零跑汽车IPO彰显数据合规咨询重要性

0
491
零跑汽车IPO添额外法律顾问
LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link

电动车制造商零跑汽车在筹备香港IPO的时候,打破常规地在法律顾问队伍中增聘了“中国数据安全法”和“美国出口管制法”两项法律顾问,这显示了企业在相关领域进行合规性审查越来越有必要。

作为港交所今年规模最大的交易之一,零跑汽车总共募得62.8亿港元,每股定价在48港元,取发行价区间最低值。

段志超
段志超

汉坤律师事务所为发行人提供中国数据安全法咨询,普盈律师事务所提供美国出口管制法咨询。

自2月起,已有数家企业在递交给港交所的招股书中聘请了“中国数据安全法顾问”,但成功上市的目前仅有零跑汽车一家。

汉坤所的项目牵头合伙人段志超说,在项目早期引入该类法律顾问非常必要,能提供定制化、和立法趋势相符的项目方案,且在整个上市项目过程中对可能出现的突发事件进行高效响应。

“[发审机构]亦会要求公司对尚未生效、但预期可能会对公司业务产生影响的立法动态进行考量,”段志超说,“此外,对于相关立法、执法和司法动态,发审机构也一直在紧密追踪,在例如出现和公司业务相关的立法、涉及公司的执法事件时,会要求公司及时进行澄清和说明,否则均将会影响到公司的整体上市进度。”

在本次交易中,汉坤所主要就《个人信息保护法》《数据安全法》及《汽车数据安全管理若干规定(试行)》等提供咨询。此前,该所在为腾讯音乐、贝壳、蔚来汽车等企业在境外上市提供中国法咨询时,也提供了有关数据法律的意见。

段志超认为,近年来数据相关法规不断增加,掌握大量重要数据的企业在上市前,“设置中国数据安全法顾问具有越来越高的必要性”。他说,除了普遍适用的数据合规法律,为特定行业提供法律咨询时,也要考虑行业法规中的数据监管要求,如汽车、自动驾驶、金融、医疗健康行业。

国内自9月1日起实施《数据出境安全评估办法》,对监管企业数据出境做出了框架性的规定。段志超建议,监管机构应当进一步明晰申报模式及申报材料。

“不同行业、不同业务类型的公司在数据出境活动上存在众多的自身特色,可能和监管设想的典型的点对点的数据出境监管申报体系不尽兼容。”

他还补充:“对于例如员工数据出境等频次高、必要性强、且对国家安全造成影响可能性低的出境场景,在申报必要性和申报流程上如何进行针对性设计,对于降低监管机构负担、提升审查效率也将有积极的意义。”

至于零跑汽车在本次交易设立“美国出口管制法”顾问,则是为了应对拥有其股份的大华技术于2019年被纳入美国“实体清单”这一事件相关的隐忧,大华技术多间子公司与零跑汽车亦存在租赁、采购、供应及销售关系。

作为大股东的大华技术拥有零跑汽车33%的股份,因此该公司被列入美国的“实体清单”可能会引起潜在投资者的担忧。

美国商务部工业与安全局规定,被纳入“实体清单”的企业、研究机构、政府和私人组织、个人和其他类型的法人,在出口、再出口或国内转让方面受制于《出口管理条例》的产品,均需取得美国出口许可。从第三国进口产品时,若含美国管制物项价值比超过25%,则同样受该条例约束。

普盈在招股书中表示,《出口管理条例》的管制对象不会延伸至名单以外的个人或企业,这意味着零跑汽车及大华技术的子公司不会受到美国商务部工业与安全局的审查。

鉴于中美两国在审计底稿、数据安全和关税等问题上僵持不下,这种对监管的担忧日益突出。

高伟绅律师事务所为发行人提供香港与美国法咨询,国枫律师事务所提供中国法咨询。

本次交易的联席保荐人为摩根大通、中金公司、花旗银行和建银国际。盛信律师事务所担任联席保荐人和承销商的香港及美国法律顾问,竞天公诚律师事务所担任中国法律顾问。

LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link

Leapmotor’s rare move shows scrutiny on data compliance pays off

0
904
Leapmotor allays US, PRC regulatory concerns in rare move before Hong Kong IPO
LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link

Chinese electric vehicle maker Leapmotor Technology’s rare move to engage legal advisers on PRC data security and US export laws in its successful IPO points to a growing need to scrutinise compliance in these areas.

Leapmotor’s listing in September was one of the most significant transactions of the year on the HKEX, raising HKD6.3 billion (USD800 million) and selling shares at HKD48 apiece, priced at the bottom of the expected range.

Kevin Duan
Kevin Duan

Han Kun Law Offices advised on PRC data security law, while Pillsbury focused on US export law.

Engaging legal advisers on PRC data security law has been increasing since February in several Hong Kong prospectuses, but only Leapmotor’s listing succeeded.

Kevin Duan, the leading partner for Han Kun in the Leapmotor deal, raised the necessity of taking such a position nowadays as data compliance counsel provides customised plans in the early stages of the transaction, in line with the legislative trend, and can respond efficiently to possible emergencies in the whole listing process.

“[The listing committee] will also require companies to notify it of the legislative developments that are not yet in force, but are expected to have an impact on the company’s business,” said Duan.

“In addition, the listing committee has been closely tracking relevant legislative, enforcement and judicial developments, and will require the company to provide clarification and explanation in a timely manner when, for example, legislation and enforcement events relevant to the company’s business make an impact, all of which would otherwise affect the overall progress of the listing.”

In this transaction, Han Kun mainly advised on the Personal Information Protection Law, Data Security Law, and Several Provisions on the Management of Automobile Data Security (for Trial Implementation).

Previously, the firm would also provide advice on data security when acting as PRC counsel for companies such as Tencent Music, KE Holdings and NIO on their overseas listings.

According to Duan, to cope with the growing number of data-related regulations in recent years, there is “an increasing need to have a PRC data security law adviser” for companies holding large amounts of important data before going public.

Apart from generally applicable data compliance regulations, it is important to consider data requirements in specific industries, such as the automotive, autonomous driving, finance and healthcare sectors, he said.

China issued Measures for Data Export Security Assessment on 1 September, which provides a framework for regulating outbound data transfers. Duan suggested that regulators should further clarify the declaration method and declaration materials required.

“Companies in different industries and business types have various characteristics in terms of outbound data transfers, which may not be compatible with the typical peer-to-peer data transfer model as the regulatory declaration system has envisaged.”

He added that “for scenarios such as the transfer of employee data overseas, which are frequent, necessary and have a low likelihood of impacting national security, a targeted design in terms of the need for a declaration and the declaration process will also be positive in reducing the burden on regulators and improving the efficiency of reviews.”

As for Leapmotor engaging a legal adviser on the US Export Control Act in this transaction, it was in response to the inclusion of Dahua Technology, which owns 33% of Leapmotor, on the US Entity List in 2019, and the existence of leasing, purchasing, supply and sales relationships between its subsidiaries and Leapmotor.

Dahua Technology is a major shareholder of Leapmotor with a 33% stake, so the company being blacklisted on the US Entity List could raise concerns among potential investors.

The US Entity List, which is issued by the Bureau of Industry and Security (BIS), publishes the names of certain foreign persons – including businesses, research institutions, government and private organisations, individuals, and other types of legal persons – that are subject to specific licensing requirements for the export, re-export and/or transfer (in-country) of specified items.

Those on the list are subject to the Export Administration Regulations (EAR) where a foreign company is required to hold a US export licence. Imports from third countries that contain more than 25% of the value of US-controlled items are also subject to the EAR.

Pillsbury stated in the prospectus that as the EAR would not be extended to individuals or companies not on the list, meaning Leapmotor and subsidiaries of Dahua Technology would not be subject to scrutiny by the BIS.

The regulatory concerns are significant especially amid the long-running trade standoff between China and the US, involving company audits, data security and tariffs.

Clifford Chance acted as counsel on Hong Kong and US laws, while Grandway Law Offices acted as the PRC legal counsel to Leapmotor.

For the joint sponsors and underwriters, JP Morgan, CICC, Citigroup Global Markets and CCB International Capital, Simpson Thacher advised on Hong Kong and US law, while Jingtian & Gongcheng advised on PRC law.

LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link