香港扩展仲裁当事人付费选择

0
304
香港扩展仲裁当事人付费选择
LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link

2022年12月16日起,香港律师可与他们代表的仲裁当事人签署与结果有关的收费架构(ORFS)协议,如按条件收费协议或胜诉收费安排,让当事人可选择不同方式支付法律费用。

鉴于越来越多的当事人呼吁采用更灵活的收费安排,且其他主要仲裁地已准许类似的收费安排,新制度不仅满足了市场需求,也是保持和扩大香港的竞争优势迈出的重要一步。

新的架构允许在仲裁中采用三类ORFS安排,即:

按条件收费协议(CFA)
按损害赔偿收费协议(DBA)
以及混合式按损害赔偿收费协议(混合式DBA)

如订立CFA协议,当事人仅在仲裁取得“成果”的情况下向律师支付费用,否则不支付费用或仅支付低金额;如订立DBA协议,律师按客户在仲裁中取得的财务利益的百分比收取费用;如订立混合式DBA协议,则结合两种收费方式。订立CFA协议时,当事人可自行与律师约定何种情形达成相关事宜的“成功成果”。

此前,上述收费安排因普通法的助讼和包揽诉讼罪而被禁止。在经过一系列咨询和法规制定后,ORFS规则于2022年12月16日起全面实施,适用于仲裁地在香港的仲裁(包括关联的法院或调解程序,以及紧急仲裁员开展的仲裁)以及仲裁地不在香港但有香港法律执业人员参与的仲裁。

ORFS让律师和当事人能够签订更灵活的费用协议,也让希望通过仲裁解决争议的当事人有了更多付费选项。ORFS能够帮助当事人做出更符合预算的财务安排。同时,签订ORFS协议,当事人与律师分担风险,也为当事人减轻了风险。

相比于新加坡,香港的ORFS新规范围更广,因前者只准许CFA安排。这一进展无疑将提升香港作为全球领先仲裁中心的地位,也将刺激香港的申索和仲裁数量。

深入分析

香港通过修订《仲裁条例》(第609章)和《法律执业者条例》(第159章),并订立《仲裁(与仲裁结果有关的收费架构)规则》(第609D章)(下称《规则》),在法律上确立了ORFS制度。

除人身伤害申索外,律师可与仲裁当事人签订以下几种类型的ORFS安排:

  • CFA:当事人在仲裁中取得“成果”的情况下向律师支付成功收费。如果没有取得成果,不支付费用或减少律师费。成功收费必须以“基准收费”(即如果没有订立ORFS安排的情况下律师会收取的费用)的百分比表达。

何种情形构成成果须由双方约定,并在CFA协议中述明。成果通常包含客户能够获得的“财务利益”。财务利益包括金钱或金钱的等值,即可约化为金钱价值的任何其他代价。它包括根据任何裁决或和解协议的负债款额,也包括潜在法律责任的任何规避或减少(对对方的申索作出成功抗辩的情况)。

成功收费的“额外收费”部分不得超过基准收费的100%。换言之,在CFA协议下,律师能够收取的最高费用是平常费用的两倍。

  • DBA:律师在仲裁过程中不收费,但收取DBA费用,即按当事人在仲裁中获得的财务利益的一定比例收费。DBA款额的计算必须参照财务利益,是在可予追讨的讼费以外而须额外支付的费用。DBA款额不得超过财务利益的50%。DBA协议须述明所关乎的财务利益、DBA费用的计算基准、须在何时支付DBA费用,以及关乎大律师收费的任何安排。
  • 混合式DBA:在任何情况下,当事人为律师提供的法律服务支付一笔费用(以不可追讨的讼费的50%为限额)(下称“上限款额”)。如当事人获得财务利益,还须支付DBA费用,限额为当事人所获财务利益的50%。

如DBA费用低于“上限款额”,律师可选择收取“上限款额”,取代DBA费用。

混合式DBA协议除须满足适用于DBA协议的要求外,还须述明在仲裁期间须支付的费用,以及基准收费。

《规则》还制定了适用于所有ORFS收费类别的一般要求,比如,协议必须:

    1. 以书面作出,由律师和当事人签署;
    2. 述明该协议所关乎的事宜;
    3. 述明在何情况下,该律师的收费及开支须予支付,代垫付费用是否须支付;
    4. 述明该律师已告知该当事人有权在订立协议前寻求独立法律意见;
    5. 述明在订立该协议的日期后不少于七日的冷静期内,当事人可以书面通知终止该协议,无须为此招致法律责任;以及
    6. 述明该协议可提前终止的理由,以及在此情况下如何支付律师费用。

《规则》还提供了不同形式的保障,包括胜诉当事人可追讨费用的限额。法律的默认立场是,仲裁庭不可命令一方向胜诉方支付成功收费的额外收费部分。但如果出现特殊情况,仲裁庭认为作出此等命令合理的情况下,仲裁庭可命令支付费用。

ORFS制度是一项重大进展,考虑到有些当事人有合法申诉,但缺乏财务资源,ORFS制度的建立能够促进司法资源的利用。


《商法摘要》由贝克·麦坚时国际律师事务所协助提供,内容仅供参考之用。读者如欲开展与本栏内容相关之工作,须寻求专业法律意见。读者可通过以下电邮与贝克·麦坚时联系:吴昊(上海)howard.wu@bakermckenzie.com

LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link

HK expands arbitration financing options

0
466
HK expands arbitration financing options
LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link

Effective from 16 December 2022, lawyers in Hong Kong are permitted to fund clients for whom they act in an arbitration by entering into outcome-related fee structures (ORFS), such as conditional and contingency fee arrangements.

The new regime answers an increasing client demand for more flexible fee arrangements and is an important step in maintaining and promoting Hong Kong’s competitiveness with other major arbitral seats where similar fee arrangements are allowed.

The new regime permits three types of ORFS for arbitration: (1) conditional fee agreements (CFAs), (2) damages-based agreements (DBAs), and (3) hybrid damages-based agreements (hybrid DBAs).

In essence, lawyers are paid:

    1. A success fee if they achieve a successful outcome (but otherwise no/low fee) under CFAs;
    2. A percentage of their clients’ financial benefit obtained from the arbitration under DBAs; or
    3. A combination of both under hybrid DBAs. Under CFAs, clients will be free to agree with their lawyers on the circumstances that constitute a “successful outcome” of the matter.

Such arrangements were previously prohibited under the common law offences of champerty and maintenance. Following a series of consultation and enactments, 16 December 2022 marked the first day of the full implementation of the ORFS regime for arbitration (including related court or mediation proceedings and proceedings before an emergency arbitrator) seated in Hong Kong, and arbitration seated elsewhere but in which Hong Kong practitioners are engaged.

ORFS provides lawyers and clients with greater flexibility when agreeing on retainers, and increases funding options for clients wishing to arbitrate disputes. It promotes financial management as clients may have a better idea of the costs to be incurred for budgeting purposes. It also helps clients to mitigate their risk by sharing the risk with their lawyers.

Notably, the new regime in Hong Kong offers a broader range of ORFS than its Singapore counterpart, which offers CFAs only. This new development will no doubt enhance Hong Kong’s status as a leading arbitral hub in the world, and is expected to bolster the number of funded claims and arbitrations in Hong Kong.

IN DEPTH

The new ORFS regime for arbitration was incorporated into Hong Kong law by amendments to the Arbitration Ordinance (cap. 609) and the Legal Practitioners Ordinance (cap. 159), as well as the making of the Arbitration (Outcome Related Fee Structures for Arbitration) Rules (cap. 609D).

Except for personal injury claims, lawyers may now enter into the following types of ORFS for arbitration:

  • CFA: Lawyers are paid a success fee if their client achieves a “successful outcome” in the arbitration. If the outcome is unsuccessful, then the lawyers receive either no legal fees or reduced legal fees. The payable success fee must be expressed as a percentage of the “benchmark fee” (i.e., the fee that the lawyer would have charged the client if there were no ORFS arrangement).

What constitutes a successful outcome is a matter to be agreed, and must be stated in CFAs. A successful outcome typically includes any financial benefit the client may obtain. A financial benefit is broadly defined to include money or money’s worth, i.e., any consideration reducible to a monetary value. It includes an amount owed under the award or settlement agreement, as well as any avoidance or reduction of a potential liability (where a claim is successfully defended).

The “uplift” component of a success fee cannot exceed 100% of the benchmark fee. In other words, the most lawyers can be paid under a CFA is double their usual fees.

  • DBA: No fees are charged in the course of the arbitration, but the lawyers are paid a DBA payment, i.e., a portion of the financial benefit received by the client in the arbitration. It must be calculated by reference to the financial benefit and is payable by the client in addition to any recoverable lawyer’s costs. The DBA payment is capped at 50% of the financial benefit.

The DBA must state details relating to: the financial benefit; the basis for calculating the DBA payment; when the DBA payment becomes payable; and any arrangements with respect to barrister’s fees.

  • Hybrid DBA: The client pays a fee in any event (capped at 50% of the irrecoverable costs – the “fee cap”) for the legal services rendered. If the client obtains a financial benefit, then the client also pays a DBA payment capped at 50% of the financial benefit obtained by the client.

If the payable DBA payment is less than the fee cap, the lawyers may elect to be paid the fee cap in place of the DBA payment.

Apart from satisfying the requirements for a DBA, the hybrid DBA must also state the fees applicable in the course of the arbitration and the benchmark fee.

The abovementioned rules also specify the general requirements with respect to all types of ORFS agreements. For instance, such agreements must:

    1. Be in writing and signed by the lawyer and the client;
    2. State the matter to which the agreement relates;
    3. State in what circumstances the lawyer’s fees and expenses, and whether disbursements, are payable;
    4. State that the lawyer has informed the client of the right to seek independent legal advice;
    5. State that the client may terminate the agreement within a cooling-off period of not less than seven days by written notice without incurring liability; and
    6. State the grounds on which the agreement may be terminated and how lawyers’ fees are to be paid in such circumstances.

The legislation also contains various safeguards including a limitation on the recovery of costs by the successful party. The default position is that arbitral tribunals may not order the uplift component of a success fee to be paid to the winning party. However, they may still order those costs to be paid if there are exceptional circumstances justifying the ordering of those costs.

The ORFS regime is a welcome development and can facilitate access to justice, as clients who have legitimate claims but lack the financial resources may now pursue those claims.


Business Law Digest is compiled with the assistance of Baker McKenzie. Readers should not act on this information without seeking professional legal advice. You can contact Baker McKenzie by e-mailing Howard Wu (Shanghai) at howard.wu@bakermckenzie.com

LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link