司法公正 

0
83

众对于法律制度的信任和信心,在很大程度上取决于司法系统,特别是法官在法庭内外的行为方式。本篇专栏文章参照国际公认的原则,以及香港特别行政区和中国大陆这两个法域适用的规则,讨论司法公正的概念,而后概述澳大利亚法律改革委员会目前对该国司法公正的调查。

司法公正是正义的一个组成部分,这一概念包含了法官需要避免偏见和利益冲突的内容。本专栏曾写道,在西方文化里,正义经常被描述为一位被蒙住双眼的女士,即正义女神,她一手握剑,一手持天平。蒙眼代表客观公正、法律面前人人平等的理念。天平代表着在作出裁决之前,需要对争议双方的证据进行权衡或平衡,体现了公平的理念。剑则代表迅速和最终的惩罚,剑尖通常向下或低于天平,以示在实施惩罚之前先衡量证据。[关于正义的讨论,见《商法》第11辑第7期:《正义的概念》]。

法官要秉持公正,同时公众对于法官公正性的信心,也体现在法官在法庭上的穿着上[关于法庭着装的讨论,见《商法》第10辑第9期:《假发与长袍》]。

然而,与其他人一样,法官也容易因个人背景和世界观而产生自然偏见。因此,法官必须通过接受培训,并提高对可能出现自然偏见领域的认知,最大限度地降低其判断受到自然偏见影响的风险。司法培训中一个越来越受到重视的领域,即是对文化多样性司法意识的增强[关于这一领域的讨论,见《商法》第11辑第3期:《法庭中的文化因素》]。

国际原则

2002年,来自英美法系和大陆法系的法官举行了一次会晤,并于会后确立了“班加罗尔司法行为原则”(Bangalore Principles of Judicial Conduct)。2003年4月,班加罗尔原则得到了联合国人权委员会的认可,自此成为指导法官行为国际公认原则的一项重要声明。该原则确定了六大核心价值:独立、公正无私、正直、正当得体、平等,以及称职与尽责。每项价值都有相关原则来支持。

关于第二项价值“公正无私”,《班加罗尔原则》确立了以下原则:

执行司法职位之职责时,公正无私极为重要。该项准则不仅适用于判决本身,亦适用于达致有关判决之司法程序。

上述原则反映了这样一个概念:正义不仅要伸张,还须彰显于人前。同时,它还反映了这样的现实:

作出判决的过程不仅影响到判决本身,而且影响到当事人和广大公众对决定的公正性的看法。

香港

在许多法域,司法公正的概念被明确纳入了司法行为准则或道德准则。在香港特别行政区,《法官行为指引》作出了如下规定:

11 凡论及法官行为,均涉及三项指导原则。第一,法官必须独立。第二, 法官必须大公无私。第三,无论在庭里庭外,法官行事时都必须正直诚实、言行得当。

18 大公无私的精神是当法官的基本条件。无论在庭里庭外,法官的行为都要保持外界对法官及司法机构大公无私的信心。

19 法庭要秉行公义,而且必须是有目共睹的。法官除了需要事实上做到不偏不倚之外,还要让外界相信法官是不偏不倚的。如果有理由令人觉得法官存有偏私,这样很可能使人感到不公平和受屈,更会令外界对司法判决失去信心。

20 法官是否公正,是以一个明理、不存偏见、熟知情况的人的观点来衡量的。有关这一点,在下面表面偏颇一节中有更详细的论述。

21 引起外界感到法官并不公正的情况有多种:例如令人感到法官可能存有利益冲突,又或者是法官在庭上的言谈举止,法官在庭外与何人交往及参与哪些活动等,都可能影响外界对法官的观感。

第19条表明,法官不仅需要在事实上做到不偏不倚,还需要让外界相信法官是不偏不倚的。第20条则确认,法官是否公正的问题,是用一个客观标准来衡量的,即“表面偏颇”测试。与其他普通法法域的规则相似,香港的规则规定,法官在存有实际偏见及表面(或推定)偏见时,其审理案件的资格应当被取消。有关表面偏见的规则如下:

如果在有关的情况下, 一个明理、不存偏见、熟知情况的旁观者的结论是, 法官有偏颇的实在可能,则该法官的聆讯资格便被取消。

这条规则引发了两个关键问题:在确定法官是否存在表面偏见时应采用的具体标准,以及在涉及表面偏见时应取消法官审理案件资格的程序。

中国大陆

中国大陆的法官行为准则也纳入了司法公正的要求。2010年,最高人民法院发布了《中华人民共和国法官职业道德基本准则》。其中有关司法公正和表面偏见情况下法官需回避的规定如下:

第一条

法官在履行职责时,应当切实做到实体公正和程序公正,并通过自己在法庭内外的言行体现出公正,避免公众对司法公正产生合理的怀疑。

第三条

法官在审判活动中,除了应当自觉遵守法定回避制度外,如果认为自己审理某案件时可能引起公众对该案件公正裁判产生合理怀疑的,应当提出不宜审理该案件的请求。

2011年,最高人民法院发布《最高人民法院关于审判人员在诉讼活动中执行回避制度若干问题的规定》,明确了制定该规定的目的是“为进一步规范审判人员的诉讼回避行为,维护司法公正”,并设立了法官应遵循的行为准则,包括禁止与当事人或其代理人单独会面:

第八条

在审判活动中,法官不得私下单独会见某一方或其代表。

类似的规定亦出现在《法官法》第三十二条第十二项。

根据第十条,法官应当平等对待当事人,不得以其言语和行为表现出任何歧视。此外,法官应当充分注意到由于民族、种族、宗教信仰、教育程度等因素而可能产生的差别。这个例子颇有意思,即中国大陆对于法官应当留意产生文化多样性因素的要求,为书面要求。

澳大利亚法律改革委员会的调查

如前所述,澳大利亚法律改革委员会目前正在对该国司法公正原则和规范司法偏见的法律进行调查[关于法律改革和法律改革机构的讨论,见《商法》第12辑第2期:《法律改革》]。该调查的职权范围(即委员会要考虑的问题)如下:

. 现行法律对于司法决策者实际或推定偏见的有关规定,是否仍然适当并足以维持公众对司法的信心;

. 现行法律是否为决策者、法律界和公众提供了适当和充分的清晰度,使其了解如何处理潜在的冲突和偏袒观念;

. 提出有关实际或推定偏见的指控,并对这些指控作出决定,目前相关的机制是否充分和适当,包括在审查和上诉机制方面;以及

. 与本职权范围有关的任何其他事项。

有趣的是,招致该调查的因素之一是澳大利亚的一个家庭法案件。法官没有披露与其中一方的律师有过私下接触,包括私下饮酒和社交。该案中,就私下接触是否引发法官偏见的问题,当事人提出了上诉,目前正在向澳大利亚高等法院(该国的终审法院)提出进一步上诉。

葛安德 Andrew Godwin

葛安德以前是年利达律师事务所上海代表处合伙人,现在墨尔本法学院教授法律,担任该法学院亚洲法研究中心的副主任。葛安德目前被借调到澳大利亚法律改革委员会担任特别顾问,协助其调查该国公司和金融服务方面的法规。葛安德的著作《商法词汇:法律概念的翻译和诠释》重新汇编了其在本刊“商法词汇”专栏撰写的所有文章。该书由Vantage Asia出版。如欲订购,请即登录 www.vantageasia.com

Judicial impartiality

0
66

Public trust and confidence in a legal system rely heavily on the judicial system and, in particular, on the way in which judges conduct themselves, both inside and outside the courts. This column discusses the concept of judicial impartiality by reference to internationally recognised principles, and the rules that apply in two jurisdictions – the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region and mainland China. It then outlines a current inquiry into judicial impartiality in Australia by the Australian Law Reform Commission.

The concept of judicial impartiality, which includes the need for judges to avoid bias and conflicts of interest, is an integral element of the notion of justice. As this column has previously noted, the notion of justice has often been depicted in Western culture in the form of a blindfolded lady, Lady Justice, who carries a sword and a set of scales. The blindfold represents objectivity and impartiality, and the concept that everybody is equal before the law.

The scales represent the need to weigh or balance the evidence on both sides of a dispute before arriving at a decision, reflecting the concept of fairness. The sword represents swift and final punishment, and is usually held with the blade pointed downwards, or below the scales, to show that the weighing of evidence precedes punishment (for a discussion about justice, see China Business Law Journal volume 11, issue 7: The notion of justice).

The need for judges to be impartial, and for the public to have confidence in the impartiality of judges, is also reflected in the dress that judges wear in court (for a discussion about court dress, see China Business Law Journal volume 10, issue 9: Wigs and robes).

Like other people, however, judges are vulnerable to natural biases as a result of their personal background and world view. It is therefore important for judges to minimise the risk that their judgment will be influenced by natural biases by receiving training and increasing their awareness of areas in which natural biases may arise. One area in which judicial training is becoming increasingly important is strengthening judicial awareness of cultural diversity (for a discussion about this area, see China Business Law Journal volume 11, issue 3: Culture in the courtroom).

International principles

The Bangalore Principles of Judicial Conduct arose following a meeting that was held in 2002 between a group of judges from both common law and civil law jurisdictions. When the Bangalore principles were endorsed by the UN Commission on Human Rights in April 2003, they became an important statement of internationally recognised principles to guide judges in respect of their conduct. The Bangalore principles identify six core values: Independence; impartiality, integrity; propriety; equality; and competence and diligence. Each of these values is supported by relevant principles.

In relation to impartiality (Value 2), the Bangalore principles identified the following principle:

Impartiality is essential to the proper discharge of the judicial office. It applies not only to the decision itself, but also to the process by which the decision is made.

The above-mentioned principle reflects the notion that justice must not only be done, it must also be seen to be done. It also reflects the reality that the process by which a decision is made not only affects the decision itself, but also the way in which the fairness of the decision is perceived by those who are affected, and the broader public.

Hong Kong SAR

The concept of judicial impartiality is expressly incorporated into the judicial codes of conduct or ethics in many jurisdictions. In the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region, the Guide to Judicial Conduct provides as follows:

11. Three guiding principles are relevant to any consideration of judicial conduct. First, a judge must be independent. Second, a judge must be impartial. Third, a judge must display integrity and propriety in all matters of conduct, both in and out of court.

18. Impartiality is the fundamental quality required of a judge. Judges should conduct themselves in and out of court in a way that maintains confidence in their impartiality and that of the Judiciary.

19 Justice must be done and must be seen to be done. Impartiality must exist both as a matter of fact and as a matter of reasonable perception. If partiality is reasonably perceived, that perception is likely to leave a sense of grievance and of injustice having been done, which is destructive of confidence in judicial decisions.

20 The perception of impartiality is measured by the standard of a reasonable, fair-minded and well-informed person, as discussed more fully in relation to questions of apparent bias.

21 A perception that a judge is not impartial may arise in a number of ways, for instance, by a perceived conflict of interest, by the judge’s behaviour on the bench, or by the judge’s out-of-court associations and activities.

(for the Chinese version, see https://www.judiciary.hk/doc/zh/publications/gjc_c.pdf )

Paragraph 19 expresses the need for impartiality to exist, both as a matter of fact and also as a matter of reasonable perception. Paragraph 20 confirms that an objective standard is applied in measuring the perception of impartiality, and refers to the question of apparent bias. Similar to the rules in other common law jurisdictions, the rules in Hong Kong provide that judges should be disqualified from hearing a case not only if there is actual bias, but also if there is apparent (or apprehended) bias. The rule in respect of apparent bias is as follows:

A particular judge is disqualified from sitting if the circumstances are such as would lead a reasonable, fair-minded and well-informed observer to conclude that there is a real possibility that the judge would be biased.

Two key questions arise out of this rule – the specific criteria that should be applied to determine whether there is apparent bias on the part of a judge; and the process by which a judge should be disqualified in circumstances that involve apparent bias.

Mainland China

The rules governing the conduct of judges in mainland China also recognise the requirement of judicial impartiality. In 2010, the Supreme People’s Court issued the Basic Rules on Professional Ethics of Judges of the People’s Republic of China. These rules include the following provision in respect of judicial impartiality and recusal for apparent bias:

Article 1

When performing their duties, judges must achieve substantive impartiality and procedural impartiality, and reflect impartiality through their words and deeds inside and outside the court, so as to prevent the public from having reasonable doubts about judicial impartiality.

Article 3

During trial activities, apart from consciously abiding by the recusal system as provided by law, if judges believe that the public may have reasonable doubts about the impartiality of [their] judgment in respect of a case that they are hearing, they should make a request that it is not appropriate [for them] to hear the case.

In 2011, the Supreme People’s Court issued the Provisions on Several Issues Concerning the Implementation of the Recusal System of Judges in Litigation Activities. The provisions are expressed to be issued “to further regulate the recusal conduct of judges in litigation, and safeguard judicial impartiality”, and set out rules of conduct for judges to follow, including a prohibition on meeting separately with a party or its representative:

Article 8

During trial activities, a judge must not privately meet with a party or its representative alone.

A similar provision appears in article 32(12) of the Judges Law.

Under article 10, judges must treat the parties equally and must not express any prejudice through their words or actions. In addition, judges must pay sufficient attention to differences arising out of factors such as nationality, race, religious beliefs and educational levels. This is an interesting example of a written requirement for judges to be aware of the factors that create cultural diversity.

Australia Law Reform Commission inquiry

As noted at the beginning of this column, the Australian Law Reform Commission is currently conducting an inquiry into the principle of judicial impartiality and the law governing judicial bias in Australia (for a discussion about law reform and law reform bodies, see China Business Law Journal volume 12, issue 2: Law reform). The Terms of Reference for the Inquiry, i.e., the questions to be considered by the commission, are as follows:

. Whether the existing law about actual or apprehended bias relating to judicial decision-making remains appropriate and sufficient to maintain public confidence in the administration of justice;

. Whether the existing law provides appropriate and sufficient clarity to decision-makers, the legal profession and the community about how to manage potential conflicts and perceptions of partiality;

. Whether current mechanisms for raising allegations of actual or apprehended bias, and deciding those allegations, are sufficient and appropriate, including in the context of review and appeal mechanisms; and

. Any other matters related to these terms of reference.

Interestingly, one of the factors that led to the Inquiry was a family law case in Australia in which the judge had failed to disclose private contact, consisting of private drinks and social interactions, with the counsel for one of the parties. The case was appealed on the question of whether the private contact gave rise to a reasonable apprehension of bias on the part of the judge, and is currently the subject of a further appeal to the High Court, which is the final appeal court in Australia.

葛安德 Andrew Godwin

A former partner of Linklaters Shanghai, Andrew Godwin teaches law at Melbourne Law School in Australia, where he is an associate director of its Asian Law Centre. Andrew is currently on secondment to the ALRC as special counsel to assist with its inquiry into corporations and financial services regulation. Andrew’s new book is a compilation of China Business Law Journal’s popular Lexicon series, entitled China Lexicon: Defining and translating legal terms. The book is published by Vantage Asia and available at www.vantageasia.com