2020年已经成为我们很多人一生中特别的一年。我们怀有希望,相信我们最终能成功摆脱疫情。同时确定的一点是,“去日不可追,来日犹可期”,我们需要对未来重新规划。来自不同国家和地区的总法律顾问分享了法务角色的转变

Veta T Richardson: 公司的网络安全需要首席法务官

Veta-T-Richardson-全球企业法律顾问协会-总裁兼首席执行官

习近平主席长期以来一直强调网络安全在中国经济快速增长和数字化进程中的重要性。《网络安全法》于 2017 年 6 月 1 日生效,对个人信息的收集、使用和保护做出了明确规定。

此后,一系列新举措也随之公布。2020 年 4 月 27 日,国家互联网信息办公室联合其他 11 个政府机构推出了《网络安全审查办法》,旨在为中国公民和企业加强网络安全和保障。

尽管采取了所有这些措施,中国仍不能免受大小规模的黑客入侵以及其他非法网络安全攻击的影响。针对数百万微博用户的个人数据(包括电话号码和地址)被置于“暗网”出售的传言,今年 3 月,工业和信息化部下令微博加强数据安全措施,以更好地保护个人信息。

虽然微博一直竭力澄清并无黑客入侵用户账户一事,但这的确说明网络安全漏洞的威胁正日益加剧,即使是具有先进安全功能的社交媒体平台亦不能置身其外。

微博事件绝非个例。《安联风险晴雨表》(Allianz Risk Barometer)首次发现,在全球性法律威胁事件中,网络事故已位列榜首。亚太地区约有 35% 的风险管理高管对此表示同意。

数据泄露已突破底线,且会对被泄露人的声誉造成严重威胁,这引起了全球企业领导人的高度重视。他们愈加倾向于将此等事件交由首席法务官进行处理。

全球企业法律顾问协会基金会于上个月刚刚发布《2020 年网络安全现状报告》,该报告指出,71% 的受访者称其首席法务官担任网络安全责任团队的领导者或成员。事实上,考虑到所涉及的关键问题以及包括法规、法律、技术和风险影响在内的可变因素,首席法务官和法务部门的确是最适合负责该等工作的人选/部门。大约五分之一 (17%) 的公司选择让其首席法务官直接负责网络和隐私相关工作。

《网络安全报告》涵盖了 36 个国家/地区和 20 个行业的 586 家公司,有助于进一步洞察网络相关威胁。40% 的受访组织称其在过去一年中至少遭受过一次数据泄露,平均经历过 24 起网络事故。此外,员工网络安全培训越来越受到重视,36% 的法务部门将因为采取网络安全措施而增加法律费用支出(2018 年该比例仅为 33.8%)。

法律在网络安全方面的实际应用并不新鲜。例如,全球企业法律顾问协会发布的 《2020 年首席法务官调查》显示:75% 以上的总法律顾问和首席法务官负责合规事务;36.4% 的总法律顾问和首席法务官负责风险事务;网络安全、风险和合规是董事会最常向总法律顾问询问的三个话题。

令人欣慰的是,《网络安全报告》调查结果显示,越来越多的网络安全法律干预措施正在从严格遵守合规政策转向以风险为基础的整体战略布局。

传统理解中,网络安全问题应当属于 IT 范畴,而非法律范畴。从表面来看,此种理解确有道理:IT 更注重从技术层面应对网络威胁,他们的定量举措能够很好地与以合规为基准的网络安全战略相契合,在既定架构内进行检查,并遵循相关要求。

在大数据时代之前,即公司尚未将网络安全风险视为亟需解决的问题之前,此种方法非常恰当。而如今,在任何一个领域或国家/地区运营的任何公司,都已无法否认数字化数据已构成其经营的基础。正如以上提及的安联研究结果和无数公司与国家所经历的那样,数据泄露已不再仅仅停留于令人厌烦但不痛不痒的层面,而是已经严重到足以引发国家或地区的经济中断的地步。

企业法务应对网络安全的方式截然不同。其采取的方法是定性的,以关注风险和理解 IT 部门所需遵循之法律法规为本。对公司的所有利益相关者——不论是客户还是董事会还是员工来说,网络安全都是无法回避的问题。他们都希望首席法务官能够在风险、声誉和监管方面提供指导。监管制度或供应商-客户生态系统越复杂,网络安全问题就越应当从 IT 范畴上升为法律范畴。

此外,当发生数据泄露事件时,通常由法律团队负责解决问题和降低损害。首席法务官是连接数据泄露所涉及之各相关部门的枢纽。随后产生的法律合规问题和可能招致的诉讼显然属于法务类工作,但声誉和品牌事宜亦为首席法务官之责任,此外,首席法务官通常还需应对风险相关问题。

首席法务官负责在某一战略架构内对各种职能加以协调,包括处理跨部门损失、安抚利益相关方以及确保公司遵循《通用数据保护条例》等法院或数据隐私规定。

数据泄露事件有可能会对各级利益相关方造成严重影响并触及公司底线,因此在发生数据泄露事件后,作为首席顾问,总法律顾问必须全程给予董事会和公司管理层指导,帮助其渡过难关。

IT 部门通常无需负责处理涉及整个组织的一系列任务,而将此种任务交付至法务部门以外的任何部门都将招致重大损失。

我们要明白,任何网络安全程序都无法做到万无一失。网络安全程序的使命是抵御灾难。数据泄露足以摧毁一家公司(尤其是中小企业);对将个人数据交托至公司或机构保管的普通人而言,数据泄露也足以摧毁他们的生活。

越来越多的公司意识到,对其利益相关方保持诚实和坚守底线虽然是两个问题,但却可以用同一个解决方案加以应对,即设立一个可以直接向管理层和董事会汇报、可以跨职能运作的、强大且灵活的法务团队。让法务人员参与解决网络安全问题,意味着您已领先黑客一步。

Veta T Richardson 是全球企业法律顾问协会 (ACC) 的总裁兼首席执行官,该协会是一个全球性法律协会,拥有 45,000 余名成员,遍布 85 个国家/地区,对应 10,000 多家雇主。


Olivia Khor: 超越思维局限

Olivia-Khor-普华永道马来西亚-总法律顾问

问:马来西亚的封锁情况如何?你们当前面临的主要法律问题有哪些?

马来西亚目前正在实施“复苏式行动管制令”(Recovery Move-ment Control Order)。该命令暂定于12月31日结束。此后,当地政府将对新冠疫情传播的数据进行分析,再决定是否延长该限制令。因此,法务必须积极参与到各业务职能部门,以协助他们进行重新谈判或避免任何潜在的法律后果。

对于可能产生影响的法律问题,一些企业提出下面这些问题:

  • 他们是否可以援引不可抗力条款或者为方便而简单地通过发出通知终止合同?
  • 他们是否需要经过特定审批程序才能让客户延长期限?
  • 他们是否需要与客户重新协商、变更约定违约金条款(liquidated ascertained damages)?
  • 他们是否可以对封锁期间没有充分使用的特定服务进行协商,以获取更长的服务时间?
  • 他们如因疫情封锁措施无法完成工作,是否需要支付由于客户引入第三方而产生的差价?
  • 他们是否可以在雇佣合同中推迟新员工的开始日期?

问:法务可以采取哪些措施来减轻新冠疫情对其业务的影响?

法务可以加快就不同的业务需求提供创新性的想法及建议,以帮助企业行使或调整合同规定的权利。在这样的时期,为避免无谓的法律纠纷,法务如何管理与客户、供应商等外部各方的关系显得尤为重要。

此外,企业自身应思考如何进一步通过自动化或数字化来促进业务,比如采用电子签名来优化合同手续;使用科技手段进行线上的会议、协商、培训等。随着科技手段被更多应用,企业需要确保拥有合适且最前沿的网络安保系统以保障其数字基础设施。

总体而言,为了在疫情中生存下来,企业员工及企业主均应采取灵活的态度、拥抱变化、迅速在危机中寻找出机遇,并面对业务需求进行不断的调整。企业与主要利益相关者建立信任,也是帮助自身顺利面对挑战的关键因素。

问:法务团队应如何为下一次破坏性事件做好准备?

我认为,法务团队应思考如何将特定的流程自动化,以更简便地处理业务部门遇到的法律问题。比如在大多数人都可以用的数据平台上发布更多内部法律常见问题的解答,或者尝试将一些合同咨询的流程半自动化。我们还可以在标准合同模板的每个条款建立法律解释和含义。

同时,我认为积极拥抱科技手段十分重要。开视频会议已然成为工作的常态,法务需要拥抱这个趋势,在各类谈判中通过视频会议协助业务工作的开展。我与交易对方法律顾问就进行过这样的谈判。通常,我们见面十分困难,但在疫情封锁期间,线上会议使我们关系更紧密,最终我们成功签订了合同。


Arlene Lapuz-Ureta: 后疫情时代的电子化

Arlene-Lapuz-Ureta-菲律宾法律管理委员会(Legal-Management-Council)主席、-日产汽车公司菲律宾区法律顾问

问:当企业走出封锁、政府慢慢放开限制,企业主要会遇到哪些法律问题和挑战?

在疫情衍生出来的法律问题中,首要问题是我们[菲律宾]已有法律对职业安全及健康标准提出了合规要求。对于雇主来说,首先的挑战是在业务运作时,如何提供法律要求的安全工作环境。

菲律宾的雇主需要严肃对待这个情况,因为法律规定员工有权拒绝在有迫切危险的环境下工作,比如公司有员工已被感染的情况下。

其次,在相关法律下,雇主必须在员工的权利与可能出现的危险情况之间进行调节。这意味着雇主有权知道是否有员工感染了新冠病毒。然而,这又与菲律宾的数据隐私法律相违背。数据隐私安全法将员工健康相关的医疗信息当作个人敏感信息,而处理员工相关信息的行为被明文禁止。因此,现在关于数据隐私的问题的突然出现,也亟待法务人员去解决。

疫情之下,绝大多数员工都在家办公。而菲律宾的国家隐私委员会最近发布了有关一般安全措施的最新准则。不仅在疫情期间,还是任何存在远程办公安排的情况下,企业和员工都应该采取相关安全措施。

最后,我们遇到的另一重要问题是文件的授权和执行。我也通过我所在的机构——菲律宾大学女性律师组织,向最高法院提议采用电子公证规则。目前,最高法院已组织了一个小组委员会对此进行研究。

问:法务团队应如何为下一次破坏性事件做好准备?

法务可以采取很多方案来应对未来的破坏性事件。

首先,为了避免出现措手不及的情况,法务必须运用科技处理还未完成的法律工作,即使在疫情期间也是如此。在菲律宾,不是所有的法务人员都配备电脑,特别在规模稍小的公司,有些法务人员在家里甚至无法轻易登录邮箱。事实上,一些公司处于安全考虑,禁止员工携带公司配备的电脑回家。

其次,法务团队必须现在将所有的合同、法律文件进行电子备份,确保能及时查阅。这种情况下,当法务人士需要查阅这些重要的文件时,就无需去总部现场查阅。


Dessi Berhane Silassie: 为下一次变革作准备

Dessi-Berhane-Silassie-新加坡企业法律顾问协会主席、-IHS-Markit全球知识产权主管及亚太区法律总顾问

问:当企业走出封锁、政府慢慢放开限制,企业主要会遇到哪些法律问题和挑战?

作为一家信息科技公司,我们擅长开发“深科技”(deep technology)。由于疫情的影响,我们看到科技变革在加快。我们现在与那些乘势加快科技发展的客户紧密合作,帮助他们加入到我们已服务的金融服务机构行列之中。

例如,信息安全因种种原因成为近几年重要的议题。但如今在我们生态系统中的一些重要机构出现系统风险的时候,他们要在还没准备就绪、没有足够时间的情况下,被迫去适应新的工作模式。重要的一点是,作为服务提供商,我们需要及时给予这些企业相应的支持。

我很庆幸在新加坡工作。十多年来,这个城市致力于推行数字化战略。从个人以及居家工作的角度来说,我们十分顺利地从办公室工作转向居家工作。我认为,新加坡的基建设施很适合人们在家办公,它也是一个较小的国家,可以实施灵活的政策应对变化。

如果忽略1月份疫情爆发之初、事态不明朗的那段时期,老实说,虽然这一切恍如隔世,但实际上我们只在过去的三四个月里处于现在这个状态。所以关于新常态,对于我来说,我尚不清楚新常态真正意味着什么。我仍然认为大多数人在猜测:疫情到底会持续多久?相对于紧急状态或过渡性工作方式,什么因素会产生永久影响?

这就是我在密切关注的内容。从我们危机管理团队的角度看,我们思考的是如何为接下来的半年、一两年甚至更长的时间作准备。我认为我们要推进的是这个层面的规划。

问:法务团队应如何为下一次破坏性事件做好准备?

这不单单是法务团队需要考虑的问题,而是企业需要思考的问题。在疫情初始,企业只能依赖当时较少的数据去分析情况。现在他们需要重新审视这些分析,并尝试理解、预判接下来的半年甚至更久可能出现的情况。

我不知道我们是否需要为下一次破坏性事件做准备。我认为我们正在为目前疫情的下一个破坏性阶段作准备。如果你有了解的话,下一阶段将会是一系列封锁与解封措施的变换。这将会是什么情况?对于你的企业、组织,最有可能的商业场景分析会是怎样的?试一试套用你的业务理解这个问题,从法务角度去理解法律、监管风险及合规影响,这样你才能相应地准备应对措施。我认为我们可以从上半年的行动和应对方式中学到很多东西。

我们现在需要重新检视那些数据。现在是时候让我们回顾一下,看看哪些有用,哪些没用。巩固我们的技能、政策,确保我们面对下次破坏性事件无论是疫情或是其他事件,都能经得起反复考验。

2020 has been a year like no other. While it is fairly certain the world will successfully ride out the pandemic, it is also clear that the ‘past normal’ is behind us, and we need a new playbook. International General counsel shared their views with us on the changing role of in-house legal teams

Veta T Richardson: Companies need CLOs for cybersecurity oversight

Veta-T-Richardson-President-and-CEO,-Association-of-Corporate-Counsel

President Xi Jinping has long emphasized the importance of cybersecurity in the rapidly growing, and digitizing, Chinese economy. The China Internet Security Law came into force on 1 June 2017, and provided clear requirements for the collection, use and protection of personal information.

A series of new measures followed. On 27 April 2020, the Chinese Cyberspace Administration and 11 other government agencies jointly announced the Measures on Cybersecurity Review to enhance the safety and security of Chinese citizens and businesses online.

But despite all these measures, China is not immune from large and small-scale hacking breaches, and other illegal cybersecurity attacks. As recently as March this year, the Ministry of Industry and Information Technology ordered Weibo to enhance its data security measures to better protect personal information, following allegations circulated on the Weibo platform that millions of users’ personal data (including phone numbers and addresses) was for sale on the “dark web”.

While Weibo has been keen to make clear that hackers did not breach any user accounts, it is nevertheless a salutary tale of the increasing danger of cybersecurity breaches, even on social media platforms with advanced security features.

The evidence goes beyond Weibo, though. For the first time, the Allianz Risk Barometer found that cyber incidents ranked as the most important global legal threat. Some 35% of Asia-Pacific risk management executives agreed.

With the threat of data breaches to both bottom line and reputation, it seems that business leaders worldwide are taking the challenge seriously. More and more, they are entrusting these matters to their chief legal officer (CLO).

The Association of Corporate Counsel (ACC) Foundation’s 2020 State of Cybersecurity Report, released just last month, found that 71% of respondents placed their CLOs in either a leadership role or as part of a team with cybersecurity responsibilities. In fact, considering what is at stake, and all the variables including regulations, legal issues, technical considerations and risk implications, no one is better suited to lead these efforts than the CLO and the legal department. In about one in five companies (17%), the CLO directly controls both the cyber and privacy functions.

The Cybersecurity Report, which covered 586 companies across 36 countries and 20 industries, helps put the threat into perspective. Forty percent of organizations surveyed say they experienced at least one data breach, and an average of 24 cyber incidents, in the past year. Additionally, employee cybersecurity training is increasing, and 36% of legal departments will increase their legal spend as a result of their cybersecurity approach (up from 33.8% in 2018).

The hands-on role of legal in cybersecurity is nothing new. ACC’s 2020 Chief Legal Officer Survey, for instance, found that: more than 75% of general counsel and CLOs run compliance; 36.4% run risk; and cybersecurity, risk and compliance were the three most common subjects that boards asked GCs about.

What’s encouraging about the Cyber-security Report finding is that increasing legal participation in cybersecurity is shifting cybersecurity away from strictly compliance-based policies and toward holistic, risk-based strategies.

Traditionally, cybersecurity has been the domain of IT, not legal. On the surface, this makes sense: IT deals with more technical aspects of this threat, and the quantitative approach that characterizes IT fits well into a compliance-based cybersecurity strategy – boxes to check, requirements to meet.

This approach worked well in an age when cybersecurity risks were a low priority for companies, in the era before big data. Today, digital data make up the DNA of business in any sector, or any country. Data breaches have evolved from being minor annoyances to major disruptions in a national or regional economy, as the above-mentioned Allianz study, and the experiences of countless corporations and countries, have found.

An in-house lawyer’s approach to cybersecurity is quite different. This approach is qualitative, with an eye on risk and an understanding of the laws and regulations that govern IT. All of a company’s stakeholders depend on its cyber safety, from customers to boards to employees. All of them look to the CLO for guidance in matters of risk, reputation and regulation. The more complicated the regulatory regime or vendor-client ecosystem, the more IT becomes a legal matter.

Additionally, when data breaches happen, it frequently falls on legal teams to address and mitigate the damage. The CLO sits at the hub of every function affected by a data breach. The ensuing legal compliance issues and possible litigation are obviously a legal function, but reputational and branding matters are also the responsibility of the CLO, and often risk. It falls on the CLO to co-ordinate those various functions in a single strategy, containing damage across departments, reassuring stakeholders, and ensuring compliance with the courts or data privacy regulations like the General Data Protection Regulation (GDPR).

In their role as advisers-in-chief, GCs have to guide the board and the C-suite through the fallout of a breach, which can have a serious impact on stakeholders at every level, as well as on the business’ bottom line.

The IT department is typically not designed to handle a range of tasks that span the entire organization, and to entrust them to any department beyond legal is courting disaster.

The sobering fact is that no cybersecurity program is foolproof. Cybersecurity programs exist to fend off disasters. A data breach can literally ruin a company (especially small to medium-sized businesses); it can ruin the lives of ordinary people who had entrusted their data to a company or institution.

More and more companies are realizing that staying true to their stakeholders and maintaining their bottom line are two problems with the same solution: a robust, agile legal team with a direct line to the C-suite and a broad, cross-function remit. Keep legal involved in cyber and you are already a step ahead of potential hackers.

Veta T Richardson is president and CEO of the Association of Corporate Counsel (ACC), a global legal association with more than 45,000 members in 85 countries employed by over 10,000 organizations.


Olivia Khor: Out-of-the-box thinking

Olivia-Knor-General-Counsel-PricewaterhouseCoopers-Malaysia

Q1. How is the lockdown in Malaysia? What are the major legal issues you are facing right now?

At present, Malaysia is currently placed under the Recovery Movement Control Order (RMCO), which is slated to end on 31 December 2020. Thereafter, the government will analyse data on the covid-19 spread before deciding on the status of the RMCO.

Therefore, it is paramount for in-house counsel to actively engage with the various business functions to assist them in renegotiations, or in pre-empting any potential legal ramifications.

Here are some questions that organizations may have on potential legal issues that may impact them:

  • Can they rely on force majeure clauses, or can they simply terminate the contract for convenience by giving due notice under the contract?
  • Do they need to go through certain approval processes to get an extension of time from their client?
  • Are there any liquidated ascertained damages (LAD) clauses that they need to renegotiate and vary?
  • Can they negotiate for a longer subscription period of certain services that were not utilized during the lockdown?
  • Do they need to pay the difference if the client has engaged a third party to finish the work they couldn’t finish due to the lockdown?
  • Can they defer the start date of new joiners in employment contracts?

Q2. What can in-house counsel do to mitigate the impact of coronavirus on their business?

In-house counsel can step up to provide out-of-the-box ideas and recommendations to various business functions, so that their contractual rights can be exercised or stretched. Managing relationships with external parties (either clients or vendors) is very important in times like these to avert unnecessary legal claims.

In addition, organizations should start thinking about how to further automate or digitize processes to facilitate business. For example, adopting electronic signatures to ease contracting, and using technology to conduct virtual meetings, negotiations, training and conferences. With the increasing use of technology, organizations need to ensure that they have adequate and up-to-date cybersecurity safeguards to protect their digital infrastructure.

Generally, to survive the pandemic, both employees and business owners must be agile, willing to change, quick to identify opportunities in the midst of a crisis, and be accommodating towards business needs. Building trust among their key stakeholders is a critical enabler in helping organizations to adapt to these changes smoothly.

Q3. What should in-house legal teams be doing now to prepare for the next big disruptive event?

I think we should start thinking about how to further automate certain processes to make it easier for the business to deal with legal issues. For example, having more internally legal FAQs published in a database available to the masses, or exploring ways for contract consultations to be semi-automated. We can build in legal explanations and implications to each of the contract clauses in a standard contract template.

Also, I think embracing technology is very important. Virtual meetings are now a a norm, and in-house counsel should embrace that, and support the business in various negotiations, even via virtual meetings. I actually had such a negotiation with the other side’s counsel. Normally meeting each other is very difficult, but during the lockdown period, when we had this virtual meeting, we became nicer to each other, and we actually managed to close the contract immediately.


Arlene Lapuz-Ureta: Digitalisation in a post-covid era

Arlene-Lapuz-Ureta-President-Legal-Management-Council-of-the-Philippines,-and-Legal-Counsel,-Nissan-Philippines

Q1. What are the major legal issues and challenges companies will encounter as they come out of lockdown, and countries slowly open up?

The legal issue that arose in view of this pandemic, first and foremost, is that we have an existing law [in the Philippines] that provides for compliance with occupational safety and health standards. So, the first challenge there is for the employers, who are opening their businesses, is to provide the safe workplace that the law requires.

And since this law grants the worker the right of refusal to work if there is an imminent, dangerous situation in the workplace, such as, for instance, an employee being infected, these are matters that need to be seriously addressed in the Philippines by employers.

Secondly, of course, they know that under this law [employers] have to harmonize the rights granted to the worker with all kinds of hazards in the workplace, meaning they have the right to know if an employee was found positive for covid-19.

And this right conflicts with our data privacy law in the Philippines, which considers medical information relating to the health of an employee as sensitive personal information, the processing of which is prohibited. So now data privacy issues have cropped up, and these need to be addressed by in-house counsel, especially where there is also a mandate to adopt data protection measures pursuant to the law.

Given the pandemic, most employees are now working from home. Our National Privacy Commission, in fact, issued recent guidelines on general security measures that the organizations and individual employees working at home should be taking, not only during a pandemic, but also whenever there is a telecommuting arrangement implemented.

One last major item is that we encountered problems on authorization and execution of documents.

And one initiative that I actually made through our organization, the University of the Philippines Women Lawyers’ Circle, is to write and propose that our Supreme Court adopt electronic notarial rules. This was favourably acted upon and right now a sub-committee has been organized by our Supreme Court to study this.

Q2. What should in-house legal teams be doing now to prepare for the next big disruptive event?

There are a lot of initiatives that in-house counsel can take to ensure that we are prepared for future disruptive events.

First of all, in order not to be caught off guard in the future, it is imperative that in-house counsel use technology to help them in the legal work that still needs to be done, even during the covid-19 pandemic.

In the Philippines, not all legal counsel are provided with laptops, especially the smaller companies, and not even free access to their e-mails in their homes. In fact, some companies prohibit bringing their company-issued laptops home because of security issues.

Secondly, in-house counsel must now have all contracts and all legal documents digitally stored, and ensure that they can be accessed immediately so that there will be no need to go to the head office, in case there’s a need to access such important and vital documents.


Dessi Berhane Silassie: Prepare for the next transition

Dessi-Berhane-Silassie-President,-Singapore-Corporate-Counsel-Association-and-General-Counsel,-Asia-Pacific,-and-Global-Head-of-IP,-IHS-Markit,-a-London-based-information-and-technology-platform

Q1. What are the major legal issues and challenges companies will encounter as they come out of lockdown, and countries slowly open up?

We are an information service and technology company, so our comfort space is in deep technology. But we’ve seen an acceleration of that movement as a result of covid-19. What we’re doing now is really engaging with our customers who are on that accelerated timeline, to help them get on board for the financial service institutions that we service.

For example, information security has been critical for several years, for lots of different reasons. But now they’re being forced into a new way of working without that readiness, that time to prepare, as critical institutions within our ecosystem present systemic risk. It’s important that, as a service provider, we provide them with that support.

I think I’m very lucky to be in Singapore. It’s been pursuing a digital strategy for over a decade. So, from a personal and work-from-home perspective, the transition to working from an office to the home was a very smooth one. And I think Singapore’s infrastructure lends itself very easily. It’s also a smaller country, and much more able to act with agility.

If I’m honest with you, I know it feels like a lifetime, but we’ve actually only been in this position for the past three to four months, if you ignore the beginning of the pandemic in January, when we all were still figuring out what were going to be the implications. And so, coming out to a new normal, for me – it is not all that clear what that new normal really means. I still think most people will be speculating as to the duration, and as to what will indeed remain a permanent impact, versus an emergency state or a transitional way of working.

So that’s what I’m really watching closely. And from our crisis management team perspective, really what we’re thinking about is how to prepare ourselves for the next six months, as well as 12, 24 and a much longer-term period. I think it’s that level of planning that we’ll need to embark on.

Q2. What should in-house legal teams be doing now to prepare for the next big disruptive event?

For me, this is not a question for in-house legal teams in isolation. This is what our businesses are thinking about right now. At the beginning of this pandemic, they were forced to look at their scenario analysis with less data than what they have today. So, they will be revisiting those scenario analyses and trying to understand what the next six, 12, 18, 24 months look like. And that’s what we should be doing.

I don’t know if it’s necessarily preparing for the next disruptive event. I think that we’re preparing for the next disruptive chapter of the current event, which, if you believe some research, is going to look like an accordion of lockdown and non-lockdown measures. So, what does that look like? What does the most likely business scenario analysis for your company, for your organization, look like? Seek to understand it with your businesses, and then understand what the legal, regulatory risk and compliance implications will be from an in-house perspective, so that you can correspondingly prepare for the response. I think there is a lot to be learned from the way that we behaved and responded in the preceding six months.

That data now needs to be reviewed. Now is the right time for us to look back, see what worked, what didn’t work. Tighten up our tool kits, our policies around that period, to ensure that it is ready to be tested again and again and again for future disruption, whether it’s covid-19-related or otherwise.