海南法律市场持续升温

0
66

《商法》从海南省律师协会处获悉,自2019年10月《海南经济特区律师条例》(《条例》)正式实施至今年8月31日,海南引进及新设律所数量已达81家。

Zhang-Xiaohui-President-of-Hainan Lawyers-Association 张晓辉 海南省律师协会会长
张晓辉
海南省律师协会会长

逐渐放宽的律师条例以及中国预计于2050年将海南岛打造为国际自由贸易港的计划,引得国内、国际律师事务所纷纷进驻。

“海南高端及涉外法律业务市场非常庞大,金融、医药、航空、教育行业都极具发展前景,”海南省律师协会会长张晓辉告诉《商法》。中伦律师事务所海口分所主任廖辉评价道:“《条例》放宽了特殊普通合伙律师事务所合伙人准入条件,降低律师事务所设立门槛,允许设立公司制律师事务所。”

具体而言,《条例》允许港澳地区和外国律所驻海南代表机构从事部分涉海南的商事非诉讼法律事务、与本地律所实行联营等。

Wu-Lei-Jingtian-&-Gongcheng 吴雷 竞天公诚律师事务所
吴雷
竞天公诚律师事务所

今年6月,国务院印发《海南自由贸易港建设总体方案》(《方案》)。该方案提出,海南自由贸易港的实施范围为海南岛全岛,方案涉及法治制度、出入境管理、税收制度等11个方面的制度创新。

竞天公诚三亚分所主任吴雷告诉《商法“可以预见,海南自由贸易港会催生大量法律服务新需求、新模式。”

《方案》提出建设风险防控体系,通过制定有效措施,有针对性防范化解贸易、投资、金融、数据流动、生态和公共卫生等领域重大风险。

Liao-Hui-Zhong-Lun-Law-Firm 廖辉 中伦律师事务所
廖辉
中伦律师事务所

“由于[自贸港]涉及的法律服务业务内容较为复杂、专业性要求较高、涉外因素较强,需要律师加强自身的涉外法律服务人才队伍建设,以便在未来提供更为专业高效的法律服务,”廖辉分析道。他也曾任海南省律师协会会长。

外地律师和律所的大量涌入,也给海南本地律师行业造成了一定冲击。张晓辉曾任海南中邦律师事务所主任,他坦言,过去海南岛经济体量比较小,涉外业务几乎为零,本土律所的业务局限于传统领域。

“这些大品牌的律所来海南,带来了先进的管理理念与经营模式,

王航兵 海南昌宇律师事务所
王航兵
海南昌宇律师事务所

其人才优势、专业优势、营销模式等在一定时期和领域对本土律所构成竞争优势。”海南昌宇律师事务所主任王航兵称。他同时表示本土律所底蕴深厚,倘若借机提升与进步,足以与品牌律所在海南法律服务市场相抗衡。

截止至8月31日,据律协统计,海南省共有220家律所(包括联营和外国机构),律师共计近四千名。

Hainan’s legal market white-hot under free port plan

0
110

Hainan has seen 81 new law firms set up office since the province liberalized its legal services sector in October last year, according to Hainan Lawyers Association (HLA) data shared exclusively with China Business Law Journal.

Zhang Xiaohui President of Hainan Lawyers Association
Zhang Xiaohui
President
Hainan Lawyers Association

The relaxed regulations, along with the country’s plan to develop the island on China’s southern coast into an international free-trade port by 2050 under the Hainan Free Trade Port Plan, has attracted national and international law firms to the province.

“Hainan has a vast legal market of high-end and foreign-related businesses including finance, medicine, aviation and education,” said Zhang Xiaohui, the president of HLA.

Liao Hui, director of Zhong Lun Law Firm’s office in Haikou, the province’s capital city, said: “The new regulations relax the requirements for the admission of partners in special general partnership law firms, lower the requirements of setting up law firms, and allow qualified law firms to set up corporate-type law firms.”

Wu Lei Jingtian & Gongcheng
Wu Lei
Jingtian & Gongcheng

The regulations allow representative offices of Hong Kong, Macau and other foreign law firms to deal with certain Hainan-related non-litigation legal matters, and to set up legal partnership associations with mainland law firms in the special economic zone.

The Hainan Free Trade Port Plan, issued by the State Council in June this year, is to be implemented in the entire province and involves institutional innovations in 11 aspects including the legal system, entry-exit management and taxation.

“It is foreseeable that Hainan Free Trade Port will generate great demand for legal services,” Wu Lei, the director of Jingtian & Gongcheng’s office in Sanya, another major city in Hainan, told China Business Law Journal.

The free port plan also calls for building a risk prevention and control system to prevent significant risks in trade, investment, finance, data safety, ecology and public health.

Liao Hui Zhong Lun Law Firm
Liao Hui
Zhong Lun Law Firm

“The legal services needed [for the free port plan] are foreign-related and complicated,” said Liao, who is also a former president of the HLA. “Lawyers need to strengthen their abilities in foreign-related areas to provide more professional legal services.”

The influx of lawyers and law firms from outside Hainan has also impacted the local legal industry. Zhang, who was a former director of Hainan Zhong Bang Law Firm, said local firms had in the past mainly focused on traditional business because Hainan’s economic growth was relatively slow, with nearly no foreign-related business.

Wang-Hangbing-Hainan-Changyu-Law-Office
Wang Hangbing
Hainan Changyu Law Office

“The newly set-up national law firms brought advanced management and business models,” said Wang Hangbing, the director of Hainan Changyu Law Office. “These firms’ strengths in talent, professionalism and marketing will beat the local firms.

“In contrast, the local firms have solid relationships with local clients, [and] they can counter the national firms by improving their capabilities and service standards.”

As of 31 August, Hainan had 220 law firms (including joint ventures and foreign firms) and in total nearly 4,000 lawyers, according to the HLA.