企业法务之长

0
26

在与法律专业人士交谈时,我们经常听说有律所合伙人在成为企业法务后,经历了意想不到的艰难过渡期。许多人以为这些角色只是名称不同,功能大致相同。会产生这种不适感,是由于企业法务和外部律师之间存在微妙的、难以被察觉的差异。张韵凝报道

此前,《商法》评选出中国法律市场领先的企业法务个人及团队。我们进一步调查了他们追求卓越的方法和策略,探寻他们成功背后的秘诀。

我们将优秀企业法务的反馈与“法律精英”中律所执业律师在类似反馈中最常提到的关键词作出对比。尽管法务和执业律师提出的习惯多有共通之处,但前者在企业的角色注定了其独特之处。在本文中,我们将对比企业法务与执业律师取得成功所需技能的共同点与差别,希望能为初来乍到的法务新手们提供借鉴。

共通之处

1.出色的法律专业知识

几乎一半的受访者认为,一名优秀的企业法务必须要有出色的法律专业知识。中科创达软件的法律合规部总监刘丽认为,“企业法务的最大价值是用专业知识结合业务实践,最终为企业进行有效的风险管控并提供可行的解决方案。”

企业法务之长 刘丽

但是,法务的做法与专注特定执业领域的律师稍有区别。由于企业业务众多,涉及税务、融资、合规等不同领域的法律,特别是与其经营所述行业相关的法规,因此中国船舶集团的政策法规部法律处处长孙春涛建议,“[企业法务]应具有较强的综合法律专业知识”。

随着近年中国企业发展迅速,不断向国际扩张,它们开始面临更多的涉外和跨境挑战。厦门建发集团法律事务部总经理李玉鹏表示,法务须有“涉外法律专业能力,以便帮助企业能够在境外市场上开展业务” 。

2.学习的欲望

商业世界日新月异,管理商业的法规亦是如此。京东方科技集团的首席法务官冯莉琼说:“企业法务应当认识到经验很可能是陷阱,用旧地图找不到新大陆,在工作中应不被既有观点和经验催眠。”她又补充,法务工作应当与行业创新一起更新升级,不断学习新知、拓宽视野,紧跟业务变化。

企业法务之长 冯莉琼

不断进取的心态,意味着学习新知不应局限于法律行业本身。长江绿色基金的风控合规高级经理牟男建议,法务应该具有“快速学习其他专业领域的能力”。

3.口语化的沟通

中科创达软件的刘丽认为:“具备较强的专业基础知识的人很多,但是可以有效沟通的人才还是比较难求。”

这就引出一个问题,企业法务要如何有效地沟通?不少获奖者提议,要把复杂的法律转变为通俗的语言。IBM(中国)的法务总监卓雨浓建议 “用简单的方式呈现复杂的事物”。

通力电梯的大中华区副总裁及总法律顾问陈洲强调,法务沟通的对象大部分不是律师。特百惠(中国)的法务总监魏静建议“将法律概念和要求翻译成通用的语言,业务团队理解并抓住重点”。

企业法务之长 魏静

最后,北京国际度假区主题公园和度假区管理分公司的法务合规高级副总裁云轩提醒,要留意沟通时的态度,“在同理心和自信之间取得良好的平衡”。

不同的维度

1.以企业为导向 V 以客户为导向

根据我们之前对“法律精英”获奖者的调查,精英律师认为满足客户的需求是他们的首要任务。但对于企业法务而言,当然只有一位客户:其所在的公司。

交银金融租赁的航运租赁部副总经理及航运租赁法律合规部总经理范琳娜说,法务身份意味着这一工作不只限于律师的角色,而是从管理视角,“确保[公司]业务的整体发展”。

高济医疗集团的总法律顾问宋皓认为,要“熟悉自身[公司]所在行业的特点和规律”。

企业法务之长 马兰

奇安信科技集团的首席法律顾问马兰则建议:“[企业法务应该]深入了解公司业务逻辑和商业模式,评估法律风险并给出可落地执行的解决方案。”

2.全局意识

企业法务的工作重心不再是“打官司”,而是平衡风险与利润,协助公司实现盈利目标。北京小罐茶业的法务总监周永馨说:“具备全局意识,才能做出正确决策。”

企业法务之长 陈陆敏

哔哩哔哩的法务总监陈陆敏则认为,有全局意识必然会快人一步,“就其中可能产生的合规问题,[企业法务]必须想在业务之前”。

当视野从局部向全局展开后,单方面的胜利未必是公司的最优解决方案。高济医药的总部顾问律师李雅婷说:“要有双赢的格局和思考问题的方式,从而促进快速高效的交易。”

3.领导能力

作为一名律所的合伙人,团队规模可能仅几十人,而一名企业法务带领的成员可能增加数倍。中国国际金融的法律合规部负责人兼合规总监周佳兴领导一个逾230人组成的合规团队,成员来自不同的国家和地区。面对如此庞大复杂的队伍,过人的领导能力必不可少。

以往,企业法务就像一名“消防员”,鲜少需要主动筛查已有的漏洞。金佰利(中国)的前亚太副总法律顾问及中国总法律顾问黄妍认为,这种刻板印象正在被颠覆,“如今,法务更多地是成为核心领导层不可或缺的一部分,要制定战略与管理决策,”她说。

企业法务之长 黄妍

北京汽车的总法律顾问张祖原认为,这些领导能力包括“体系建设能力”。通力电梯的陈洲表示,这种能力还包括“获得管理团队和法律部门高级成员信任的能力”。

4.跨界思维

企业经营涉及不同法律范畴的各类问题,因此“除了诉讼、民商事法律、还需要掌握金融合规、反垄断、反洗钱等各种交叉领域知识”,建银国际(中国)的法律合规部负责人于湜玄如是说。

企业法务之长 龚琳

作为商业机构的法务,具备商业应用的思维至关重要。雅生活智慧城市服务的法务中心总经理龚琳说:“除了在法言法,更应在法言商,服务公司的发展战略,实现法律和商业的多元价值。”

有人担心,若过多偏重商业考量,会降低法务一职的专业性。但胜科投资的中国区总法律顾问梁飞以自己的成长轨迹为例子,反驳这种观点。他说自己曾局限于法律合规范围,视野相对较窄,直到近年加强与商务、财务部门的沟通,“看问题会更贴近业务实质,从而更好地在防范风险的基础上促进交易”。

5.合规风险管理

2018年,中国两大科技巨头华为与中兴先后被美国制裁,引发中国企业对海外合规运营的前所未有的重视。国内亦步亦趋,加强对龙头企业在垄断、海外上市、数据保护等方面的调查。大部分法务都敏锐地感受到后果,近七成的反馈提及 “合规” 的重要性。

企业法务之长 张瀚涛

哈尔滨电气国际工程的副总法律顾问及法律合规部部长张瀚涛认为:“随着企业合规重要性的日益提升,合规管理已经成为公司法务的一项重要工作内容和富有挑战性的全新业务领域。”

为了配合这种趋势发展,晨曦控股的法务合规部副总经理赵丽说,自己的工作模式已由被动变为主动,“在项目初期就提供专业法律意见提供解决方案,规避风险”。

鉴于日益复杂的地缘政治环境,腾讯的高级法律顾问贺环豪认为,法务必须掌握“全面的境内外监管法规知识”,并且根据投资行业的不同,调整关注重点,“例如哪些行业需要重点关注被投企业的商业贿赂合规风险,哪些行业则重点关注个人信息保护合规风险”。

6.变化

责任越多,对专业能力的要求也越高。如浙江华友钴业的法务总监张江波所言,他们已“从事务处理型法务转型为管理型法务,从成本型法务转型为价值创造性法务,从日常经营法务转型为战略规划法务”。

最近,世达国际律师事务所前高级合伙人高准加入字节跳动,担任首席财务官,用自己的亲身经历鼓励业界,优秀的律师亦是企业高管的合适人选。对于有意转换跑道的律师而言,法务并不是唯一的选择。

Law.asia subscripton ad blue 2022

In-house specialty

0
74

When speaking to legal professionals, we often hear of a certain partner at a law firm experiencing an unexpectedly difficult transitional period after becoming a corporate’s in-house counsel, even though the roles are assumed by many to be different in name only, but largely identical in function. This is due to the relatively subtle, unperceived differences between an in-house counsel and an external lawyer. Winny Zhang reports

P

reviously, China Business Law Journal unveiled the leading in-house counsel and corporate legal teams in the Chinese legal market, and we also surveyed them on their methods and strategies for striving for excellence, in order to unravel the necessary skills for their success.

We compared their feedback with the keywords for becoming an elite lawyer, as submitted by the A-List lawyers. Although there are many commonalities between the habits proposed by in-house counsel and practising lawyers, the former’s role as part of the corporation lends them a unique perspective. In this article, we will cover the chief skills required to succeed as an in-house counsel as compared to a lawyer at a law firm, both the common ground and the differences, in hopes that they provide insights for newcomers to the profession.

SHARED SKILLSETS

1.Excellent legal expertise

Almost half of the survey respondents point out that an excellent in-house counsel must have excellent legal expertise. Liu Li, director of legal compliance department at Thunder Software Technology, believes that “the greatest value of an in-house counsel is being able to combine business practice with professional legal knowledge, and then provide feasible solutions to prevent crises and mitigate risks.”

Liu-Li-Thunder-Software-Technology-quote

However, a general counsel’s practice is slightly different to that of lawyers, who tend to focus on a specific area, or specialty. Given that most enterprises involve laws in areas such as taxation, financing, compliance and in particular regulations related to their specific industries, Sun Chuntao, head of legal division, policy and regulation division at China State Shipbuilding, advises that: “[in-house counsel] should have comprehensive legal knowledge.”

As Chinese companies rapidly grow their businesses, with many expanding internationally in recent years, they have begun to face a growing number of foreign-related and cross-border challenges. Li Yupeng, general manager of Xiamen C&D’s legal department, says an in-house counsel must “have overseas legal expertise to help companies carry out business in foreign markets”.

2.Appetite for learning

The world of business world is ever-shifting, as are the regulations governing all activities. “You cannot find new land on an old map,” cautions Feng Liqiong, chief legal officer of BOE Technology Group. “In-house counsel should realise that experience can also be a trap, and must not be content with established opinions and past successes.” She says that in-house counsel should stay up to date with industry innovations, keeping up with business changes by constantly learning new things and broadening personal horizons.

In-house specialty Feng Liqiong

The mindset for constant improvement is not limited to the legal profession. Mou Nan, legal & compliance senior manager at Yangtze Green Fund, advises that in-house counsel should be able to “quickly grasp the knowledge of other professional fields”.

3.Colloquial communication

Liu Li, at Thunder Software Technology, points out the significant advantage offered by good communicative skills. “There is no shortage of talented minds with professional knowledge, but precious few of them can convey that knowledge effectively,” says Liu.

This begs the question, how exactly do in-house counsel communicate effectively? Several recipients of our In-house Counsel Awards promote the method of translating complex laws into layman’s terms. Marlene Toh, counsel of IBM (China), suggests to “present complicated matters in a simple way”.

In-house specialty Nancy Wei

Brian Chen, vice president and general counsel of Greater China at KONE, stresses that most of the communication targets of in-house counsel are not lawyers, while Nancy Wei, legal director of Tupperware China, recommends “translating legal concepts and requirements into common language for business teams to understand and get the point”.

Finally, Shawn Yun, senior vice president of legal compliance at Beijing International Resort Theme Park and Resort Management Branch, advises attention to attitude during discussions. “Keep a balance between empathy and assertiveness,” he says.

DIFFERENT DYNAMICS

1. Corporate-oriented v client-oriented

Elite lawyers, according to our previous survey conducted on A-List winners, consider clients’ needs their top priority. But to an in-house counsel, of course, there is only one client: his or her own company.

Fan Linna, deputy head and general counsel of shipping finance at Bank of Communications Financial Leasing, says that an in-house counsel is no longer just a lawyer, but must “ensure the overall development of the [company’s] business” from a managerial perspective.

Song Hao, general legal counsel of Cowell Health Group, believes it is crucial “to be familiar with the industrial traits and logic of the [company’s] field of operation”.

Ma Lan, general counsel of QI-ANXIN Technology Group, says: “[In-house counsel should] develop insight into the business logic and model before evaluating legal risks and proposing practical solutions.”

In-house specialty Ma Lan

2. Holistic view

The work of an in-house counsel no longer revolves around litigation, but a trade-off between risk and profit to push a company to hit its profitability targets. Zhou Yongxin, the legal director of Beijing Xiaoguan Cha, advises: “Only with a sense of the bigger picture can we make the right decisions.”

Chen Lumin, legal director of Bilibili, believes that having a comprehensive awareness will certainly help in-house counsel stay one step ahead. “[In-house counsel] must anticipate any compliance issues ahead of the carrying out of the business.”

In-house specialty Chen Lumin

From the expanded perspective, a one-sided victory may not assuredly be the optimal solution for the company. “Have a win-win pattern and a way to think about problems, so as to facilitate transactions quickly and efficiently,” Li Yating checked, in-house legal counsel of Cowell Health Group, sums up thus.

3. Leadership skills

A law firm’s partner may have a team of a few dozen people, while an in-house counsel may potentially lead several times that number. Joe Zhou, head of the legal and compliance department and compliance director of CICC, has a team of 230 people in different countries and regions. To lead such a massive team, extraordinary leadership skills are indispensable.

In the past, in-house counsel was seen as the “firefighter” of the company, rarely taking the initiative to screen for existing loopholes prior to trouble. According to Shelly Huang, formerly the APAC deputy general counsel & China general counsel of Kimberly-Clark, the stereotype is being overturned. “Nowadays, legal counsel are more of an indispensable part of the core leadership involved in the strategic and managerial decisions,” she says.

Zhang Zuyuan, general counsel and chief compliance officer of BAIC Motor, believes that these leadership skills should include “system-building capabilities”. Brian Chen, at KONE, says the ability to “command the confidence of the senior members of the management team and the law department”.

In-house specialty Shelly HuangBusiness operations often involve various issues in different legal fields. “In addition to litigation, civil and commercial law, it is necessary to master various cross-domain knowledge such as financial compliance, antitrust and anti-money laundering,” says Yu Shixuan, the officer in charge of legal and compliance division at CCB International (China).

As an in-house counsel for a commercial organisation, a business application mindset is essential. “Apart from ensuring legality, we must also enable our legal work to serve the business,” says Gong Lin, general manager of the legal centre of A-Living Smart City Services. “We serve the company’s development strategy to deliver the multiple values in law and business.”

While there are concerns that over-reliance on in-house counsel in commercial considerations would compromise their professionalism, Allen Liang, general counsel at Sembcorp (China), disagrees, referring to his own path of growth. Liang says he once was confined within legal compliance and had a relatively narrow perspective until he strengthened communication with his company’s commercial and financial departments in recent years. These changes helped him “remain practical to the nature of the business, thus better able to promote transactions on the basis of risk prevention”.

In-house specialty Gong Lin

4. Management of compliance risks

In 2018, two Chinese tech giants, Huawei and ZTE, were sanctioned by the US, triggering Chinese corporates’ unprecedented emphasis on overseas compliance. China’s authorities also enhanced regulation, initiating investigations on leading companies for monopoly, overseas listings and data protection. The ramifications were keenly felt by most legal counsel, with nearly 70% of the feedback mentioning the importance of “compliance”.

Zhang Hantao, deputy general counsel and director of Harbin Electric International, says: “With greater importance of corporate compliance, compliance management has become an essential part of an in-house counsel’s responsibility and a new challenging area of business.”

In keeping with the trend, Zhao Li, vice general manager of the legal and compliance department of Chenxifunds, says her work pattern has changed from being reactive to proactive. “We provide professional legal advice at the early stage of a project to avoid risks,” she says.

Given the increasingly complex geopolitical environment, Tencent’s senior legal counsel, He Huanhao, says in-house counsel must have a “comprehensive knowledge of domestic and foreign regulations”, and adjust focus depending on the industry in which the company is investing. “For example, which industry requires us to focus on compliance risks of commercial bribery, and which highlights the compliance risks of personal information protection.”

In-house specialty Zhang Hantao

5. A transformation

With more responsibility taken on comes higher requirements for professional capabilities. Zhang Jiangbo, legal director of Zhejiang Huayou Cobalt, says that in-house counsel in general “have transformed from being transaction-oriented to management-oriented, from cost controllers to value creators, and from day-to-day operators to strategic planners”.

The inspirational news of Julie Gao, the former senior partner at Skadden, joining ByteDance as its chief financial officer, also demonstrates that an accomplished lawyer can be a suitable candidate for corporate senior management, and in-house counsel is hardly the only option for lawyers wishing for a change of scenery.

Law.asia subscripton ad red 2022