不良债权收购关注要点

作者: 徐邦炜,竞天公诚律师事务所
0
635

不良资产投资最常见的投资标的即为不良债权资产包。在收购不良债权时,投资者往往过于关注抵押物的变现回收价值,而忽视影响不良债权处置周期的一些特殊事项,进而影响投资收益率。本文将结合作者多年来在不良资产行业的投资处置经验,提示投资者在收购不良债权时需要重点关注的问题。

徐邦炜, Xu Bangwei, Partner, Jingtian & Gongcheng
徐邦炜
合伙人
竞天公诚律师事务所

债务人进入破产程序

投资者除在收购不良债权资产时确认债务人是否进入破产程序外,还应判断其在收购不良债权后,债务人进入破产程序的可能性。若债务人进入破产程序,将导致以下影响。

延长抵押物的处置时间

根据《中华人民共和国企业破产法》第十九条、第二十一条以及《最高人民法院关于贯彻执行<中华人民共和国企业破产法(试行)>若干问题的意见》第十二条的规定,企业进入破产程序后,对企业的一切司法程序都要中止。待管理人接管后移送破产法院处理,同时通知已知债权人并公告受理信息。

故实践中,债务人会以申请破产(特别是破产重整)作为其对抗抵押物拍卖处置的手段之一。破产程序涉及指定管理人、债权人申报债权、破产重整方案的拟定及提交等众多阶段,程序漫长,不利于抵押权人快速行使优先受偿权收回债权。一旦案件进入破产重整阶段,从破产重整方案的制定、审议通过到实施一般需要两到三年时间,也将延缓抵押权人的资金回收期。

抵押权人获得清偿的金额可能会减少

虽然根据现行《企业破产法》及相关司法解释的一般性规定,担保债权优先于破产费用清偿,但在破产清算的实践中,抵押物拍卖价款经常会在扣除处置该抵押物的破产费用、共益债务后,才向优先债权人分配。相比于执行程序,破产程序中优先债权人将可能损失一定金额的破产费用,导致所获清偿的金额变少。

一般债权人的在先查封

若不良债权的抵押物被一般债权人首先查封,抵押权人为轮候查封,虽然查封不影响抵押权人对抵押物的优先受偿权,但如首封不是抵押权人,抵押物的处置进度可能被拖延。投资者应密切关注首封法院和优先债权执行法院之间执行权的移送问题。

根据《最高人民法院关于首先查封法院与优先债权执行法院处分查封财产有关问题的批复》:首封法院有抵押物的处置权,优先债权已进入执行,而首封法院自查封之日起60日尚未发布拍卖公告或进入变卖程序的,可移送优先债权法院执行。如首封法院与优先债权执行法院就移送查封财产发生争议的,可以逐级报请双方共同的上级法院指定该财产的执行法院。

因此,如不良债权的抵押物被一般债权人首先查封,则对于投资人来讲,存在协调首封法院移送优先债权法院执行的问题。如首封法院不愿意移送执行权,或优先债权法院不愿接收执行权,则双方应报请共同的上级法院指定执行法院。此外,如抵押物的处置价值仅能覆盖优先债权人的本息,无法偿还一般债权人的债权,则一般债权人没有动力请求首封法院推进执行拍卖程序,甚至可能通过阻碍法拍的推进,以换取和优先债权人谈判获得赔偿的可能。

抵押物涉及分拆销售小业主

若不良债权抵押物可分割销售,且此前已将抵押物分拆销售给小业主,则投资者应予以特别关注如下影响。

一方面,如小业主满足《最高人民法院关于人民法院办理执行异议和复议案件若干问题的规定》第28条的规定,在人民法院查封之前已签订合法有效的书面买卖合同并已合法占有该不动产,已支付全部价款,且非因买受人自身原因未办理过户登记,则小业主在执行程序中将会提出执行异议并被法院予以支持。抵押权人恐难以通过推进抵押物的处置程序回收债权。

另一方面,即便小业主不满足前述法律约定的排除执行的情况,法院驳回了小业主的执行异议,但因为推进优先债权人的处置拍卖程序将导致小业主血本无归,小业主可能发起群体性事件,造成不良的社会影响。

不良资产作为逆周期的投资产品,具有高风险、高收益的特点,近年来一直是市场投资的热点。但不良资产投资也伴随着高风险,具有较高的专业门槛。笔者囿于篇幅所限,结合经验仅列举了几个常见的要点,建议投资者在收购不良债权前后聘请专业的顾问团队,排除或降低投资风险并争取最大收益。

竞天公诚律师事务所合伙人徐邦炜

collateral

Jingtian & Gongcheng

北京市朝阳区
建国路77号华贸中心3号
写字楼34层
邮编:100025

电郵: xu.bangwei@jingtian.com

www.jingtian.com

Law.asia subscripton ad blue 2022

Key points on acquisitions of non-performing claims

By Xu Bangwei, Jingtian & Gongcheng
0
76

The most common investment object of non-performing assets is the package of non-performing claims. Investors, in acquiring non-performing claims, often pay too much attention to the realisation and recovery value of the collateral, and ignore some special matters affecting the disposal cycle of non-performing claims, thus affecting the investment yield. This article suggests the key issues that investors should pay attention to when purchasing non-performing claims.

徐邦炜, Xu Bangwei, Partner, Jingtian & Gongcheng
Xu Bangwei
Partner
Jingtian & Gongcheng

Debtor’s entry into bankruptcy

In addition to confirming whether a debtor enters bankruptcy proceedings when purchasing non-performing claims, investors should also judge that possibility after purchasing non-performing claims. The debtor’s entry into bankruptcy proceedings will have the following effects.

Extend the disposal time of the collateral

According to articles 19 and 21 of the Opinions of the Supreme People’s Court on Several Issues Concerning the Implementation of the Enterprise Bankruptcy Law (for Trial Implementation), after an enterprise enters bankruptcy proceedings all the judicial procedures for the enterprise shall be suspended. They shall be transferred to the bankruptcy court after being taken over by the administrator. Meanwhile, the known creditors shall be notified and the information of acceptance shall be announced.

Therefore, in practice, the debtor will apply for bankruptcy (especially bankruptcy reorganisation) as the means of resisting collateral auction. Bankruptcy proceedings involve many stages, such as the appointment of administrator, creditor’s declaration of claims, formulation and submission of the bankruptcy reorganisation plan, etc., and can last for a long time, which is not conducive to the rapid exercise of the priority of the mortgagee to recover the claims. Once the case enters bankruptcy reorganisation, it generally takes two to three years from the formulation, deliberation and approval to the implementation of the bankruptcy reorganisation plan, which will also delay the fund recovery of the mortgagee.

The amount of repayment obtained by the mortgagee will be reduced

According to article 113 of the Enterprise Bankruptcy Law, the order of liquidation of the bankruptcy property, after prioritised payment of the bankruptcy expenses and the common benefit debt, is wages of the staff and workers and relevant insurance expenses of the bankrupt enterprise, taxes owed by the bankrupt enterprise, and claims in bankruptcy.

Accordingly, the proceeds from collateral auction in bankruptcy liquidation proceedings shall be distributed to the preferred creditor, after deduction of the above-mentioned amounts. Compared with the execution procedure, the reduction of the amount obtained by the preferred creditor in bankruptcy proceedings is not conducive to the protection of the interests of the preferred creditor.

Prior seizure of general creditor

If the collateral for non-performing claims is first seized by the general creditor, and the mortgagee is waiting for seizure, that is, the collateral is not first seized by the mortgagee, the disposal progress of the collateral may be delayed, although the seizure does not affect the priority right of the mortgagee over the collateral. Investors should pay close attention to the transfer of execution power between the first seizure court and the execution court of preferred claims.

According to the Replies of the Supreme People’s Court on Issues Relating to Disposal and Seizure of Property of the First Seizure Court and the Execution Court of Preferred Claims, the first seizure court has the power to dispose of the collateral. If the preferred claim has entered the execution stage, and the first seizure court has not issued an auction notice, or entered a sale procedure for 60 days from the date of seizure, it can be transferred to the court of preferred claims for execution.

In case of a dispute between the first seizure court and the execution court of preferred claims over the transfer of the seized property, it may be submitted, step by step, to the common superior court of both courts to appoint the court of execution of the property.

Therefore, if the collateral for non-performing claims is first seized by the general creditor, the investor will suffer the problem of co-ordinating the transfer from the first seizure court to the court of preferred claims for execution. If the first seizure court is unwilling to transfer, or the court of preferred claims is unwilling to accept the execution power, both courts shall apply to the common superior court to appoint the execution court.

If the disposal value of the collateral can only cover the principal and interest of the preferred creditor, and cannot repay the claims of the general creditor, the general creditor has no motivation to request the first seizure court to promote the execution of the auction procedure, and may even hinder the promotion of the legal auction in exchange for the possibility of negotiating with the preferred creditor to obtain compensation.

Small owners of split sale

Investors should pay particular attention to the following effects if the collateral of non-performing claims can be sold separately, and the collateral has been divided up and sold to small owners.

On the one hand, if small owners meet article 28 of the Provisions of the Supreme People’s Court on Some Issues Concerning the People’s Courts’ Handling of Cases of Objections to Execution and Reconsideration, that they have signed a legal and effective written sales contract, legally possessed the real estate, and paid the whole price, and have not handled the transfer registration for reasons unrelated to the small owners before the seizure of the people’s court, small owners may raise an objection to execution and will be upheld by the court. The mortgagee may not be able to recover the claims through the process of advancing the disposal process of collateral.

On the other hand, even if the small owners do not meet the conditions of exclusion of execution stipulated in the above-mentioned law, and the court rejects the execution objection of the small owners, the promotion of the disposal and auction of the preferred creditor will lead to the complete loss of the small owners’ capital. As a result, the small owners may initiate mass incidents, causing adverse social impact.

As a countercyclical investment product, non-performing assets have the characteristics of high risk and high return. In recent years, they have been the hot spot of market investment.

However, investment in non-performing assets is also accompanied by high risks, and a high professional threshold. It is suggested that investors should hire a professional advisory team before and after the acquisition of non-performing claims, to strive for maximum returns for investors.

Xu Bangwei is a partner at Jingtian & Gongcheng

collateral

Jingtian & Gongcheng

34/F, Tower 3
China Central Place, 77 Jianguo Road
Beijing 100025, China

E-mail: xu.bangwei@jingtian.com

www.jingtian.com