印度修订与上市债券尽职调查有关的规定

作者: Sawant Singh、Aditya Bhargava 和 Sristi Yadav,Phoenix Legal
0
270

2020年11月,印度证券交易委员会(“印度证交会”)发布了一份通知,要求债券受托人对上市债券的担保进行尽职调查。该通知规定了担保债券受托人和发行人的额外义务和合规要求,通知的执行日期提前至2021年4月1日。

Sawant Singh,Phoenix Legal
Sawant Singh
合伙人
Phoenix Legal

虽然2008年《印度证交会(债务证券发行和上市)条例》和1993年《印度证交会(债券受托人)条例》要求对上市债券的担保进行尽职调查,但新通知提出了更详细和更严格的要求。它现在要求发行人向受托人提供更多的信息和文件,涉及为债券提供担保而抵押的资产,包括现有抵押的详细信息、产权调查报告、现有抵押权人的同意,以及发行人对待抵押资产之上是否已有产权负担或抵押的承诺。受托人还可以要求,发行人提供与任何担保的设立和完善有关的额外信息。

该通知对个人和公司保证采取了全面的监管方法,而且现在发行人必须为此类保证提供更多的证明文件。发行人必须提供保证人的详细信息、保证人的财务信息和资产以及之前提供任何保证的同意书、条件和详细信息。对于证券质押,发行人需要提供证券存管机构的声明和承诺。

该通知要求,受托人须核实发行人拟在其上设立担保的资产未设定任何负担,或者其已经获得现有抵押权人的同意。如果发行人必须获得该等同意,受托人必须核实发行人已经获得有效同意。受托人必须向现有抵押权人告知拟设立的担保,并征求他们的意见或询问他们是否反对。如果发行人提供个人或公司保证或任何其他形式的担保,受托人必须核实已向任何主管部门提交的文件,并获得法定审计师或特许会计师的证明,以确认保证人提供保证的能力。尽职调查的条款和条件必须在受托人和发行人之间签署的协议中列出。

Aditya Bhargava,Phoenix Legal
Aditya Bhargava
合伙人
Phoenix Legal

受托人必须准备或获得相关报告和证明(包括估值报告、产权调查报告和资产担保证明),并独立评估待抵押资产是否能为债券提供充分担保。一旦获得设立担保所需的同意,并在发行文件中对担保和其他承诺进行了适当的披露,受托人可以按照通知规定的格式,出具尽职调查证明。该证明必须在发行文件中予以披露。

虽然上述印度证交会法规给人的印象是,担保可以在上市债券发行后的90天内设立,但该通知似乎要求,在申请上市之前,须预先设立令受托人满意的担保。这是一项奇怪的举措,因为它可能会引起法理上的问题,即该通知和印度证交会法规之间可能存在冲突,并可能因此导致对通知有效性的司法质疑。

最近印度发生了对某些非银行金融公司造成影响的混乱,在筹资和担保设立方面也出现了一些问题,该通知似乎是证交会对此的一种回应。然而,通知中提出的相对严厉的措施引起了人们的关注。一些利益相关方认为,虽然这些措施适用于向公众和散户投资者发售的债券,但对于私募债券来说(通常向机构投资者发售,并依赖契约自由和灵活执行),这些措施可能会产生反作用。该通知似乎是想通过监管来解决一些问题,但这些问题应该通过最佳实践和健全的风险管理来解决。尽管该通知对投资者来说是一个友好的举措,但如果上市公司债券的发行因此受到限制,可能需要对其进行重新评估。

Phoenix Legal

Phoenix Legal
Second Floor
254, Okhla Industrial
Estate Phase III
New Delhi – 110 020
India

 

Vaswani Mansion, 3/F
120 Dinshaw Vachha Road, Churchgate
Mumbai – 400 020
India

 

Contact details
电话:+91 11 4983 0000 / +91 22 4340 8500
传真: +91 11 4983 0099 / +91 22 4340 8501
电邮:

delhi@phoenixlegal.in
mumbai@phoenixlegal.in

Revised regulations on due diligence for listed debentures

By Sawant Singh, Aditya Bhargava and Sristi Yadav, Phoenix Legal
0
207

In November 2020, the Securities and Exchange Board of India (SEBI) issued a circular on due diligence to be carried out by debenture trustees on security for listed debentures. The circular prescribed additional obligations and compliance requirements for trustees and issuers of secured debentures. The implementation of this circular was brought forward to 1 April 2021.

Sawant Singh,Phoenix Legal
Sawant Singh
Partner
Phoenix Legal

While the SEBI (Issue and Listing of Debt Securities) Regulations, 2008, and the SEBI (Debenture Trustees) Regulations, 1993, require due diligence for security for listed debentures, the circular prescribes more detailed and enhanced requirements. It now requires issuers to provide greater information and documents to the trustee regarding assets to be charged to secure debentures. These include details of existing charges, title search reports, consent from existing charge holders, and undertakings from issuers on whether the assets to be charged are unencumbered or are already charged. Trustees can also ask for additional information in relation to the creation and perfection of any security.

The circular takes an expansive regulatory approach on personal and corporate guarantees, which now have to be supported by enhanced documentation. An issuer must provide details of the guarantor, the financial information and assets of the guarantor, consents, conditions, and details of any previous guarantees provided. For pledges of securities, statements and undertakings from depository participants are required.

The circular requires trustees to verify that assets on which issuers intend to create security are free from encumbrances, or that consents have been obtained from existing charge holders. If such consents have to be obtained by the issuer, the trustee must verify that they have been validly obtained. Trustees must inform existing charge holders of the proposed security creation and seek their comments or objections. Where personal or corporate guarantees or any other form of security are provided, the trustee must verify filings made to any authorities and obtain certification from statutory auditors or chartered accountants to confirm the ability of the guarantors to provide the guarantees. The terms and conditions of due diligence must be set out in the agreement to be executed between the trustee and the issuer.

Aditya Bhargava,Phoenix Legal
Aditya Bhargava
Partner
Phoenix Legal

The trustee must prepare or obtain reports and certifications, including valuation reports, title search reports, and asset cover certificates, and independently assess whether the assets to be charged adequately secure the debentures. Once the consents required for the creation of a security have been obtained, and the appropriate disclosure of the security and other covenants in the offer document have been made, the trustee may issue a due diligence certificate in the format prescribed in the circular. This certificate has to be disclosed in the offer document.

While SEBI regulations give the impression that security can be created within 90 days after the issue of listed debentures, the circular appears to require security to be created upfront to the satisfaction of the trustee before the application for listing. This is a curious step as it may raise jurisprudential questions on possible conflicts in the circular and SEBI regulations, and may consequently also result in judicial challenges on the validity of the circular.

The circular appears to be a reaction to the recent turmoil affecting certain non-banking financial companies, and questions raised on fundraising and security creation. However, the relatively harsh measures introduced by the circular have raised eyebrows. Some stakeholders believe that while such measures are appropriate for debentures offered to the public and retail investors, these may be counterproductive for privately placed debentures, which are generally offered to institutional investors and rely on freedom of contract and nimble execution. The circular appears to address through regulation matters that should instead be a part of best practices and sound risk management. While the circular is an investor friendly step, it may need to be re-evaluated if it results in constricting the issues of listed debentures.

Sawant Singh and Aditya Bhargava are partners at Phoenix Legal. Sristi Yadav, an associate, also contributed to this article.

Phoenix Legal

Phoenix Legal
Second Floor
254, Okhla Industrial
Estate Phase III
New Delhi – 110 020
India

 

Vaswani Mansion, 3/F
120 Dinshaw Vachha Road, Churchgate
Mumbai – 400 020
India

 

Contact details
Tel +91 11 4983 0000 / +91 22 4340 8500
Fax: +91 11 4983 0099 / +91 22 4340 8501
Email:

delhi@phoenixlegal.in
mumbai@phoenixlegal.in