实践中,也常因难以准确把握显失公平、恶意串通的边界而无法对股东压迫行为进行认定。这不但需要考验法律工作者的法律素养,也需要法律工作者通过案件的细节去对股东的真实意图进行把握。

合理预期原则

合理预期原则,是指基于章程的规定、协议的约定以及商业规则、理性判断,股东对自己投资收益、报酬、职位、福利、义务、责任等的心理预期。合理预期原则包含了两层含义:第一,章程或协议对股东设定义务、责任,需要对这种义务、责任进行明确、清晰的表述,否则不能随意要求股东履行额外的义务或承担额外的责任;第二,章程或协议对股东的权利进行了设定,就应遵守这种设定,不能随意剥夺股东的权利。

比例原则

比例原则,要求目的与手段相适应。比例原则是行政法上的概念,但在公司决议纠纷中却有较广的适用。

在股东压迫下作出的决议,往往就体现为大股东通过公司决议对小股东的权利义务作出安排,而这种安排与其要实现的所谓的“目的”是不合比例的。比例原则与合理预期原则在公司决议纠纷中有着密切的关系。当公司决议违反了比例原则,也意味着股东难以实现其合理预期利益。相对公平原则,比例原则以及合理预期原则会对股东压迫行为提供更易操作的认定规则。

例如,要求股东提前履行出资义务的公司决议纠纷中关于股东压迫的认定逻辑是:在正常情况下,基于章程的规定,股东对出资时间具有合理预期利益,但又因为法律并没有禁止公司修改出资时间,公司具有根据实际经营需要要求股东提前出资的权利与自由,但这并不意味着大股东可以滥用表决权随意修改出资时间,若不具备合理的商业目的或目的与手段不符合正当比例,其就构成股东压迫。

何嘉欣, He Jiaxin, Associate, ETR Law Firm
何嘉欣
律师
广信君达律师事务所

大股东的信义义务

所谓信义义务,是指基于他人的信任而负有的忠诚与注意义务。基于大股东拥有表决权上的优势,其能够实际决定公司董监高的任免,而又由于董监高通常是代表其选举者的利益,大股东往往就会成为公司经营管理的实际决策者。因此,在行使表决权的场合,赋予大股东信义义务是具有其合理性的。而且在现实中有限责任公司大股东兼任董事、董事长的情形是很常见的。

由于中国公司法并没有规定大股东的信义义务,实践中,涉及到大股东违反信义义务损害其他股东或公司利益的情形,法院通常会适用《公司法》第20条第1、2款进行裁判,有的公司决议纠纷甚至会适用《公司法》第47、48、49条来进行裁判。因此,如果公司决议纠纷涉及到股东压迫的情形,在法律适用上除了22条,还可以综合适用其他法律条款对决议的效力进行判断。

在运用大股东信义义务作为理论基础提起存在股东压迫的公司决议纠纷时,应该先由原告提出大股东存在滥用表决权、违反信义义务、公司决议内容不合理,再由大股东举证证明自己的行为具有合理的商业目的,原告则可以通过证明公司决议的目的与手段不符合正当比例来反驳,如果大股东无法作出合理解释,法院即可认定大股东存在压迫行为,从而对公司决议的效力作出判断。

作为理性投资者,应兼顾事前预防与事后救济,善于利用股东协议、公司章程的设计来实现利益平衡,如关于出资期限、增资等重要事项,可以通过恰当的条款设计来避免大股东的不当修改。再如通过合理设定股权回购的情形,使发生股东压迫时退出公司的途径通畅。

广信君达律师事务所合伙人杨超男、律师何嘉欣

广州市天河区珠江新城珠江东路6号

广州东塔29层、10层

邮编: 510623

电话: +86 20 3718 1333

传真: +86 20 3718 1388

电子信箱: yangchaonan@ertlawfirm.com

 

www.etrlawfirm.cn

Rules to determine shareholder oppression

By Yang Chaonan and He Jiaxin, ETR Law Firm
0
607

Shareholder oppression describes a situation where majority stakeholders use their position to exclude and take advantage of other shareholders to prevent them from properly participating in the management of a business, or from receiving a reasonable return on investment through such means as dividend distribution, personnel appointment and removal, and compensation policies.

杨超男, Yang Chaonan, Partner, ETR Law Firm
Yang Chaonan
Partner
ETR Law Firm

Principle of fairness

The key to company governance is autonomy of shareholders, and in the field of private law, public power should not intervene arbitrarily when there is no prohibition in law. But private rights cannot operate normally without the protection of public power. When the contradictions between private subjects cannot be resolved through fair negotiation, public power must intervene and mediate to achieve the value of fairness. Otherwise, it would harm public interest and public order.

Therefore, the Civil Code stipulates that civil legal acts that are obviously unfair, or made by fraud or coercion, are revocable, and that civil legal acts made under malicious collusion, and in violation of the mandatory provisions of laws and administrative regulations, or against public order and morality, are invalid.

But “fairness” is still a relatively abstract concept, and in judicial practice it can prove impossible to determine shareholder oppression, because it is difficult to accurately grasp the boundaries of obvious unfairness and malicious collusion. It requires not only the legal knowledge of legal professionals, but also that the legal professionals grasp the shareholders’ real intentions through the details of cases.

Reasonable expectations

The principle of reasonable expectation refers to the shareholders’ expectation of their investment returns, remuneration, positions, benefits, obligations and responsibilities based on the provisions of the articles of association, agreements, as well as business rules and rational judgement.

The principle of reasonable expectation contains two meanings. First, the articles of association or agreement set obligations and responsibilities for shareholders, and such obligations and responsibilities need to be clearly and explicitly expressed; otherwise, shareholders cannot be arbitrarily required to perform additional obligations or assume additional responsibilities. Second, the articles of association or agreement set the rights of shareholders. Such setting should be observed, and shareholders cannot be arbitrarily deprived of their rights.

何嘉欣, He Jiaxin, Associate, ETR Law Firm
He Jiaxin
Associate
ETR Law Firm

Proportionality

The principle of proportionality requires that purposes fit means. It is a concept in administrative law, but is broadly adopted in corporate resolution disputes. Resolutions made under the oppression of shareholders are often reflected in the arrangement of the rights and obligations of minority shareholders by the resolution of the majority shareholder, which is disproportionate to the so-called “purpose” to be achieved.

The principles of proportionality and reasonable expectations have close relationships in corporate resolution disputes. When the resolution is against the principle of proportionality, it also means that it is hard for shareholders to achieve their reasonable expectations. Compared with the principle of fairness, the principles of proportionality and reasonable expectation are more applicable means to determine shareholder oppression.

For example, examine the logic of how to determine shareholder oppression in the case of a corporate resolution requiring stakeholders to make early completion of their capital contributions. Under normal circumstances, based on the rules of articles of association, shareholders have reasonable expectations with regard to the time for capital contribution.

However, the law does not forbid a company from amending the contribution time, and the company has the right to ask shareholders to contribute capital in advance according to its business needs. But this does not mean that majority shareholders can abuse voting rights and amend the time to contribute capital at will. It will constitute shareholder oppression if the demand is not based on a reasonable business purpose or the purpose and the means are not in proper proportion.

Fiduciary duty

Fiduciary duty means the duty of loyalty and care based on others’ trust. Given that the majority shareholders have the advantage in voting rights, they can appoint and remove directors, supervisors, and senior executives, and because directors, supervisors, and senior executives usually represent the interests of their appointers, the majority shareholders generally become the actual decision makers in a company’s operational management. Thus, it is reasonable to impose a fiduciary duty on the majority shareholders when exercising voting rights. Moreover, it is common for the majority shareholders of a limited liability company to be directors and chairman of the board.

Since the Company Law does not provide for the fiduciary duty of the majority shareholder, in practice, when it comes to the situation that the majority shareholder violates their fiduciary duty to the detriment of other shareholders or the interests of the company, the court usually applies articles 20.1 and 20.2 of the Company Law to decide a case, and some company resolution disputes even are decided according to articles 47, 48 and 49.

Therefore, if a dispute over a corporate resolution involves shareholder oppression, in addition to article 22 of the Company Law, other legal provisions can also be applied in a comprehensive manner to judge the validity of the resolution.

In the case of a dispute over the existence of shareholder oppression, the plaintiff should first claim that the majority shareholder has abused voting rights, violated fiduciary duties, and that the content of the resolution is unreasonable. The majority shareholder should prove that their actions have a reasonable commercial purpose. If the majority shareholder is unable to provide a reasonable explanation, the court can determine that the behaviour is oppressive, so as to make a judgment on the effectiveness of the company’s resolution.

As a rational investor, we should take into account both prevention and remedy, and make good use of the design of shareholders’ agreements and articles of incorporation to achieve a balance of interests, such as the terms of capital contributions, capital increases, and other important matters. Careful design of provisions can avoid improper modification by majority shareholders. Another example is to ensure a smooth option to exit a company in case of shareholder oppression by setting a reasonable mechanism to govern share repurchases.

Yang Chaonan is a partner and He Jiaxin is an associate at ETR Law Firm

10 & 29/F, Chow Tai Fook Finance Centre

No.6 Zhujiang Dong Road, Tianhe District

Guangzhou 510623, China

Tel: +86 20 3718 1333

Fax: +86 20 3718 1388

Email: yangchaonan@ertlawfirm.com