香港和中国内地完善仲裁裁决的相互执行

0
51
HK, mainland enhance arbitral award enforcement, 香港和中国内地完善仲裁裁决的相互执行

自2000年2月1日起实施的《内地与香港特别行政区相互执行仲裁裁决的安排》一直是两地仲裁裁决执行的法律依据,成功为两个不同管辖区的裁决的执行提供了一个有效的机制。

2020年11月27日,《内地与香港特别行政区相互执行仲裁裁决的补充安排》签署,修改了原《安排》的四个方面,使《安排》的规定进一步与国际仲裁的现行惯例接轨。其中部分修改立即生效,其他规定则在2021年5月19日起生效。其中一个重要的修改规定,只要两地法院执行财产的总额不超过裁决确定的数额,申请执行人可以同时向两地法院申请执行。原《安排》则不允许同时执行。

在遵守执行财产的总额不得超过裁决确定数额的原则下,申请执行人可同时在内地和香港申请执行裁决。如被执行人在两地均有资产,且任一地的资产都低于裁决金额时,申请人通常难以决定先在哪地申请执行。有了这一条款,申请执行人则不再需要决定先在哪地申请执行。

《补充安排》另有一条款明确规定在内地申请执行的当事人可在内地法院受理执行仲裁裁决申请之前或者之后申请保全措施或者强制措施。

现在,根据《安排》,在内地做出的所有仲裁裁决均可以得到执行。而在修订前的《安排》下,只有少数获得认可的内地仲裁机构所做的裁决才能在香港得到执行。

香港的仲裁裁决必须在获得认可之后才能在内地被执行。此外,可在香港执行的内地仲裁裁决也能够以其它事由获得认可(如,在诉讼中作为辩护依据)。

随着1997年7月1日香港回归中国,中国政府将《纽约公约》的适用范围拓展到香港。但有关香港与内地的仲裁裁决的相互执行的事宜不再适用《纽约公约》。

2000年2月1日起实施的《安排》解决了这一问题。《安排》既遵循了1997年7月1日前两地之间的执行惯例,也符合《纽约公约》的精神,成功建立了一个有效的执行机制。

2020年11月27日,《内地与香港特别行政区相互执行仲裁裁决的补充安排》签署,《补充安排》修改了原《安排》的四个方面,具体如下:

(1) 执行申请人可同时在内地和香港申请执行,前提是两地法院执行财产的总额不得超过裁决确定的数额。此前的《安排》则不允许同时执行,申请人须决定先在哪地申请执行。在这种情况下,申请人往往花费数年时间在一地申请执行但仍没有成功,这种机制可能让仲裁裁决因失去时效而无法在另一地执行。

(2)《补充安排》增加了一个条款,明确规定申请执行人可在法院受理执行仲裁裁决申请之前或者之后申请保全措施或者强制措施,这使《安排》能够与许多内地法院的操作保持一致。

(3) 将仲裁裁决的范围与《纽约公约》定义的国际通用的“仲裁地”定义保持一致。根据原《安排》,只有少数获得认可的内地仲裁机构根据《中华人民共和国仲裁法》做出的仲裁裁决能在香港法院执行。《补充安排》删除了这一限制,现在,所有在内地做出的仲裁裁决均在《安排》的范围内。

(4)《补充安排》在仲裁裁决的执行前面加上“认可”,明确规定香港的仲裁裁决在内地执行前必须先获得认可,这一程序在此前并没有定论。此外,尽管《仲裁条例》(第609章)已经规定能够在香港执行的内地裁决可以以其他事由获“认可”,《安排》也对此做出了明文规定。

在内地,《补充安排》已通过2020年11月27日颁布的司法解释生效。在香港,上文第(2)和(4)款修改在2020年11月27日生效,对于第(1)和(3)款修改,因须要先对《仲裁条例》(第609章)的相关章节做出修改,所以这两项修改于2021年5月19日实施。

《补充安排》的修改遵循了《纽约公约》的精神,使《安排》进一步与国际仲裁的现行惯例接轨。这些成果将有利于香港法律和争端解决服务在粤港澳大湾区的发展。


《商法摘要》由贝克·麦坚时国际律师事务所协助提供,内容仅供参考之用。读者如欲开展与本栏内容相关之工作,须寻求专业法律意见。 读者可通过以下电邮与贝克·麦坚时联系:吴昊(上海)howard.wu@bakermckenzie.com

HK, mainland enhance arbitral award enforcement

0
91
HK, mainland enhance arbitral award enforcement, 香港和中国内地完善仲裁裁决的相互执行

Since 1 February 2000, enforcement of arbitral awards between the mainland and Hong Kong has been governed by a separate arrangement, which has successfully provided an effective mechanism of enforcing awards between the two jurisdictions.

On 27 November 2020, a supplemental arrangement was signed, amending four aspects of the original arrangement to bring it further in line with current practice in international arbitration. Some amendments became effective immediately, while others became effective on 19 May 2021. Importantly, award creditors will be able to seek enforcement of an award in both jurisdictions simultaneously, as long as the total amount to be recovered does not exceed the amount determined in the award. Simultaneous enforcement was prohibited under the original arrangement.

1. Award creditors may apply for enforcement of an award simultaneously on the mainland and in Hong Kong, subject to the principle that the total amount to be recovered from enforcement must not exceed the amount determined in the award. Accordingly, creditors no longer need to decide where to attempt enforcement first, which can be a difficult decision when a debtor has assets in both jurisdictions, and each alone is insufficient for satisfying the award.

2. An express provision has been added to the arrangement where creditors seeking enforcement on the mainland may apply for preservation or mandatory measures before or after the mainland court’s acceptance of an enforcement application.

3. All arbitral awards made on the mainland can now be enforced under the arrangement. Previously, only awards made by certain recognised mainland arbitral authorities were enforceable in Hong Kong under the arrangement.

4. It is now clear that Hong Kong awards have to be recognised before they can be enforced in mainland China. Moreover, a mainland award that is enforceable in Hong Kong can now also be recognised for other purposes (e.g., to rely on it in court proceedings by way of defence).

Upon Hong Kong’s return to China on 1 July 1997, the central government extended the territorial application of the New York Convention to Hong Kong. However, the New York Convention no longer applied to enforcement of arbitral awards between Hong Kong and the mainland.

This situation was remedied by the Arrangement Concerning Mutual Enforcement of Arbitral Awards between the Mainland and the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region, which has been in effect since 1 February 2000. The arrangement has followed the practice between the two jurisdictions before 1 July 1997, and the spirit of the New York Convention, and has successfully provided an effective enforcement mechanism.

On 27 November 2020, the Supplemental Arrangement Concerning Mutual Enforcement of Arbitral Awards between the Mainland and the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region was signed, amending four aspects of the arrangement, as follows:

(1) An award creditor may simultaneously apply for enforcement on the mainland and in Hong Kong, subject to the principle that the total amount to be recovered from enforcement must not exceed the amount determined in the award. Under the previous regime, simultaneous enforcement was prohibited, which required award creditors to decide in which jurisdiction to seek enforcement first. Where creditors had spent years trying to enforce the award in one jurisdiction without success, this prohibition put them at risk of a subsequent enforcement action in the other jurisdiction being time-barred.

(2) It brings the arrangement in line with the practice of many mainland courts by adding an express provision clarifying that an award creditor may apply for preservation or mandatory measures before or after the court’s acceptance of an enforcement application.

(3) It aligns the definition of the scope of arbitral awards with the prevalent international approach of “seat of arbitration” under the New York Convention. Under the arrangement’s original wording, only awards made pursuant to the Arbitration Law by certain recognised mainland arbitral authorities could be enforced by the Hong Kong courts. The amendment has removed the restriction of enforcement to awards made by certain recognised mainland arbitral authorities, so that all arbitral awards made on the mainland fall under the arrangement.

(4) It adds the term “recognition” to the arrangement when referring to enforcement of arbitral awards, clarifying that Hong Kong awards have to be recognised before they can be enforced on the mainland, which was previously controversial. Moreover, while Hong Kong’s Arbitration Ordinance (Cap. 609) already provided that a mainland award that is enforceable will also be recognised for other purposes, this is now also made clear in the arrangement itself.

On the mainland, the supplemental arrangement has been implemented by way of a judicial interpretation, promulgated on 27 November 2020. In Hong Kong, amendments under above-mentioned (2) and (4) came into effect on 27 November 2020, whereas amendments under (1) and (3) came into effect on 19 May 2021, as the relevant sections of the Arbitration Ordinance (Cap. 609) had to be amended first.

The supplemental arrangement was made in alignment with the spirit of the New York Convention, and seeks to bring the arrangement further in line with current practice in international arbitration. These developments will be conducive to the development of Hong Kong’s legal and dispute resolution services in the Guangdong-Hong Kong-Macau Greater Bay Area.


Business Law Digest is compiled with the assistance of Baker McKenzie. Readers should not act on this information without seeking professional legal advice. You can contact Baker McKenzie by e-mailing Howard Wu (Shanghai) at howard.wu@bakermckenzie.com