律界功夫

0
27

最近,我有幸见到了吴国树和黄碧瑶夫妇,两位都是中华武术咏春拳的师傅。大约在五十年前,也就是1974年,吴国树在澳大利亚创办了吴国树功夫学院,夫妇二人也因此成为了澳大利亚咏春拳的先锋。与夫妇二人对咏春拳的讨论让我萌生了一个想法——剖析咏春拳祖训,看看它与法律职业的行为准则是否有相通之处,有哪些相通之处。

本期专栏将首先介绍功夫这个词的含义,以及咏春拳的历史,紧接着,接下来概述咏春拳宗师叶问为后学弟子创立的咏春拳祖训。最后,文章探讨咏春拳祖训和普通法国家和地区大律师们的职业准则之间的一些相通之处。

功夫与咏春拳

在汉语中,“功夫”这个词中的“功”指“学有所成”或“技艺”,“夫”指“人”或“大师”。“功夫”这个词通常指武术,但其实这个词也可以用来泛指一切通过努力、技巧和练习来掌握的技艺。比如,它可以用来形容一种沏茶和饮茶的茶艺——功夫茶。

对于咏春拳的起源,有一个说法是,在十七世纪末或十八世纪初,清兵火烧少林寺,一位叫伍枚的法师逃到云南,在那里向一位叫严咏春的年轻女子传授她自己的功夫拳术,帮助她摆脱当地豪强的逼婚。后来,这一套功夫拳术就以这位女子的名字——咏春——命名。

咏春拳属近身拳,拳速快,它的练习法被称为黐手。黐手这个词的字面意思就是“粘手”,用来训练咏春拳弟子面对对手攻击时的反应。除手臂动作外,咏春拳也要运用下肢和双腿来击败对手,重新引导或卸除对手之力。据吴国树描述:

在创立之初,大部分咏春拳的弟子身形都非常小,因此,重新引导对手的力量是关键。咏春拳的两位创始人都是女子,身材娇小,她们要让自己的拳法对抗身形更高大的对手。咏春拳要求拳手沿着自身中线向对方中线攻击,重新引导对方的力量,从这个思想来看,咏春拳和日本武术合气道有异曲同工之妙。

黄碧瑶也提到咏春拳强调思维意识:

You must be a subscriber to read this content, please subscribe today.

你需要登录去解锁本文内容。欢迎注册账号。如果想阅读月刊所有文章,欢迎成为我们的订阅会员

葛安德


葛安德曾在上海以外国律师的身份执业(1996-2006),而后回到母校澳大利亚墨尔本法学院从事法律教学和研究工作(2006-2021年)。葛安德现在是墨尔本法学院亚洲法律中心的荣誉首席研究员,亦在多家机构担任顾问,其中包括年利达律师事务所、澳大利亚法律改革委员会和世界银行。

 

Law.asia subscripton ad blue 2022

Kung fu fighting in law?

0
150

I RECENTLY had the pleasure to meet a husband and wife couple, Barry Pang and Anne Pang Pi-Yao, who are masters of the martial art of Wing Chun. Together, they became pioneers of this style of Chinese Kung Fu in Australia when Barry established the Barry Pang Kung Fu School almost 50 years ago, in 1974. A discussion with Barry and Anne about Wing Chun gave me the idea of examining the Wing Chun Rules of Conduct, and the extent to which they resonate with rules of conduct in the legal profession.

This column commences with an overview of the meaning of the term “Kung Fu” and history of the Wing Chun style of Chinese Kung Fu. It then outlines the Wing Chun Rules of Conduct for practitioners, which were established by the Wing Chun grandmaster, Ip Man. Finally, some parallels are suggested between the Wing Chun Rules of Conduct and rules that govern barristers in common law jurisdictions.

KUNG FU AND WING CHUN’

The Chinese term “Kung Fu”, or gongfu, consists of two characters: gong, meaning “achievement” or “skill”, and fu, meaning “man” or “master”. Although this term is most often used to refer to the martial art, it is also used to refer generally to any discipline or art that is mastered through effort, skill and practice. For example, the term also refers to the skill of making and serving tea, known as gongfu tea.

The martial art of Wing Chun is said to have originated when a nun called Wu Mei (Ng Mui in Cantonese) fled to Yunnan from the destruction of Shaolin Temple by Manchu forces in the late 17th or early 18th century. In Yunnan, the nun taught her style of Chinese Kung Fu to a young girl called Yan Yong Chun (Yim Wing Chun in Cantonese) to defend herself against a warlord trying to force her into marriage. The style subsequently came to be known by the given name of the young girl, Wing Chun.

The Wing Chun style of Kung Fu utilises quick, close-range arm movements to defend against attack, which are practised through an exercise called chi shou (chi sao in Cantonese). The name of this exercise literally means “sticking hands”. In addition to the arm movements, Wing Chun employs the lower body and legs to defeat opponents and redirect or deflect their strength. As Barry Pang explains:

“In its inception, most Wing Chun practitioners were very small, so redirecting an opponent’s strength was vital. If you go back to the first two practitioners, they were women – so being small in stature, they needed to make their techniques work against much bigger people. Wing Chun is like the Japanese martial art of Aikido in its philosophy of moving the body of the line of attack and redirecting their forces.”

Anne Pang also notes the importance of the mental aspect of Wing Chun:

You must be a subscribersubscribersubscribersubscriber to read this content, please subscribesubscribesubscribesubscribe today.

你需要登录去解锁本文内容。欢迎注册账号。如果想阅读月刊所有文章,欢迎成为我们的订阅会员成为我们的订阅会员

Andrew Godwin

Andrew Godwin previously practised as a foreign lawyer in Shanghai (1996-2006) before returning to his alma mater, Melbourne Law School in Australia, to teach and research law (2006-2021). Andrew is currently Principal Fellow (Honorary) at the Asian Law Centre, Melbourne Law School, and a consultant to various organisations, including Linklaters, the Australian Law Reform Commission and the World Bank.