通过并购重组实现上市

作者: 倪洁云,大成律师事务所
0
20

并购重组作为释放市场活力、提高上市公司质量的重要资源配置方式,一直深受青睐。但上市公司经过上一轮2013-16年并购牛市的教训后,市场普遍对并购重组持谨慎态度,而近几年的政策修订,有释放宽松监管的信号。

并购重组是资本优化配置的最重要方式之一。作为一种资本市场交易,其内容,形式、过程都较复杂。其中,结构设计是并购中非常重要的环节,需结合交易目的,并符合市场和监管要求。

以上市为界点,并购重组可以分为上市前并购重组和上市后并购重组。形式上,其大致可为分为合并上市、收购上市公司、上市公司重大资产重组(即通常所言的“借壳上市”)。

合并上市

合并上市的主体并购重组后,拟上市主体要符合IPO的审核要求。其中包括,主体的运行时间要达到一定要求,比如并购第三方相关业务达到100%的,需要运行36个月(主板)或24个月(北交所、创业板与科创板)方可申报。

合并上市最好以一个核心规模相对较大的公司作为主体,并筹划好并购规模与时间,和整体上市申报时间匹配。在这个过程中,应合理选择现金支付和股份支付的比例,保证实际控制人控制比例在合理水平以上。具体收购过程中,应做好尽职调查,保证标的公司本身合法合规。

收购上市公司

通过并购重组实现上市
倪洁云
高级合伙人
大成律师事务所

收购上市公司是一种特殊的股票交易活动,就收购方式而言,主要包括协议收购、二级市场交易、间接收购和要约收购几种。

协议收购是目前最常采用的方式。 单个受让方的受让比例不得低于5%,除非转让双方存在实际控制关系、均受同一控制人所控制、有权机关认定,或者法律法规另有规定。

二级市场交易具体包括集中竞价、大宗交易等方式。但由于二级市场不确定性较高,一般不作为上市公司收购的主要措施,更多是作为补充或巩固控制权的方式。

间接收购是指收购人通过投资关系、协议、其他安排实现拥有上市公司控制权的收购方式。最常见是收购上市公司实际控制人控制或持有的公司股权。表决权委托或一致行动人协议成为近年来收购上市公司频繁运用的手段。

要约收购是指收购人向上市公司的所有股东发出要约公告,以明确而统一的条件收购其持有的全部或部分上市公司股份。无论采取何种收购方式,若收购人持有一个上市公司的股份达到该公司已发行股份的30%,且继续增持股份,应当采取要约方式进行,发出全面要约或者部分要约(即强制要约收购)。因发出要约后股价极可能会暴涨,超过要约价格,所以实践操作中几乎所有的收购人都力求将其收购比例控制在30%以内。

近几年收购上市公司实践中,以协议转让、协议转让+表决权委托或协议转让+认购非公开发行股票+表决权委托收购方式居多。

重大资产重组

借壳上市与收购上市公司不同的是不仅取得上市公司控制权,而且还要注入自身资产,使上市公司改头换面,装入的资产变相实现上市(亦称后门上市)。近年大火的SPAC实际上就是借壳上市的一种。

2020年新修订的《上市公司重大资产重组管理办法》规定,上市公司自控制权变更起36个月内向收购人、关联人购买资产,导致上市公司发生根本变化的,构成借壳上市。为不达到该等标准,控制权不变更、向收购人以外第三人购买标的资产、调整标的资产等“锦囊妙计”相继出现,表决权委托是值得关注的工具之一。

并购重组的价值

并购的支付方式有现金支付、股份支付、可转换债券等多种支付形式。小规模并购一般使用全额现金,大规模并购一般使用股份或混合支付的手段。为避免付出大量现金造成财务结构恶化,可使用可转换债券等管理控制权的变化。

并购重组在资本市场具有诸多价值,产业整合和技术创新(1)成为并购重组主旋律、发展新动力;(2)成为推进供给侧结构性改革的新渠道;(3)助力国企改革和民企腾飞。

并购重组业务涉及较多专业问题和较复杂的社会问题,法律顾问需要具备良好的协调、沟通、运作能力,深厚的社会经验和扎实的法律专业知识。具备诉讼非诉复合背景者更佳。

Overview of listing by way of M&A and reorganisation

By Ni Jieyun, Dentons China
0
34

M&A and reorganisation has long been held as a favourable method of resource allocation that stimulates market vitality and improves the quality of listed companies. However, after the 2013-2016 M&A-centred bull market ended in massive stock market turbulence, a more cautious approach emerged. Now, the regulatory grip appears to be loosening once more following recent years of policy changes.

Overview of listing by way of M&A and reorganisation
Ni Jieyun
Senior Partner
Dentons China

M&A and reorganisation is among the most significant ways to optimise capital allocation. As a type of capital market transaction, it is relatively complicated in terms of content, form and process. Of the numerous steps in an M&A, structural design is among the most important, and needs to be in line with both the transaction objective and the market and regulatory requirements.

In an IPO, M&A and reorganisation can take place either before or after the listing. In terms of form, they are roughly classified into merger and listing, acquisition of a listed company, and material asset reorganisation of a listed company (commonly referred to as “backdoor listing”).

MERGER AND LISTING

After the M&A and reorganisation, the entity to be listed must meet the review requirements for an IPO. In particular, the operating period of the entity must meet certain standards. For example, to acquire 100% of a business from a related third party, the entity must have operated for at least 36 months to be listed on the main boards, or 24 months for the BSE, ChiNext or Star Market.

Merger and listing are especially suitable for relatively sizeable listing entities, and the scale and timing of the M&A should be carefully planned to coincide with the submission of the listing application. In this process, the proportion of cash payment and share-based payment should be carefully measured, in order to ensure that the actual controller has a shareholding at or above the reasonable level. Due diligence should be performed during the acquisition to ensure the legality and compliance of the target company.

ACQUISITION OF LISTED COMPANIES

Acquisition of listed companies is a special kind of stock trading. The manner of acquisition mainly includes acquisition by agreement, secondary market transaction, indirect acquisition, or takeover bid.

Acquisition by agreement is the most commonly adopted method. The ratio of transfer to a single transferee should be not less than 5% unless the transferor and transferee are in an actual control relationship, are controlled by the same entity, are recognised by the competent authority, or the laws and regulations provide otherwise.

Secondary market transactions include centralised competitive bidding and bulk trading. However, due to the high uncertainty of the secondary market, it is generally not considered the best approach for acquiring listed companies, but is more likely a way to supplement or consolidate control.

In indirect acquisition, the purchaser assumes control over the listed company through investment relations, agreements and other arrangements. The most common route is to acquire the equity of a listed company controlled or held by the actual controller of the company. In recent years, voting rights proxy or concerted action agreements have emerged as frequently used means to acquire listed companies.

A takeover bid refers to the method where the purchaser sends a bid announcement to all shareholders of the listed company announcing the intention to acquire all or part of the shares that they hold under clear and unified conditions. Regardless of the acquisition method adopted, if the purchaser holds 30% or more of the issued shares of a listed company and continues to increase its shareholding ratio, it should proceed by issuing a bid in the form of either a full or a partial bid (i.e., mandatory takeover bid). As the stock price is likely to soar beyond the bidding price after the bid is made, almost all purchasers in practice strive to contain their acquisition ratio to within 30%.

In acquisitions of listed companies in recent years, most adopted the mode of transfer by agreement, transfer by agreement + voting rights proxy, or transfer by agreement + subscription of privately offered shares + voting rights proxy.

MATERIAL ASSET REORGANISATION

Backdoor listing, unlike the acquisition of listed companies, involves not only obtaining control over the listed company but also injecting the issuer’s own assets so that the listed company goes through an overhaul as the injected assets become public. The special purpose acquisition company, or SPAC, a phenomenon of recent years, is a type of backdoor listing.

According to the Administrative Measures for the Material Asset Reorganisation of Listed Companies (Revised in 2020), if a listed company buys assets from its purchasers or affiliates within 36 months from the change of control, leading to a fundamental change in the listed company, it constitutes a backdoor listing. In order not to avoid triggering the alarm, a series of “tricks” have grown in popularity, such as making no change in control, purchasing assets from a third party other than the purchaser, and adjusting the target assets. Voting rights proxy is one such tool worthy of attention.

VALUE OF M&A AND REORGANISATION

Payment methods in M&A include cash, shares and convertible bonds. Full payment by cash is generally adopted for small-scale M&A, while payment by shares or a mix of both is used for large-scale M&A. In order to avoid deterioration of financial structure caused by paying a large amount of cash, convertible bonds and other methods may be adopted to manage the change of control.

M&A and reorganisation bring a myriad of value to the capital market, as industrial integration and technological innovation serve as the underlying main theme and new driving force of M&A and reorganization, a new channel to promote supply-side structural reform, and a booster of reform of state-owned enterprises and the growth of private enterprises.

As M&A and reorganisation involves a wide range of expertise and complicated social issues, legal counsel should be well equipped with co-ordination, communication, operational skills, profound social experience, solid legal know-how and, preferably, experience in both litigation and non-litigation services.