广东裁决维护员工孕期权益

0
143
Guangdong court women rights
LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link

近日,广东省高级人民法院发布了五起维护妇女合法权益的典型案例,其中一起涉及女员工在怀孕期间劳动报酬的劳动争议值得用人单位关注。

案情概述

某女员工于2022年7月进入某酒店担任预订中心主管,双方在劳动合同中约定合同期限为2022年7月12日至2024年7月11日。2022年12月,该员工怀孕。

2023年5月,某酒店单方告知员工其岗位由主管调动为前台接待员,降低其工资,并扣除了员工在定期产检时的工资。

后员工向该酒店主张工资差额,本案经劳动仲裁后诉至法院。

判决结果

本案中,法院认定某酒店以员工不适应原岗位工作为由提出调整其岗位,应通过双方协商方式解决,在酒店没有提供充分证据证明向某不适应原岗位工作的情况下,其调岗行为不符合法律相关规定,故判定某酒店应按原约定的待遇标准继续发放给员工。法院同时判决某酒店向员工补发产检请假的工资。

要点提示

《妇女权益保障法》等法规明确规定,用人单位不得因结婚、怀孕、产假、哺乳等情形,降低女职工的工资和福利待遇,辞退女职工,单方解除劳动(聘用)合同或者服务协议。

否则,用人单位除了要补发克扣员工的工资外,还存在可能引发员工主张单位未按照劳动合同约定足额支付劳动报酬进而主张经济补偿金的潜在风险。

我们建议用人单位需调整员工工作岗位时,最安全的做法是在与员工协商一致的前提下进行。

如果用人单位确因生产经营需要进行单方调岗,应以合法性和合理性为原则,但各地裁审口径中对于合理性的认定标准不一而足,建议用人单位根据个案情况结合当地司法口径进行应对。

例如,有些法院认为,用人单位对劳动者的调岗应当符合下列条件:用人单位对劳动者的调岗是否基于用人单位的生产经营需要;劳动者调整工作岗位前后的工资水平是否基本相当;调岗是否具有侮辱性、歧视性和惩罚性;调岗是否符合法律法规的规定和双方劳动合同的约定等。


《商法摘要》由贝克·麦坚时国际律师事务所协助提供,内容仅供参考之用。读者如欲开展与本栏内容相关之工作,须寻求专业法律意见。读者可通过以下电邮与贝克·麦坚时联系:吴昊(上海)howard.wu@bakermckenzie.com

LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link

Guangdong ruling upholds maternity protection

0
242
Guangdong court women rights
LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link

Guangdong Provincial Higher People’s Court recently published five typical cases dealing with safeguarding the lawful rights and interests of women. These included an employment dispute involving remuneration paid to a female employee while pregnant that deserves the particular attention of employers.

Case overview

In July 2022, a female employee was recruited to serve as the reservation centre supervisor of a hotel. The parties specified that her employment contract would run from 12 July 2022 to 11 July 2024. In December 2022, the employee became pregnant.

In May 2023, the hotel unilaterally informed the employee that she was being transferred from the position of supervisor to front-desk receptionist, on reduced wage. Deductions from her wage would also be made for the times when she had her regular prenatal checkups.

Subsequently, the employee claimed the wage difference from the hotel and the case was brought to court after labour arbitration.

The judgment

In the case, the court found that the proposal by the hotel to transfer the employee to a different position – on the grounds that she was no longer suited to work in her existing position – needed to be resolved through consultation between the parties.

In the absence of sufficient evidence provided by the hotel to show the employee was no longer suited to her supervisor role, the transfer did not comply with relevant provisions of the law.

Accordingly, it ruled that the hotel was required to continue paying the employee at the existing remuneration rate provided for in her contract. The court further ruled that the hotel pay the employee back wages for the leave she took for her prenatal checkups.

Key points

China’s Law on Safeguarding the Rights and Interests of Women and other such regulations expressly provide that an employer may not reduce a female employee’s wages and benefits, dismiss her, or unilaterally terminate her employment (engagement) contract or service agreement for such reasons as marriage, pregnancy, maternity leave and nursing.

On breaching the regulation, the employer will not only be required to pay the amount deducted from the employee’s wages, but there is also a potential risk that the employee will claim the employer failed to pay her remuneration in full, as provided in her employment contract, and claim economic compensation.

When an employer needs to transfer an employee to a different position, it is advisable to do so after reaching a consensus with the employee through consultations.

If an employer needs to unilaterally transfer an employee to a different position for a genuine production or operational need, it should do so based on the principles of lawfulness and reasonableness.

However, the criteria for determining “reasonableness” in adjudication varies to a certain degree in different regions, so it is recommended that an employer responds based on the circumstances of the specific case, and in light of the local judicial approach.

For example, certain courts hold that an employer’s transfer of a worker to a different position is required to satisfy the following conditions: whether the employer’s transfer of the worker is based on the employer’s production and operational needs; whether the worker’s wage level before and after the transfer is basically equivalent; whether the transfer is humiliating, discriminatory or punitive; and whether the transfer complies with laws, regulations and the employment contract between the parties.


Business Law Digest is compiled with the assistance of Baker McKenzie. Readers should not act on this information without seeking professional legal advice.
You can contact Baker McKenzie by e-mailing Howard Wu (Shanghai) at howard.wu@bakermckenzie.com

LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link