印度初创企业种子基金计划能否改变游戏规则?

作者: Dipti Lavya Swain、 Tanvi Tekriwal,HSA Advocates
0
248

度初创企业种子基金计划为政府的种子基金倡议提供动力。该计划于2021年1月公布后,相关政策和指导方针也随之发布。未来四年,政府将为该基金计划拨款92.5亿卢比(1.25亿美元)。该计划将惠及约3600家初创企业和300家孵化器。

Dipti Lavya Swain, Partner, HSA Advocates
Dipti Lavya Swain
合伙人
HSA Advocates

这项计划不分行业,目的是为早期阶段的初创企业提供财务援助。初创企业面临的一个主要挑战是在业务的早期阶段寻找种子资金。许多具有创新商业理念的初创企业,甚至缺乏财务手段来测试这些理念的可行性,开发原型或进行产品试验。通常只有在一个想法的实用性得到验证之后,天使投资人和风险投资基金才会承担投资初创企业的风险;而银行贷款则会要求提供担保。该计划旨在弥补资本不足,并通过印度各地的孵化器为选定的初创企业提供概念验证、原型开发、产品试验、市场进入和商业化所需的资金。

商业和工业部的工业和内部贸易促进司(“工贸促进司”)已经发布了一套指导方针。该计划基于详细的资格标准,设计了初创企业和孵化器的选择流程。符合资格标准的初创企业,可以通过政府的“印度初创企业”门户网站向该计划提出申请。该计划将使那些被工贸促进司认可、成立不到两年且发起人持有51%以上股份的初创公司受益。

工贸促进司成立了一个专家咨询委员会,监督和执行该计划。专家咨询委员会由工贸促进司的代表、其他部门的代表和工贸促进司司长提名的六名专家成员组成。六名专家来自初创企业生态系统,即投资者、研发专家、技术开发专家和商业化专家以及企业家。专家咨询委员会将评估和选择孵化器,监督资金的分配,并确保资金得到高效利用。

Tanvi Tekriwal, Associate, HSA Advocates
Tanvi Tekriwal
律师
HSA Advocates

被专家咨询委员会选中的孵化器,将负责按照孵化器种子管理委员会的规则挑选初创企业。在对合格的初创企业进行评估时,孵化器将考虑其理念的易用性、潜在影响和新颖性、其资金使用计划和团队构成等因素。专家咨询委员会将分阶段将资金提供给孵化器,最高金额为5000万卢比(67.5万美元)。孵化器将分阶段向选定的初创企业提供高达200万卢比的赠款,用于概念验证、原型开发和产品试验。被选中的初创企业将通过可转换债券或债务类工具获得高达500万卢比的投资,用于市场进入、商业化和扩大规模。

孵化器和被选中的初创企业需要在首批资金发放前签署法律协议。协议应包含种子基金的条款和条件,特别是那些涉及资金支付节点的条款和条件。该计划还提出了一项值得欢迎的建议,即在工贸促进司设立一个申诉部门,以解决诸如申请评估延迟或孵化器资金支付延迟等问题。这将确保在该计划的各个阶段都有一个检查系统在运作。

该计划是政府作出的一项努力,不仅是为了鼓励新一代的企业家,也是为了打造一个强大的创业生态系统。此举将创造就业机会,特别是小城镇的就业机会。该基金计划会更多地扶持那些从风险投资中得到较少帮助行业的初创企业,而较少地扶持像电子商务、食品科技、旅游和教育等行业,因为他们一般能从风险投资获得更多的资金帮助。该计划将建立一个在线机制,促进初创企业的虚拟孵化。此举将使这项计划产生更广泛的影响力,并使其能应对当前的疫情。同时,该计划的复杂资格标准和官僚程序可能为其实施带来挑战。

HSA Advocates

HSA Advocates

81/1, Adchini

Sri Aurobindo Marg

New Delhi – 110 017
India

Construction House 5/F Walchand Hirachand Marg

Ballard Estate

Mumbai – 400 001
India

Contact details
电话: +91 11 6638 7000 / +91 22 4340 0400

电邮: mail@hsalegal.com
www.hsalegal.com

Can the Startup India Seed Fund Scheme be a game-changer?

By Dipti Lavya Swain and Tanvi Tekriwal, HSA Advocates
0
121

The Startup India Seed Fund Scheme gives an impetus to the seed funding initiative of the government. The policy and guidelines were released after the scheme was announced in January 2021. The government has allocated ₹9.25 billion (US$125 million) to the scheme fund over the next four years. The scheme will benefit around 3,600 startups and 300 incubators.

Dipti Lavya Swain, Partner, HSA Advocates
Dipti Lavya Swain
Partner
HSA Advocates

The objective of this sector-agnostic scheme is to provide financial assistance to early-stage startups. A major challenge faced by startups is sourcing seed funding in the early stages of the business. Many startups with innovative business ideas lack the financial means even to test the viability of those ideas, develop prototypes or conduct product trials. Angel investors and venture capital funds usually take the risk of investing in a startup only after verification of the practicality of an idea and banks require security for loans. This scheme aims to overcome capital inadequacy and provide capital for proof of concept, prototype development, product trials, market entry and commercialisation to selected startups through incubators across India.

The Department for Promotion of Industry and Internal Trade (DPIIT) of the Ministry of Commerce and Industry has issued a set of guidelines. The scheme envisages a selection process for the startups and the incubators based on detailed eligibility criteria. Startups that meet the eligibility criteria will be able to apply to the scheme through the government Startup India portal. The scheme will benefit startup companies that are accepted by the DPIIT, have been incorporated for less than two years and in which the promoters hold more than a 51% stake.

The DPIIT has set up an Experts Advisory Committee (EAC) to monitor and execute the scheme. The EAC comprises representatives of the DPIIT, representatives of other departments and six expert members nominated by the secretary of the DPIIT from the startup ecosystem, that is investors, experts in R&D, technology development and commercialisation, and entrepreneurship. The EAC will evaluate and select the incubators, monitor the allocation of funds and ensure that the funds are efficiently and effectively used.

Tanvi Tekriwal, Associate, HSA Advocates
Tanvi Tekriwal
Associate
HSA Advocates

After the incubators have been selected by the EAC, they will be responsible for selecting the startups in accordance with the rules of an Incubator Seed Management Committee. The eligible startups will be evaluated according to such factors as the ease of use, the potential impact and the novelty of their ideas, their fund utilization plans and the makeup of their teams. Funds will be channelled from the EAC to the incubators in milestone-based instalments with a maximum of50 million (US$675,000). The incubators will provide grants to selected startups in milestone-based instalments of up to ₹2 million for validation of proofs of concept, prototype development and product trials. Investments of up to ₹5 million will be available to the selected startups through convertible debentures or debt-linked instruments for market entry, commercialisation and scaling up.

The incubators and the selected startups are required to execute legal agreements before the release of the first installments. These should contain the terms and conditions of the seed fund, especially those that deal with the milestones for the disbursement of funds. A welcome proposal in the guidelines is the setting up of a grievance unit at the DPIIT to address issues such as delays in the evaluation of applications or delays in the disbursement of funds by the incubators. This will ensure that a system of checks will operate at successive stages of the scheme.

This scheme is an effort by the government not just to promote the new generation of entrepreneurs, but also to create a robust startup ecosystem which will generate employment, particularly in smaller towns. The fund is likely to support startups in sectors that have received less help from venture funding than those such as e-commerce, food tech, travel and education. The scheme will promote virtual incubation for startups by setting up an online mechanism. This will enable the scheme to have a wider reach, and allow it to cope with the ongoing pandemic situation. At the same time, the complex eligibility criteria and bureaucratic processes may make the implementation of the scheme challenging.

Dipti Lavya Swain is a partner and Tanvi Tekriwal is an associate at HSA Advocates

HSA Advocates

HSA Advocates

81/1, Adchini

Sri Aurobindo Marg

New Delhi – 110 017
India

Construction House 5/F Walchand Hirachand Marg

Ballard Estate

Mumbai – 400 001
India

Contact details
Tel: +91 11 6638 7000 / +91 22 4340 0400

Email: mail@hsalegal.com
www.hsalegal.com